Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the North Atlantic Right Whale (Eubalaena glacialis) in Atlantic Canadian Waters [Proposed]

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

 

The North Atlantic right whale (Eubalaena glacialis) is a large (up to 17 m) whale, generally black in colour with occasional white belly patches and no dorsal fin.  Right whales were once common in temperate waters of the Western Atlantic but were seriously depleted by whaling.  An accurate population estimate for the species is yet to be calculated.  The population of North Atlantic right whales in Atlantic Canadian waters was estimated in 2003 to number about 322 animals; however more recent estimates suggest the current population numbers about 350 animals.  North Atlantic right whales are protected and listed under Schedule 1, Part 2 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA).

 

A migratory animal, the North Atlantic right whale travels along the east coast of North America primarily from eastern Florida to the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Newfoundland.  The role of Canada in protecting North Atlantic right whales and promoting their recovery is crucial because a very high proportion of the extant population spends all or part of the summer and autumn months in Canadian waters.  In particular North Atlantic right whales are observed feeding and socializing in the lower Bay of Fundy and in Roseway Basin on the western Scotian Shelf.  The Bay of Fundy has been regularly monitored annually since 1980 by researchers.  North Atlantic right whales feed on a variety of organisms but seem to depend most heavily on the copepodCalanus finmarchicus. 

Since whaling ended the most obvious threats that are potentially depressing the growth rate of the North Atlantic right whale population are strikes by vessels and entanglements in fixed fishing gear.  Most of the areas heavily used by right whales in the western North Atlantic are in or near major shipping lanes serving ports in the eastern United States and Canada.  There are stewardship measures, such as avoiding areas of whale aggregation, that have helped reduce the threat of vessel strikes in Canadian waters.  It has been shown that  the types of fishing gear most often implicated in North Atlantic right whale entanglements are the vertical and horizontal lines used in fixed gear fisheries (i.e. gillnets and pot gear); however active emergency response and\or disentanglement programs exist in both Canada and the United States.  Habitat degradation may also be contributing to the North Atlantic right whale population’s failure to recover more rapidly.  The migratory and pelagic habits of the species present a significant challenge to fully implement all recovery strategies.  Recovery of the North Atlantic right whale will require significant international coordination and cooperation to mitigate the negative impacts of human activities across the species’ range.

 

In February 2007, DFO Science conducted a Recovery Potential Assessment (RPA) for right whales in the western North Atlantic which resulted in Grand Manan Basin in the Bay of Fundy being proposed as critical habitat for the species under SARA.  This area has been recognized previously as an important area for North Atlantic right whale aggregation with the designation of the Bay of Fundy Right Whale Conservation Area. Roseway Basin, on the southwestern Scotian Shelf, another important area of North Atlantic right whale aggregation, is also a designated conservation area, yet insufficient data is available at this time to determine whether this area also constitutes critical habitat for the species. A schedule of studies is outlined to further identify critical habitat for the North Atlantic right whale, which includes research activities to determine whether Roseway Basin constitutes critical habitat.

The lack of firm estimates of historical abundance means that a long-term population target cannot yet be determined. However, current knowledge of the status and trends in this population can be used to develop the interim Recovery Goal: “To achieve an increasing trend in population abundance over three generations”.  To begin to achieve an increasing trend in population abundance of North Atlantic right whales in Canadian waters the following recovery objectives and respective strategies will need to be implemented:

 

1.     Reduce mortality and injury as a result of vessel strikes;

2.     Reduce mortality and injury as a result of fishing gear interactions (entanglement and entrapment);

3.     Reduce injury and disturbance as a result of vessel presence or exposure to contaminants and other forms of habitat degradation;

4.     Monitor population and threats;

5.     Increase understanding of life history characteristics, low reproductive rate, habitat and threats to recovery through research;

6.     Support and promote collaboration for recovery between government agencies, academia, environmental non-government groups, Aboriginal groups, coastal communities and international agencies and bodies;

7.     Develop and implement education and stewardship activities that promote recovery.

 

There are a number of threat mitigation and research efforts currently underway that contribute to meeting these objectives (see Section 2.7 Actions Completed or Underway). However, there remains a number of gaps in our knowledge about the North Atlantic right whale in Canadian waters including in the areas of biology and ecology, habitat requirements, and additional potential threats.  While there has been significant progress in narrowing knowledge gaps in recent years, it is widely accepted that research efforts must continue and increase.  The need for consistent resources to address knowledge gaps, implement recovery strategies and respond to North Atlantic right whale emergencies is an ongoing challenge.  Following the adoption of this recovery strategy under SARA, action plans for the North Atlantic right whale will be developed.  The evaluation of Roseway Basin Conservation Area as potential critical habitat will be a high priority action plan following the finalization of this Recovery Strategy.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la baleine noire (Eubalaena glacialis) de l’Atlantique Nord [Proposé]

RÉSUMÉ

 

La baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord (Eubalaena glacialis) est un grand cétacé(pouvant atteindre 17 m), de peau généralement noire, parfois tachetée de blanc sur le ventre, sans nageoire dorsale. Les baleines noires ont déjà été répandues dans les eaux tempérées de l’ouest de l’Atlantique, mais elles ont été décimées par la chasse à la baleine. Aucun calcul des effectifs de la population de baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord n’a été fait, mais une estimation faite en2003 la chiffrait à 322 individus. On croit qu’elle compte 350 individus à l’heure actuelle.Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord sont protégées de par leur inscription à la liste de l’annexe 1, partie 2, de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

 

Animal migrateur, la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord se déplace le long de la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord, principalement depuis l’est de la Floride au golfe du Saint‑Laurent et Terre‑Neuve. Le rôle du Canada dans la protection des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord et la promotion de leur rétablissement est crucial, parce qu’une très forte proportion de l’effectif actuel passe la totalité ou une partie de l’été et de l’automne dans les eaux canadiennes. On peut voir des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord en train de se nourrir et de socialiser à l’embouchure de la baie de Fundy et dans le bassin Roseway, dans la partie ouest du plateau néo‑écossais. Depuis 1980, la baie de Fundy est inventoriée annuellementpar des chercheurs. Les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord se nourrissent de divers organismes, mais leur alimentation semble fondée plus particulièrement sur le copépode Calanus finmarchicus.

Depuis que la chasse à la baleine a pris fin, les collisions avec des navires et les enchevêtrements dans des engins de pêche fixes constituent les facteurs les plus évidents ayant un effet négatif sur le taux de croissance de la population de baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord. La plupart des secteurs fortement fréquentés par les baleines noires dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord sont situés à l’intérieur ou aux abords des grands couloirs de navigation menant à des ports de l’est des États‑Unis et du Canada. Des mesures d’intendance qui permettent de réduire la menace de collisions avec des navires en eaux canadiennes ont être établies, telles l’évitement des aires de regroupement de baleines. Il a été établi que les cordages verticaux et horizontaux des engins de pêche fixes (filets maillants et casiers) sont les plus souvent en cause dans les enchevêtrements de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord; il existe toutefois des programmes actifs d’interventions d’urgence et des programmes de désenchevêtrement au Canada et aux États‑Unis. La dégradation de l’habitat peut également contribuer à ralentir le rétablissement de la population de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord. Les habitudes migratoires et pélagiques de l’espèce présentent un défi important dans le contexte de la mise en œuvre intégrale de toutes les stratégies de rétablissement. Le rétablissement de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord nécessitera une collaboration et une coopération internationales importantes afin d’atténuer les effets négatifs des activités humaines dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.

 

En février 2007, le secteur des Sciences du MPO a effectué une évaluation du potentiel de rétablissement (EPR) de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, qui s’est soldée par la proposition du bassin de Grand Manan, situé dans la baie de Fundy, comme habitat essentiel de la baleine noire au sens de la LEP. Ce secteur a été reconnu dans le passé comme une zone importante de regroupement des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, et cette observation a mené à la désignation de la zone de conservation des baleines noires dans la baie de Fundy. Le bassin Roseway, dans la partie Sud-Ouest du plateau néo-écossais, une autre zone de regroupement importante de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, est aussi une zone de conservation désignée, mais à ce jour les données sont insuffisantes pour permettre de déterminer si cette zone constitue aussi un habitat essentiel pour l’espèce. Un calendrier des études visant à identifier l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord est présenté. Il comprend des activités de recherche qui ont pour objectif de déterminer si le bassin Roseway constitue un habitat essentiel.

En raison de l’absence de données exactes sur l’abondance passée, il n’est pas possible de fixer une cible à long terme. Toutefois, on peut se servir des connaissances actuelles sur la situation et les tendances de la population pour établir le but de rétablissement suivant : « une tendance à la hausse de l’abondance sur trois générations ». Pour commencer à atteindre l’objectif d’une population viable de baleines noires dans l’Atlantique Nord, il sera nécessaire de mettre en oeuvre les objectifs de rétablissement suivants :

1.     Réduire le nombre de baleines noires tuées ou blessées à la suite de collisions avec des navires dans les eaux canadiennes;

2.     Réduire le nombre de baleines noires tuées ou blessées à la suite d’interactions avec des engins de pêche;

3.     Réduire le nombre de baleines noires blessées ou perturbées par des navires, des contaminants ou d’autres formes de détérioration de l’habitat;

4.     Surveiller la population de baleines noires et les menaces auxquelles elle fait face dans les eaux canadiennes;

5.     Approfondir, par le biais de recherches, les connaissances sur les caractéristiques du cycle de vie, le faible taux de reproduction et l’habitat de la baleine noire, ainsi que sur les facteurs qui menacent le rétablissement de l’espèce;

6.     Appuyer et promouvoir la collaboration entre les organismes gouvernementaux, les universités, les organisations non gouvernementales de l’environnement, les groupes autochtones, les collectivités côtières et les organismes internationaux afin d’assurer le rétablissement de la baleine noire;

Un certain nombre d’efforts visant à atténuer ces menaces et à faire des recherches sont déjà en cours pour contribuer à l’atteinte de ces objectifs (voir la section 2.7 Mesures parachevées ou en cours). Toutefois, il existe un certain nombre de lacunes dans nos connaissances sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes, y compris en ce qui concerne la biologie et l’écologie de l’espèce, ses exigences en matière d’habitat et les menaces auxquelles elle pourrait faire face. Bien que des progrès importants aient été réalisés sur le plan de la correction des lacunes dans les connaissances au cours des dernières années, il est largement accepté que les efforts de recherche doivent se poursuivre et que leur nombre doit croître. Le besoin de ressources constantes pour combler les lacunes dans les connaissances, pour mettre en œuvre des programmes de rétablissement et pour intervenir en cas d’urgences liées à la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord est un défi constant. Une fois le présent programme de rétablissement adopté en vertu de la LEP, des plans d’action seront élaborés pour la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord L’évaluation du potentiel de la zone de conservation du bassin Roseway comme habitat essentiel constituera un plan d’action de haute priorité une fois le présent programme de rétablissement terminé.