Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Rougheye Rockfish sp. type I and sp. type II in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Rougheye rockfish
Sebastes sp.

Sebastes sp. type I
Sebastes sp. type II

in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

Rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898) (sébaste à oeil épineux) has been considered one of 102 known species of the rockfish genus Sebastes, 96 of which live in the north Pacific Ocean. The taxonomic names stem from the Greek sebastos (magnificent) and aleutianus (Aleutian Islands where the species was first reported; Love et al.. 2002). The name “rougheye” refers to a series of spines (numbering 2 to 10) along the lower rim of the eyes (Love et al.. 2002). In Canada’s Pacific waters, 36 species of rockfish have been captured.

During preparation of this status report, two sympatric but genetically distinct species within what was considered rougheye rockfish were identified (Gharrett et al.. 2005, Hawkins et al.. 2005). As well as differences in allozymes, mitochondrial DNA and microsatellite DNA, differences in frequencies of two parasites (Hawkins et al.. 2005), colouration (Gharrett et al.. 2006, Hawkins 2005) and meristic and morphological characteristics (Gharrett et al.. 2006) have been described.

The two genetically distinct species have been named differently by two research teams: type I and type II (Gharrett et al. 2005, 2006), and Sebastes aleutianus and Sebastes sp. cf aleutianus (Hawkins et al. 2005). Based on differences in colouration described in the two papers, type I of Gharrett et al.. (2005, 2006) appears to correspond with Sebastes sp. cf. aleutianus of Hawkins et al.. (2005).

In order to recognize the existence of two species, but to not prejudge results of a future taxonomic revision that will formally name them, this report will refer to Sebastes sp. type I, rougheye rockfish type I, corresponding to the type I of Gharrett et al. (2005, 2006), and Sebastes sp. type II, rougheye rockfish type II, corresponding to the type II of Gharrett et al.. (2005, 2006). Where reference to the described species rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898) is necessary, this report will refer to the rougheye rockfish species pair or will refer to the entity by its full common and Latin name.


Morphological Description

Rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898) are relatively large rockfish with a maximum length typically in the 80 to 100 cm range (Love et al. 2002). This species pair appears red (Figure 1) with dark or dusky blotches of pigment in the dorsal region (Mecklenburg et al.. 2002). A light red lateral line is conspicuous as it contrasts with the otherwise dark red body. All but the pectoral fins are usually marked with black margins.


Figure 1: Rougheye Rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898), Ink (Hart 1973) and Photo

Figure1: Rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898), ink (Hart 1973) and photo.

Phenotypic differences in colouration and presence or absence of suborbital spines were reported to exist between the two genetically distinct species (Hawkins et al.. 2005). Gharrett et al.. (2006) reported that the two genotypes could be distinguished by gill raker length and number and body depth; type II have slightly fewer and shorter gill rakers and deeper bodies than type I. Discriminant analysis of morphological characteristics accurately delineated the two species in >94% of cases (Gharrett et al.. 2006). Colouration may not be a reliable guide for separating the genotypes; most type II fish have light colouration, but type fish I may be either light or dark coloured, and the proportion of each colour form changes geographically (Gharrett et al.. 2006).

Types I and II of Gharrett et al.. (2005, 2006), although sympatric, exhibit different spatial preferences, at least according to the proportions of the two types captured in trawl hauls (Gharrett et al.. 2005). While both types occur throughout the north Pacific, type I predominates in the northeast Pacific and in deeper water (A.J. Gharrett1, pers. comm.). Hawkins et al.. (2005) also observed that their Sebastes sp cf aleutianus predominated in deeper water. 

Rougheye weight increases as a near cubic function of length (Figure 2) with little difference between males (β = 2.93) and females (β = 2.88). Parameter estimates for the pooled sexes (α = 2.81 x 10-5; β = 2.90) suffice for this species.


Genetic Description

Researchers cannot use conventional tagging studies to assess population structure as rougheye rockfish do not survive the barotrauma (i.e., physiological damage associated with change in pressure) when brought from depth to the surface.


Figure 2: Rougheye Rockfish Species Pair, Weight vs. Length Using a Lognormal Linear Model: logW = logα + βlogL .

Figure 2: Rougheye rockfish species pair, weight vs. length using a lognormal linear model: 7. Source: Haigh et al. (2005).

Source: Haigh et al.. (2005).

Early studies (Tsuyuki et al.. 1968; Seeb 1986; Hawkins et al.. 1997) reported two phenotypes and inferred genetic differences. Recent studies of rougheye in the Gulf of Alaska provide evidence of genetic differentiation among co-occurring (sympatric) rougheye rockfish, based on microsatellite and mitochondrial DNA markers and distributions of allozyme allele frequencies (Gharrett et al.. 2005, Hawkins et al.. 2005). Gharrett et al.. (2005) confirmed these differences in 698 rougheye rockfish specimens sampled along the Pacific Rim from the Oregon coast to the Aleutian Islands and Bering Sea. All three types of genetic marker revealed strong and concordant evidence that rougheye rockfish comprise two sympatric species.


Designatable Units

The two genetically distinct species identified by Gharrett et al.. (2005, 2006) and Hawkins et al. (2005) have been identified and characterized primarily on the basis of samples from the USA. Rougheye rockfish type I and rougheye rockfish type II both occur in Canadian waters, although type I reportedly predominates. The relatively few Canadian samples (n=39) were all collected just south of the Queen Charlotte Islands, and all consist of type I from deep water (Figure 3, Gharrett et al.. 2005), but this could simply reflect the small sample size. Considerably more sampling will be required to determine the prevalence and distribution of types I and II in Canadian waters.


Figure 3: Locations of Rougheye Rockfishes Surveyed for Mitochondrial DNA and Microsatellite Variation

Figure 3: Locations of rougheye rockfishes surveyed for mitochondrial DNA and microsatellite variation. Chart (A) shows the locations of type-I fish and (B) the locations of type-II fish (circles) and presumed hybrids (triangles).

Chart (A) shows the locations of type-I fish and (B) the locations of type-II fish (circles) and presumed hybrids (triangles). The numbers within the circles are the sample sizes from each location; each triangle represents a single fish. Locations represent all collections within a 50 km radius. Adapted from Gharrett et al.. 2005.

In Pacific waters under Canadian jurisdiction, fisheries management and all previous studies have assumed a single panmictic stock of rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898). Because the two recently identified rougheye rockfish species have not been separated in past studies or in fisheries, for the purposes of this report it is assumed that rougheye rockfish type I and rougheye rockfish type II are covered equally well by the available information collected on the basis of a single species. A single designatable unit for each of rougheye rockfish type I and rougheye rockfish type II is assumed in Canadian waters, in the absence of information to the contrary.

Cryptic species of this kind increase the risk of loss of unrecognized genetic diversity, but there is no current information on status of each of the two putative species. Accordingly a single status report is considered to include the information for the two species.




Footnotes

1 Fisheries Division, School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska Fairbanks, 1120 Glacier Highway, Juneau, AK 99801

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le sébaste à oeil épineux du type I et du type II au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
sébaste à œil épineux
Sebastes sp.

Sebastes sp. type I
Sebastes sp. type II

au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Jusqu’à tout récemment, le sébaste à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus [Jordan et Evermann, 1898]; en anglais, Rougheye Rockfish) était considéré comme l’une des 102 espèces connues du genre Sebastes, parmi lesquelles 96 vivent dans le Pacifique Nord. Les noms taxinomiques tirent leur origine du grec sebastos (superbe) et aleutianus (en référence aux îles Aléoutiennes, oùl’espèce a été signalée pour la première fois; Love et al., 2002). Le terme « œil épineux » de son nom commun fait allusion à la série d’épines (au nombre de 2 à 10) se trouvant le long du bord inférieur des yeux (Love et al., 2002). Trente-six espèces de sébastes ont été capturées dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique.

Au cours de la préparation du présent rapport de situation, on a constaté l’existence de deux espèces sympatriques mais génétiquement distinctes au sein de ce que l’on considérait être le sébaste à œil épineux (Gharrett et al., 2005; Hawkins et al., 2005). Outre les différences sur les plans des alloenzymes, de l’ADN mitochondrial et de l’ADN microsatellite, on a décrit des différences quant aux fréquences de deux parasites (Hawkins et al., 2005), à la coloration (Gharrett et al., 2006; Hawkins, 2005) et aux caractéristiques méristiques et morphologiques (Gharrett et al., 2006).

Les deux espèces génétiquement distinctes ont été nommées différemment par deux équipes de recherche : « type I » et « type II » par Gharrett et al., 2005 et 2006; « Sebastes aleutianus » et « Sebastes sp. cf aleutianus » par Hawkins et al. (2005). D’après les différences de coloration décrites dans les deux articles, le type I décrit par Gharrett et al. (2005 et 2006) semble correspondre au Sebastes sp. cf. aleutianus décrit par Hawkins et al. (2005).

De façon à distinguer les deux espèces, mais sans pour autant préjuger de l’issue d’une future révision taxinomique qui les nommera officiellement, le présent rapport fait mention du « Sebastes sp. type I » ou du « sébaste à œil épineux du type I », qui correspond au type I décrit par Gharrett et al. (2005 et 2006), et du « Sebastes sp. type II » ou du « sébaste à œil épineux du type II », qui correspond au type II décrit par Gharrett et al. (2005 et 2006). Dans les cas où l’information vise l’espèce officiellement décrite comme le sébaste à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus[Jordan et Evermann, 1898]), le présent rapport fait usage du terme « paire d’espèces » ou fait référence à l’entité par ses noms commun et latin complets.


Description morphologique

Le sébaste à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus[Jordan et Evermann, 1898]) est un poisson d’assez grande taille qui atteint généralement une longueur maximale de 80 à 100 cm (Love et al., 2002). Cette paire d’espèces est de couleur rouge (figure 1) avec des taches pigmentaires foncées ou sombres en région dorsale (Mecklenburg et al., 2002). Une ligne latérale rouge clair apparaît bien en évidence, car elle tranche avec le rouge foncé du reste du corps. À l’exception des pectorales, les nageoires sont habituellement bordées de noir.


Figure 1 : Le sébaste à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus; Jordan et Evermann, 1898); illustration à l’encre (Hart, 1973) et photo

Figure 1 : Le sébaste à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus; Jordan et Evermann, 1898); illustration à l’encre (Hart, 1973) et photo.

On a signalé des différences phénotypiques dans la coloration et la présence ou l’absence d’épines sous-orbitaires entre les deux espèces génétiquement distinctes (Hawkins et al., 2005). Gharrett et al. (2006) ont fait état de la possibilité de distinguer les deux génotypes par la longueur et le nombre des branchiospines ainsi que par la largeur du corps; le type II ayant des branchiospines un peu moins nombreuses et légèrement plus courtes et un corps plus large que le type I. Une analyse discriminante des caractéristiques morphologiques a distingué correctement les deux espèces dans plus de 94 p. 100 des cas (Gharrett et al., 2006). La coloration ne serait pas un indicateur fiable pour distinguer les génotypes, car bien que la plupart des individus du type II soient de coloration pâle, ceux du type I peuvent être pâles ou foncés, et la proportion de chacune des formes chromatiques change en fonction de la géographie (Gharrett et al., 2006).

Les types I et II décrits par Gharrett et al. (2005 et 2006), bien que sympatriques, exhibent des préférences spatiales différentes, du moins si l’on se fie aux proportions d’individus du type I et du type II capturés par les chaluts (Gharrett et al., 2005). Les deux types occupent tout le Pacifique Nord, mais le type I prédomine dans le nord-est du Pacifique Nord-Est et en eaux plus profondes (A.J. Gharrett1, comm. pers.). Hawkins et al. (2005) ont aussi observé une prédominance du type I (qu’ils nomment Sebastes sp. cf aleutianus) en eaux plus profondes.

Le poids des sébastes à œil épineux est pratiquement fonction du cube de la longueur (figure 2), avec peu de différences entre les mâles (β = 2,93) et les femelles (β = 2,88). Pour cette espèce, les estimations de ce paramètre peuvent donc prendre une valeur qui combine les données des deux sexes (α = 2,81 x 10-5; β = 2,90).


Figure 2 : Relation entre le poids et la longueur chez la paire d’espèces de sébastes à œil épineux, avec régression linéaire log-normale : logW = logα + βlogL

Figure 2 : Relation entre le poids et la longueur chez la paire d’espèces de sébastes à œil épineux, avec régression linéaire log-normale : 8.

Source : Haigh et al. (2005).


Description génétique 

Les chercheurs ne peuvent employer les études par marquage classiques pour estimer la structure des populations, car le sébaste à œil épineux ne survivrait pas au barotraumatisme (c.-à-d. les dommages physiologiques associés au changement de pression) lorsque ramené des profondeurs à la surface.

Les premières études (Tsuyuki et al., 1968; Seeb, 1986; Hawkins et al., 1997) font mention de deux phénotypes et présument de différences génétiques. Fondées sur des marqueurs d’ADN microsatellite et mitochondrial et des distributions de fréquences d’allèles d’alloenzymes, de récentes études sur le sébaste à œil épineux menées dans le golfe d’Alaska attestent d’une différenciation génétique entre des sébastes à œil épineux coexistants (sympatriques) (Gharrett et al., 2005; Hawkins et al., 2005). Gharrett et al. (2005) ont confirmé ces différences chez 698 spécimens de sébastes à œil épineux prélevés sur le littoral du Pacifique depuis la côte de l’Oregon jusqu’aux îles Aléoutiennes et la mer de Béring. Les trois types de marqueurs génétiques ont révélé de manière marquée et concordante que le sébaste à œil épineux consistait en deux espèces sympatriques.


Unités désignables

Les deux espèces génétiquement distinctes identifiées par Gharrett et al. (2005, 2006) et Hawkins et al. (2005) ont été distinguées et caractérisées principalement à partir de spécimens prélevés aux États-Unis. Les types I et II de sébastes à œil épineux occupent les eaux canadiennes, mais le type I prédominerait. Les relativement rares spécimens canadiens (n=39) ont tous été prélevés juste au sud des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, et sont tous des individus du type I vivant en eaux profondes (figure 3); Gharrett et al., 2005), mais cela pourrait être simplement l’expression de la faible taille de l’échantillon. Beaucoup plus de prélèvements devront être effectués si l’on veut établir la prévalence et la répartition des types I et II en eaux canadiennes.


Figure 3 : Sites de capture des sébastes à œil épineux ayant fait l’objet d’analyses des variations d’ADN mitochondrial et de microsatellites

Figure 3 : Sites de capture des sébastes à œil épineux ayant fait l’objet d’analyses des variations d’ADN mitochondrial et de microsatellites.

La carte A montre les sites de capture des individus du type I et la carte B les sites de capture des individus du type II (cercles) et des hybrides présumés (triangles). Les chiffres inscrits dans les cercles correspondent au nombre d’individus prélevés dans chaque site; chacun des triangles représente un seul individu. Chaque emplacement englobe toutes les collectes effectuées dans un rayon de 50 km. Adapté de Gharrett et al. (2005).

Dans les eaux du Pacifique sous compétence canadienne, la gestion des pêches de même que toutes les études antérieures ont été menées en supposant l’existence d’un seul stock panmictique de sébastes à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus [Jordan et Evermann, 1898]). Étant donné que les études antérieures et les pêches n’ont pas considéré séparément les deux espèces de sébastes à œil épineux récemment identifiées, on suppose, pour les besoins du présent rapport, que l’information recueillie jusqu’à présent en présumant de l’existence d’une seule espèce se rapporte pareillement au sébaste à œil épineux du type I et au sébaste à œil épineux du type II. À défaut d’information contraire, on présume que chacun des deux types de sébastes à œil épineux présents en eaux canadiennes forme une unité désignable.

La nature cryptique de ces espèces augmente le risque qu’une diversité génétique soit perdue avant même qu’elle ne soit constatée, mais on ne dispose actuellement d’aucune donnée concernant la situation de chacune de ces deux espèces présumées. En conséquence, un seul rapport de situation réunit l’information relative aux deux espèces.




Notes de bas de page

1 Fisheries Division, School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, University of Alaska Fairbanks : 11120, Glacier Highway, Juneau (Alaska), 99801.