Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report - 2005

Item IV - COSEWIC Operations And Procedures

 COSEWIC approach to streamlining reassessment:

As a first step toward developing an approach to deal with reassessment,commissioned COSEWIC status reports after May 2001 are "living documents": after the status report is concluded, any subsequent update reports will be prepared simply by adding new information to the existing report and, where appropriate, updating factual information. COSEWIC is cited as the author on the report's cover page (ownership and copyright rest with the Crown). 

One of the options for consideration at this time is to contact authors of COSEWIC status Reports produced before May 2001 to ask if they would give to the Crown the ownership and copyright of the report(s) they authored. Furthermore, the Species at risk Act (SARA) offers some flexibility concerning species reassessment, as SARA refers to the review of the classification of each species at least once every ten years, without requiring specifically that COSEWIC must reassess  each species.

At its May 2005 assessment meeting, COSEWIC struck a working group to develop options to streamline the reassessment process, for consideration by COSEWIC in a near future.

Community Knowledge into COSEWIC Assessment Process:

COSEWIC has established a Working Group (WG) charged to define what constitutes Community Knowledge for the purpose of the COSEWIC species assessment process and to identify [R1] means for accessing, gathering, validating and incorporating this knowledge in the assessment process. A drafted framework on how to incorporate community knowledge in the COSEWIC assessment process, was presented at the COSEWIC May 2005 meeting for members review and input, along with a draft Website model and questionnaire to be used as a tool to provide to communities to inform COSEWIC of knowledge that they may have and could be useful for Status assessment.

As a first step, COSEWIC has agreed to use the website as contact point to receive input for species status reports in preparation and to distribute the Interim report to individuals and organizations expected to be able to provide community knowledge. Procedures to develop the questionnaire and to provide the Interim report to holders of community knowledge are to be developed in time for the 2006 COSEWIC meeting in Saskatchewan.  During the next year, COSEWIC will continue its work toward developing options on how to incorporate community knowledge into COSEWIC Assessment process.

Report on the Marine Fish Workshop and Recommendations for COSEWIC:  This was discussed by COSEWIC at the May 2005 meeting and COSEWIC has agreed:

  • to have the Chair as an “editor in chief ” to ensure that all important comments and information have been considered in final reports.
  • to establish within COSEWIC a working group to consider other assessment criteria used to assess marine fish, based on the work done by FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations), CITES ( Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Fauna and Flora) and NMFS (National Marine Fisheries Service).

 

 COSEWIC Assessment Process and Criteria:

At its May 2005 meeting, COSEWIC agreed to establish a permanent Working Group on criteria within its Operations and Procedures Subcommittee to ensure that COSEWIC continues its tradition of quality and rigor in its assessment process. This permanent Working Group will receive and review the feedback in the near future from other COSEWIC members who have been tasked to consider other assessment criteria used for marine fish. (see above)

Emergency Assessment Process:

In May 2005, COSEWIC approved a slight change to its O&P Manual to clarify that, at the discretion of the Chair, COSEWIC members other than SSC Co-chairs and members from Range Jurisdictions may be added to the Emergency Assessment Subcommittee (EAS).

Species Priorization Process:

COSEWIC modified its procedures to better reflect the process adopted at its May 2005 meeting. The choice of species for the commissioning of new status reports is based on the ranking of selected species from the Candidate List according to their perceived level of risk.

SSCs first select species from their respective Candidate List (available from the COSEWIC website), and for each species, submit a supporting paragraph structured around the prioritization criteria given in Appendix E1, Part 2 of  the COSEWIC O&P Manual. The Secretariat compiles the submissions with supporting paragraphs, which are then distributed to all COSEWIC members at least two months before a Species Assessment Meeting. Jurisdictional and non-government members review the supporting paragraphs to verify information.  All members of COSEWIC rank the proposed species from highest to lowest, using guidelines shown in Appendix E1, Part 2 of the COSEWIC O&P Manual. Members submit their ranks to the Secretariat, which then generates a ranked list based on the median rank for each species.  The Secretariat distributes the ranked list, together with the list of required updates to all COSEWIC members one month before the Species Assessment Meeting.

Summary –  Documents Recommended for Approval

 Appendix V:  Guidelines For Recognizing Designatable Units Below the Species Level (COSEWIC O&P Manual –Appendix F5)

 Appendix VI:  COSEWIC Assessment Process, Categories and Guidelines

 (COSEWIC O&P Manual –Appendix E3)

Appendix VII: Applications for Species Assessment and Unsolicited Reports

 (COSEWIC O&P Manual –Appendix F9)

Item V – Species Status Assignments

List of Species assessed since the last reporting indicating status assigned, reasons (including uncertainties where applicable and COSEWIC Criteria (with alphanumeric codes.

See Appendix VIII

The status reports are available on the Public Registry - www.sararegistry.gc.ca- in English and French.

Item VI - Wildife Species Assessed By COSEWIC Since Its Inception

See Appendix IX:

May 2005 Canadian Species at Risk . This publication is available on the Public Registry and includes all wildlife species assessed by COSEWIC since its inception.


 

 [R1]Either way that "some" could be interpreted in this usage is overly restrictive.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC - 2005

Item IV - Opérations et procédures du COSEPAC

Approche du COSEPAC en vue de simplifier les réévaluations

Dans une première étape en vue d'élaborer une approche efficace sur les réévaluations, les rapports de situation commandés par le COSEPAC après mai 2001 sont considérés comme des « documents évolutifs » : après la publication du rapport de situation initial, les mises à jour subséquentes sont exécutées simplement en ajoutant la nouvelle information au rapport initial et, le cas échéant, en actualisant les renseignements factuels. Le COSEPAC est cité comme l'auteur sur la page couverture des rapports (la propriété et les droits d'auteurs reviennent à la Couronne).

L'une des options envisagées à l'heure actuelle est de communiquer avec les auteurs de rapports de situation du COSEPAC publiés avant mai 2001 pour leur demander de céder à la Couronne la propriété et le droit d'auteur des rapports qu'ils ont rédigés. De plus, la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) offre une certaine marge de manœuvre en ce qui concerne la réévaluation des espèces, puisque la loi recommande la revue de la classification de chaque espèce au moins tous les dix ans, sans exiger explicitement du COSEPAC qu'il réévalue chaque espèce.

À sa réunion d'évaluation de mai 2005, le COSEPAC a créé un groupe de travail chargé de proposer des simplifications au processus de réévaluation, qui seront examinées par le COSEPAC dans un proche avenir.

L'intégration des connaissances des collectivités au processus d'évaluation du COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC a créé un groupe de travail chargé de définir le concept de « connaissances des collectivités » dans le contexte du processus d'évaluation des espèces du COSEPAC et de trouver des moyens d'identifier, de recueillir et de valider ces connaissances et de les intégrer au processus d'évaluation. À la réunion de mai 2005 du COSEPAC, une ébauche de cadre d'intégration des connaissances communautaires au processus d'évaluation du COSEPAC, ainsi qu’un projet de site Web et de questionnaire qui permettraient aux collectivités de transmettre au COSEPAC des connaissances utiles aux évaluations, ont été présentés aux membres afin que ceux-ci puissent les examiner et formuler des commentaires.

Dans un premier temps, le COSEPAC a accepté d'utiliser le site Web comme point de contact pour recevoir de l'information utile aux rapports de situation en préparation et de distribuer les rapports intermédiaires aux personnes et aux organisations susceptibles de fournir des connaissances des collectivités. L'élaboration du questionnaire et les procédures de communication des rapports intermédiaires aux détenteurs de connaissances des collectivités seront prêts à temps pour la réunion du COSEPAC de 2006 en Saskatchewan. Au cours de la prochaine année, le COSEPAC continuera de développer des options, à savoir comment intégrer les connaissances des collectivités à son processus d'évaluation.

Rapport sur l'atelier sur les poissons marins et les recommandations à l'intention du COSEPAC

Ce sujet a été discuté à la réunion du COSEPAC de mai 2005 et les membres ont convenu :

  • que le président agira à titre de « rédacteur en chef » pour que tous les commentaires et renseignements importants soient pris en compte dans les rapports finaux;
  • de créer, au sein du COSEPAC, un groupe de travail chargé d'examiner d’autres critères d'évaluation des poissons marins, en se basant sur les études de la FAO (Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture), de la CITES (Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction) et du NMFS (National Marine Fisheries Service).

Processus et critères d'évaluation du COSEPAC

À sa réunion de mai 2005, le COSEPAC a convenu de créer, au sein du Sous-comité du Manuel des opérations et des procédures, un groupe de travail permanent sur les critères afin de poursuivre sa tradition de qualité et de rigueur dans le processus d'évaluation. Dans un proche avenir, ce groupe de travail permanent recevra et analysera les commentaires des autres membres du COSEPAC qui ont été appelés à considérer d'autres critères d'évaluation des poissons marins (voir ci-dessus).

Processus d'évaluation d'urgence

En mai 2005, le COSEPAC a approuvé une modification mineure à son Manuel des opérations et des procédures afin de clarifier que, à la discrétion du président, des membres du COSEPAC autres que les coprésidents des SSE et les membres des compétences responsables  peuvent être ajoutés à un sous-comité d'évaluation d'urgence.

Processus de priorisation des espèces

Le COSEPAC a modifié ses procédures afin de mieux prendre en compte le processus adopté en mai 2005. Le choix des espèces qui feront l'objet de nouveaux rapports de situation est fondé sur le classement des espèces dans la liste des espèces candidates, fait d’après le niveau de risque perçu.

Les SSE sélectionnent d'abord les espèces dans leur liste d'espèces candidates respective (les listes sont disponibles sur le site Web du COSEPAC), puis proposent pour chaque espèce retenue un paragraphe de justification basé sur les critères de priorisation figurant à l'annexe E1, partie 2, du Manuel des opérations et des procédures. Le Secrétariat compile les propositions et les paragraphes de justification, puis les distribue à tous les membres du COSEPAC au moins deux mois avant la réunion d'évaluation des espèces. Des membres des compétences et des membres à titre particulier examinent les paragraphes de justification pour vérifier l'information. Tous les membres du COSEPAC classent les espèces proposées en ordre décroissant de priorité en suivant les lignes directrices figurant à l'annexe E1, partie 2, du Manuel des opérations et des procédures. Les membres présentent leurs classements au Secrétariat, qui crée une liste hiérarchisée basée sur le rang médian de chaque espèce. Le Secrétariat distribue cette liste hiérarchisée, ainsi que la liste des mises à jour requises, à tous les membres du COSEPAC un mois avant la réunion d'évaluation des espèces.

Sommaire – Documents recommandés à des fins d'approbation

 Annexe V :Lignes directrices pour reconnaître les unités désignables inférieures à l'espèce (Manuel des opérations et des procédures du COSEPAC – annexe F5)

 Annexe VI :Document sur le processus, critères et lignes directrices du COSEPAC

 (Manuel des opérations et des procédures du COSEPAC – annexe E3)

Annexe VII :Document pour les demandes d'évaluation des espèces et rapports de situation non sollicités

 (Manuel des opérations et des procédures du COSEPAC – annexe F9)

Item V – Attribution du statut des espèces

Liste des espèces évaluées depuis le dernier rapport, y compris l'attribution du statut, les raisons (et les incertitudes, le cas échéant) et les critères du COSEPAC (avec les codes alphanumériques).

Voir l'annexe VIII

Les rapports de situation sont disponibles dans le Registre public à l’adresse suivante : www.registrelep.gc.ca en français et en anglais.

Item VI - Liste des espèces de flore et de faune sauvages évaluées par le COSEPAC depuis sa création

Voir l'annexe IX

 Le numéro de mai 2005 de la publication du COSEPAC Espèces canadiennes en péril, est maintenant disponible dans le Registre public. Cette publication inclut toutes les espèces de flore et de faune sauvage évaluées par le COSEPAC depuis sa création.