Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bering Cisco in Canada

Biology

General

The Bering cisco is known for extensive migrations related to spawning (Morrow 1980). The species is one of several anadromous coregonid fish to migrate upstream to spawn in large rivers during spring and summer (Figure 3). Bering cisco are thought to be anadromous with no freshwater non-migratory forms (Brown, pers. comm., 2003). Upon completion of spawning, spent fish migrate downstream to overwinter beneath the ice in coastal river deltas and estuaries. Feeding is thought to occur in coastal areas especially near river mouths and brackish lagoons (McPhail and Lindsey 1970). Rearing and sexual maturation of juveniles occurs within coastal waters. The species is widely dispersed over a large geographical range along the Alaskan coastline. The cyclic pattern of migrations between the river and ocean occurs annually. The extent of fidelity to specific spawning areas by the species is unknown.


Figure 3: Comparison of a Bering Cisco to Other Coregonines Found in the Yukon River

Figure 3: Comparison of a Bering cisco to other coregonines found in the Yukon River.


Reproduction

Sexually mature Bering cisco sampled in fishwheels located in the Yukon River approximately 1200 river km from the sea in Alaska were between 31 and 45 cm in fork length and were 4 to 9 years in age (Brown, pers. comm., 2003). Alt (1973) reported that the species reaches maturity at 4 years of age and may live to 7 years or older. Male fish averaged slightly smaller in size than females and were of a younger age. Spawning is thought to occur over loosely compacted gravel beds in swiftly flowing water. A known spawning area on the Yukon River in Alaska is within a 120 km section of highly braided river (Figure 4). Eggs are typically broadcast and abandoned, after which spent adults presumably move downstream to the sea. The eggs hatch in the spring and the young descend downstream to brackish estuarine habitat to rear.


Survival

 Very little is known about survival and mortality rates for this species. The Bering cisco is likely an important food source for predacious fish, especially along the coastal rearing and overwintering areas. The extent of utilization by avian and mammalian predators is unknown. Bering cisco are harvested along with other salmonids in subsistence fisheries throughout the range (R. Nagano, Lands and Resource Development, Dawson City, Yukon, personal communication 2004).


Physiology

There is no information on established physiological preferences of Bering cisco. Research conducted on Arctic cisco, a closely related species with presumed similar physiology, shows avoidance of cold highly saline marine environments, with growth directly related to water temperatures (Griffiths et al. 1992; Fechhelm et al. 1993). The premise that both species utilize similar coastal habitat suggests a similar physiological preference for seasonally warmer, brackish nearshore waters. They can tolerate salinity of 27-31%, and some may overwinter in the Yukon River drainage (Alt 1973).


Movements/Dispersal

Spawning runs begin in late May to early June near river mouths. Catch data from Alaskan fishwheels situated in the Yukon River approximately 1200 river km from the sea indicate two distinct migratory peaks. The first, during late June, is followed by another in late August and into September. The later peak appears to coincide with more extensive migratory travel and is thought to contain a segment of the population that is bound for Canadian waters. In Alaskan fishwheels, up to 200 Bering cisco are enumerated each day during migratory peaks (Brown, pers. comm., 2003).

Migrating Bering cisco are also occasionally captured in Canadian fishwheels situated near the United States/Canada border, located 2100 river km from the sea. The run is more prevalent in some years than others (Milligan, pers. comm., 2003). Observations of less than 100 fish each year are reported as an incidental catch in two fish wheels used by Fisheries and Oceans Canada to capture and mark migrating fall chum salmon (Oncorhynchus keta).


Figure 4: Bering Cisco Spawning Habitat Located in the National Yukon Flats Wildlife Refuge on the Yukon River Between Fort Yukon and Circle, Alaska

Figure 4: Bering cisco spawning habitat located in the National Yukon Flats Wildlife Refuge on the Yukon River between Fort Yukon and Circle, Alaska.


This program has been conducted since 1982. Since the Bering cisco are captured in the fall of the year, September to mid-October, it has been assumed they are undertaking a spawning migration; however, spawning locations within Canadian sections of the Yukon River have not been identified (Milligan, pers. comm., 2003).

After spawning, adults are thought to move downstream to the sea. The eggs presumably hatch in the spring and the young descend downstream to brackish estuarine habitat where they are partially dispersed by prevailing currents and winds. Rearing and sexual maturation occur along coastal waters of Alaska over a large geographical region. The only drainages in Alaska known to contain spawning runs are the Kuskokwim and Yukon rivers (Brown, pers. com., 2003).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

They are thought to feed on invertebrates (probably amphipods) and other small fish (McPhail and Lindsey 1970; Alt 1973). Feeding is thought to occur primarily in the productive and food-rich nearshore coastal waters containing a diversity of invertebrates and cottid fishes (Lee et al. 1980; Morrow 1980). Bering cisco are not known to feed during their spawning migrations up the Yukon River. There currently is no information on nutrition requirements or interspecific interactions for either freshwater or coastal environments.


Behaviour/Adaptability

Bering cisco are known for migrating great distances. Migrating fish require access to large swift-flowing rivers to reproduce. While migratory behaviour in freshwater streams and rivers can generally increase a species’ vulnerability to natural disturbances, the use of spawning habitat associated with the mainstem of large rivers is perhaps a strategy that minimizes these risks. Disturbances such as slumping permafrost, forest fires, extreme precipitation events or drought, temperature fluctuations and natural obstructions such as beaver dams or landslides have a more pronounced effect on smaller streams. The tolerance of Bering cisco to environmental degradation is unknown. The species has never been reared for use in aquaculture.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco de l'Alaska au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Généralités

Le cisco de l’Alaska est connu pour ses grandes migrations de fraye (Morrow, 1980). L’espèce est l’un des nombreux Corégoninés anadromes qui remontent de grands cours d’eau au printemps et en été pour frayer (figure 3). On estime que le cisco de l’Alaska est exclusivement anadrome, aucune forme d’eau douce non migratrice n’ayant été trouvée (Brown, comm. pers., 2003). À la fin de la période de fraye, les individus épuisés descendent les cours d’eau pour hiverner sous la glace dans les eaux côtières de deltas et d’estuaires. On pense que l’espèce se nourrit dans les régions côtières, particulièrement près d’embouchures de cours d’eau et de lagunes saumâtres (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970). La croissance et la maturation sexuelle des jeunes ont lieu dans les eaux côtières. L’espèce est largement dispersée dans une grande aire géographique le long de la côte de l’Alaska. Le cycle de migration entre les cours d’eau et l’océan se répète chaque année. Le degré de fidélité aux frayères est inconnu.


Reproduction

Les individus sexuellement matures capturés dans des tourniquets installés sur le fleuve Yukon en Alaska à environ 1200 km en amont de l’embouchure avaient une longueur à la fourche variant entre 31 et 45 cm et étaient âgés de 4 à 9 ans (Brown, comm. pers., 2003). Alt (1973) a affirmé que l’espèce atteint la maturité à 4 ans et peut atteindre l’âge de 7 ans ou plus. Les mâles avaient une taille moyenne légèrement inférieure à celle des femelles et étaient plus jeunes en moyenne. On pense que la fraye a lieu en eau vive sur des lits de gravier faiblement compactés. Une zone de fraye alaskienne se trouve dans un tronçon de 120 km du fleuve Yukon fortement anastomosé (figure 4). Les œufs sont généralement libérés dans l’eau puis abandonnés, après quoi les adultes vides descendent probablement le fleuve pour gagner la mer. Les œufs éclosent au printemps, et les jeunes descendent vers leur habitat estuarien saumâtre pour croître.


Survie

On sait peu de choses sur les taux de survie et de mortalité de l’espèce. Le cisco de l’Alaska constitue probablement une source alimentaire importante pour les poissons prédateurs, en particulier dans les aires côtières de croissance et d’hivernage. L’intensité de la prédation par les oiseaux et les mammifères prédateurs est inconnue. Le cisco de l’Alaska entre avec d’autres Salmonidés dans les pêches de subsistance (R. Nagano, Lands and Resource Development, Dawson, Yukon, comm. pers., 2004).


Physiologie

On ne dispose d’aucune information sur les préférences d’ordre physiologique du cisco de l’Alaska. Des recherches sur le cisco arctique, espèce étroitement apparentée ayant probablement une physiologie semblable, indiquent qu’il évite les eaux marines froides et très salées et que sa croissance est directement reliée à la température de l’eau (Griffiths et al., 1992; Fechhelm et al., 1993). Dans la mesure où les deux espèces exploitent des milieux côtiers similaires, on peut avancer que le cisco de l’Alaska, de par sa physiologie, préfère les eaux littorales saumâtres saisonnièrement chaudes. Il tolère une salinité de 27 p. 100 à 31 p. 100, et il est possible que certains individus hivernent dans le bassin hydrographique du fleuve Yukon (Alt, 1973).


Figure 3 : Cisco de l’Alaska et autres Corégoninés capturés dans le fleuve Yukon

Figure 3 : Cisco de l’Alaska et autres Corégoninés capturés dans le fleuve Yukon.


Déplacements et dispersion

La migration de fraye commence de la fin du mois de mai au début du mois de juin près de l’embouchure des cours d’eau. Les captures au tourniquet réalisées sur le fleuve Yukon en Alaska à environ 1200 km en amont de l’embouchure révèlent deux pics migratoires distincts. Le premier pic, à la fin juin, est suivi d’un second qui commence à la fin août et se termine en septembre. Le second pic semble coïncider avec un mouvement migratoire plus étendu qui pourrait comprendre une partie de la population qui gagne les eaux canadiennes. Lors de ces pics migratoires, on compte jusqu’à 200 ciscos de l’Alaska par jour dans les tourniquets exploités en Alaska (Brown, comm. pers., 2003).

Des ciscos de l’Alaska en migration sont aussi occasionnellement capturés dans des tourniquets au Canada, près de la frontière canado-américaine, à 2100 km en amont de la mer. La remonte varie d’une année à l’autre (Milligan, comm. pers., 2003). On rapporte la capture accessoire de moins de 100 individus chaque année dans deux tourniquets utilisés par Pêches et Océans Canada pour capturer et marquer des saumons kétas (Oncorhynchus keta) en migration. Ce programme existe depuis 1982. Étant donné que les ciscos de l’Alaska sont capturés en automne, soit de septembre à la mi-octobre, on peut déduire qu’ils sont alors en migration de fraye; cependant, l’emplacement des frayères dans la partie canadienne du fleuve Yukon n’a pas été découvert (Milligan, comm. pers., 2003).


Figure 4 : Habitat de fraye du cisco de l’Alaska dans le National Yukon Flats Wildlife Refuge sur le fleuve Yukon entre Fort Yukon et Circle, en Alaska

Figure 4 : Habitat de fraye du cisco de l’Alaska dans le National Yukon Flats Wildlife Refuge sur le fleuve Yukon entre Fort Yukon et Circle, en Alaska.


Après la fraye, les adultes descendent probablement vers la mer. On pense que les œufs éclosent au printemps et que les jeunes descendent les cours d’eau vers des habitats estuariens saumâtres, où ils sont partiellement dispersés par les courants et les vents dominants. La croissance et la maturation sexuelle ont cours dans les eaux côtières de l’Alaska, dans une aire géographique étendue. En Alaska, les seuls bassins hydrographiques où l’on sait qu’il y a montaison sont ceux de la rivière Kuskokwim et du fleuve Yukon (Brown, comm. pers., 2003). 


Alimentation et relations interspécifiques

On pense que le cisco de l’Alaska se nourrit d’invertébrés (probablement d’amphipodes) et de petits poissons (McPhail et Lindsey, 1970; Alt, 1973). Il s’alimente probablement surtout dans les eaux productives et riches en aliments près de la côte, qui contiennent une grande diversité d’invertébrés et de Cottidés (Lee et al., 1980; Morrow, 1980). Il ne semble pas s’alimenter durant sa migration de fraye dans le fleuve Yukon. Il n’existe aucune information sur les besoins nutritionnels et les interactions interspécifiques de l’espèce, ni en eau douce, ni dans les eaux côtières.


Comportement et adaptabilité

Le cisco de l’Alaska migre sur de grandes distances. Les géniteurs ont besoin de grandes rivières d’eaux vives pour se reproduire. Bien que la migration dans des cours d’eau augmente généralement la vulnérabilité d’une espèce aux perturbations naturelles, le choix de frayères dans le cours principal de grands cours d’eaux constitue peut‑être une stratégie qui amoindrit cette vulnérabilité. En effet, des perturbations comme le dégel du pergélisol, les feux de forêt, les précipitations intenses, la sécheresse, les fluctuations de température et les obstructions naturelles (barrages de castors, glissements de terrain) ont un impact plus lourd sur les cours d’eau de petite taille. La tolérance du cisco de l’Alaska à la détérioration de l’environnement est inconnue. L’espèce n’a jamais été élevée en aquaculture.