Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Consultation workbook on the addition of three aquatic species to the SARA List: shortnose cisco, black redhorse, kiyi (Great Lakes population)

Information About The Species

Shortnose cisco

Status: Endangered

Last Examination by COSEWIC:  May 2005

Biology

The shortnose cisco was endemic to the Great Lakes. It can be distinguished from other cisco species found in these lakes by the distinctive dark colouration of the snout.

Freshwater shrimps were the main prey items in lakes Huron and Ontario.

Spawning occurred from April to June at depth of 52-146 m. Age of maturity was reported as 2+ to 3+ years in Lake Michigan. Maximum known age is 11 years for females and 9 years for males. Maximum known length and weight is 265 mm in total length and 420 g.

Where is this fish found?

The shortnose cisco was endemic to lakes Huron, Michigan and Ontario. As it was last recorded in Lake Huron in 1985, Lake Michigan in 1982 and Lake Ontario in 1964, it might well be extinct.

The shortnose cisco was reported at depths ranging from 22 m to 146 m.

How many fish are there?

There are no known extant populations.

Threats to the population

Overfishing by the commercial deepwater cisco fishery (commonly known as the “chub fishery”) is the likely cause for the decline of the shortnose cisco. Competition with, or predation by, introduced fish species may also have contributed to the decline of remnant populations

COSEWIC Reason for Designation:

Endemic to three of the Great Lakes, this species was last recorded in Lake Michigan in 1982, in Lake Huron in 1985, and in Lake Ontario in 1964. Although it has probably disappeared throughout its range, searches for this species have not been extensive enough to declare this species extinct. The species’ apparent demise is suspected to be the result of commercial overfishing and possibly competition or predation from introduced species.

What will happen if this population is added to the SARA List?

  • If listed, general prohibitions under SARA would come into effect making it unlawful to kill, harm, harass, capture or take individuals of this species.
  • Under SARA, a recovery stratgy must be developed within one year of the shortnose cisco being listed.

Black redhorse

Status:  Threatened

Last Examination by COSEWIC:  May 2005

Biology

The black redhorse is a sucker that can be distinguished from other redhorse species by a combination of tail colour, shape and contours of the lips, and the number of scales on the lateral line.

The black redhorse is a bottom feeder using the grazing and picking method to feed mostly on crustaceans and insects. Young black redhorse, less than 65 mm in length, are thought to feed mainly on minute plant and animal material.

Black redhorse spawns, in spring, in riffle habitats over small cobbles at water temperatures ranging from 13-21ºC. During spawning, males exhibits colouration of the body and have tubercles on their anal and caudal fins while females show little or no colour. Lengths of fry at emergence range between 8.2 and 9.1 mm. In the Grand River, youngest mature females were 3 and males were 4 years of age. Maximum known age is 16 years and maximum known length is 658 mm total length and weight of 3200g.

Where is this fish found?

In Canada, the black redhorse is found only in southwestern Ontario. It occurs in drainages of Lake Erie (Grand River watershed); Lake St. Clair (Thames River watershed); Lake Huron (Bayfield River, Maitland River and the Ausable River watersheds); and western Lake Ontario (Spencer Creek watershed.)

Black redhorse general inhabits moderately sized, cool, clear streams. They prefer pools in summer and move into deeper pools in winter.

How many fish are there?

Despite extensive recent sampling, population sizes at all locations are unknown.

Threats to the population

It is likely impacted by changes in water quality and quantity related to agriculture, urbanization, dams and impoundments. Difficulty in identification and recreational by-catch together may also impact populations.

COSEWIC Reason for Designation:

A freshwater fish with a very small, highly fragmented distribution and area of occupancy, as well as restricted spawning habitat preferences. Native populations are found in only 5 Ontario watersheds in areas heavily impacted by urbanization and agriculture. It is at risk of habitat loss and degradation as a result of increased siltation and turbidity. Dams may adversely affect flow regimes and have fragmented populations in the two major rivers where this species occurs.

What would happen if this species is added to the SARA List?

  • If listed, general prohibitions under SARA would come into effect making it unlawful to kill, harm, harass, capture or take individuals of this species
  • Under SARA, a recovery strategy must be developed within four years of the black redhorse being listed
  • The black redhorse is included in the Ausable River, Thames River and Grand River ecosystem recovery strategies. These strategies are in the process of being reviewed
  • Plans for the black redhorse under the Ausable River Recovery Strategy include research into the distribution, abundance and identification of critical habitat
  • Plans for the black redhorse under the Grand River Recovery Strategy include research to identify critical habitat, develop and implement programs to protect known habitats, facilitate migration, protect from harvest, monitor known populations and their habitats, stewardship and awareness and community outreach
  • Plans for black redhorse under the Thames River Recovery Strategy include research into its distribution, abundance and genetics, identification of critical habitat, and awareness and community outreach programs.

Kiyi (Upper Great Lakes population)

Status:  Special Concern

Last Examination by COSEWIC:  May 2005

Biology

The kiyi is endemic to the Great Lakes and can be distinguished from other cisco species found in these lakes by its unique combination of large eyes and long paired fins.

Diet of kiyi in lakes Huron and Ontario consisted mainly of small freshwater shrimps.

Spawning occurs from September to January at depths of 106-165 m. Age of maturity is attained at 2+ to 3+ years old in Lake Michigan and minimum size at maturity is 132 mm total length. Maximum known age is 10+ years for females and 7+ years for males. Maximum known length is 250 mm total length.

Where is this fish found?

The kiyi is endemic to all the Laurentian Great Lakes of North America except Lake Erie. In Canada, the kiyi is known from lakes Huron, Ontario and Superior. It is believed to be currently extant only in Lake Superior.

The kiyi prefers the deepest parts of lakes where it is clear, poorly lit and cold. It is rarely collected in waters less than 108 m deep and has been reported at depths ranging from 35 m to 200 m.

How many fish are there?

Recent surveys (2000-01) suggest that there are between 22 and 330 tonnes of kiyi found in the deepest parts of Lake Superior.

Threats to the population

Commercial overfishing was likely the cause of decline of the kiyi in the lakes Huron, Michigan and Ontario. Competition with, or predation by, introduced fish species may also have contributed to the decline of remnant populations. However, these threats are not currently significant in Lake Superior where the only extant population remains.

COSEWIC Reason for Designation

Currently found only in Lake Superior, the subspecies has been extirpated from lakes Huron and Michigan, as the result of a complex of factors, which included exploitation and introduced exotic species. The extirpation in Lake Huron and Michigan occurred more than three generations in the past. The remaining population in Lake Superior appears to be stable, and supports a small, regulated fishery. Other threats such as the introduction of exotic species which have impacted populations in the lower Great Lakes do not appear to be important in Lake Superior.

What will happen if this population is added to the SARA List?

Under SARA, a management plan for the Kiyi must be developed within three years of species listing

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide consultation sur l'inscription de trois espèces aquatiques à la liste de la LEP: Cisco à museau court, Chevalier noir, Cisco kiyi (population du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs)

Renseignements au sujet de l’espèce

Cisco à museau court

Statut : Espèce en voie de disparition

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC : Mai 2005

Biologie

Le cisco à museau court était endémique des Grands Lacs. Il se distingue des autres ciscos des Grands Lacs par la coloration foncée de son museau.

Les crevettes d’eau douce étaient les proies de prédilection de l’espèce dans les lacs Huron et Ontario.

La période de fraie s’étendait d’avril à juin, à une profondeur de 52 à 146 m. Dans le lac Michigan, l’espèce atteignait la maturité vers l’âge de deux ou trois ans. L’âge maximum connu est de 11 ans dans le cas des femelles et de 9 ans dans le cas des mâles. La longueur totale et le poids maximums connus sont respectivement de 265 mm et de 420 g.

Où retrouve-t-on ce poisson?

Le cisco à museau court était endémique des lacs Huron, Michigan et Ontario. Comme on l’a observé pour la dernière fois dans le lac Huron en 1985, dans le lac Michigan en 1982 et dans le lac Ontario en 1964, il est sans doute disparu de ces lacs.

On a signalé la présence du cisco à museau court à des profondeurs variant entre 22 m et 146 m.

Combien y a-t-il de poissons?

Il n’y a pas de population existant encore qui soit connue.

Menaces pour la population

La pêche commerciale excessive des ciscos d’eau profonde (communément appelée « pêche des chubs ») est la cause probable du déclin du cisco à museau court. La concurrence ou la prédation par certaines espèces introduites peuvent également avoir contribué au déclin des populations restantes.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

L’observation de cette espèce endémique de trois des Grands Lacs a été consignée pour la dernière fois en 1982 dans le lac Michigan, en 1985 dans le lac Huron et en 1964 dans le lac Ontario. Bien que l’espèce soit probablement disparue dans toute son aire de répartition, les efforts de recherche n’ont pas permis de conclure que l’espèce est disparue. On croit que la disparition apparente de cette espèce est attribuable à la surpêche commerciale et peut-être à la concurrence ou à la prédation par des espèces introduites.

Qu’arrivera-t-il si cette population est ajoutée à la liste de la LEP?

  • Si cette population était inscrite, les interdictions générales en vertu de la LEP entreraient en vigueur et il serait donc interdit de tuer, de nuire, de harceler, de capturer ou de prendre un individu de cette espèce.
  • En vertu de la LEP, un programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré dans l’année qui suit l’inscription sur la liste du cisco à museau court  

Chevalier noir

Statut : Espèce menacée

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC : Mai 2005

Biologie

Le chevalier noir se distingue des autres espèces de chevaliers par la combinaison de la couleur de sa queue, de la morphologie de ses lèvres et du nombre d’écailles sur sa ligne latérale.

Le chevalier noir, qui se nourrit sur le fond, est un brouteur et un récolteur qui se nourrit surtout de crustacés et d’insectes. On croit que les jeunes, qui mesurent moins de 65 mm de longueur, se nourrissent essentiellement de petites plantes et de matières animales.

Le chevalier noir fraie au printemps, dans les radiers à fond de cailloux à des températures d’eau variant entre 13 et 21 ºC. Au moment du frai, les mâles présentent une coloration sur le corps et ont des tubercules sur les nageoires anale et caudale, tandis que chez les femelles, la coloration change peu ou pas du tout. La longueur des alevins à l’éclosion varie entre 8,2 et 9,1 mm. Dans la rivière Grand, les femelles matures les plus jeunes avaient 3 ans et les mâles 4 ans. L’âge maximum connu du chevalier noir est de 16 ans; la longueur totale et le poids maximums connus sont respectivement de 658 mm et de 3 200 g.

Où retrouve-t-on cette population de poissons?

Au Canada, le chevalier noir est confiné au sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Il se trouve dans les bassins de drainage du lac Érié (bassin versant de la rivière Grand), du

lac Sainte-Claire (bassin versant de la rivière Thames), du lac Huron (bassins versants des rivières Bayfield, Maitland et Ausable) et de l’ouest du lac Ontario (bassin versant du ruisseau Spencer.)

Le chevalier noir fréquente en général les cours d’eau de taille moyenne, aux eaux fraîches et claires. Il préfère les fosses l’été et se déplace dans les fosses plus profondes l’hiver.

Combien y a-t-il de poissons?

Malgré les récentes campagnes d’échantillonnage soutenues, on ignore la taille des populations dans toutes les localités.

Menaces pour la population

L’espèce est vraisemblablement touchée par les changements dans la qualité et la quantité de l’eau associés à l’agriculture, à l’urbanisation, aux barrages et aux retenues. La difficulté que posent son identification et les prises accessoires des pêches récréatives peuvent également avoir des répercussions sur les populations.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

Il s’agit d’un poisson d’eau douce dont la répartition et la zone d’occupation sont très petites et fragmentées, et dont les préférences quant à son habitat de frai sont restreintes. On a observé des populations indigènes seulement dans cinq bassins versants de l’Ontario, dans des zones fortement touchées par l’urbanisation et l’agriculture. L’espèce est exposée à la perte et à la dégradation de l’habitat à cause de l’envasement et de la turbidité accrue. Les barrages peuvent nuire aux régimes d’écoulement et pourraient avoir fragmenté les populations dans les deux principales rivières où se trouve cette espèce.

Qu’arrivera-t-il si cette population est ajoutée à la liste de la LEP?

  • Si cette population était inscrite, les interdictions générales en vertu de la LEP entreraient en vigueur et il serait donc interdit de tuer, de nuire, de harceler, de capturer ou de prendre un individu de cette espèce.
  • En vertu de la LEP, un programme de rétablissement doit être élaboré dans les quatre ans qui suivent l’inscription sur la liste du chevalier noir
  • Le chevalier noir est inclus dans les programmes de rétablissement des écosystèmes des rivières Ausable, Thames et Grand. On est en train d’examiner ces programmes
  • Les plans pour le chevalier noir en vertu du programme de rétablissement de la rivière Ausable comprennent la recherche concernant la répartition et l’abondance de l’espèce et l’identification de l’habitat essentiel
  • Les plans pour le chevalier noir en vertu du programme de rétablissement de la rivière Grand comprennent la recherche en vue d’identifier l’habitat essentiel, de créer et de mettre en œuvre des programmes pour protéger les habitats connus, faciliter la migration, protéger contre la récolte et surveiller les populations connues et leurs habitats, ainsi que des programmes d’intendance, de sensibilisation et de participation de la collectivité
  • Les plans pour le chevalier noir en vertu du programme de rétablissement de la rivière Thames comprennent la recherche concernant la répartition, l’abondance et la génétique de l’espèce, l’identification de l’habitat essentiel et des programmes de sensibilisation et de participation de la collectivité

Cisco kiyi (population du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs)

Statut : Espèce préoccupante

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC : Mai 2005

Biologie

Le cisco kiyi est endémique des Grands Lacs et se distingue des autres ciscos des Grands Lacs par son unique combinaison de grands yeux et de longues nageoires paires.

Le régime du cisco kiyi dans les lacs Huron et Ontario est principalement constitué de petites crevettes d’eau douce.

Le frai a lieu de septembre à janvier à des profondeurs de 106 à 165 m. Dans le lac Michigan, l’espèce atteint la maturité vers l’âge de deux ou trois ans et sa taille minimum est alors d’une longueur totale de 132 mm. L’âge maximum connu est de dix ans dans le cas des femelles et de sept ans dans le cas des mâles. La longueur totale maximum connue est de 250 mm.

Où retrouve-t-on ce poisson?

Le cisco kiyi est endémique de toute la région laurentienne des Grands Lacs de l’Amérique du Nord, sauf le lac Érié. Au Canada, on a observé la présence du cisco kiyi dans les lacs Huron, Ontario et Supérieur. On croit qu’il existe encore présentement seulement dans le lac Supérieur.

Le cisco kiyi préfère les parties les plus profondes des lacs où c’est clair, faiblement éclairé et froid. On le récolte rarement dans des eaux de moins de 108 m de profondeur et on a signalé sa présence à des profondeurs variant entre 35 m et 200 m.

Combien y a-t-il de poissons?

Des relevés récents (2000-2001) autorisent à penser qu’il y a entre 22 et 330 tonnes de cisco kiyi dans les parties les plus profondes du lac Supérieur.

Menaces pour la population

La pêche commerciale excessive est la cause probable du déclin du cisco kiyi dans les lacs Huron, Michigan et Ontario. La concurrence ou la prédation par certaines espèces introduites peuvent également avoir contribué au déclin des populations restantes. Cependant, ces menaces ne sont présentement pas importantes dans le lac Supérieur où la seule population restante existe encore.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

L’espèce se trouve présentement seulement dans le lac Supérieur, les sous-espèces ayant disparu des lacs Huron et Michigan par suite d’un ensemble de facteurs, notamment l’exploitation et l’introduction d’espèces exotiques. La disparition des lacs Huron et Michigan s’est produite pendant plus de trois générations par le passé. La population restante dans le lac Supérieur semble être stable et soutient une petite pêche réglementée. Les autres menaces – telles que l’introduction d’espèces exotiques qui ont nuit aux populations dans les Grands Lacs inférieurs – ne semblent pas être importantes dans le lac Supérieur. 

Qu’arrivera-t-il si cette population est ajoutée à la liste de la LEP?

En vertu de la LEP, un plan de gestion du cisco kiyi doit être élaboré dans les trois ans qui suivent l’inscription de l’espèce sur la liste.