Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) in Canada [Proposed] 2007

Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all Species at Risk Act recovery strategies, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2004). The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond their intended benefits. Environmental effects, including impacts to non-target species and the environment, were considered during recovery planning. The SEA is incorporated directly into the strategy and also summarized below. 

This Greater Sage-Grouse recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus). Species that will benefit from protection of the shrinking sagebrush ecosystems include the endangered Sage Thrasher (Oreoscoptes montanus) and Burrowing Owl (Speotyto cunicularia), the threatened Loggerhead Shrike (Lanius ludovicianus excubitorides) and mormon metalmark (Apodemia mormo), and the Long-billed Curlew (Numenius americanus), listed as special concern.  This recovery strategy will also have a positive effect on native culture by promoting the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse, a living part of native culture.  However, three situations were identified where there is the potential for negative effects.

First, it was determined that a strategy researching the use of fire as a tool to stimulate and revitalize sagebrush communities could lead to activities involving the controlled burning of prairie habitat. This could potentially have a negative impact on other species directly or through disturbance or destruction of their habitat and/or residences. Being aware of other species at risk in the specific area and following best fire management practices would reduce or eliminate any potential negative effects on other species. Any prescribed burning within a national park would require a more detailed environmental assessment under CEAA.

Second, investigations into the impacts of human created water control structures on natural hydrology and the resulting effects on sagebrush could lead to actions involving the alteration of hydrology. Altering the hydrology of an area could have potential negative effects on other plant and animal species directly or through disturbance or destruction of their habitat and/or residences. Any alterations to hydrology should take into account effects on non-target species and may require a more detailed environmental assessment under CEAA.

Third, strategies relating to the protection or increase of silver sagebrush habitat would have a positive effect on all species that share the same habitat as the Greater Sage-Grouse, as discussed above. However, increasing available sagebrush habitat for the Greater Sage-Grouse could potentially have a negative impact on the Mountain Plover (Charadrius montanus) which requires short vegetation and bare ground. However, the Mountain Plover is a species listed under the SARA and therefore requires a recovery strategy that will address monitoring, research and threats, which may include impacts as a result of increasing sagebrush habitat.

The SEA concluded that this recovery strategy will have many positive effects and not cause any important negative effects, as long as the mitigation measures recommended are implemented. This includes any further assessments of actions identified as a result of research conducted in this recovery strategy, such as burning or altering hydrology within a national park.

Residence  

SARA defines residence as:  “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating[SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry:  http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Preface

This Recovery Strategy addresses the recovery of the Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies.  In Canada, this species can be found in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan.

This recovery strategy for the Sage-Grouse was developed by the authors for the Parks Canada Agency on behalf of the competent minister (the Minister of the Environment). It was developed in cooperation with a Sage-Grouse working group that met in February, 2006.  Members of that working group consisted of representatives from provincial government wildlife and land management agencies, land managers, conservation organizations, industry, academia, Parks Canada, Environment Canada, and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (Appendix A).

A Greater Sage-Grouse recovery team was established in 1997 by Alberta and Saskatchewan.  In 2001, a Canadian Greater Sage-Grouse recovery strategy was produced (Canadian Sage-Grouse Recovery Team 2001) that reviewed Greater Sage-Grouse background and status, established recovery goals and objectives, and provided strategies for population recovery.  This recovery strategy updates the one developed in 2001 by Alberta and Saskatchewan and will be the first recovery strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse, urophasianus subspecies under the Species at Risk Act.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus) au Canada (proposition) 2007

Énoncé d’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L’objet de l’EES est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

Il est évident qu’en favorisant le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus urophasianus), ce programme de rétablissement sera bénéfique pour l’environnement. La protection des écosystèmes d’armoises broussailleuses qui s’amenuisent profitera notamment au Moqueur des armoises (Oreoscoptes montanus) et à la Chevêche des terriers (Speotyto cunicularia), deux espèces en voie de disparition, à la Pie-grièche migratrice de la sous-espèce excubitorides (Lanius ludovicianus excubitorides) et au mormon (Apodemia mormo), deux espèces menacées, et au Courlis à long bec (Numenius americanus), une espèce préoccupante. Le programme aura aussi un effet favorable sur la culture autochtone, dont le Tétras des armoises fait partie. Par contre, on a identifié trois situations dans lesquelles le programme pourrait avoir des effets défavorables.

Premièrement, il a été déterminé qu’une stratégie de recherche sur l’utilisation du feu pour stimuler et revitaliser les communautés associées aux armoises pourrait déboucher sur des activités de brûlage dirigé d’habitats de prairie. Ces activités pourraient nuire à d’autres espèces directement ou en perturbant ou détruisant leur habitat et/ou leur résidence. En tenant compte des autres espèces en péril présentes et en appliquant de bonnes pratiques de gestion du feu, on pourrait réduire ou éliminer les éventuels effets néfastes sur les autres espèces. Tout brûlage dirigé dans un parc national nécessiterait d’abord une évaluation environnementale détaillée en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (LCEE).

Deuxièmement, des recherches concernant les effets d’ouvrages de régularisation des eaux sur l’hydrologie naturelle et leurs conséquences pour l’armoise pourraient déboucher sur des mesures influant sur l’hydrologie. La modification de l’hydrologie d’une région pourrait nuire à d’autres espèces végétales et animales soit directement soit en perturbant ou en détruisant leurs habitats ou résidence. Les modifications à l’hydrologie devraient prendre en compte les effets sur des espèces non ciblées et pourraient nécessiter une évaluation environnementale détaillée en vertu de la LCEE.

Troisièmement, comme on l’a indiqué plus haut, les stratégies de protection ou d’expansion de l’habitat de l’armoise argentée favoriseraient toutes les espèces qui ont le même habitat que le Tétras des armoises. Par contre, l’expansion de l’habitat d’armoise du Tétras des armoises pourrait nuire au Pluvier montagnard (Charadrius montanus) qui exige une végétation basse et du sol nu. Toutefois, comme le Pluvier montagnard est une espèce inscrite à la liste de la LEP, il doit faire l’objet d’un programme de rétablissement qui vise le suivi, la recherche et les menaces qui pèsent sur lui, lesquelles pourraient comprendre les impacts de l’expansion de l’habitat d’armoise.

L’EES a conclu que le programme de rétablissement aura de nombreux effets bénéfiques et qu’il ne causera pas d’effets nuisibles importants, à condition que l’on mette en œuvre les mesures d’atténuation recommandées. Il s’agit ici de toute autre évaluation des mesures proposées (par exemple, le brûlage dirigé ou la modification de l’hydrologie dans un parc national) découlant des recherches qui seront effectuées dans le cadre du programme de rétablissement.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable --occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP :

www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.

Préface

La présente stratégie de rétablissement concerne le Tétras des armoises, sous espèce urophasianus, qui est présent au Canada dans le sud-est de l’Alberta et le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan.

La stratégie de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises a été élaborée par les auteurs pour l’Agence Parcs Canada, au nom du ministre compétent, soit le ministre de l’Environnement. Son développement repose sur une collaboration avec un groupe de travail sur le Tétras des armoises, qui s’est réuni en février 2006. Ce groupe de travail était composé de représentants d’organismes provinciaux de gestion de la faune et des terres, d’organismes de conservation, de l’industrie, du milieu universitaire, de Parcs Canada, d’Environnement Canada et d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (annexe A).

Une équipe de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises avait été mise sur pied en 1997 par l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan. En 2001, une stratégie canadienne de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises a été produite (Canadian Sage-Grouse Recovery Team, 2001), qui a passé en revue le contexte et la situation de l’espèce, a établi des buts et des objectifs de rétablissement et a présenté des stratégies pour le rétablissement des populations. Ce programme de rétablissement, qui constitue une mise à jour de celui élaboré en 2001 par l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan, sera le premier programme de rétablissement du Tétras des armoises lancé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.