Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ross’s Gull in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

Industrial Activity

Oil development in the Beaufort and Chukchi Seas poses a potential threat (Burger and Gochfeld 1996, Alvo et al. 1996). The concentrations of birds during September and October as they head east into the Beaufort Sea, and then west into the Chukchi and Bering Seas makes the species particularly vulnerable to oil spills, either directly as oil accumulation on the bird itself or in impacting prey availability (Alvo et al. 1996). Breeding sites in Canada are relatively remote and are not at risk from industrial development at present, although there are significant oil and gas reserves in the Canadian Arctic that might be exploited at some future date.


Climate Change

Given the rate at which climate change is affecting the Arctic, any obligate Arctic-adapted species should be considered under imminent threat (A.J. Gaston, pers. comm. 2006). Annual snow and ice patterns are probably major limiting factors influencing the decision to breed in any given year, since one critical variable is the presence of open water close to the nesting site. Weather events such as floods and periods of cold weather may also decrease reproduction substantially (Macey et al. 1981); in 1986, a heavy rainstorm killed five of six hatched chicks in a population in Siberia (Densley 1988). Climate change, therefore, represents an unknown effect on the reproductive ecology of Ross’s Gulls.


Human Disturbance

Disturbance by humans is a potential threat to the Ross’s Gull in Canada (Macey 1981). The discovery of Ross’s Gulls at Churchill in 1978 has resulted in Churchill being among the most popular of Arctic and subarctic locations for bird-watchers and photographers to visit (Hamel 2002). At least one nest was abandoned because a photographer was too close (Alvo et al. 1996). However, Ross’s Gulls are reported to nest successfully beside hunting camps in Russia (Alvo et al 1996), whereas observers within 100 m from a nest are reported to disturb the gulls (Béchet et al. 2000).

In the Churchill area, there have been persistent reports of nests upstream from the end of the Hydro Road (R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006). Although more remote than the Akudlik site, the new sites are still vulnerable to disturbance from airboats and helicopters travelling south along the river. The remoteness of breeding sites in Nunavut offers some protection to nesting Ross’s Gulls.

There likely still is a black market for the sale of Ross’s Gull eggs; a Ross’s Gull egg was apparently a valuable acquisition for oologists, with an estimated value of $10,000 to $20,000 on the black market in the early 1980s (Alvo et al. 1996). The theft of a nest and eggs in 1981 bears testament to the ongoing trafficking in bird’s eggs (Alvo et al. 1996).


Habitat Destruction

Of the four known nesting localities of Ross’s Gulls in Canada, the three High Arctic sites are probably fairly immune to possible habitat alteration but the known sites at Churchill are potentially vulnerable. Reports that Manitoba Hydro flooded the Akudlik Marsh in 1984 (Alvo et al. 1996) appear to be groundless. Why the shift in nesting locations at Churchill occurred remains undetermined.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Mouette rosée au Canada - Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Activités industrielles

Les forages pétroliers dans les mers de Beaufort et de Tchoukotka sont une menace potentielle (Burger et Gochfeld; 1996, Alvo et al., 1996). Les concentrations d'oiseaux se dirigeant en septembre et en octobre vers l’est à destination de la mer de Beaufort, puis vers les mers de Béring et de Tchoukotka, rendent l'espèce vulnérable aux déversements d'hydrocarbures, directement ou par la réduction de la disponibilité des proies (Alvo et al., 1996). Les sites de reproduction canadiens sont relativement éloignés et ne sont donc pas vulnérables à l’heure actuelle au développement industriel. Cela dit, il y a d'importantes réserves de pétrole et de gaz dans l'Arctique canadien qui pourraient être exploitées à l’avenir.


Changements climatiques

Vu la rapidité avec laquelle les changements climatiques affectent l'Arctique, toute espèce tributaire adaptée à cette région devrait être considérée comme visée par une menace imminente (A. J. Gaston, comm. pers.; Pearson et al., 2006). Les régimes annuels des glaces et de la neige sont probablement d'importants facteurs limitatifs qui influencent chaque année la décision de se reproduire, la présence d'eaux libres à proximité du site de nidification étant essentielle. Les événements climatiques comme les inondations et les périodes de températures froides peuvent également affecter considérablement la reproduction (Macey et al., 1981). Par exemple, en 1986, de fortes tempêtes de pluie ont tué cinq oisillons sur six dans une population de la Sibérie (Densley, 1988). Par conséquent, les changements climatiques menacent d'une manière encore inconnue l'écologie de reproduction de la Mouette rosée.


Perturbations anthropiques

Les perturbations anthropiques sont une menace potentielle pour la Mouette rosée au Canada (Macey, 1981). La découverte de Mouettes rosées à Churchill en 1978 est attribuable au fait que cet endroit compte parmi les destinations arctiques et subarctiques les plus populaires auprès des ornithologues et des photographes (Hamel, 2002). Au moins un nid a été abandonné parce qu’un photographe se tenait trop près (Alvo et al., 1996). Néanmoins, des reproductions réussies ont été signalées à proximité de camps de chasse en Russie (Alvo et al., 1996), alors qu'on estime que des observateurs s'étant tenus à moins de 100 m d'un nid auraient perturbé les oiseaux (Béchet et al., 2000).

Dans le secteur de Churchill, des nids ont été signalés de manière continue en amont de l’endroit où prend fin la routede la Manitoba Hydro (R. Koes, comm. pers.; Pearson et al., 2006). Bien qu'ils soient plus éloignés que le site Akudlik, les nouveaux sites sont tout de même vulnérables aux perturbations causées par les hydroglisseurs et les hélicoptères qui longent la rivière vers le sud. L'éloignement des sites de reproduction du Nunavut assure une certaine protection aux Mouettes rosées nicheuses.

Il y a probablement toujours un marché noir d'œufs de Mouettes rosées, ceux-ci étant une précieuse acquisition pour les oologistes; leur valeur était estimée de 10 000 dollars à 20 000 dollars sur le marché noir au début des années 1980 (Alvo et al., 1996). Le vol d'un nid et de ses œufs en 1981 prouve le trafic continu des œufs d'oiseaux (Alvo et al., 1996).


Destruction de l'habitat

Des quatre sites de nidification connus de la Mouette rosée au Canada, les trois se trouvant dans l’Extrême-Arctique sont sans doute assez bien protégés des modifications de l'habitat, mais le site de Churchill y est peut-être vulnérable. Les rumeurs selon lesquelles Manitoba Hydro aurait inondé le marais Akudlik en 1984 (Alvo et al., 1996) semblent ne pas être fondées. On ne sait pas encore pourquoi les oiseaux ont déplacé leur site de nidification dans la région de Churchill.