Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bering Cisco in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The Bering cisco is an anadromous coregonid with extensive spawning migrations into the upper reaches of large rivers that flow into the Beaufort, Bering and Chukchi seas. They range from the Chukotsk and Kamchatka coastal regions of the Siberian far east to the northwestern portion of North America. Their geographic range is virtually confined to the area of the Bering glacial refuge. It is believed that the Bering cisco survived the most recent glacial advance in the Bering refuge and has not significantly expanded its range postglacially (McPhail and Lindsey 1970). The species is thought to occur in Chukotsk and Kamchatka regions of the Siberian far east (Zoological Institute RAS 2002). Chereshnev (1984) described specimens taken from the mouth of the Chegitun River, Chukchi Penninsula.

In North America, Bering cisco are encountered along the Alaskan coast in the Beaufort, Bering and Chukchi seas. The species has also been found in the western region of the Gulf of Alaska (Figure 2). More specifically, occurrences have been reported in the coastal waters near Port Barrow, Alaska (McPhail 1966). Further east, they are known to occur in the river delta area of the Colville River (U.S. Bureau of Land Management 1998; Bickham et al. 1997) to Oliktok Point, Alaska (Mecklenburg et al. 2002). In the Bering Sea, the species has been reported in coastal areas of Kotzebue


Figure 2: Location of Reported Occurrences of Bering Cisco in Alaska and Yukon Territory

Figure 2: Location of reported occurrences of Bering Cisco in Alaska and Yukon Territory.


Sound, Norton Sound, Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge, and along the Bristol Bay coast associated with the Tagiah National Wildlife Refuge. They have also been reported in the Gulf of Alaska inhabiting the Cook Inlet in the Kenai River delta area.

Alaskan spawning migrations have only been reported in the Kuskokwim River and the Yukon River near the confluence with the Tanana River in Alaska. Numbers of Bering cisco in these runs are thought to greatly outnumber those of any other salmonid species (Brown, pers. comm., 2003). Bering cisco migrations have been reported in the lower section of the Porcupine River, a large tributary of the Yukon River. It is unclear if migrations occur in any of the other larger tributaries of the lower Yukon River.


Canadian Range

While Bering cisco have not been documented in the Mackenzie drainage, conceivably they may be found farther west in Yukon coastal waters where their range may overlap with Arctic cisco, C. autumnalis (S. Stephenson, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Inuvik, NT, personal communication 2003; Lawrence, M., North/South Consultants, Winnipeg, Manitoba, personal communication 2003). Although there has been no documentation of the species along the Yukon coastal portion of the Beaufort Sea (Bond and Erickson 1989), little effort specific to establishing their presence has been made in this region.

Presence of Bering cisco in the Yukon River mainstem near Dawson City was first confirmed in 1977 (de Graaf 1981). Sporadic observations since have continued at fishwheels operated by the Canadian Department of Fisheries and Oceans near the United States/Canadian border (Milligan, pers. com., 2003). These reports are the only occurrences reported in Canada. The notable absence in the commercial catch near Dawson City is thought to be due to the large mesh gillnets used in the salmon fishery (J. Couture, Yukon Fish and Wildlife Management Board, Whitehorse, Yukon, personal communication 2003). Considering its anadromous behaviour and scarcity of observations in Canadian waters, Dawson City may be the upper migratory range of this species in the Yukon River. It is conceivable that Bering cisco could migrate into the Canadian portion of the upper Porcupine River, a large tributary of the Yukon drainage basin, but have not been documented from there.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco de l'Alaska au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le cisco de l’Alaska est un Corégoniné anadrome effectuant de grandes migrations de fraye vers les tronçons supérieurs des grands cours d’eau se jetant dans les mers de Beaufort, de Béring et des Tchouktches. L’espèce est présente depuis les régions côtières du Tchoukotka et du Kamtchatka, en Sibérie extrême-orientale, jusque dans le nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord. Son aire de répartition géographique est confinée au refuge glaciaire de la Béringie. On croit que le cisco de l’Alaska a survécu à la dernière glaciation dans le refuge de la Béringie et n’a pas étendu notablement son aire de répartition après celle-ci (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970). Le Zoological Institute of Russian Academy of Sciences (2002) estime que l’espèce est présente dans les régions du Tchoukotka et du Kamtchatka, en Sibérie extrême-orientale. Chereshnev (1984) a décrit des spécimens capturés à l’embouchure de la rivière Chegitun, dans le Tchoukotka.

En Amérique du Nord, le cisco de l’Alaska est présent le long de la côte de l’Alaska, dans les mers de Beaufort, de Béring et des Tchouktches. On a également observé des individus dans la partie ouest du golfe d’Alaska (figure 2), plus précisément dans les eaux côtières près de Port Barrow, en Alaska (McPhail, 1966). Plus à l’est, l’espèce est présente dans le secteur du delta de la rivière Colville (U.S. Bureau of Land Management 1998; Bickham et al., 1997) jusqu’à la pointe Oliktok, en Alaska (Mecklenburg et al., 2002). Dans la mer de Béring, on a observé des individus dans les régions côtières de la baie de Kotzebue, de la baie de Norton et du Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge ainsi que le long de la côte de la baie de Bristol dans le secteur du Togiak National Wildlife Refuge. On a également observé des individus dans la région du golfe d’Alaska, dans la baie de Cook dans le secteur du delta de la rivière Kenai.


Figure 2 : Lieux des observations de ciscos de l’Alaska en Alaska et au Yukon

Figure 2 : Lieux des observations de ciscos de l’Alaska en Alaska et au Yukon.


En Alaska, des migrations de fraye n’ont été observées que dans la rivière Kuskokwim et dans le fleuve Yukon près de sa confluence avec la rivière Tanana. On estime que ces remontes de ciscos de l’Alaska sont largement plus importantes que toute autre remonte de Salmonidés (Brown, comm. pers., 2003). Des migrations de ciscos de l’Alaska ont été observées dans le cours inférieur de la rivière Porcupine, grand affluent du fleuve Yukon. On ignore si des migrations ont lieu dans les autres grands affluents du bas Yukon.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Bien qu’il n’existe aucune observation documentée du cisco de l’Alaska dans le bassin hydrographique du fleuve Mackenzie, il est probable que l’espèce soit présente plus à l’ouest dans les eaux côtières du Yukon, où son aire de répartition pourrait chevaucher celle du cisco arctique, C. autumnalis (S. Stephenson, ministère des Pêches et des Océans, Inuvik, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, comm. pers., 2003; Lawrence, M., North/South Consultants, Winnipeg, Manitoba, comm. pers., 2003). La présence de l’espèce n’a pas été documentée dans les eaux côtières yukonaises de la mer de Beaufort (Bond et Erickson, 1989), mais peu d’efforts visant spécifiquement à la trouver dans cette région ont été réalisés.

La présence du cisco de l’Alaska dans le cours principal du Yukon près de Dawson a été confirmée pour la première fois en 1977 (de Graaf, 1981). Des captures sporadiques ont eu lieu par la suite dans des tourniquets exploités par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada près de la frontière canado-américaine (Milligan, comm. pers., 2003). Ces observations constituent les seules mentions de l’espèce pour le Canada. L’absence notable de l’espèce dans les prises commerciales près de Dawson pourrait être due à l’utilisation de filets maillants à grandes mailles par les pêcheurs de saumons (J. Couture, Commission de gestion de la faune aquatique et terrestre du Yukon, Whitehorse, Yukon, comm. pers., 2003). Compte tenu du comportement anadrome et de la rareté des observations dans les eaux canadiennes, on peut penser que Dawson se trouve à l’extrême limite de l’aire de migration de l’espèce dans le fleuve Yukon. Il est possible que le cisco de l’Alaska migre dans la partie canadienne de la rivière Porcupine, grand affluent du fleuve Yukon, sans que cela ait été documenté.