Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Margined Madtom (Noturus insignis) in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Only 49 margined madtom specimens were captured in Canada prior to 1990 according to the original status report (Goodchild 1990).  Since this time, at least 64 additional specimens have been captured.  The majority of specimens were collected from the Fall River in Lanark County and Lake Joseph in the Muskoka District of Ontario.

Biologists have returned to the original locations and several of the new locations of capture in Ontario and Quebec in an attempt to determine the status of the margined madtom in Canada.  During July 1982, biologists returned to the Fall River, Lanark County, to collect the margined madtom with a seine net, but their sampling attempts were unsuccessful.  However on 4 September 1997, 24 specimens where captured at this location by the OMNR with the use of a backpack electrofisher.  Three of these specimens are catalogued in the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) collection [ROM 70989]; the remainder were released.  The use of a backpack electrofisher may have been a more effective type of sampling gear for this location (Alan Dextrase, OMNR, personal communication).  There have been no new data on the margined madtom in the Fall River since last observed there in 1997.

Between 1991 and 1996 in the Muskoka District, OMNR captured 18 margined madtom specimens in Lake Joseph [ROM 68174], 5 in Lake Muskoka [ROM 68167], and one margined madtom in Lake Rosseau (Alan Dextrase, OMNR, personal communication), as part of their smallfish survey (most caught) and near-shore index netting program.  Minnow traps were used for the smallfish survey and 6’ trap nets were used for the near-shore index netting survey.  It is suspected that this species is now established in the Muskokas as it has been captured regularly (Alan Dextrase and Warren Dunlop, OMNR, personal communication).  Elsewhere in Ontario, scientists from the OMNR returned to Bolton Creek, Hamlet of Fallbrook, Lanark County, on 4 September 1997 and two specimens were captured [ROM 70988].

In Quebec, biologists returned to the stream draining Lac à la Loutre to Lac Lapêche in Gatineau Park, where the margined madtom was originally captured in 1971.  The area was re-sampled in 1982, 1983, and 1984; these efforts did not result in the collection of this species, although in 1982, two specimens were captured further upstream [NMC 82-0321].  On 1 September 1982, two margined madtoms were captured in Rivière Lapêche, Saint-Louis-de-Masham, Gatineau County [NMC82-0572], and another was collected on 19 July the following year [NMC83-0S35].  Several specimens were captured in this area during the early 1990s (Brian Coad, Canadian Museum of Nature, personal communication).

Population sizes of the margined madtom may fluctuate due to low numbers of individuals and their dependence on the spawning success of the previous year.  These fluctuations may be evident in the Fall River, Ontario.  Fourteen specimens were captured in 1976 but, none were captured at the same site in 1982 (Coad 1986).  In 1997, 24 specimens were captured [ROM70989].  However, these differences may also be explained by the use of different sampling gear.

In the original status report, it was reported that 49 margined madtom specimens were captured prior to 1990.  Since this report, at least 64 specimens have been captured in Ontario and Quebec.  The margined madtom has been captured in four new locations in Ontario in Lake Muskoka and Lake Rosseau in the Muskoka District, and in Bolton Creek and the Mississippi River in Lanark County.  In Quebec, the distribution of the margined madtom has expanded into the Gatineau and Ottawa Rivers, Hull and Papineau County and also into the Cole Lake area in Buckingham County.  It is possible that these new records of capture may be the result of increased and more rigorous sampling efforts or recent introductions.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le chat-fou liséré (Noturus insignis) au Canada - Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Seuls 49 chats-fous lisérés avaient été capturés au Canada avant 1990, selon le premier rapport de situation (Goodchild, 1990). Depuis, on a capturé au moins 64 spécimens additionnels. La majorité des spécimens proviennent de la rivière Fall (comté de Lanark) et du lac Joseph (district de Muskoka), en Ontario.

Les biologistes sont revenus aux premiers lieux de capture et à plusieurs des sites suivants, en Ontario et au Québec, pour tenter de déterminer le statut du chat-fou liséré au Canada. En juillet 1982, les biologistes sont retournés à la rivière Fall (comté de Lanark) pour pêcher les chats-fous lisérés à la senne, mais leur tentative a été infructueuse. Toutefois, le 4 septembre 1997, 24 spécimens ont été capturés au même endroit par le MRNO à l’aide de matériel portatif de pêche électrique. Trois de ces spécimens sont catalogués dans la collection du Musée royal de l’Ontario (ROM) [ROM 70989]; les autres ont été libérés. Il semble que le matériel de pêche électrique ait été particulièrement efficace à cet endroit (Alan Dextrase, MRNO, comm. pers.). Aucune nouvelle observation du chat-fou liséré n’a été signalée dans la rivière Fall depuis 1997.

Entre 1991 et 1996, dans le district de Muskoka, le MRNO a capturé 18 chats-fous lisérés dans le lac Joseph [ROM 68174], cinq dans le lac Muskoka [ROM 68167], et un dans le lac Rosseau (Alan Dextrase, MRNO, comm. pers.), dans le cadre du relevé des petits poissons (les plus souvent capturés) et du programme de pêche indicatrice au filet dans les eaux littorales. Pour le relevé des petits poissons, on a utilisé des pièges à ménés, et des trappes de 6 pi pour la pêche indicatrice. On suppose que l’espèce est maintenant établie dans les Muskokas puisqu’on l’a capturée régulièrement dans cette région (Alan Dextrase et Warren Dunlop, MRNO, comm. pers.). Toujours en Ontario, les scientifiques du MRNO sont retournés au ruisseau Bolton, hameau de Fallbrook (comté de Lanark), le 4 septembre 1997, et y ont capturé deux spécimens [ROM 70988].

Au Québec, les biologistes sont retournés à l’exutoire du lac à la Loutre rejoignant le lac Lapêche, dans le parc de la Gatineau, où le chat-fou liséré avait été capturé pour la première fois en 1971. La région a été rééchantillonnée en 1982, 1983 et 1984, mais la tentative n’a pas abouti à la capture de cette espèce. Toutefois, en 1982, deux spécimens ont été capturés en aval [NMC 82-0321]. Le 1er septembre 1982, deux chats-fous lisérés ont été capturés dans la rivière Lapêche, à Saint-Louis-de-Masham (comté de Gatineau) [NMC 82-0572], et un autre spécimen le 19 juillet de l’année suivante [NMC 83-0S35]. Plusieurs spécimens ont été recueillis dans la région au début des années 1990 (Brian Coad, Musée canadien de la nature, comm. pers.).

La taille des populations de chats-fous lisérés peut fluctuer, étant donné leur faible effectif et leur dépendance à l’égard du succès reproducteur de l’année précédente. Ces fluctuations semblent se manifester dans la rivière Fall, en Ontario. En 1976, on a capturé 14 spécimens, mais aucun au même endroit en 1982 (Coad, 1986). En 1997, 24 spécimens ont été capturés [ROM 70989]; toutefois, ces différences peuvent aussi s’expliquer par le fait que les engins d’échantillonnage variaient d’une fois à l’autre.

Dans le premier rapport de situation, on signalait que 49 chats-fous lisérés avaient été capturés avant 1990. Depuis, on a recueilli au moins 64 spécimens en Ontario et au Québec. Des chats-fous lisérés ont été capturés à quatre nouvelles localités de l’Ontario : au lac Muskoka et au lac Rosseau dans le district de Muskoka, et dans le ruisseau Bolton et la rivière Mississippi dans le comté de Lanark. Au Québec, la répartition du chat-fou liséré s’est élargie à la Gatineau et à la rivière des Outaouais, dans les comtés de Hull et de Papineau, ainsi que dans la région du lac Cole, dans le comté de Buckingham. Ces nouvelles mentions de capture sont peut-être le fruit d’efforts d’échantillonnage accrus et plus rigoureux, ou encore le résultat d’introductions récentes.