Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report - 2005

Appendix V : Guidelines for Recognizing Designatable Units Below the Species Level (Appendix F5 in the COSEWIC O&P Manual)

Prepared by COSEWIC in 2004

 Reviewed and approved by COSEWIC in 2005 [1]

Preamble:

It is widely recognised that species status assessment and conservation of biological diversity require that populations below the species level (using “species” in the accepted sense of the taxonomic hierarchy) be considered when appropriate. Most legislation allows for status designation of populations below the species level. For example, the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) includes subspecies, varieties and “geographically or genetically distinct” populations in its definition of wildlife species thus allowing for listing of populations below the species level. COSEWIC's recognition of populations below the species level for assessment (i.e. designatable units) is guided by the same general objective of preventing wildlife species from becoming extinct or extirpated.

COSEWIC strives to recognize designatable units that are significant and irreplaceable units of biodiversity yet there are difficulties inherent in achieving a uniform interpretation of the word "significant". Furthermore, because patterns of population structure, life history, and genetic variability differ across taxonomic groups, use of uniform criteria in determining appropriate designatable units a priori can be difficult. Guidelines are needed in order to interpret, on a case-by-case basis, what constitutes a significant element of biological diversity to be recognized for the purpose of conservation status assessment by COSEWIC.

Approach:

COSEWIC’s usual approach to assigning status is, first, to examine the species as a whole and then, if deemed appropriate, to examine the status of designatable units (DUs) below the species level.

In cases where particular DUs are strongly suspected of being at risk, or where DUs are so different in distribution or conservation status that an overall assessment would not capture the conservation concerns, COSEWIC will assess single designatable units below the species level.

Status may be assigned to subspecies, varieties, or geographically or genetically distinct populations which may be recognized in cases where a single status designation for a species is not sufficient to accurately portray probabilities of extinction within the species. Designatable units are to be recognized in accordance with the following guidelines.

Guidelines:

Specifically, the units to which status may be assigned below the species level are recognized on the basis of any one of the four criteria (1 - 4) described below. Typically, COSEWIC will consider, in order of precedence, 1) established taxonomy, 2) genetic evidence, 3) range disjunction, and 4) biogeographic distinction.

1) named subspecies or varieties:

published subspecies of animals according to the Code of Zoological Nomenclature or published subspecies or varieties of plants according to the Code of Botanical Nomenclature.

     Examples:

Water Snake: Nerodia sipedon sipedon (NAR), N. s. insularum (E)

Loggerhead Shrike: Lanius ludovicianus migrans (E), L. l. excubitorides (T)

or,

2) units identified as genetically distinctive:

evidence of genetic distinctiveness including, but not limited to, appropriate inherited traits (morphological, life history, behaviour) and/or genetic markers (e.g. allozymes, DNA microsatellites, DNA restriction fragment length polymorphisms (RFLPs), DNA sequences, etc.).

Example:

Coho salmon: Interior Fraser River (E), as opposed to other populations

or,

3) units separated by major range disjunction:

disjunction between substantial portions of the species’ global geographic range such that dispersal of individuals between separated regions has been severely limited for an extended period of time and is not likely in the foreseeable future.

Examples:

Boreal Felt Lichen: Atlantic (E), Boreal (SC)

Blanding’s Turtle: Atlantic population (T), as opposed to other populations

or,

4) units identifed as biogeographically distinct:

occupation of differing eco-geographic regions that are relevant to the species and reflect historical or genetic distinction, as may be depicted on an appropriate ecozone or biogeographic zone map (Figs. 1 - 3).

 Examples:

Mormon Metalmark: Southern Mountain population (E), Prairie    population (T).

Woodland Caribou: an assortment of designations based on biogeographic zones.

Precautions:

Appropriate caution in interpreting data should be exercised when identifying designatable units. The biological significance of phenotypic, genetic or geographic variation, must be considered in light of potential limitations in the data available. Inadequate information on temporal variability, insufficient sample sizes, or evidence from inappropriate traits (those which are either inordinately variable or overly conservative) will compromise the significance of available information.

Separate status designations should not be recognized for management units that are not based on biological criteria consistent with these guidelines.

Status designations should not be individually assigned to units below the species level if all such units within the species have the same status designation. In such cases, the status designation should be applied to the entire species.

 

Fig. 1. Terrestrial ecozones of Canada

fig.1 Terrestrial ecozones of Canada

 

Fig. 2. Aquatic ecozones of Canada.

Aquatic ecozones of Canada

 

Fig. 3. Faunal provinces of terrestrial amphibians, reptiles, and molluscs in Canada.

(unpublished, prepared by David Green, Co-chair of the Amphibians and Reptiles Specialist Subcommittee, 2003)

Faunal province in Canada



[1]Under the heading Approach, the word “usual” was added to the first sentence.  The second paragraph has been added to better reflect COSEWIC’s practises.

Under Guideline 1 “named subspecies and varieties”, the text has been modified to better explain the sources of valid scientific names.

Under Guideline 4, a better and more recent example has been used.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC - 2005

Annexe V: Lignes directrices pour reconnaître les unités désignables inférieures à l’espèce ( Annexe F5 du Manuel des opérations et procédures du COSEPAC)

Préparé par le COSEPAC en 2004

Approuvées par le COSEPAC en 2005[1]

Préambule

On reconnaît généralement que l’évaluation de la situation des espèces et la conservation de la diversité biologique exigent la considération, le cas échéant, des populations inférieures à l’espèce (en utilisant « espèce » au sens accepté de la hiérarchie taxinomique). Une bonne part des lois permettent la désignation du statut de populations inférieures à l’espèce. Par exemple, la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale inclut les sous-espèces, les variétés et les populations « géographiquement ou génétiquement distinctes » dans sa définition des espèces sauvages, permettant ainsi d’inscrire des populations inférieures à l’espèce. La reconnaissance par le COSEPAC de ces populations en vue d’une évaluation (c.-à-d. des unités désignables) est guidée par le même objectif général visant à prévenir la disparition, du pays ou de la planète, d’espèces sauvages.

Le COSEPAC s’efforce de reconnaître les unités désignables qui sont des unités importantes et irremplaçables de la biodiversité, bien qu’il y ait des difficultés propres à l’atteinte d’une interprétation uniforme du mot « important ». En outre, parce que les modèles de structure des populations, le cycle biologique et la variabilité génétique diffèrent entre les groupes taxinomiques, l’emploi de critères uniformes pour déterminer a priori les unités désignables adéquates peut être difficile. Des lignes directrices sont nécessaires pour interpréter cas par cas ce qui constitue un élément important de la diversité biologique qu’il faut reconnaître aux fins de l’évaluation par le COSEPAC de la situation de la conservation.

Approche

L’approche habituelle du COSEPAC pour l’attribution d’un statut consiste d’abord à examiner l’espèce dans son ensemble et ensuite, s’il y a lieu, à examiner la situation d’unités désignables inférieures à l’espèce.

  Dans les cas où des unités désignables particulières sont fortement présumées en péril ou encore lorsqu’elles diffèrent en matière de répartition ou d’état de conservation à un point tel qu’une évaluation d’ensemble ne reflèterait pas les préoccupations en matière de conservation, le COSEPAC évaluera des unités désignables distinctes inférieures au niveau de l’espèce.

Le statut peut être attribué aux sous‑espèces, aux variétés ou aux populations géographiquement ou génétiquement distinctes, que l’on peut reconnaître dans les cas où une seule désignation de statut pour une espèce ne suffit pas à décrire avec précision les probabilités de disparition au sein de l’espèce. Il faut reconnaître les unités désignables conformément aux lignes directrices qui suivent.

Lignes directrices

Spécifiquement, on reconnaît les unités auxquelles un statut peut être attribué à un niveau inférieur à l’espèce en se fondant sur l’un des quatre critères (1 - 4) décrits ci‑après. D’ordinaire, le COSEPAC tiendra compte, par ordre de préséance :1) de la taxinomie établie, 2) de la preuve génétique, 3) d’une disjonction de l’aire de répartition, 4) d’une distinction biogéographique.

1) Sous-espèces ou variétés nommées

Le nom des sous-espèces animales est diffusé selon le Code international de nomenclature zoologique ou le nom des sous-espèces ou des variétés végétales est diffusé selon le Code international de nomenclature botanique.

Exemples

Serpent d’eau : Nerodia sipedon sipedon (Non en péril), N. s. insularum (en voie de disparition)

Pie-grièche migratrice : Lanius ludovicianus migrans (en voie de disparition), L. l. excubitorides (Menacée)

Ou

2) Unités identifiées comme génétiquement distinctives

La preuve de la distinction génétique incluant, sans s’y limiter, des traits hérités appropriés (morphologiques, cycle biologique, comportement) et/ou des marqueurs génétiques (p. ex. alloenzymes, microsatellites d’ADN, polymorphismes de restriction (RFLP) de l’ADN, séquences d’ADN, etc.).

Exemple

Saumon Coho : intérieur du Fraser (en voie de disparition), comparativement à d’autres populations

Ou

 3) Unités séparées par une importante disjonction de l’aire de répartition

 Une disjonction entre d’importantes parties de l’aire de répartition géographique globale de l’espèce faisant en sorte que la dispersion des individus entre des régions séparées a été gravement limitée pendant une période prolongée et est peu probable dans un avenir prévisible.

Exemples

érioderme boréal : population de l’Atlantique (en voie de disparition), population boréale (Préoccupante)

Tortue mouchetée : population de l’Atlantique (Menacée), comparativement aux autres populations.

Ou

4) Unités identifiées comme étant distinctes biogéographiquement

L’occupation de différentes régions écogéographiques qui sont pertinentes pour l’espèce et traduit une différence historique ou génétique, qui peut être décrite sur une carte appropriée d’écozones ou de zones biogéographiques (figures 1 à 3).

Exemples

Mormon : Population des montagnes du Sud (VD), Population des Prairies (M).

Caribou des bois : un assortiment de désignations basées sur des zones biogéographiques.

Précautions

Il faut faire preuve d’une prudence adéquate en interprétant les données en vue d’identifier des unités désignables. Il faut considérer l’importance biologique d’une variation phénotypique, génétique ou géographique à la lumière de limites éventuelles des données disponibles. Des renseignements inadéquats sur la variabilité temporelle, des tailles d’échantillon insuffisantes ou la preuve de traits inadéquats (qui sont une variable excessive ou exagérément conservatrice) compromettront la signification des renseignements disponibles.

Il ne faudrait pas reconnaître des désignations de statut distinctes pour des unités de gestion qui ne se fondent pas sur des critères biologiques conformes aux présentes lignes directrices.

Les désignations de statut ne devraient pas être attribuées individuellement aux unités inférieures à l’espèce, si toutes ces unités au sein de l’espèce ont la même désignation de statut. Dans de tels cas, il faudrait appliquer la désignation du statut à toute l’espèce.

Figure. 1. Écozones terrestres du Canada.

Éconzone Terrestre du Canada


Figure 2. Aires écologiques nationales d'eaux douces( préparé par N.E. Mandrak, 2003)

Écozone aquatic du Canada


Figure 3. Provinces fauniques des amphibiens, des reptiles et des mollusques terrestres au Canada ( non publié, préparé par David Green, coprésident du Sous-comité des spécialistes des amphibiens et reptiles du COSEPAC, 2003)

Province Faunique du Canada



[1]  Sous le titre Approche, le mot « habituelle » a été ajouté à la première phrase. Le deuxième paragraphe a été ajouté pour mieux refléter les pratiques du COSEPAC.

Sous la ligne directrice 1 « Sous-espèces ou variétés nommées », le texte a été modifié pour mieux expliquer les sources de noms scientifiques valables.

Sous la ligne directrice 4, un exemple meilleur et plus récent a été utilisé.