Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bering Cisco in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Bering Cisco
Coregonus laurettae
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Taxonomy

Class:

Actinopterygii

Order:

Salmoniformes

Family:

Salmonidae

Scientific name:

Coregonus laurettae Bean 1882

Common names

 

English:

Bering cisco. Lauretta, herring, lake herring, tulibee, sharp nose

Northern Tuchtone:

sunkay

Han :

ik-canoo


Bickham et al. (1997) assessed the degree of differentiation between the Bering cisco and Arctic cisco (C. autumnalis) using mitochondrial DNA haplotypes of samples from the Colville River delta and concluded the forms are valid species. Reist et al. (1998) examined sequence variation in a portion of the d-loop of mitochondrial DNA in several coregonine fishes including Arctic cisco, Bering cisco and lake cisco (Coregonus artedi) to confirm the separate, but closely related status of these species.


Description

The Bering cisco (Figure 1) is a coregonid, distinguished from other cisco species by the pale, almost colourless pelvic and pectoral fins and a lower number of gill rakers (18-25) on the lower portion of the first gill arch (Morrow 1980). Anadromous forms occurring in Arctic drainages and the lower mainstem of the Yukon River have a spotted back and dorsal fin (Mecklenburg et al. 2002). The body is more elongate and less laterally compressed than other species of cisco, with the greatest body depth in front of the dorsal fin. The dorsal fin is considered rather high and falcate, with 11 to 13 rays (Morrow 1980). Pelvic fins are characterized with a distinct axillary process similar to other ciscos. Coloration of adult fish can vary from brownish to green on back, with silvery sides and belly (Scott and Crossman 1973). Caudal and dorsal fins are dusky (Morrow 1980). Very little information is available to identify early life history stages. The average size of migrating Bering cisco sampled in the Yukon River near Fort Yukon in 1998, 1999, and 2001 was 37 cm in fork length and approximately 600 gm in weight (Brown, R., U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Fairbanks, Alaska; personal communication 2003).

In the Yukon Territory, Bering cisco are easily confused with other coregonines. Catch data from a rotary screw trap in the Yukon River near Dawson City, Yukon Territory, produced a significant cisco juvenile catch. However, until recently, technicians were unable to differentiate to species (J. Duncan, Yukon Salmon Committee, Dawson City, Yukon, personal communication 2003). In coastal regions they overlap in distribution with Arctic cisco, the species they most closely resemble (Edge 1991). Species differentiation may be difficult for the novice due to similar morphological characteristics based on a probable common ancestry. They can, however, be differentiated on the basis of gill-raker counts; 18-25 for C. laurettae and 25-31 for autumnalis (McPhail 1966; Alt 1973). In the Yukon River, confusion with riverine populations of least cisco (C. sardinella) is probable (Milligan, P., Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Whitehorse, Yukon, personal communication 2003).


Figure 1: A Bering Cisco Depicted from a Photograph of a Mature Adult Captured in the Yukon River, Alaska

A Bering Cisco Depicted from a Photograph of a Mature Adult Captured in the Yukon River, Alaska


Designatable Unit

Coregonus laurettae.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco de l'Alaska au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
cisco de l’Alaska
Coregonus laurettae
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Taxinomie

Classe :

Actinoptérygiens

Ordre :

Salmoniformes

Famille :

Salmonidés

Nom scientifique :

Coregonus laurettae Bean 1882

Noms communs

cisco de l’Alaska, cisco de Bering

Noms anglais :

Bering cisco. Lauretta, herring, lake herring, tulibee, sharp nose

Langue des Tuchtones du Nord :

sunkay

Langue des Hans :

ik-canoo


Bickham et al. (1997) ont évalué le degré de différenciation entre le cisco de l’Alaska et le cisco arctique (C. autumnalis) en étudiant des haplotypes d’ADN mitochondrial d’individus capturés dans le delta de la rivière Colville; ces auteurs ont conclu à l’existence de deux espèces réellement distinctes. Reist et al. (1998) ont étudié les variations de séquence dans un segment de la boucle D de l’ADN mitochondrial de plusieurs espèces de Corégoninés, dont le cisco arctique, le cisco de l’Alaska et le cisco de lac (Coregonus artedii), pour confirmer les natures distinctes mais étroitement apparentées de ces espèces.


Description

Le cisco de l’Alaska (figure 1) est un Corégoniné qui se distingue des autres espèces de ciscos par ses nageoires pelviennes et pectorales pâles, quasi incolores, ainsi que par un nombre moins élevé de branchicténies (de 18 à 25) dans la partie inférieure du premier arc branchial (Morrow, 1980). Les formes anadromes présentes dans les bassins hydrographiques arctiques et le cours principal inférieur du fleuve Yukon ont des taches sur le dos et la nageoire dorsale (Mecklenburg et al., 2002). Le corps est plus allongé et moins comprimé latéralement que celui d’autres espèces de ciscos et atteint sa hauteur maximale devant la nageoire dorsale. La nageoire dorsale, considérée comme relativement haute et falciforme, comprend de 11 à 13 rayons (Morrow, 1980). Les nageoires pelviennes se caractérisent par un procès axillaire distinct similaire à celui d’autres ciscos. La coloration des adultes peut varier de brunâtre à vert sur le dos, se changeant en argenté sur les flancs et le ventre (Scott et Crossman, 1974). Les nageoires caudale et dorsale sont d’un brun noirâtre (Morrow, 1980). Il existe peu d’information permettant d’identifier les non‑adultes. La longueur à la fourche moyenne des ciscos de l’Alaska en migration capturés dans le fleuve Yukon près de Fort Yukon en 1998, en 1999 et en 2001 était de 37 cm, et leur poids moyen était d’environ 600 g (Brown, R., U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Fairbanks, Alaska, comm. pers., 2003).

Dans le territoire du Yukon, le cisco de l’Alaska est souvent confondu avec d’autres Corégoninés. Une bonne quantité de jeunes ciscos ont été capturés dans un piège rotatif dans le fleuve Yukon près de Dawson, au Yukon. Cependant, jusqu’à tout récemment, les techniciens n’étaient pas en mesure de distinguer les espèces (J. Duncan, Yukon Salmon Committee, Dawson, Yukon, comm. pers., 2003). Dans les régions côtières, l’aire de répartition du cisco de l’Alaska chevauche celle du cisco arctique, espèce qui ressemble le plus au cisco de l’Alaska (Edge, 1991). Il peut être difficile pour le néophyte de différencier ces deux espèces en raison de leurs similitudes morphologiques qui sont probablement attribuables à un ancêtre commun. Il est néanmoins possible de les identifier grâce au décompte des branchicténies : de 18 à 25 pour le C. laurettae et de 25 à 31 pour le C. autumnalis (McPhail, 1966; Alt, 1973). Dans le fleuve Yukon, il est probable que l’on confonde l’espèce avec les populations fluviales du cisco sardinelle (C. sardinella) (Milligan, P., ministère des Pêches et des Océans, Whitehorse, Yukon, comm. pers., 2003).


Unités désignables

Coregonus laurettae


Figure 1 : Dessin d’un cisco de l’Alaska d’après la photographie d’un adulte mature capturé dans le fleuve Yukon, en Alaska

Figure 1 : Dessin d’un cisco de l’Alaska d’après la photographie d’un adulte mature capturé dans le fleuve Yukon, en Alaska.