Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Ross’s Gull in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

The discovery of two of the known breeding sites in Canada of Ross’s Gulls (the Cheyne Islands and Churchill) was not a result of systematic and organized searches for the species but rather fortuitous discoveries. The pair that nested on Prince Charles Island in 1997 was found during intensive terrestrial and aerial surveys of Prince Charles and Air Force Islands during the summers of 1996 and 1997 (Bechet et al. 2000). A.J. Gaston (pers. comm. 2006), who surveyed parts of Prince Charles Island in the 1980s, indicates “(t)he discovery of the breeding site on Prince Charles Island was made on the first serious land bird survey of an island the size of Prince Edward Island. Other islands in Foxe Basin with much the same sort of terrain have never been surveyed on the ground, or at most only a small proportion has been surveyed.” Ross’s Gulls were twice identified on a different part of Prince Charles Island by aerial surveys in 1984 (A.J. Gaston, pers. comm. 2006), although reports from other aerial surveys and visits to Prince Charles Island did not mention the species (Ellis and Evans 1960, Reed et al. 1980, Morrison 1997). Such information underscores the uncertainty about the status of this species in Canada.

The fourth known site, the unnamed island in Penny Strait, was a result of research and monitoring surveys of marine birds in High Arctic Canada (Mallory et al. 2006). The Canadian Wildlife Service, as part of research and monitoring of marine birds in High Arctic Canada, have conducted surveys for Ross’s Gulls at known and potential nesting locations in Nunavut from 2002 through 2006 (Mallory et al. 2006). Surveys were carried out on islands in Penny Strait on one day each year between 1 and 16 July, from a Bell 206 L4 helicopter. In Penny Strait, 16 small islands were surveyed, and in 2003 – 2006 Seymour Island and the Cheyne Islands were resurveyed (Mallory et al. 2006). These surveys did not result in any sightings of Ross’s Gulls between 2002 and 2004, but surveys in 2005 resulted in the discovery of the colony on the small unnamed island east of Crozier Island in Penny Strait, a location also surveyed between 2002 and 2004. In 2006, nesting pairs were relocated on the unnamed island and on the Cheyne Islands, the first time since the late 1970s (G. Gilchrist, pers. comm. 2006).


Abundance

There is little information during the last 15 years to indicate if the global population is stable. Censuses of Siberian breeding grounds during the 1980s indicate that the population was about 50 000 individuals (Degtyaryev 1991), considerably higher than the estimate of 10 000 sexually mature birds in the 1970s (Borodin et al. 1978, cited in Macey 1981). In the late 1980s, the Ross’s Gull population in Alaskan waters in September-October was estimated to be at least 20 000 (Divoky et al. 1988) and the eastern movement at Point Barrow in 1984 was estimated at a minimum of 15 000 (Alvo et al. 1996). The pelagic population at the pack ice edge in the Chukchi Sea in 1970 was estimated at between 20 700 and 38 000 (Divoky 1988). A maximum of 4300 individuals was observed feeding in a flock at Point Barrow on 29 September 1976 (Kessel and Gibson 1978). The global population was considered stable based on accounts of birds migrating by Point Barrow, Alaska in the 1980s (Divoky et al. 1988, Alvo et al. 1996).

In Canada, the Ross’s Gull occurs at low population numbers, scattered throughout the low and high Arctic region. The total known breeding population has ranged from 0 to10 pairs per year. However, as A.J. Gaston (pers. comm. 2006) points out, “the species might actually number in the hundreds of breeders, given the huge areas of unexplored habitat available; on the other hand, we cannot possibly pretend to know anything about its current population trends on the basis of the very scattered localities where populations have been followed to any extent – really just Churchill. ….. Given the potential breeding habitat in Canada and the apparently rather peripatetic nature of the species, I think it certain that there are quite a few more that we have not yet found.”

Churchill, Manitoba

Sightings of Ross’s Gulls have been reported more often and more continuously in the area around Churchill than other known sites in Canada (R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006). Since the initial sighting in 1978, a photographed adult that occurred between 18–23 June (Manitoba Avian Research Committee 2003), the species has been recorded almost annually, with nestings documented at the Akudlik site in the 1980s and further up the Churchill River in recent years (Alvo et al. 1996, Manitoba Avian Research Committee 2003, R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006, IBA Site MB 003). The Churchill population has ranged from one to five pairs since 1980; themaximum number of known nests was five in 1982.

Since the mid-1990s, the traditional breeding sites at Churchill appear to have been abandoned. There have been persistent reports of nesting pairs upstream from the end of the Hydro Road (R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006), and apparently there were five nests there in 2002. After the mid-1980s locations of nests have usually been kept secret (if any were found), therefore an incomplete picture of the status each year at Churchill has emerged.Only a single bird has been reported in some years, and up to four in others (R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006); for example, four were reported in 2005. Other records in suitable habitat in northern Manitoba include two adults seen by J.D. Reynolds on June 10, 1984, at La Perouse Bay, flying inland from Hudson Bay (Alvo et al. 1996).

Specimens from the Churchill site are in the Canadian Museum of Nature (CMNAV 70983, 71120 and 71121, adults in July 1980 and 1981, and E4311 and E4781, eggs collected in 1981 and 1988; M. Gosselin, pers. comm. 2006). Two downy chicks were collected in 1982, and one in 1983, and are now in the Manitoba Museum collection (R. Koes, pers. comm. 2006).

Cheyne Islands, Nunavut

Three pairs nested on the island in 1976, and six pairs nested in 1978 with an additional eight unpaired birds also present, hence a maximum of 20 birds present (Macey 1981), and it is possible that they had nested here for several years (MacDonald 1978, Alvo et al. 1996). Although no nests were found at the Cheyne Islands in 1977 or in 1979, birds were seen there in 1974 and 1979 (Macey 1981). Further surveys did not find Ross’s Gulls on the islands in 1986 (Alvo et al. 1996), nor between 2002 and 2005 (Mallory et al. 2006). However, in 2006, three pairs were found in locations where they had nested previously (G. Gilchrist, pers. comm. 2006).

Although all three islands were used for nesting, Ross’s Gulls have not bred regularly in any one location within the islands. Ross’s Gulls, apparently already paired, arrived in early June and nesting was usually completed by mid-July. Breeding attempts appeared to have been unsuccessful, although a juvenile bird was seen flying over Bathurst Island in 1979 (MacDonald 1978, Macey 1981, Alvo et al. 1996). The polynyas present on the eastern side of Penny Strait appeared to provide an important feeding area for the gulls (Canadian IBA Site Catalog 2006).

Unnamed Island in Penny Strait

A previously undiscovered small colony of four and possibly five breeding pairs was located on an unnamed island in Penny Strait in 2005 (Mallory et al. 2006), and one pair was found nesting there in 2006 (G. Gilchrist, pers. comm. 2006). This location is only 80 km from the nesting sites on the Cheyne Islands. The island was also surveyed in 2002 through 2004, with no birds being located. Mallory et al. (2006) note that colony occupation by Ross’s Gulls in the Canadian High Arctic appears to be intermittent, and the birds may move nesting locations in response to predation or annual snow and ice conditions.

Prince Charles Island

Bechet et al. (2000) reported a breeding pair of Ross’s Gulls at the northwest corner of Prince Charles Island on 8 July 1997, a locality only 200 km from the first collected specimen in 1823 on the east coast of the Melville Peninsula. No additional birds were found on Prince Charles or nearby islands during aerial and terrestrial surveys in 1996 and 1997, and there is no information on occupancy by Ross’s Gulls of Prince Charles Island in recent years.


Fluctuations and Trends

The low numbers of Ross’s Gulls that occur at any one site in Canada precludes analysis of fluctuations and population trends. The nesting occurrences in the High Arctic appear not to be consistent from year to year, presumably as a result of variables such as predation pressure or snow and ice conditions. The North American Waterfowl Conservation Plan (2002) lists the species as showing an apparent decline, although no details are given.


Rescue Effect

The known breeding population of Ross’s Gulls in Canada and Greenland represents less than 1% of the total global breeding population. The current status of the global Ross’s Gull population is unknown; reports documenting global populations in the 1980s indicate that the world’s population of Ross’s Gulls was about 50 000 and had not changed significantly since the end of the 1800s (Alvo et al. 1996). Rescue from the Siberian population is clearly possible, although it is not known whether the population breeding in Canada is part of the total global breeding population, or if it constitutes a distinct breeding population separate from the major nesting areas in Siberia.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Mouette rosée au Canada - Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

La découverte de deux des sites connus de reproduction de la Mouette rosée au Canada (îles Cheyne et Churchill) a été un coup de chance et non le fruit de recherches systématiques et organisées. Le couple qui nichait sur l'île Prince-Charles en 1997 a été repéré dans le cadre de relevés terrestres et aériens intensifs menés pour les îles Prince-Charles et Air Force au cours des étés de 1996 et de 1997 (Bechet et al., 2000). A. J. Gaston (comm. pers., 2006), qui a effectué des relevés dans certaines parties de l'île Prince-Charles dans les années 1980, affirme que « la découverte de ce site de nidification est le résultat du premier relevé terrestre à être mené sur une île de la taille de l'île du-Prince-Édouard. D'autres îles du bassin Foxe présentant le même type de terrain n'ont jamais fait l'objet de relevés sur le terrain ou tout au plus un petit secteur a été exploré ». La Mouette rosée a été identifiée à deux reprises en 1984 lors de relevés aériens menés dans un secteur différent de l'île Prince-Charles (A. J. Gaston, comm. pers., 2006), quoique l'espèce n'a pas été mentionnée dans les rapports d'autres relevés aériens et des visites effectuées sur l’île (Ellis et Evans, 1960; Reed et al., 1980; Morrison, 1997).Cette information montre toute l'incertitude du statut de cette espèce au Canada.

Le quatrième site connu, celui de l'île sans nom du détroit de Penny, a été découvert à la suite de recherches et de relevés de suivi menés pour les oiseaux marins dans l'Extrême-Arctique canadien (Mallory et al., 2006). Entre 2002 et 2006, le Service canadien de la faune, dans le cadre d'activités de recherche et de suivi pour les oiseaux marins dans l'Extrême-Arctique canadien, a réalisé des relevés de la Mouette rosée sur les sites de nidification connus ou potentiels du Nunavut (Mallory et al., 2006). Les relevés ont été menés sur les îles du détroit de Penny entre le 1er et le 16 juillet, à raison d'une journée chaque année et à bord d'un hélicoptère Bell 206 L4. Dans le détroit de Penny, 16 petites îles ont fait l'objet de relevés, et, entre 2003 et 2006, des relevés ont été réalisés à nouveau sur l'île Seymour et sur les îles Cheyne (Mallory et al., 2006). Ces relevés n'ont pas permis d'observer de Mouettes rosées entre 2002 et 2004, mais les relevés réalisés en 2005 ont donné lieu à la découverte d'une colonie sur une petite île sans nom située à l'est de l'île Crozier, dans le détroit de Penny, un site ayant fait également l'objet de relevés entre 2002 et 2004. En 2006, des couples nicheurs ont été à nouveau observés sur l'île sans nom et sur les îles Cheyne, une première depuis la fin des années 1970 (G. Gilchrist, comm. pers., 2006).


Abondance

Le peu d'information recueillie au cours des 15 dernières années ne permet pas de déterminer si la population mondiale reste stable. Selon des recensements menés dans les aires de nidification de la Sibérie dans les années 1980, la population de Mouettes rosées compterait environ 50 000 individus (Degtyaryev, 1991), soit un chiffre beaucoup plus élevé que celui de 10 000 individus sexuellement matures estimé dans les années 1970 (Borodin et al., 1978, cité dans Macey, 1981). À la fin des années 1980, la population de Mouettes rosées des eaux de l'Alaska en septembre et en octobre était estimée à au moins 20 000 individus (Divoky et al., 1988) et le mouvement de migration vers l'est, à la pointe Barrow, en 1984, était estimé à au moins 15 000 individus (Alvo et al., 1996). En 1970, la population pélagique le long de la banquise dans la mer de Tchoukotka a été estimée à entre 20 700 et 38 000 individus (Divoky, 1988). Au plus 4 300 individus ont été observés en train de s'alimenter en groupe à la pointe Barrow le 29 septembre 1976 (Kessel et Gibson, 1978). La population mondiale a été considérée comme stable sur la base des oiseaux en migration observés à la pointe Barrow, en Alaska, dans les années 1980 (Divoky et al., 1988; Alvo et al., 1996).

Au Canada, la Mouette rosée est présente par petites populations éparpillées dans le Bas-Arctique et dans l'Extrême-Arctique. La population reproductrice totale connue comptait chaque année entre 0 et 10 couples. Toutefois, comme le précise A. J. Gaston (comm. pers., 2006), « compte tenu de l'immense habitat disponible encore inexploré, l'espèce compte peut-être à l'heure actuelle des centaines d'individus reproducteurs; cela dit, il est impossible de prétendre que nous connaissons quoique ce soit sur les tendances de la population actuelle sur la base des sites très éparpillés où les populations ont fait l'objet d'un certain suivi, c'est-à-dire à Churchill en d'autres termes. [...] Vu l'habitat potentiel de reproduction présent au Canada et la nature apparemment itinérante de l'espèce, je suis certain qu'il existe plusieurs autres sites que nous n'avons tout simplement pas encore trouvés ».

Churchill, Manitoba

Les signalements de Mouettes rosées ont été plus fréquents et plus continus dans le secteur de Churchill que partout ailleurs au Canada (R. Koes, comm. pers., 2006). Depuis l'observation initiale de 1978, soit celle d’un adulte photographié et observé entre le 18 et le 23 juin (Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003), l'espèce a été enregistrée presque chaque année et des nids ont été documentés sur le site Akudlik dans les années 1980 et plus haut sur la rivière Churchill au cours des récentes années (Alvo et al., 1996; Manitoba Avian Research Committee, 2003; R. Koes, comm. pers., 2006; site ZICO MB 003). Depuis 1980, la population de Churchill a compté entre un et cinq couples, et le plus grand nombre de nids connus a été de cinq en 1982.

Depuis le milieu des années 1990, il semble que les Mouettes rosées aient abandonné le site traditionnel de Churchill. Descouples nicheurs ont été signalés de manière continue en amont de l’endroit où prend fin la route d’Hydro Manitoba (R. Koes, comm. pers., 2006) et il y avait apparemment cinq nids à cet endroit en 2002. Les emplacements des nids ayant été tenus secrets (le cas échéant) après le milieu des années 1980, le portrait annuel du statut de l'espèce à Churchill est donc incomplet.Un seul oiseau a été signalé certaines années et jusqu'à quatre certaines autres (R. Koes, comm. pers., 2006). Par exemple, quatre oiseaux ont été signalés en 2005.Parmi les autres enregistrements faits dans l'habitat convenable au Manitoba, il y a deux adultes observés par J. D. Reynolds, le 10 juin 1984, dans la baie de La Pérouse, alors qu'ils volaient vers la terre à partir de la baie d'Hudson (Alvo et al., 1996).

Les spécimens du site de Churchill sont conservés au Musée canadien de la nature (CMNAV 70983, 71120 et 71121, adultes en juillet 1980 et 1981, et E4311 et E4781, œufs recueillis en 1981 et en 1988; M. Gosselin, comm. pers., 2006). Deux oisillons ont été recueillis en 1982 et un en 1983; ils se trouvent maintenant dans la collection du Manitoba Museum (R. Koes, comm. pers., 2006).

Îles Cheyne, Nunavut

Au total, 3 couples ont niché sur les îles en 1976 et 6 couples nicheurs et 8 autres oiseaux individuels s'y trouvaient en 1978, pour un maximum de 20 oiseaux (Macey, 1981). Il est possible que ces oiseaux aient niché à cet endroit pendant plusieurs années (MacDonald, 1978; Alvo et al, 1996). Bien qu'aucun nid n'ait été observé sur les îles en 1977 et en 1979, des oiseaux y ont été observés en 1974 et en 1979 (Macey, 1981). Des relevés additionnels réalisés en 1986 (Alvo et al., 1996) et entre 2002 et 2005 (Mallory et al., 2006) n'ont pas permis d'observer de Mouettes rosées. Toutefois, en 2006, 3 couples ont été observés à des endroits où ils avaient déjà niché (G. Gilchrist, comm. pers., 2006).

Bien que les trois îles aient été utilisées pour la nidification, les Mouettes rosées ne s’y sont reproduites régulièrement à aucun endroit. Des Mouettes rosées, apparemment déjà en couples, arrivaient au début de juin et la nidification était généralement achevée à la mi-juillet. Les tentatives de reproduction semblent avoir échoué, quoiqu'un juvénile a été observé en vol au-dessus de l'île Bathurst en 1979 (MacDonald, 1978; Macey, 1981; Alvo et al., 1996). Les polynies présentes sur le côté est du détroit de Penny semblent offrir une importante aire d'alimentation aux mouettes (catalogue des sites ZICO canadiens, 2006).

Île sans nom dans le détroit de Penny

Une colonie jusque-là inconnue de 4 et possiblement de 5 couples nicheurs a été découverte sur une île sans nom du détroit de Penny en 2005 (Mallory et al., 2006) et un couple en nidification a été observé au même endroit en 2006 (G. Gilchrist, comm. pers., 2006). Cet emplacement se trouve à seulement 80 km des sites de nidification des îles Cheyne. Des relevés ont également été menés sur l'île entre 2002 et 2004, mais aucun oiseau n'a été repéré. Mallory et al. (2006) font remarquer que la présence dans l'Extrême-Arctique canadien de la Mouette rosée semble être intermittente et que les oiseaux changent peut-être de sites de nidification pour échapper aux prédateurs ou à cause des conditions annuelles de neige et de glace.

Île Prince-Charles

Bechet et al. (2000) ont observé un couple nicheur dans la portion nord-ouest de l'île Prince-Charles le 8 juillet 1997, soit à un endroit situé à seulement 200 km du lieu où a été capturé le premier spécimen en 1823, sur la côte est de la péninsule de Melville. Aucun autre oiseau n'a été observé sur l'île Prince-Charles ni sur les îles proches lors de relevés aériens et terrestres menés en 1996 et en 1997, et il n'y a aucune information sur l'occupation de l'île Prince-Charles pour les années récentes.


Fluctuations et tendances

Le petit nombre de Mouettes rosées sur chacun des sites canadiens empêche toute analyse des fluctuations et des tendances. Les occurrences de nidification dans l'Extrême-Arctique ne sont pas constantes d'une année à l'autre, probablement en raison de variables comme la pression des prédateurs et les conditions de neige et de glace. Il est indiqué dans le Plan nord-américain de gestion de la sauvagine (2002) que l'espèce connaît un déclin apparent, mais aucune précision n’est donnée à cet égard.


Effet d'une immigration de source externe

La population reproductrice connue de Mouettes rosées du Canada et du Groenland représente moins de 1 p. 100 de la population reproductrice mondiale.Le statut actuel de la population mondiale de Mouettes rosées est inconnu. Des rapports ayant documenté les populations dans les années 1980 indiquent que la population mondiale de Mouettes rosées compterait environ 50 000 individus et qu'elle n'a pas changé de manière significative depuis la fin du xixe siècle (Alvo et al., 1996). Il est clair qu’une immigration à partir de la population de la Sibérie est possible, mais on ne sait toutefois pas si les individus nichant au Canada font partie de la population reproductrice mondiale ou encore d'une population reproductrice distincte et séparée des aires de nidification importantes de la Sibérie.