Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentalis caurina)

5. Threats to the Species

Although a few new territories have been discovered in recent years (e.g., Hobbs 2002), recruitment of young into the now small, fragmented British Columbia population is likely infrequent. Areas known to have been previously occupied, as well as surveyed areas of suitable habitat where owls have not been recorded in the past, have not been reoccupied by owls over the last few years, and no banded juveniles have been relocated in following years (Blackburn et al. 2002). Small populations are extremely vulnerable to extirpation. If the population is unable to stabilize and become resilient to the factors that caused the decline, the population will become extirpated.

Threats to the species can be divided into primary and secondary factors (Blackburn and Godwin 2003). Primary factors are those that cause long-term sustained effects that limit the carrying capacity or total capable population size. Primary factors include habitat loss and fragmentation, competition with Barred Owls and, possibly, climate change. Secondary factors can cause short-term effects in population size, but populations would normally recover soon after the influence of the factor changes to a more favourable condition. Secondary factors include stochastic environmental, demographic, and genetic events. Although primary factors generally limit population size and may ultimately cause extirpation, secondary factors are often the proximal cause of extirpation of small populations (Blackburn and Godwin 2003).

 

5.1 Loss and Fragmentation of Suitable Habitat

Loss and fragmentation of habitat is widely thought to be the primary threat to the Spotted Owl throughout the Pacific Northwest (USDI 1992; Dunbar and Blackburn 1994; Gutiérrez et al. 1995). More than 10% of the historic range of the owl within the Chilliwack and Squamish forest districts has been converted to urban and agricultural areas, roads, pipelines, reservoirs, hydroelectric dams and associated reservoirs, recreational developments, and utility corridors. Continued habitat loss will likely decrease the total amount of habitat available to the owl and further fragment habitat. As well, natural disturbances (e.g., from fire, insects, blowdown) may also result in further habitat losses if they are extensive enough. Decreasing amounts of habitat and increasing fragmentation within the landscape is associated with decreased occupancy, fewer potential territories, lower productivity, lower survivorship, and lower dispersal success. Patches of suitable habitat must be close enough to allow owls to use and move among them. If fragmentation is too great, owls may be unable to efficiently use the suitable habitat that may be available to them. In addition to habitat loss, conversion of old stands to young stands may impede dispersal of owls, depending on the spatial configuration of the landscape, because young stands may act as barriers. If such constraints on dispersal occur, then some areas of suitable habitat, although they are large enough to support owls, may not be occupied.

In British Columbia, clearcut logging typically has reduced stand level structural diversity in logged areas. More recent forest management practices may provide better management of biodiversity values, including provisions for maintaining more structural diversity in logged areas both at the stand-level (e.g., Wildlife Tree Patches and Riparian Management Areas), and at the landscape level (Old Growth Management Areas, Ungulate Winter Ranges, and indirectly through Visual Quality Objectives). However, these management practices do not provide large enough habitat patches to support breeding pairs of Spotted Owls. As well, rotation lengths between successive harvests may be shorter than is currently thought to be required to achieve suitable habitat conditions for owls (i.e., shorter than 100 years). This could result in the equivalent of a permanent loss of habitat because the habitat would be retained as unsuitable over the long term

Connectivity among subpopulation clusters is considered essential to maintain a population’s viability (Lamberson et al. 1994.) Connectivity with populations in the United States has been compromised by human development of the lower Fraser River valley. Large unforested valleys are known to act as barriers to dispersal (Forsman et al. 2002a); therefore, dispersal of owls between the United States and Canada is no longer likely in the lower Fraser River valley from Vancouver to close to Chilliwack. Any dispersal between owl subpopulation clusters in British Columbia and Washington is likely restricted to the Skagit River Valley.

 

5.2 Range Expansion of Barred Owls

In the 1960s, the Northern Barred Owl (Strix varia varia) expanded its range westward and southward and began to overlap the range of the Spotted Owl in British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1990; Dunbar et al. 1991) and the United States (Hamer 1988; Gutiérrez et al. 1995). Barred Owls thrive in a variety of forest types and seral stages and can adapt to more varied food sources than Spotted Owls.

Competition with Barred Owls is thought to be a primary threat to Spotted Owls through increased competition for habitat and prey, and perhaps as a consequence of hybridization and predation (Wilcove 1987; Carey et al. 1992; SOMIT 1997a). Territorial interactions have been observed between Barred Owls and Spotted Owls, and Barred Owls have been found at nest sites formerly occupied by Spotted Owls (Hamer et al. 2001; Kelly et al. 2003). Kelly et al. (2003) suggested that Barred Owls sometimes displaced Spotted Owls from their territories if Barred Owls occurred within 0.8 km of a Spotted Owl territory centre. Those Spotted Owls that were not displaced continued to maintain their normal reproductive output, but regional reproductive output was lower because there were fewer Spotted Owls (Kelly 2002). However, a study in Oregon found that although Barred Owls had taken over some Spotted Owl territories, the population of Spotted Owls had not declined (Forsman et al. 2002b).

Competition for food between Barred Owls and Spotted Owls seems likely because diets greatly overlap (76% in one study in western Washington), food is limiting in some years, and Barred Owls have moved into much of the Spotted Owl’s range (Hamer et al. 2001).

In British Columbia, the extent of the potential for competition is illustrated by the discovery in the early 1990s that Barred Owls were four times more abundant than Spotted Owls within the range of the latter species (Dunbar and Blackburn 1994). Most Barred Owls detected during Spotted Owl surveys in the province tended to occur along valley bottoms near riparian habitats; Spotted Owls tended to occur at mid- and upper-elevation areas where most of old forest remains (Blackburn and Harestad 2002). A preliminary analysis of Barred Owl territory occupancy within Spotted Owl survey areas between 1992 and 2001 indicated a decline in Barred Owl numbers similar to that recorded for the Spotted Owl (Blackburn and Harestad 2002). The authors suggested several scenarios to explain the similar population declines, including a lack of displacement competition, because the similar declines suggest other factors were simultaneously affecting both species. Conversely, the results may suggest that both species were declining due to competition for the same resources.

To further complicate the issue, hybridization between Barred Owls and Spotted Owls has been recorded (Hamer et al.1994). Spotted Owls are closely related to Barred Owls (Gutiérrez et al. 1995). In Washington and Oregon, a total of 50 hybrids were observed between 1974 and 1999 (Kelly 2002). The frequency of interspecific matings is extremely low when compared to the total number of Northern Spotted Owl matings within the demographic study areas in Washington and Oregon (Kelly 2002). Despite the extensive sympatry of these two species, the genetic isolating mechanisms that separate Spotted Owls and Barred Owls are thought to be effective enough to maintain hybridization at this very low incidence (Hamer et al. 1994).

Kelly et al. (2003) suggested two possible scenarios if present trends continue: (1) Barred Owls displace Spotted Owls and the latter species becomes extirpated, or, (2) some form of equilibrium is reached where both species coexist. Currently, the potential impact of Barred Owls on Northern Spotted Owls in British Columbia is unknown. Potential for competition and/or hybridization between the species is of particular concern in British Columbia because both could have serious consequences by reducing the already small pool of breeders.

 

5.3 Climate Change

Climate change may threaten Spotted Owls if it negatively affects prey species (e.g., declining abundance and availability), weather (e.g., more rain or colder mean temperatures), vegetation (e.g., changing composition and structure), environmental stochasticity (e.g., increased fire rates and intensity if less rain, more insect outbreaks due to less severe winters), and disease. For example, insect outbreaks are strongly affecting forest health in Special Resource Management Zones near Lillooet Lake (D. Heppner, pers. comm.). Recent increases in insect outbreaks have been linked with climate change (Dale et al. 2001).

On the other hand, climate change may improve habitat and other environmental conditions for Spotted Owls if conditions change to mimic those now found in southern parts of its range where owl densities are higher. Therefore, the level of threat from climate change remains undetermined as it relates to Spotted Owls in British Columbia.

 

5.4 Environmental, Demographic, and Genetic Stochasticity

Populations are vulnerable to extinction from many factors. When populations become small or isolated, for whatever reason, they can become vulnerable to extirpation through environmental, demographic, or genetic stochastic (random) events (Caughley and Gunn 1995). Stochastic events, therefore, tend to be additive in that they may contribute to factor(s) that originally caused the population’s decline.

Environmental stochasticity refers to periodic variation in conditions (e.g., wildfires, wind, forest diseases, and floods) and the effect these have on a population. Typically, environmental factors are of concern if they have the potential to eliminate habitats and the populations that they support. Catastrophic loss of habitat due to fire is a pertinent example of an environmental factor that has the potential to affect a small population or subpopulation of Spotted Owls. This issue is particularly relevant because fire suppression in some dry-site forests has changed the structure and species composition of forests in such a way that they are vulnerable to stand-replacement events. Although environmental stochasticity can affect all sizes of populations, the effects are higher in smaller populations or those already affected by other factors.

Demographic stochasticity in small populations means that changes in population size from one year to the next are more related to pure chance than age-specific survival and reproduction. That is, population size varies between years, but when the population is small, this variation has more chance of causing extirpation.

The third way random events negatively affect small populations is through loss of genetic variability. Once a population is reduced to below a certain threshold, random genetic drift will result in some alleles being lost by chance in the transfer of genetic material from one generation to the next (Caughley and Gunn 1995). The lost alleles may be related to adaptation to certain conditions; their loss would increase the species’ risk of extinction.

 

5.5 West Nile Virus

The West Nile virus is a disease of concern throughout the owl’s range. Originally the West Nile virus was known only from Africa, West Asia, and the Middle East. This virus was first isolated in the Western Hemisphere in New York in 1999, and has since spread rapidly across North America (Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre 2003). The geographic range of the West Nile virus may already include British Columbia because it was documented in Washington and Saskatchewan in 2002, and Alberta in 2003 (Helen Schwantje, pers. comm.).

Wild birds are the usual host of this virus; currently it has been detected in 138 species of dead birds in North America. Infected birds include several species of owls, although not the Spotted Owl as yet. Although birds infected with West Nile virus can become ill or die, most infected birds survive and become carriers of the virus (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 2003).

The effect West Nile virus will have on Spotted Owl populations in British Columbia is difficult to predict. However, given the current low population, any added negative factor could significantly increase the chance of extirpation.

 

5.6 Human Disturbance

This owl’s docile nature and low density suggests that most recreational activities are probably not a threat. Only those activities directed specifically at the birds or very close to active nests are likely to disturb the birds. In southern Utah, Mexican Spotted Owls (Strix occidentalis lucida) were unlikely to flush at distances of 24 m or more from hikers (Swarthout and Steidl 2003).

The most likely human disturbance of Spotted Owls in British Columbia is related to activities that produce very loud noises. These sources of potential disturbance might include logging activity, blasting (e.g., during road construction or operation of a rock quarry), or low flight of jets or helicopters. Delaney et al. (1999) reported substantial rates of flushing in response to chainsaw and helicopter noise in close proximity to Mexican Spotted Owls during the nesting and non-nesting seasons in New Mexico. At all distances less than 60 m, chainsaws caused a higher flushing rate than helicopter noise at the same distance. Spotted Owls did not flush when these disturbances occurred more than 105 m away. Measures of Spotted Owl productivity did not differ significantly between control sites and those exposed to chainsaw or helicopter noise, although productivity was slightly lower at noisy sites (Delaney et al. 1999).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

CHOUETTE TACHETÉE DU NORD (Strix occidentalis caurina)

5. Menaces pour l’espèce

Bien qu’on ait découvert quelques nouveaux territoires abritant des chouettes au cours des dernières années (p. ex. Hobbs, 2002), le recrutement des jeunes dans la population de la Colombie-Britannique, aujourd’hui petite et fragmentée, est probablement peu fréquent. Les secteurs connus pour avoir déjà été occupés par des chouettes, de même que les zones d'habitat convenable (mais où l’espèce n’a jamais été observée) ayant été objet de relevés, n’ont pas été réoccupés ou occupés par les chouettes au cours des dernières années, et aucun des juvéniles bagués n’y a été relocalisé au cours des années suivantes (Blackburn et al., 2002). Les petites populations sont extrêmement vulnérables à la disparition. Si la population est incapable de se stabiliser et d’acquérir une résilience aux facteurs qui ont provoqué son déclin, elle disparaîtra.

Les menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce peuvent être divisées en facteurs primaires ou secondaires (Blackburn et Godwin, 2003). Les facteurs primaires sont ceux qui ont des effets soutenus à long terme limitant la capacité de charge ou la taille de la population totale potentielle. Parmi ces facteurs figurent entre autres la perte et la fragmentation de l’habitat, la compétition avec la Chouette rayée et, peut-être aussi, le changement climatique. Les facteurs secondaires peuvent avoir des effets à court terme sur la taille de la population, mais les populations se rétablissent généralement peu après que l’influence du facteur se modifie et que des conditions plus favorables s’installent. Les facteurs secondaires incluent notamment les événements stochastiques environnementaux, démographiques et génétiques. Bien que les facteurs primaires limitent généralement la taille des populations et peuvent finir par provoquer leur disparition, les facteurs secondaires sont souvent la cause immédiate de la disparition des petites populations (Blackburn et Godwin, 2003).

 

5.1 Perte et fragmentation de l’habitat convenable

On estime généralement que la principale menace qui pèse sur la Chouette tachetée dans le nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord est la perte et la fragmentation de l’habitat (USDI, 1992; Dunbar et Blackburn, 1994; Gutiérrez et al., 1995). Dans les circonscriptions forestières de Chilliwack et de Squamish, plus de 10 % de l’aire de répartition historique de l’espèce ont été convertis en zones urbaines et agricoles, en routes, en pipelines, en réservoirs, en barrages et réservoirs hydroélectriques, en aires d'activités récréatives et en corridors de services publiques. La perte continue de l’habitat diminuera vraisemblablement la quantité totale de l’habitat disponible pour la chouette et fragmentera l'habitat davantage. Par ailleurs, les perturbations naturelles sévères (p. ex. feux, insectes, chablis) peuvent aussi entraîner des pertes d’habitat additionnelles. La diminution de la quantité d’habitat et l'augmentation de la fragmentation du paysage sont associées à une occupation moindre, à une diminution des territoires potentiels, à une baisse de la productivité, à une plus faible survie et à une baisse du succès de la dispersion. Les parcelles d’habitat convenable doivent être assez rapprochées pour permettre aux chouettes de les utiliser et de se déplacer entre elles. Lorsque le territoire est trop fragmenté, les chouettes peuvent être incapables d'utiliser efficacement l’habitat convenable dont elles disposent. En plus de la perte de l’habitat, le remplacement des vieux peuplements par de jeunes peuplements pourrait, selon la configuration spatiale du paysage, nuire à la dispersion des chouettes, car les jeunes peuplements peuvent agir comme des obstacles. Lorsque ce genre de contrainte est présent, certaines parties de l’habitat convenable peuvent demeurer inoccupées malgré qu’elles soient assez vastes pour abriter les chouettes.

En Colombie-Britannique, les coupes à blanc ont généralement réduit la diversité structurelle à l'échelle du peuplement dans les forêts exploitées. Les pratiques d’aménagement forestier plus récentes peuvent apporter une meilleure gestion des valeurs reliées à la biodiversité, notamment en intégrant des dispositions destinées à maintenir une plus grande diversité structurelle dans les forêts exploitées, et ce tant à l'échelle du peuplement (p. ex. parcelles de conservation [Wildlife Tree Patches] et zones d’aménagement riverain [Riparian Management Areas]), qu’à celle du paysage (p. ex. zones d’aménagement de forêts anciennes [Old Growth Management Areas], aires d’hivernage des ongulés [Ungulate Winter Ranges] et, indirectement, par les objectifs de qualité visuelle [Visual Quality Objectives]). Ces pratiques de gestion ne permettent cependant pas de sauvegarder des parcelles d’habitat assez grandes pour abriter des couples reproducteurs de Chouettes tachetées. De même, les durées de révolution entre les récoltes successives pourraient être plus courtes que le temps actuellement jugé suffisant pour que l’habitat parvienne à présenter les conditions qui conviennent à l’espèce (soit, moins de 100 ans). Ceci peut mener à l'équivalent d'une perte permanente de l’habitat car l'habitat demeure inapproprié à long terme.

La connectivité entre les groupes de sous-populations est considérée comme un facteur essentiel au maintien de la viabilité d’une population (Lamberson et al., 1994). La connectivité de la population avec celles des États-Unis a été compromise par les aménagements humains de la vallée du bas Fraser. Comme on sait que les vastes vallées non boisées font obstacle à la dispersion (Forsman et al., 2002a), les chouettes ne se déplacent probablement plus beaucoup entre les États-Unis et le Canada dans la partie de la vallée du bas Fraser située entre Vancouver et les environs de Chilliwack. Par ailleurs, la dispersion entre les groupes de sous-populations de Colombie-Britannique et du Washington est probablement limitée par la vallée de la rivière Skagit.

 

5.2 Expansion de l’aire de répartition de la Chouette rayée

Dans les années 1960, la Chouette rayée (Strix varia varia) a étendu son aire de répartition vers l’ouest et le sud, et a commencé à chevaucher l'aire de répartition de la Chouette tachetée en Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et al., 1990; Dunbar et al., 1991) et aux États-Unis (Hamer, 1988; Gutiérrez et al., 1995). La Chouette rayée peut prospérer dans divers types de forêts et stades de succession, et s'adapter à une plus grande variété de ressources alimentaires que la Chouette tachetée.

La Chouette rayée pourrait être une importante menace pour la Chouette tachetée en augmentant la concurrence pour l’habitat et les proies et, peut-être aussi en raison des conséquences de l’hybridation et de la prédation (Wilcove, 1987; Carey et al., 1992; SOMIT, 1997a). On a déjà observé des interactions territoriales entre les deux espèces, et on a vu des Chouettes rayées occuper des sites de nidification auparavant occupées par la Chouette tachetée (Hamer et al., 2001; Kelly et al., 2003). Selon Kelly et al. (2003), la Chouette rayée chasserait parfois la Chouette tachetée de son territoire lorsqu’elle se trouve à moins de 0,8 km du centre du territoire de la Chouette tachetée. Les Chouettes tachetées non déplacées maintenaient leur taux de reproduction normal, mais le taux de reproduction à l’échelle régionale était réduit en raison du nombre moins élevé de Chouettes tachetées (Kelly, 2002). Une étude menée en Oregon a toutefois conclu qu'en dépit de la prise de possession de certains territoires de la Chouette tachetée par la Chouette rayée, la population de Chouettes tachetées n’avait pas décliné (Forsman et al., 2002b).

La concurrence alimentaire entre les deux espèces existe probablement étant donné que leurs régimes alimentaires se chevauchent beaucoup (à 76 % selon une étude menée dans l’ouest du Washington), que la disponibilité de la nourriture est limitative certaines années, et que la Chouette rayée s'est déplacée dans une grande partie de l’aire de répartition de la Chouette tachetée (Hamer et al., 2001).

En Colombie-Britannique, l’ampleur de la concurrence potentielle est illustrée par la découverte, au début des années 1990, que les Chouettes rayées étaient quatre fois plus abondantes que les Chouettes tachetées dans l’aire de répartition de ces dernières (Dunbar et Blackburn, 1994). La plupart des Chouettes rayées, détectées par les relevés de Chouette tachetée dans la province, se trouvaient en général dans le fond des vallées, près des habitat riverains; la Chouette tachetée fréquentait généralement les zones de moyenne ou de haute altitude où la majorité des forêts anciennes demeure présente (Blackburn et Harestad, 2002). Une analyse préliminaire de l’occupation du territoire par la Chouette rayée, dans les secteurs de relevés de la Chouette tachetée entre 1992 et 2001, a montré un déclin du nombre de Chouettes rayées similaire à celui enregistré pour la Chouette tachetée (Blackburn et Harestad, 2002). Pour expliquer ces déclins similaires de la population, les auteurs invoquent divers scénarios, notamment l’absence de compétition d’exclusion, la similitude des déclins donnant à penser que d’autres facteurs affecteraient simultanément les deux espèces. Par contre, les résultats pourraient indiquer que les deux espèces déclinaient en raison de la compétition pour les mêmes ressources.

Pour compliquer encore la question, l'hybridation entre les deux espèces a été enregistrée (Hamer et al.1994). La Chouette tachetée est étroitement apparentée à la Chouette rayée (Gutiérrez et al., 1995). Dans l'État de Washington et en Oregon, on a recensé 50 hybrides entre 1974 et 1999 (Kelly, 2002). La fréquence des accouplements interspécifiques est extrêmement faible comparativement au nombre total de Chouettes tachetées du Nord qui s’accouplent dans les zones qui font l’objet d’études démographiques dans l'État de Washington et en Oregon (Kelly, 2002). Malgré la sympatrie marquée entre ces deux espèces, les mécanismes d’isolement génétique semblent assez efficaces pour maintenir l’hybridation à ce très bas niveau (Hamer et al., 1994).

Kelly et al. (2003) évoquent deux scénarios possibles si les tendances actuelles se maintiennent : 1) la Chouette rayée chassera la Chouette tachetée, qui disparaîtra ou 2) un certain équilibre sera atteint dans les régions où coexistent les deux espèces. À l’heure actuelle, on ignore quel peut être l’impact potentiel de la Chouette rayée sur la Chouette tachetée du Nord en Colombie-Britannique. Le potentiel de compétition et/ou d’hybridation entre les deux espèces est particulièrement préoccupant dans la province, car les deux phénomènes pourraient avoir de graves conséquences en réduisant le bassin déjà maigre des reproducteurs.

 

5.3 Changement climatique

Le changement climatique pourrait mettre la Chouette tachetée en danger s’il venait à avoir une incidence négative sur les espèces proies (p. ex. diminution du nombre et de la disponibilité de ces espèces), sur les conditions météorologiques (p. ex. augmentation des précipitations ou rafraîchissement des températures moyennes), sur la végétation (p. ex. modification de la composition et de la structure de la végétation), sur la stochasticité environnementale (p. ex. augmentation de la fréquence et de l’intensité des incendies s’il y a diminution des précipitations, augmentation des invasions d’insectes si les hivers sont moins rudes), et sur la maladie. Les invasions d’insectes, par exemple, affectent lourdement la santé des forêts dans les zones spéciales de gestion des ressources [Special Resource Management Zones] près du lac Lillooet (D. Heppner, comm. pers.), et l’augmentation récente du nombre d’invasions a été reliée au changement climatique (Dale et al., 2001).

En revanche, le changement climatique pourrait aussi modifier l’habitat et les autres conditions environnementales en faveur de la Chouette tachetée s’il venait à reproduire dans le nord les conditions qui règnent dans le sud de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, où la densité des chouettes est plus élevée. Le danger que représente le changement climatique pour la Chouette tachetée en Colombie-Britannique demeure donc incertain.

 

5.4 Stochasticité environnementale, démographique et génétique

De nombreux facteurs rendent les populations vulnérables à la disparition. Une population qui, pour une raison ou une autre, décline ou se trouve isolée, risque de disparaître à cause de divers phénomènes environnementaux, démographiques ou génétiques stochastiques (aléatoires) (Caughley et Gunn, 1995). L’incidence de ces phénomènes vient donc généralement s’ajouter à celle des autres facteurs qui peuvent être à l’origine du déclin d’une population.

Par stochasticité environnementale, nous entendons la variation périodique des divers phénomènes environnementaux (p. ex. feux de forêt, vent, maladies des forêts, inondations) et des effets qu’ils ont sur une population. Normalement, les facteurs environnementaux sont préoccupants s’ils risquent d’éliminer des habitats, avec les populations qu’ils abritent. La perte catastrophique de l’habitat attribuable à un incendie est un bon exemple de facteur environnemental qui a le potentiel de perturber une petite population ou une sous-population de Chouettes tachetées. Cet exemple est d’ailleurs particulièrement pertinent, car l’extinction des incendies dans certaines forêts sèches a modifié la structure et la composition des espèces au point de les rendre vulnérables aux opérations de reboisement. Bien que la stochasticité environnementale puisse avoir une incidence sur les populations de toutes tailles, ses effets sont plus prononcés dans les petites populations ou dans celles qui sont déjà affaiblies par d’autres facteurs.

Dans les petites populations, la stochasticité démographique fait en sorte que les variations annuelles dans les effectifs sont davantage liées au pur hasard qu’à la survie selon l’âge et à la reproduction. Ainsi, s’il est normal que la taille des populations varie d’une année à l’autre, cette variation risque davantage d’entraîner sa disparition lorsque la population est petite.

La troisième façon avec laquelle les phénomènes aléatoires peuvent affecter les petites populations est la perte de la variabilité génétique. Une fois la population tombée sous un certain seuil, la dérive génétique aléatoire entraîne la perte au hasard de certains allèles lors du transfert du matériel génétique d’une génération à la suivante (Caughley et Gunn, 1995). Les allèles perdus pourraient être liés à l’adaptation à certaines conditions, leur perte augmenterait le risque de disparition de l’espèce.

 

5.5 Virus du Nil occidental

Le virus du Nil occidental est un agent pathogène préoccupant dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de la chouette. À l’origine, ce virus ne sévissait qu’en Afrique, en Asie occidentale et au Moyen-Orient. Isolé pour la première fois dans l’hémisphère occidental à New York en 1999, il s’est depuis rapidement répandu dans toute l’Amérique du Nord (Centre canadien coopératif de la santé de la faune, 2003). Sa distribution géographique pourrait déjà inclure la Colombie-Britannique, car on a signalé la présence du virus dans l’État de Washington et en Saskatchewan en 2002, de même qu’en Alberta en 2003 (Helen Schwantje, comm. pers.).

Les oiseaux sauvages sont l’hôte habituel de ce virus, que l’on a jusqu’à présent détecté chez 138 espèces d’oiseaux morts en Amérique du Nord. Au nombre des oiseaux infectés figurent plusieurs espèces de chouettes et de hiboux, mais la Chouette tachetée ne semble pas encore touchée. Bien que les oiseaux infectés peuvent tomber malades ou mourir, la plupart survivent et deviennent alors porteurs du virus (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2003).

Il est difficile de prévoir l’effet qu’aura le virus du Nil occidental sur la population de Chouettes tachetées de Colombie-Britannique. Cependant, vu la faiblesse de ses effectifs, tout nouveau facteur nuisible risque d’accroître sensiblement le risque de disparition.

 

5.6 Perturbations anthropiques

Vu la nature docile et la faible densité de la Chouette tachetée, la plupart des activités récréatives ne constituent probablement pas une menace. Seules les activités visant spécifiquement les oiseaux ou pratiquées très près de nids actifs pourraient avoir des effets perturbateurs. Dans le sud de l’Utah, les Chouettes tachetées du Mexique (Strix occidentalis lucida) ont montré un faible taux d'envol à des distances de 24 m ou moins des randonneurs (Swarthout et Steidl, 2003).

La perturbation anthropique la plus probable de la Chouette tachetée en Colombie-Britannique est liée aux activités très bruyantes. Les sources potentielles de telles perturbations peuvent inclure les opérations forestières, le dynamitage (p. ex. pour la construction de routes ou l’exploitation d’une carrière) ou le vol à basse altitude d’avions à réaction ou d’hélicoptères. Delaney et al. (1999) font état de taux d’envol élevés en réaction au bruit émis par une scie à chaîne ou par un hélicoptère à proximité immédiate de Chouettes tachetées du Mexique au Nouveau-Mexique et ce, durant la saison de nidification ou en dehors de celle-ci. Dès qu’il était émis à moins de 60 m des oiseaux, le bruit d’une scie à chaîne entraînait un taux d'envol plus élevé que celui d'un hélicoptère à distance égale. Les Chouettes tachetées ne se sont pas envolées lorsque ce genre de perturbation avait lieu à plus de 105 m. La productivité de la Chouette tachetée ne variait pas beaucoup entre les sites témoins et les sites soumis à des bruits de scies à chaîne ou d’hélicoptères, mais elle était quand même légèrement plus faible dans les endroits bruyants (Delaney et al., 1999).