Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ross’s Gull in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The Ross’s Gull is primarily an Arctic and subarctic species with a circumpolar distribution (Macey 1981). The species breeds in Russia, and nests locally and perhaps irregularly in Greenland, Svalbard and Canada (Burger and Gochfeld 1996). The main breeding grounds are found in northeastern Siberia, from the Taymyr Peninsula east to the River Kolyma (Macey 1981), with additional breeding locations on Spitsbergen Island in Svalbard, Norway, Peary Land and Disko Bay in Greenland, and in northern Canada (Rand 1947, Blomqvist and Elander 1981, Alvo et al. 1996, Béchet et al. 2000, Mallory et al. 2006). The wintering distribution is still poorly known but likely populations winter along the edge of the pack ice in the Pacific Basin from Anadyr Bay and St. Lawrence Island in the northern Bering Sea south along both coasts of the Kamchatka Peninsula, and from the northern Sea of Okhotsk to Sakhalin Island and the southern Kurile Islands, and in the open waters of the Arctic (NatureServe 2005).

There appears to have been a significant increase in the number of Ross’s Gulls reported south of traditional wintering areas in the last 30 years. In the British Isles, the species occurs almost annually now with a maximum of 8 in 2002 (British Birds Rarities Committee 2006), in Iceland there have been 40 records up to 2002, most in the last 10 years (Icelandic Rarities Committee 2002), and there are about 25 records in the lower 48 states of the U.S.A., all since the famous individual at Newburyport, Massachusetts, in 1975 (BirdWeb 2006). Even granted variables such as greater awareness, increase in birders and so on, it appears that there has been an actual increase in the number of Ross's Gulls in the Northern Atlantic, perhaps indicating a shift in wintering patterns of part of the Siberian population.


Canadian Range

There are four known breeding localities in Canada, three in Nunavut Territory and one in Manitoba at Churchill (Figure 1).

Cheyne Islands

The Cheyne Islands (760 18’N, 970 30’W) (IBA site NU 049) consist of three islands of similar size, oriented north-south with approximately two km of open water between each island. North, Middle, and South Cheyne islands lie five km off the eastern coast of Bathurst Island, near Reindeer Bay. All three islands are of low relief (up to three m above sea level) and are composed of alluvial material. The islands are located on the west side of Penny Strait; several small polynyas develop in May or June on the east side of this strait (MacDonald 1978).

Prince Charles Island

A Ross’s Gull nest was discovered at the northwest corner of Prince Charles Island, Nunavut (68º 13’N, 76º 29’W) on 8 July 1997 (Bechet et al. 2000). This interesting find was only 200 km from where Ross collected the type specimen in June 1823, on the east coast of Melville Peninsula. Single Ross’s Gulls were tentatively identified on the southeastern coast of Prince Charles Island in 1984 (A.J. Gaston, pers. comm., cited in Bechet et al. 2000). Prince Charles Island is a large, low-lying island with an area of 9,521 km² (3,676 sq mi). It is located in Foxe Basin, off the west coast of Baffin Island, in the Qikiqtaaluk Region of Nunavut, Canadahttp://www.answers.com/ topic/ prince-charles-island

Penny Strait

A previously undiscovered colony of four and possibly five breeding pairs was located on an unnamed island in Penny Strait in 2005 (75º 08’N, 96º 30’W) (Mallory et al. 2006). This location is only 80 km from the nesting sites on the Cheyne Islands. The island is about 3 km2.

Manitoba

The first sighting for Manitoba was a photographed adult at Churchill 18 to 23 June 1978 (Manitoba Avian Research Committee 2003). In 1980, three nests were located (58º 47’N, 94º 12’W) (Chartier and Cooke 1980).From 1980 through 1995, Ross’s Gulls nested almost annually in the area around Churchill (Alvo et al. 1996, Manitoba Avian Research Committee 2003, R.F. Koes, pers. comm. 2006, IBA Site MB 003). Since then, breeding has become sporadic, with only single birds reported some years and up to four in other years, including 2005. There have been persistent reports of nestings upstream from the end of the Hydro Roadalong the Churchill River, where apparently there were five nests in 2002, although after the mid-1980s locations of nests have usually been kept secret (R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006).

Figure 1: Known Breeding Occurrences of Ross’s Gulls in Canada

Figure 1: Known breeding occurrences of Ross’s Gulls in Canada.

Locations from the top are: 1. The Cheyne Islands, 2. Unnamed island in Penny Strait, 3. Prince Charles Island, 4. Churchill area.Modified from Environment Canada (Edmonton)'s data base.

Summer records away from the Nunavut sites in the Canadian Arctic include six specimens in breeding plumage taken on Seymour Island, Nunavut (76º 08 N, 101º 03’W) in 1974 and 1975 (CMNAV 60081, 60082, 60083, S2074, S584, S845) (Macey 1981, M. Gosselin, pers. comm. 2006). There were sight records in 1973 at the McConnell River, Nunavut (Macey 1981, Alvo et al. 1996), and further sight records on the Boothia and Melville Peninsulas, Cornwallis Island, Prince Leopold Island, and Broughton Island (Godfrey 1986). A previous record of nesting Ross’s Gulls on the Meighen Islands was subsequently shown to be erroneous (Macey 1981, Alvo et al. 1996).

Other summer records in Nunavut include East Bay, Southampton Island, in 2000 (Stenhouse et al. 2001), and Cambridge Bay on 28 June 1994, a sub-adult (Alvo et al. 1996) andon 28 June 2000, chasing a Long-tailed Jaeger (Stercorarius longicaudus) (J. Richards, pers. comm. 2006). Further records in the Canadian Arctic were of a probable adult female Ross’s Gull taken on 14 June 1985 at Arctic Bay (73º 01’N, 85 07’W) on Baffin Island by Glen Williams (CMNAV 86167, M. Gosselin, pers. comm. 2006),.

Status in Other Parts of Canada

Northwest Territories - Records from the Northwest Territories (NT) are remarkably few, especially in light of the autumnal migration of Ross’s Gulls along the north shore of Alaska. The species is reported from the Mackenzie Delta region and may occur at the Taglu site and the Niglintgak site (A. Thompson, pers. comm. 2006, BSIMPI 2002). However, there are no known specimens or documented records of Ross’s Gulls from the NT (J. Hines, pers. comm. 2006), nor from specific parts of the NT, such as the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (K. Thiesenhausen, pers. comm. 2006).

British Columbia – There is one record, a bird filmed and photographed at Clover Point, Victoria, British Columbia, on 27 October 1966 and 9 November 1966 (D. Fraser, pers. comm. 2006).

Ontario – The first record for subarctic Ontario occurred from 14 to 23 May, 1983, at Moosonee, an adult apparently migrating with Bonaparte’s Gulls (L. philadelphia)(Abraham 1984).There was a report of a Ross’s Gull on the Winisk River in August 2004 (D. Sutherland, pers. comm. 2006). This record is of interest as there appears to be suitable breeding habitat, such as sedge-bordered marshy taiga lakes with Arctic Tern (Sterna paradisaea) colonies, in the general vicinity of Peawanuck and elsewhere in the northern Hudson Bay Lowland, although considerable scouting of the area has produced no results (D. Sutherland, pers. comm. 2006). Elsewhere in Ontario, there have been a few records on the lower Great Lakes, such as at Port Weller, Lake Ontario, and Point Pelee, Lake Erie.

Quebec – In Quebec, the Ross’s Gull is considered an “occasional visitor” (D. Banville, pers. comm. 2006). There are only five records, three in May and June, and two in November and December, from Sainte-Anne-des-Monts in 1976, Metabetchouan in 1991, Chambly in 1994 and 1995, and Bergeronnes in 1995 (David 1996).

Alberta, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island – There are no known records of Ross’s Gulls from these provinces and the species is classed as hypothetical (Semenchuk 1992, Smith 1996).

Nova Scotia – There are four records from Nova Scotia; December 1987 and June 1988 at the Canso Causeway, July 1995 at Ile Madame, and December 1995 at Chebucto Head (I. McLaren, pers. comm. 2006).

Newfoundland and Labrador – An adult in basic plumage was shot off Fogo Island, Newfoundland, on 18 December 1976 (CMNAV 70031) (with location given as ‘Seal Cove’) (Godfrey 1986, M. Gosselin, pers. comm. 2006, P. Linegar, pers. comm. 2006). Otherwise, records are of a first summer bird at Trepassey in May 1985, an adult or possible second winter bird photographed at Stephenville in January 1986 feeding in a sewage carrying stream, an adult 3 km off L’Anse-aux-Meadows in September 1986 and a summer plumaged adult in the harbour there in August 1991, an adult in Cow Head Harbour in December 1991, and an adult in breeding plumage near Ramea Harbour in June 1993 (P. Linegar, pers. comm. 2006).


Extent of Occurrence and Area of Occupancy

The Extent of Occurrence (EO) is 300 000 km2, calculated by including areas of all breeding locations (see Figure 1). The Area of Occupancy (AO) is 31 000 km2, calculated by using a 50 km radius around each of the four known breeding locations.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Mouette rosée au Canada - Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

La Mouette rosée est principalement une espèce arctique et subarctique dont la répartition est circumpolaire (Macey, 1981). Les individus de cette espèce s'accouplent en Russie et nichent localement et peut-être irrégulièrement au Groenland, dans l'archipel Svalbard et au Canada (Burger et Gochfeld, 1996). Les aires de reproduction de l'espèce se trouvent principalement dans le nord-est de la Sibérie, de la péninsule de Taïmyr jusqu'à la rivière Kolyma, à l'est (Macey, 1981), mais également sur l'île Spitzberg, dans l'archipel Svalbard, en Norvège, sur la péninsule Peary Land et dans la baie Disko, au Groenland, ainsi que dans le nord du Canada (Rand, 1947; Blomqvist et Elander, 1981; Alvo et al., 1996; Béchet et al., 2000; Mallory et al., 2006). L'aire de répartition hivernale est encore méconnue, mais les populations hivernent probablement le long de la banquise dans le bassin du Pacifique, entre la baie Anadyr et l'île St. Lawrence, dans le nord de la mer de Béring, le long des deux côtes de la péninsule du Kamtchatka, dans le nord de la mer d'Okhotsk jusqu'à l'île Sakhaline et au sud des Kouriles, et dans les eaux libres de l'Arctique (NatureServe, 2005).

Il y aurait eu au cours des 30 dernières années une augmentation importante du nombre de Mouettes rosées signalées au sud des aires d'hivernage traditionnelles. L'espèce est maintenant observée presque chaque année dans les îles Britanniques, avec un maximum de 8 individus en 2002 (British Birds Rarities Committee, 2006). En Islande, 40 enregistrements ont été faits jusqu'en 2002, la majorité au cours des 10 dernières années (Icelandic Rarities Committee, 2002). Enfin, environ 25 enregistrements ont été faits dans les 48 États inférieurs des États-Unis, tous depuis le célèbre enregistrement de Newburyport, au Massachusetts, en 1975 (BirdWeb, 2006). Même si l'on tient compte de variables comme une meilleure sensibilisation et l'augmentation du nombre d'ornithologues, le nombre de Mouettes rosées observées dans le nord de l'Atlantique semble avoir réellement augmenté, ce qui laisse croire à un glissement dans les habitudes d'hivernage d'une partie de la population sibérienne.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Il y a 4 sites de reproduction connus au Canada, 3 au Nunavut et 1 près de Churchill, au Manitoba (figure 1).

Îles Cheyne

Les îles Cheyne (760 18’N, 970 30’O) (site ZICO NU 049) sont 3 îles de taille similaire orientées nord-sud et séparées l'une de l'autre par environ 2 kilomètres d'eaux libres. Les îles Cheyne (nord, centre et sud) se trouvent à 5 kilomètres au large de la côte est de l'île Bathurst, près de la baie Reindeer. Les 3 îles présentent un relief émoussé (au plus 3 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer) et sont composées de matières alluviales. Elles sont situées du côté ouest du détroit de Penny et plusieurs polynies se forment en mai ou en juin du côté est de ce détroit (MacDonald, 1978).

Île Prince-Charles

Un nid de Mouettes rosées a été découvert dans la portion nord-ouest de l'île Prince-Charles, au Nunavut (680 13’N, 760 29’O), le 8 juillet 1997 (Bechet et al., 2000). Cette intéressante découverte a été réalisée à seulement 200 km de l'endroit où Ross a capturé le spécimen type en juin 1823 sur la côte est de la péninsule de Melville. Des Mouettes rosées individuelles auraient peut-être été identifiées sur la côte sud-est de l'île Prince-Charles en 1984 (A. J. Gaston, comm. pers., cité dans Bechet et al., 2000). L'île Prince-Charles est une grande île de 9 521 km² (3 676 mi²) au relief émoussé. Elle est située dans le bassin Foxe, au large de la côte ouest de l'île de Baffin, dans la région de Qikiqtaaluk, Nunavut, Canada.

http://www.answers.com/topic/prince-charles-island

Détroit de Penny

Une colonie jusque-là inconnue de 4 et possiblement de 5 couples nicheurs a été découverte sur une île sans nom du détroit de Penny en 2005 (750 08’N, 960 30’O) (Mallory et al., 2006). Cet emplacement se trouve à seulement 80 km des sites de nidification des îles Cheyne. La superficie de l'île est d'environ 3 km2.

Manitoba

La première observation de l'espèce au Manitoba a été celle d’un adulte photographié à Churchill entre le 18 et le 23 juin 1978 (Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003). En 1980, 3 nids ont été repérés (580 47’N, 940 12’O) (Chartier et Cooke, 1980). Entre 1980 et 1995, les Mouettes rosées nichaient presque annuellement dans les environs de Churchill (Alvo et al., 1996; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003; R. F. Koes, comm. pers., 2006; site ZICO MB 003). Depuis,la nidification est devenue sporadique, seulement quelques oiseaux individuels ayant été signalés certaines années et jusqu'à 4 certaines autres, notamment en 2005. Des activités de nidification ont été signalées de manière continue le long de la rivière Churchill, en amont de l’endroit où prend fin la route d'Hydro Manitoba. Au total, 5 nids y auraient été observés en 2002, quoique les emplacements des nids ont généralement été gardés secrets après le milieu des années 1980 (R. Koes, comm. pers., 2006).

Figure 1 : Sites connus de reproduction de la Mouette rosée au Canada

Figure 1 : Sites connus de reproduction de la Mouette rosée au Canada.

Les sites, en commençant par le haut, sont : 1. îles Cheyne, 2. île sans nom dans le détroit de Penny, 3. île Prince-Charles, 4. secteur de Churchill.Adaptation de la base de données d'Environnement Canada (Edmonton).

Au nombre des enregistrements estivaux effectués ailleurs que sur les sites du Nunavut dans l'Arctique canadien, on compte 6 spécimens arborant leur plumage nuptial observés sur l'île Seymour, au Nunavut (76008’N, 101003’O), en 1974 et en 1975 (CMNAV 60081, 60082, 60083, S2074, S584, S845) (Macey, 1981; M. Gosselin, comm. pers., 2006). Des oiseaux ont été observés en 1973 près de la rivière McConnell, au Nunavut (Macey, 1981; Alvo et al., 1996), ainsi que sur les péninsules de Boothia et de Melville, et sur les îles Cornwallis, Prince Leopold et Broughton (Godfrey, 1986). Un enregistrement d'une Mouette rosée fait sur les îles Meighen s'est révélé erroné (Macey, 1981; Alvo et al., 1996).

Parmi les autres enregistrements estivaux effectués au Nunavut, il y a un signalement dans la East Bay, sur l’île de Southampton, en 2000 (Stenhouse et al., 2001), un sous-adulte dans la baie de Cambridge, le 28 juin 1994 (Alvo et al., 1996), et un oiseau observé le 28 juin 2000 en train de chasser un Labbe à longue queue (Stercorarius longicaudus) (J. Richards, comm. pers., 2006). Dans l'Arctique canadien, une Mouette rosée femelle a sans doute été observée le 14 juin 1985 dans la baie de l'Arctique (730 01’N, 85 07’O), sur l'île de Baffin, par Glen Williams (CMNAV 86167; M. Gosselin, comm. pers., 2006).

Statut ailleurs au Canada

Territoires du Nord-Ouest : les enregistrements dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont remarquablement peu nombreux, surtout compte tenu de la migration automnale de la Mouette rosée le long de la côte nord de l'Alaska. L'espèce a été signalée dans la région du delta du Mackenzie et pourrait être présente sur les sites Taglu et Niglintgak (A. Thompson, comm. pers., 2006; Initiative de planification de la gestion intégrée dans la mer de Beaufort, 2002). Il n'y a toutefois aucun spécimen connu ni aucun enregistrement documenté de Mouettes rosées dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (J. Hines, comm. pers., 2006), ni dans aucune portion spécifique de ces territoires, comme dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit (K. Thiesenhausen, comm. pers.; Pearson et al., 2006).

Colombie-Britannique : il existe un enregistrement, soit un oiseau filmé et photographié à la pointe Clover, Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, le 27 octobre et le 9 novembre 1966 (D. Fraser, comm. pers., 2006).

Ontario : le premier enregistrement pour l'Ontario subarctique a été fait entre le 14 et le 23 mai 1983 à Moosonee. Il s'agissait d’un adulte migrant apparemment aux côtés de Mouettes de Bonaparte (L. philadelphia) (Abraham, 1984). Une Mouette rosée a été signalée sur la rivière Winisk en août 2004 (D. Sutherland, comm. pers., 2006). Cet enregistrement est intéressant en raison de la présence apparente d'habitats de reproduction convenables, comme des lacs marécageux de la taïga bordés de carex (Sterna paradisaea) et accueillant des colonies de Sternes arctiques, dans le secteur de Peawanuck et ailleurs dans les basses-terres de la baie d'Hudson. Cela dit, les recherches considérables menées dans la région n'ont produit aucun résultat (D. Sutherland, comm. pers., 2006). Ailleurs en Ontario, quelques signalements ont été faits dans le secteur des Grands Lacs inférieurs, comme à Port Weller, lac Ontario, et à la pointe Pelée, lac Érié.

Québec : au Québec, la présence de la Mouette rosée est occasionnelle (D. Banville, comm. pers., 2006). Seulement cinq enregistrements ont été faits dans cette province, trois en mai et en juin, et deux en novembre et en décembre, à Sainte-Anne-des-Monts en 1976, à Metabetchouan en 1991, à Chambly en 1994 et en 1995, et à Bergeronnes en 1995 (David, 1996).

Alberta, Saskatchewan, Nouveau-Brunswick et Île-du-Prince-Édouard : il n'y a aucun enregistrement connu de Mouettes rosées dans ces provinces et la présence de l'espèce y est hypothétique (Semenchuk, 1992; Smith, 1996).

Nouvelle-Écosse : quatre enregistrements ont été faits en Nouvelle-Écosse; en décembre 1987 et en juin 1988 à la levée de Canso, en juillet 1995 à l'île Madame et en décembre 1995 au cap Chebucto (I. McLaren, comm. pers., 2006).

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : un adulte arborant son plumage de base a été abattu au large de l'île Fogo, à Terre-Neuve, le 18 décembre 1976 (CMNAV 70031) (emplacement noté : « Seal Cove ») (Godfrey, 1986; M. Gosselin, comm. pers., 2006; P. Linegar, comm. pers., 2006). Les autres enregistrements sont : un oiseau à son premier été à Trepassey en mai 1985, un adulte ou peut-être un oiseau à son deuxième hiver photographié à Stephenville en janvier 1986 en train de s'alimenter dans un cours d'eau recevant des eaux usées, un adulte à 3 km au nord de l'Anse-aux-Meadows en septembre 1986 et un adulte arborant son plumage estival dans le port de ce village en août 1991, un adulte à Cow Head Harbour en décembre 1991 et un adulte arborant son plumage nuptial près de Ramea Harbour en juin 1993 (P. Linegar, comm. pers., 2006).


Zone d'occurrence et zone d'occupation

La zone d'occurrence, en calculant la superficie de tous les sites de nidification, est de 300 000 km2 (voir la figure 1). La zone d'occupation, en calculant un rayon de 50 km autour de chacun des quatre sites de nidification connus, est de 31 000 km2.