Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ross’s Gull in Canada

Biology

Life Cycle and Reproduction

Ross’s Gulls are thought to reach sexual maturity in their second year. Weather conditions affect the timing of nesting. Hatchings have occurred in Canada during the second week of June, although the usual hatch date is in mid-July (Macey 1981). Presumably poor weather conditions in spring in some years may dissuade the birds from nesting.

Ross’s Gull nests are approximately 10-15 cm in diameter and can be a depression in the ground (a scrape), a moss cup, or located in sedge tussocks (Macey 1981). Nests are lined with vegetation such as dry grass, sedge, moss, willow or birch leaves, or seaweed (Macey 1981) or unlined with vegetation (Mallory et al. 2006). Eggs are olive with faint reddish-brown markings and are approximately 30 x 43-46 mm. Clutch size is usually 3 (range 1–3) (Macey 1981, Mallory et al. 2006). Nests are incubated by both parents, for 21-22 days and chicks fledge at 20+ days after hatch (Ehrlich et al. 1988).

Studies conducted on nesting colonies of Ross’s Gulls in their Siberian range (e.g., Degtyarev et al. 1997) produced the following results. The average nearest-neighbour distance was 43 m, and some nests were separated by 100 m or more (n = 85). Colonies never exceeded 20 breeding pairs, and the usual number was between two and eight pairs. After five days, chicks were visited by the adults only for feeding, and by 15 days chicks were fed only four times a day. From this time to fledging, at about 20 days, the colony appeared to be deserted; the adults were absent, foraging elsewhere, and the chicks were camouflaged, hiding in the undergrowth. The colonies were usually quiet, since calls were only given in defense against predators.


Predation

Ross’s Gull eggs and chicks are preyed upon by Glaucous Gulls (L. hyperboreus), Herring Gulls (L. argentatus), jaegers (Stercorarius spp.), Arctic fox (Alopex lagopus), weasels (Mustela spp.), and polar bears (Ursus maritimus) (Densley 1991, Alvo et al. 1996). Adults have been taken by Peregrine Falcons (Falco peregrinus) (Burger and Gochfeld 1996). 


Diet

Ross’s Gulls are probably opportunistic feeders. At sea, the birds forage at the edge of the pack ice, where a large proportion of their food is comprised of Arctic cod (Boreogadus saida); 79% of Ross’s Gulls (n = 24) collected in the Chukchi Sea in September and October contained Arctic cod (Divoky 1976). Amphipods were also frequently taken, especially Apherusa glacialis (Divoky 1976), but a wide variety of other prey including Coleoptera, Decapods, Polychaetes, Copepods, Euphausids and Mysids were also found. On nesting grounds in Siberia, the main food of Ross’s Gulls is insects (Macey 1981). Bechet et al. (2000) observed adult Ross’s Gulls hovering low over the water or walking along the shoreline, probably foraging on insects and small invertebrates, and at Churchill, birds were observed taking small items from below the surface of ponds (Macey 1981). Other reports of diet and foraging include feeding on wave-washed “scum” along beaches, presumably picking up plankton; feeding on walrus (Odobenus rosmarus) dung; and gathering around dead animals (Burger and Gochfeld 1996).


Foraging

Ross’s Gulls may forage in small loose flocks or solitarily, occasionally joining Sabine’s Gulls and phalaropes. They will follow ships that are breaking through ice, capturing organisms on the undersurface of disturbed ice. Ross’s Gulls feed by aerial dipping, sometimes surface dipping, and walking (Burger and Gochfeld 1996).


Physiology

There are no studies to date on Ross’s Gull physiology.


Dispersal/Migration

Non-breeding Birds in Summer

During July, nonbreeding Ross’s Gulls move into the Arctic Ocean north of Norway and Russia, probably coming from Russian breeding grounds (Hjort et al. 1997). The birds apparently exploit drift ice and shelf breaks as far north as there is open water, up to the North Pole. The gulls associate with shelf-breaks owing to high food productivity resulting from upwelling of nutrients. In 1996, Hjort et al. (1997) reported Ross’s Gulls to be the most common bird in the central parts of the Arctic Ocean, north at least to 87º30’N, with large concentrations in the bathymetric corner between shelf-breaks and the St. Anna trough. Meltofte et al. (1981) also reported large numbers in the Arctic Ocean in July, from Franz Joseph Land, Svalbard and Greenland north to 82º30’.


Migration

The fall migration eastwards past Point Barrow on the north shore of Alaska has been known for some time (Fisher and Lockley 1954, Burger and Gochfeld 1996), and estimates of 20,000 birds have been reported heading east to previously unknown destinations. It is now known that Ross’s Gulls move east from the Chukchi Sea to the area around Point Barrow, starting in August and peaking in late September, and then to feeding grounds in the Beaufort Sea in late September or early October. There is a return movement westward in late October and early November, presumably moving in response to the freezing of the ocean and foraging opportunities at the edge of the pack ice. The gulls move south via the Bering Strait to winter in the Bering Sea and Sea of Okhotsk (Zubakin et al. 1990, Degtyarev et al. 1997), although the wintering grounds are still poorly known.


Interspecific Interactions

During the breeding season, Ross’s Gulls frequently nest in or close by colonies of Arctic Terns, presumably taking advantage of the predator-mobbing behaviour of the terns. Nests located in Penny Strait were close to Arctic Tern colonies and sometimes nests of Sabine’s Gulls; Sabine’s Gulls appear to be much more aggressive toward humans than are Ross’s Gulls (Mallory et al. 2006). However, Ross’s Gulls will defend their eggs and young, despite their “invisibility” (Burger and Gochfeld 1996, Degtyarev et al. 1997), and will show vigorous tern-like nest defence towards humans (Mallory et al. 2006).

Little is known about the behaviour of Ross’s Gulls away from their breeding grounds. Small loose flocks have been reported foraging along the edge of the pack-ice with Sabine’s Gulls, with little interaction among flock members. Individual Ross’s Gulls at Churchill have been harassed by Bonaparte’s Gulls when the two are feeding close together (pers. obs.) but the harassment tends to be momentary.


Adaptability

The level at which Ross’s Gulls will tolerate disturbance by humans is not known.Disturbance by bird-watchers, photographers, and tourists is a potential threat to the Ross’s Gull in Canada (Macey 1981). The trends emerging from the nesting sites at Churchill provide an indication of tolerance levels in this species. At least one nest at Churchill was abandoned because a photographer was too close (Alvo et al. 1996).  However, Ross’s Gulls are reported to nest successfully beside hunting camps in Russia (Alvo et al. 1996). Such contradictions indicate a need to investigate tolerance of disturbance levels at all stages of the breeding cycle.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Mouette rosée au Canada - Mise à jour

Biologie

Cycle vital et reproduction

On pense que la Mouette rosée atteint la maturité sexuelle au cours de sa deuxième année. Les conditions climatiques ont une incidence sur le moment de la nidification. Des éclosions se sont produites au Canada au cours de la deuxième semaine de juin, quoique celles-ci surviennent normalement à la mi-juillet (Macey, 1981). Les mauvaises conditions climatiques printanières de certaines années pourraient dissuader les oiseaux de nicher.

Les nids des Mouettes rosées mesurent environ de 10 à 15 cm de diamètre et peuvent être une dépression dans la terre ou dans la mousse ou être situés dans des buttes de carex des prés (Macey, 1981). Les nids peuvent être bordés de végétation (herbes sèches, mousses, feuilles de saule ou de bouleau, algues) (Macey, 1981) ou non (Mallory et al., 2006). Les œufs sont de couleur olive, tachetés de brun-rouge et mesurent environ 30 mm sur 43-46 mm. Les couvées comptent généralement 3 œufs (écart 1–3) (Macey, 1981; Mallory et al., 2006). Les oeufs sont couvés par les 2 parents de 21 à 22 jours et les oisillons s'envolent plus de 20 jours après l'éclosion (Ehrlich et al., 1988).

Les études réalisées sur les colonies de Mouettes rosées dans l'aire de répartition sibérienne (p. ex. Degtyarev et al., 1997) ont produit les résultats suivants. En moyenne 43 m séparaient les nids de leur plus proche voisin, et certains nids étaient séparés par 100 m ou plus (n = 85). Les colonies n'ont jamais excédé 29 couples reproducteurs, mais on comptait généralement de 2 à 8 couples. Au cinquième jour, les adultes ont visité les oisillons uniquement pour les nourrir et, après 15 jours, les oisillons étaient nourrit seulement 4 fois par jour. À partir de ce moment jusqu'à l'envol, soit à 20 jours environ, la colonie semblait avoir été désertée : les adultes étaient absents, cherchant de la nourriture ailleurs, et les oisillons étaient cachés dans le couvert végétal. Le silence régnait généralement dans les colonies, les cris étant seulement lancés pour prévenir de la présence de prédateurs.


Prédateurs

Les œufs des Mouettes rosées sont la proie du Goéland bourgmestre (L. hyperboreus), du Goéland argenté (L. argentatus), des labbes (Stercorarius spp.), du renard arctique (Alopex lagopus), des mustélidés (Mustela spp.) et de l'ours blanc (Ursusmaritimus) (Densley, 1991; Alvo et al., 1996). Les adultes sont chassés par le Faucon pèlerin (Falco peregrinus) (Burger et Gochfeld, 1996).


Alimentation

La Mouette rosée se nourrit probablement de manière opportuniste. En mer, les oiseaux cherchent leur nourriture le long de la banquise, où ils se nourrissent principalement de morues polaires (Boreogadus saida). En effet, 79 p. 100 des Mouettes rosées capturées dans la mer de Tchoukotka en septembre et en octobre avaient ingéré de la morue polaire (Divoky, 1976). La Mouette rosée se nourrit aussi fréquemment d'amphipodes, plus particulièrement d'Apherusa glacialis (Divoky, 1976), mais également d'une grande variété de proies, notamment des coléoptères, des décapodes, des polychètes, des copépodes, des euphausiacés et des mysidacés. Dans les aires de nidification de la Sibérie, l'oiseau se nourrit principalement d'insectes (Macey, 1981). Bechet et al. (2000) ont observé des Mouettes rosées adultes planant à basse altitude au-dessus de l'eau ou marchant le long du rivage, probablement à la recherche d'insectes ou de petits invertébrés, et, à Churchill, les oiseaux ont été observés en train de prendre de petites proies dans des mares (Macey, 1981). On a également observé les Mouettes rosées s'alimentant, probablement de plancton, dans l'écume amenée sur la plage par les vagues et dans des excréments de morses (Odobenus rosmarus), et se regroupant autour d'animaux morts (Burger et Gochfeld, 1996).


Recherche de nourriture

Les Mouettes rosées cherchent leur nourriture seules ou en petits groupes, et se joignent à l'occasion aux Mouettes de Sabine et aux phalaropes. Les oiseaux suivent les bateaux qui créent des ouvertures dans la glace pour y capturer des organismes. Les Mouettes rosées atteignent leur nourriture en plongeant dans l'eau du haut des airs, parfois en plantant seulement leur bec dans l'eau et en marchant sur le sol (Burger et Gochfeld, 1996).


Physiologie

Aucune étude n’a été réalisée jusqu’à présent sur la physiologie de la Mouette rosée.


Déplacements et dispersion

Oiseaux ne se reproduisant pas en été

En juillet, les Mouettes rosées non reproductrices, arrivant probablement de leurs aires de reproduction en Russie, atteignent l'océan Arctique, au nord de la Norvège et de la Russie (Hjort et al., 1997). Apparemment, les oiseaux exploitent les glaces à la dérive et le rebord de la plate-forme continentale jusqu'au pôle Nord, tant que la présence d'eaux libres le leur permet. Les mouettes s’associent au rebord de la plate-forme continentale parce qu’elles s’y alimentent des grandes quantités de nutriments qui y sont soulevées. En 1996, Hjort et al. (1997) ont observé que la Mouette rosée était l'oiseau le plus commun dans les portions centrales de l'océan Arctique jusqu'à au moins 870 30’N et que de grandes concentrations étaient présentes dans le gradient bathymétrique situé entre la bordure de la plate-forme continentale et la dépression St. Anna. Meltofte et al. (1981) ont également signalé de nombreux oiseaux dans l'océan Arctique en juillet, depuis l'archipel François-Joseph, l'archipel des Svalbard et le Groenland vers le nord jusqu'à 820 30’.


Migration

La migration automnale vers l'est, passé la pointe Barrow, sur la côte nord de l'Alaska, est connue depuis un certain temps (Fisher et Lockley, 1954; Burger et Gochfeld, 1996), et environ 20 000 oiseaux ont été observés se dirigeant vers l'est, en direction de destinations alors inconnues. Le déplacement vers l'est, de la mer Tchoukotka à la pointe Barrow, est amorcé en août et atteint son point culminant à la fin de septembre. Les Mouettes rosées se dirigent vers leurs aires d'alimentation dans la mer de Beaufort à la fin de septembre ou au début d'octobre. Les oiseaux migrent ensuite vers l'ouest à la fin d'octobre et au début de novembre, sans doute en raison du gel de l'océan et des possibilités d'alimentation le long de la banquise. Les Mouettes rosées se dirigent enfin vers le sud, en passant par le détroit de Béring pour atteindre les mers de Béring et d'Okhotsk (Zubakin et al. 1990; Degtyarev et al., 1997). On ne sait cependant que peu de choses sur les aires d'hivernage de l'espèce.


Relations interspécifiques

Pendant la saison de reproduction, les Mouettes rosées nichent souvent à l'intérieur ou à proximité de colonies de Sternes arctiques, tirant probablement avantage du comportement de harcèlement des prédateurs par les sternes. Les nids situés dans le détroit de Penny se trouvaient à proximité de colonies de Sternes arctiques et parfois de nids de Mouettes de Sabine, cette dernière espèce semblant beaucoup plus agressive envers les humains que la Mouette rosée (Mallory et al., 2006). Toutefois, la Mouette rosée défendra ses œufs et ses oisillons, malgré son apparente invisibilité (Burger et Gochfeld, 1996; Degtyarev et al., 1997), et adoptera envers les humains des comportements de défense semblables à ceux des sternes (Mallory et al., 2006).

On sait peu de choses sur le comportement de la Mouette rosée à l'extérieur de ses aires de reproduction. La présence de petits groupes dispersés s'alimentant le long de la banquise aux côtés de Mouettes de Sabine et dont les membres avaient peu d’interactions entre eux a été signalée. On rapporte que les Mouettes de Bonaparte harcèlent les Mouettes rosées lorsque les deux espèces cherchent de la nourriture à proximité l'une de l'autre (obs. pers.), mais ce harcèlement est généralement momentané.


Adaptabilité

Le niveau de tolérance de la Mouette rosée aux perturbations anthropiques est inconnu. Les perturbations causées par les ornithologues, les photographes et les touristes sont une menace potentielle pour la Mouette rosée au Canada (Macey, 1981). Les tendances qui émergent des sites de nidification de Churchill sont une indication des niveaux de tolérance de cette espèce. Au moins un nid a été abandonné à Churchill parce qu’un photographe se tenait trop près (Alvo et al., 1996). Des reproductions réussies ont toutefois été signalées à proximité de camps de chasse en Russie (Alvo et al., 1996). Ces contradictions témoignent de la nécessité d'étudier la tolérance aux niveaux de perturbations à tous les stades du cycle de reproduction de l'espèce.