Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Rougheye Rockfish sp. type I and sp. type II in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann 1898) are reported to range from north of Japan, through to the Kamchatka Peninsula, the Bering Sea, the Aleutian Islands, the Gulf of Alaska, and the west coast of North America from British Columbia (BC) to southern California (Figure 4). Although range extends into Asian waters, records from the northwestern Pacific are poorly documented (Froese and Pauly 2005).


Figure 4: North American Distribution of Rougheye Rockfish Species Pair

Figure 4: North American distribution of rougheye rockfish species pair.

Distribution adjacent to Asian countries is not well documented (Froese and Pauly 2005).


Canadian Range

Figure 5 shows the areal extent of rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann 1898) as inferred from commercial groundfish trawl and longline catch rates for fisheries that target this entity at depths ranging from 0 to 800 m over the period 1996 through 2004. Choice of grid cell size influences the estimation of occupied area – cell size often shows a positive correlation with inferred area of occurrence. This effect is aggravated by sparse and infrequent tow locations represented by a single point. In reality, fishing events (trawl tows and longline sets) traverse tens of kilometres, often following contours and looping back on themselves. Given this scenario, a 5 km x 5 km cell gives a reasonable approximation of a typical fishing event. At this grid cell size, the known habitat or “area of occupancy” covers at least 35 000 km2. Table 1 offers a similar summary from commercial and survey logs from the trawl fishery where the estimated area of occupancy covers approximately 30 000 km2 between 0 and 800 m. Due to the extent of trawl and longline sets mentioned above, the former estimate is preferred. Depth distributions from commercial data indicate that 95% of rougheye rockfish, Sebastes aleutianus (Jordan and Evermann, 1898) caught occurred between 170 and 650 m (Figure 6). Figure 7 shows all available bathymetry bounded by these depths (blue shading), giving a rough estimate of the “extent of occurrence” of 37 000 km2.


Figure 5: Mean CPUE (kg/h) of rougheye rockfish species pair in 25 km2 grid cells along the BC coast

Figure 5: Mean CPUE (kg/h) of rougheye rockfish species pair in 25 km2 grid cells along the BC coast.

The shaded cells give an approximation of the area of occupancy (35 100 km2) as determined using groundfish trawl tow and longline set data collected between 0 and 800 m from 1996 to 2005 inclusive. Source: Haigh et al. (2005).

 

Table 1: Bathymetric Determination of Total Available and Observed Occupied Areas by 100-m Depth Interval for Rougheye Rockfishes
Depth Interval
(m)
Total Area
(km2)
Occupied Area
(km2)
Percent
Occupied
1-10046 0892 9086.3
101-20036 4328 90524.4
201-30016 4687 83647.6
301-4007 2763 90553.7
401-5002 7661 95170.5
501-6001 7821 33274.7
601-7001 5611 30583.6
701-8001 4131 16782.6
Total:115 03430 23226.3

Based on events from commercial fishing and research surveys located in 25 km2 grid cells overlaid on a 1 km2 ocean depth grid. Source: Haigh et al. (2005).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le sébaste à oeil épineux du type I et du type II au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Les sébastes à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus [Jordan et Evermann, 1898]) ont été recensés depuis le nord du Japon jusqu’à la péninsule du Kamchatka, la mer de Béring, les îles Aléoutiennes, le golfe d’Alaska et la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord depuis la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au sud de la Californie (figure 5). Bien que l’aire de répartition s’étende en eaux asiatiques, les enregistrements effectués dans la figure 4 (Pauly, 2005).


Figure  4 : Répartition nord-américaine de la paire d’espèces de sébastes à œil épineux

Figure  4 : Répartition nord-américaine de la paire d’espèces de sébastes à œil épineux.

La répartition jouxtant les pays d’Asie n’est pas bien documentée (Froese et Pauly, 2005). Carte rééditée avec autorisation (Love et al., 2002).


Aire de répartition canadienne

La figure 6 illustre la distribution du sébaste à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus [Jordan et Evermann, 1898]) déduite à partir des taux de capture au chalut et à la palangre des pêcheries commerciales aux poissons de fond qui ciblaient cette entité à des profondeurs allant de 0 à 800 m entre 1996 et 2004. Le choix de la taille des cellules de la grille influe sur l’estimation de la zone occupée -- la zone d’occurrence calculée est souvent proportionnelle à la taille des cellules. Cet effet est accentué par des traits clairsemés et peu fréquents localisés par un seul point. Dans les faits, les événements de pêche (traits de chalut et poses de palangres) parcourent des dizaines de kilomètres, souvent en suivant des courbes hypsométriques et en décrivant des boucles. Compte tenu de ces contraintes, une cellule de 5 km x 5 km fournit une approximation raisonnable d’un événement de pêche représentatif. À cette taille de cellule, l’habitat connu, ou « zone d’occupation », couvre une superficie minimale de 35 000 km2. LeTableau présente un sommaire comparable tiré des enregistrements des pêcheries commerciales et des relevés au chalut où la zone d’occupation a été estimée à environ 30 000 km2 entre 0 et 800 m. Étant donné la longueur des traits de chalut et des palangres mentionnée ci-dessus, la première estimation semble plus acceptable. Les distributions bathymétriques venant des données commerciales révèlent que 95 p. 100 des captures de sébastes à œil épineux (Sebastes aleutianus [Jordan et Evermann, 1898]) sont survenues entre 170 et 650 m (figure 7). La figure 8 illustre toute la bathymétrie disponible délimitée par ces profondeurs (en bleu), qui représente de façon très approximative une « zone d’occurrence » de 37 000 km2.


Figure 5 : CPUE moyenne (kg/trait) de la paire d’espèces de sébastes à œil épineux sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique par cellule de 25 km2

Figure 5 : CPUE moyenne (kg/trait) de la paire d’espèces de sébastes à œil épineux sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique par cellule de 25 km2.

Les cellules ombrées donnent une approximation de la zone d’occupation (35 100 km2) telle que déterminée à partir des données des traits de chalut de fond et des poses de palangres effectués entre 0 et 800 m, de 1996 à 2005 inclusivement. Source : Haigh et al. (2005).

Tableau 1 : Détermination bathymétrique des zones d'occupation potentielles et observées des sébastes à œil épineux par intervalle de profondeur de 100 m
Intervalle de profondeur
(m)
Superficie totale
(km2)
Superficie occupée
(km2)
Pourcentage d’occupation
(%)
1-10046 0892 9086,3
101-20036 4328 90524,4
201-30016 4687 83647,6
301-4007 2763 90553,7
401-5002 7661 95170,5
501-6001 7821 33274,7
601-7001 5611 30583,6
701-8001 4131 16782,6
Total :115 03430 23226,3

Fondée sur des événements de pêche commerciale et des relevés de recherche à l’intérieur de cellules de 25 km2 superposées à une grille de profondeur marine de 1 km2. Source: Haigh et al. (2005).