Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentalis caurina)

Addendum 1

Schedule of Studies to Identify Critical

Habitat

Prepared by the Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team

24 April 2006


Schedule of inventory and research activities for identification of critical habitat for Spotted Owls in Canada.

Description of ActivityRationaleTimelineActivity or Report Completed
Develop survey standards for Spotted Owls.Standards are needed to ensure sufficient effort is expended in an area to detect a spotted owl if it is present or reliably conclude owls are not present. Such standards are required to provide credible survey results.2004Hobbs, J., I. Blackburn, and A. Harestad. 2004. Survey protocol standards for the Northern Spotted Owl (Strix occidentalis caurina) in British Columbia. Resources Inventory Standards Committee, BC Ministry of Sustainable Resource Management, Victoria, BC. 34 pp.
Monitor populations of Spotted Owl to gather data on spatial and temporal variability in abundance and distribution within the species range.Sites occupied by Spotted Owl need to be identified and monitored to determine population trend and locate occupied sites.2004, 2005Surveys completed by BC Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection.
Seek and inventory undocumented populations and characterize their habitats.Identify additional occupied sites and critical habitat. Considerable effort was spent conducting surveys in areas that contained suitable habitat for Spotted Owl but had not been included in previous surveys.2005

Surveys and report completed by BC Ministry of

Environment, including information on some additional

sites surveyed by Keystone Wildlife Research Ltd., and

Eco-Vision and Seepanee Ecological Consulting.

Characterize the habitats and microhabitats of Spotted Owl nest sites in British. Columbia.Quantify habitat variables for habitat mapping and habitat modeling. Further refine critical habitat.2004Manley, I., A. Harestad, and L. Waterhouse. 2004. Nesting habitat of the Northern Spotted Owl in British Columbia. Final Report submitted to Canadian Forest Products Ltd. and Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team. 46 pp.
Characterize broad climatic features of habitats for Spotted Owl populations in the United States.Helps to identify constraints on suitable habitats in British Columbia.2004Main, B. and A. Harestad. 2004. Climatic indices and population parameters of Northern Spotted Owls: implications to management in British Columbia. Final Report submitted to Canadian Forest Products Ltd. and Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team. 35 pp.
Identify characteristics of Spotted Owl habitat in British ColumbiaHelps refine suitable habitat and thus ensure surveys, monitoring and identification of critical habitat are more efficient and accurate.2004Harestad, A., L. Waterhouse, and S. McCullam. 2004. Refining characteristics of Spotted Owl habitat to improve habitat inventories in British Columbia. Final Report submitted to Canadian Forest Products Ltd. and Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team. 27 pp.
Develop and apply habitat mapping and modeling to assess relations of protected areas, natural disturbances, and land management activities to Spotted Owls and their habitats.Identified large-scale areas which likely contain critical habitat for Spotted Owls to meet recovery goals in 50 years; examined population trends, examined preliminary policy options reviewed by the CSORT; presented methods to identify options for critical habitat selection2004-2006Sutherland, G.DA. Fall, D. O’Brien, F.L. Waterhouse, and A.S. Harestad (editors). A framework for landscape analysis of habitat supply and effects on populations of the Northern Spotted Owl in BC. Submitted to BC MoFR, Res. Br., Vic., BC. Spec. Rep. (in review).
Develop seamless database of forest inventory.Foresttype and age class are needed for habitat modelling  of suitable Spotted Owl habitat2004-2005Ministry of Water, Land, and Air Protection and Ministry of Forests.
Complete draft Recovery Action Plan for Spotted OwlUsing all information gathered from the above actions and sources, draft a Recovery Action Plan that includes a habitat section that gives sufficient recommendations and guidance to the provincial government to enable them to identify Critical Habitat2004-2006CSORT final draft Action Plan for Spotted Owl in BC submitted to provincial government for approval.
Identify Critical Habitat for survival, recovery and potential reintroductions, including existing suitable habitat and capable habitat that can be recruited over time.    Consider guidance from Action Plan recommendations,  habitat mapping,  modeling and other relevant information sources to identify Critical Habitat and develop a habitat management plan for Spotted Owl recovery that is coordinated with existing  protected areas and land use/management activities2006-2007Ministry of Environment to provide identification of Critical Habitat and a revised Habitat Management Plan for the recovery of the Spotted Owl in BC.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

CHOUETTE TACHETÉE DU NORD (Strix occidentalis caurina)

Addenda 1

Calendrier des études visant la désignation

de l’habitat essentiel

Préparé par l’équipe canadienne

de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée

Le 24 avril 2006


Liste des activités d’inventaire et de recherche pour la désignation de l’habitat essentiel de la Chouette tachetée au Canada

Description de l’activitéJustificationCalendrierActivité ou rapport achevé
Élaborer des normes de relevé pour la Chouette tachetée. Les normes sont nécessaires pour faire en sorte que suffisamment d’efforts soient déployés dans un territoire pour détecter la présence de Chouettes tachetées ou conclure de façon fiable que les chouettes ne sont pas présentes. De telles normes sont requises afin de fournir des résultats de relevés crédibles.2004Hobbs , J., I. Blackburn et A. Harestad. 2004. Survey protocol standards for the Northern Spotted Owl (Strix occidentalis caurina) in British Columbia, Resources Inventory Standards Committee, Ministry of Sustainable Resource Management de la Colombie­Britannique, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), 34 p.
Effectuer le suivi des populations de Chouettes tachetées pour recueillir des données sur la variabilité spatiale et temporelle de l’abondance et de la distribution dans l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.Il faut repérer et effectuer le suivi des sites occupés par la Chouette tachetée pour déterminer la tendance de la population et localiser les sites occupés.2004 et 2005 Relevés complétés par le Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection de la Colombie­Britannique.
Rechercher les populations non documentées, en dresser l’inventaire et caractériser leurs habitats.Repérer d’autres sites occupés et l’habitat essentiel. Beaucoup d’activités ont été consacrées à la réalisation de relevés dans des territoires qui comportaient de l'habitat convenable pour la Chouette tachetée, mais n’avaient pas fait partie des relevés précédents.2005 Relevés et rapport préparés par le Ministry of Environment de la Colombie­Britannique, y compris l’information sur certains autres sites où les relevés ont été effectués par Keystone Wildlife Research Ltd et Eco‑Vision et Seepanee Ecological Consulting.
Caractériser les habitats et les microhabitats des sites de nidification de la Chouette tachetée en Colombie­Britannique.Quantifier les variables de l’habitat pour la cartographie et la modélisation de l’habitat. Parachever l’habitat essentiel.2004Manley, I., A. Harestad et L. Waterhouse. 2004. Nesting habitat of the Northern Spotted Owl in British Columbia, rapport final présenté à Produits forestiers du Canada ltée et à l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée, 46 p.
Caractériser les principaux éléments climatiques des habitats des populations de la Chouette tachetée aux États­Unis.Aider à cerner les contraintes sur les habitats convenables en Colombie­Britannique.2004Main, B. et A. Harestad. 2004. Climatic indices and population parameters of Northern Spotted Owls: implications to management in British Columbia, rapport final présenté à Produits forestiers du Canada ltée et à l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée, 35 p.
Déterminer les caractéristiques de l’habitat de la Chouette tachetée en Colombie­Britannique.Aider à préciser l’habitat convenable et s'assurer ainsi que les relevés, la surveillance et la désignation de l’habitat essentiel sont plus efficaces et exacts.2004Harestad, A., L. Waterhouse et S. McCullam. 2004. Refining characteristics of Spotted Owl habitat to improve habitat inventories in British Columbia, rapport final présenté à Produits forestiers du Canada ltée et à l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée, 27 p.
Élaborer et utiliser la cartographie et la modélisation de l’habitat afin d’évaluer les relations entre les aires protégées, les perturbations naturelles et les activités de gestion des terres pour la Chouette tachetée et ses habitats.Repérer de grandes superficies de territoire qui renferment probablement l’habitat essentiel pour les Chouettes tachetées afin d’atteindre les buts du rétablissement en 50 ans; examiner des tendances de la population et des orientations stratégiques préliminaires par l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée; présenter des méthodes pour cerner différentes possibilités pour la sélection de l’habitat essentiel.De 2004 à 2006Sutherland, G.D., A. Fall, D. O’Brien, F.L. Waterhouse et A.S. Harestad (éditeurs). A framework for landscape analysis of habitat supply and effects on populations of the Northern Spotted Owl in BC, présenté au Ministry of Forests de la Colombie­Britannique, Res. Br., Vic., BC Spec. Rep. (en examen).
Préparer une base de données homogène de l’inventaire forestier.Les genres de forêt et les classes d’âges sont nécessaires pour la modélisation de l’habitat convenable de la Chouette tachetée.2004 et 2005Ministry of Water, Land, and Air Protection et Ministry of Forests.
Terminer le plan d’action provisoire pour le rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée.En se servant de toute l’information recueillie par les activités et les rapports mentionnés plus haut, préparer un plan d’action pour le rétablissement qui comprend une section sur l’habitat donnant assez de recommandations et de conseils au gouvernement provincial pour lui permettre de désigner l’habitat essentiel.De 2004 à 2006Le plan d’action final provisoire pour la Chouette tachetée en Colombie­Britannique préparé par l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée est présenté au gouvernement provincial pour approbation.
Désigner l’habitat essentiel pour la survie, le rétablissement et les réintroductions éventuelles, y compris l’habitat convenable existant et l’habitat adéquat qui pourront être recrutés au fil des ans.Tenir compte des conseils et des recommandations du plan d’action, de la cartographie de l’habitat, de la modélisation et des autres sources d’information pertinentes afin de désigner l’habitat essentiel et préparer un plan de gestion de l’habitat pour le rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée qui est cordonné avec les activités de gestion et l’utilisation des terres et des aires protégées existantes.2006 et 2007Le Ministry of Environment fournira la désignation de l’habitat essentiel et un plan de gestion de l’habitat révisé pour le rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée en Colombie­Britannique.