Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bering Cisco in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Alaskan fisheries biologists, who work on lower portions of the Yukon River, believe that Bering cisco spawners far outnumber any other salmonid species during the late summer and fall. Their scarcity in Canadian waters of the Yukon River is probably because the majority of spawning activity is farther downstream in Alaska. The fact that they continue to be occasionally captured in the Canadian portion of the Yukon River suggests some stability in their pattern of movement.

The number of fish entering Canadian waters is unknown. However, Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge (ATK) indicates that the species is known to elders in Dawson City and has a historical presence (Nagano, pers comm., 2004). Numbers counted at the fishwheels since the 1980s have been low (< 100/yr). However, counting is not consistent, and technicians are not trained to recognize the species, which may be easily confused with other sympatric coregonids.

There has been very little research, assessment or management effort specific to Bering cisco throughout its range. Information that is available is more of a presence or absence nature and ancillary to the study of other salmonid species. Alaskan cisco harvest statistics are inconsistent between regions. Specific catch trends are difficult to establish as catches of Bering cisco are combined with other coregonines (Buklis 2002). 

In the Yukon Territory, a hundred or less continue to be encountered each year in fishwheels near Dawson City, although not all fish passing the wheels are sampled. Until recently, record keeping has only been concerned with salmon migrations; for the most part catches of other species were not recorded. Since 1999 some effort has been made to capture information on species other than salmon, but until now this has been sporadic and often the technicians cannot differentiate Bering cisco from other sympatric whitefishes, although it is assumed that some spawn in Canadian waters (Milligan, pers. comm., 2003). Recent captures of unidentified adult ciscos in fishwheels upstream of Dawson are presented in Table1; however, one must bear in mind that this is not a record of all ciscos that may have passed through the wheels in those years, only those that were recorded Based on the time of spawning, it would appear that least cisco would be more likely captured in the summer months of June, July and August and Bering cisco during September and October.

 

Table 1 : Captures of Unidentified Adult Cisco in Fishwheels in the Yukon River Near the Canada-US Border Upstream of Dawson City, Yukon 1999 to 2004
YearJuneJulyAugustSeptemberOctoberTotal
199911   2
20003  126
2001  18 9
20023617 17
200311   2
2004   1 1

Source: Pat Milligan, DFO Whitehorse.

Since 2002 the Yukon Salmon Commission has been using rotary screw traps (Figure 5) to capture juvenile fish in the Yukon River in the vicinity of Dawson, and the author has assisted in the development of criteria for the identification of juveniles. Using these criteria 379 juveniles were identified in 2004 (Table 2), which suggests that the species is reproducing in Canadian waters. The reader is cautioned to note that these are preliminary findings that have yet to be confirmed by genetic analysis, which is in progress.


Figure 5: Photograph of the Rotary Screw Trap on Site in the Yukon River Near Dawson City

1

Courtesy Jim Duncan, Yukon Salmon Commission.

 

Table 2: Count of Species Sampled Using the Rotary Screw Trap 2002-2004
Species# Sampled
200220032004Sum
Arctic Grayling5856464781 709
Arctic Lamprey187971168
Bering Cisco  379379
Broad Whitefish2155129295
Burbot7281247
Chinook1 5831 1695 7138 465
Chum1592685991 026
Coho 4 4
Inconnu2648880432
Lake Chub606936165
Lake Whitefish1 4067639583 127
Least Cisco4991643591 022
Longnose Sucker4993643011 164
Northern Pike163827
Pygmy Whitefish  7474
Round Whitefish1 7517384102 899
Slimy Sculpin610925
un-ID16  16
unidentified cor. species2 1076483653 120
Grand Total9 1915 0929 88124 164

Data courtesy Jim Duncan, Yukon Salmon Commission.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco de l'Alaska au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Les biologistes des pêches de l’Alaska qui travaillent dans le cours inférieur du Yukon estiment que le nombre de ciscos de l’Alaska reproducteurs est largement supérieur à celui des autres espèces de Salmonidés à la fin de l’été et en automne. Leur rareté dans la partie canadienne du fleuve Yukon est probablement attribuable au fait que la majeure partie de la fraye a lieu plus en aval, en Alaska. Le fait que l’on continue à capturer occasionnellement des ciscos de l’Alaska dans la partie canadienne du fleuve Yukon indique une certaine constance dans les déplacements de l’espèce.

Le nombre d’individus qui remontent jusqu’aux eaux canadiennes est inconnu. Les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (CTA) révèlent que l’espèce est connue des Aînés à Dawson et que sa présence est historique (Nagano, comm. pers., 2004). Le nombre d’individus dénombrés dans les tourniquets depuis les années 1980 est faible (< 100/an). Par contre, le dénombrement n’est pas uniforme, et les techniciens ne sont pas formés pour identifier l’espèce, qui peut être aisément confondue avec d’autres Corégoninés sympatriques.

Très peu de travaux de recherche, d’évaluation ou de gestion portant spécifiquement sur le cisco de l’Alaska ont été entrepris, et ce, dans l’ensemble de son aire de répartition. L’information existante sur l’espèce consiste surtout en de simples mentions de sa présence ou de son absence et provient d’études portant sur d’autres Salmonidés. Les statistiques sur les prises ne sont pas uniformes d’une région à l’autre. Les tendances des prises sont difficiles à établir étant donné que les captures de ciscos de l’Alaska sont combinées à celles d’autres Corégoninés (Buklis, 2002).

Dans le territoire du Yukon, une centaine ou moins d’individus sont capturés chaque année dans des tourniquets près de Dawson; cependant, tous les poissons capturés ne sont pas échantillonnés. Jusqu’à récemment, on ne s’intéressait qu’aux migrations de saumons; la plupart des captures d’autres espèces n’étaient pas consignées. Depuis 1999, on tente de recueillir de l’information sur des espèces autres que les saumons, mais ces tentatives ont été sporadiques et, souvent, les techniciens n’arrivent pas à distinguer le cisco de l’Alaska des autres Corégoninés sympatriques, alors qu’il semble bien que certains ciscos de l’Alaska frayent dans les eaux canadiennes (Milligan, comm. pers., 2003). Le tableau 1 indique le nombre de ciscos adultes non identifiés capturés récemment dans les tourniquets en amont de Dawson; cependant, il faut noter que ces chiffres n’indiquent pas les nombres totaux de ciscos qui ont été capturés au cours de ces années, mais seulement les observations documentées. En se fondant sur les périodes de fraye, les probabilités de capturer des ciscos sardinelles seraient plus élevées en juin, en juillet et en août, alors qu’il serait plus probable de capturer des ciscos de l’Alaska en septembre et en octobre .

 

Tableau 1 : Captures de ciscos adultes non identifiés dans des tourniquets sur le fleuve Yukon près de la frontière canado-américaine, en amont de Dawson (Yukon), de 1999 à 2004
AnnéeJuinJuilletAoûtSeptembreOctobreTotal
199911   2
20003  126
2001  18 9
20023617 17
200311   2
2004   1 1

Source : Pat Milligan, MPO, Whitehorse.

Depuis 2002, la Yukon Salmon Commission utilise des pièges rotatifs (figure 5) pour capturer des jeunes dans le fleuve Yukon près de Dawson. L’auteur a assisté à l’élaboration des critères d’identification des jeunes. À l’aide de ces critères, 379 jeunes ont été identifiés en 2004 (tableau 2), ce qui porte à croire que l’espèce se reproduit dans les eaux canadiennes. Le lecteur doit prendre note que ces données sont préliminaires, des analyses génétiques étant en cours pour les confirmer.


Figure 5 : Photographie du piège rotatif installé sur le fleuve Yukon près de Dawson

Figure 5 : Photographie du piège rotatif installé sur le fleuve Yukon près de Dawson.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Jim Duncan de la Yukon Salmon Commission.

 

Tableau 2 : Échantillon d’espèces capturées avec le piège rotatif, de 2002 à 2004
EspècesNombre de captures
 200220032004Total
Ombre arctique5856464781 709
Lamproie arctique187971168
Cisco de l’Alaska  379379
Corégone tschir2155129295
Lotte7281247
Saumon quinnat1 5831 1695 7138 465
Saumon kéta1592685991 026
Saumon coho 4 4
Inconnu2648880432
Méné de lac606936165
Grand corégone1 4067639583 127
Cisco sardinelle4991643591 022
Meunier rouge4993643011 164
Grand brochet163827
Ménomini pygmée  7474
Ménomini rond1 7517384102 899
Chabot visqueux610925
Poissons non identifiés16  16
Corégoninés non identifiés2 1076483653 120
Grand total9 1915 0929 88124 164

Données gracieusement fournies par Jim Duncan, de la Yukon Salmon Commission.