Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Multi-Species at Risk in Vernal Pools and other Ephemeral Wet Areas Associated with Garry Oak Ecosystems in Canada (Proposed)


Executive Summary

This multi-species Recovery Strategy addresses the recovery of six endangered plant species inhabiting vernal pools and other ephemeral wet areas: bog bird's-foot trefoil (Lotus pinnatus), tall woolly-heads (Psilocarphus elatior), Juncus kelloggii (Juncus kelloggii), Ranunculus alismifolius var. alismifolius (water-plantain buttercup), rosy owl-clover (Orthocarpus bracteosus), and dwarf sandwort (Minuartia pusilla). In Canada, these species occur (or occurred) primarily in Garry oak and associated ecosystems on Vancouver Island and nearby Gulf Islands where they are largely restricted to low elevation, coastal areas. Although the range of all species extends into the United States, many of the species are widely disjunct from the U.S. populations. The Recovery Strategy comprises one component of the recovery program for Garry oak and associated ecosystems as outlined in the Recovery Strategy for Garry Oak and Associated Ecosystems and their Associated Species at Risk in Canada: 2001-2006.

Four main habitat types are distinguished in this strategy: vernal pools, vernal swales, vernal seeps, and seasonally wetted wetland margins. Vernal pools are spatially discrete, seasonally flooded depressions that form on top of impermeable layers such as hardpan, claypan, or bedrock. They occur under Mediterranean-type climatic conditions that provide for winter and early spring inundation, followed by complete or partial drying in summer. Vernal swales are similar to vernal pools, but are usually shallower with less defined boundaries and shorter inundation periods. Vernal seeps are shallow flows that occur where groundwater emerges on sloping terrain, usually on the lower slopes of hillsides. Seasonally wetted wetland margins are low-lying areas next to perennial streams, lakes, or marshes that experience temporary flooding during high water periods in the winter or spring, becoming dry again during the summer. These habitats are all naturally highly fragmented, occurring as small isolated patches along shorelines and on small islands. Urbanization has intensified their natural fragmentation, and species occurring within them face a diverse array of threats.

Stewardship Approach

For successful implementation in protecting species at risk there will be a strong need to engage in stewardship on a variety of land tenures, and in particular on private land and on Indian Reserves. Stewardship involves the voluntary cooperation of landowners to protect Species at Risk and the ecosystems they rely on. It is recognized in the Preamble to the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) that "stewardship activities contributing to the conservation of wildlife species and their habitat should be supported" and that "all Canadians have a role to play in the conservation of wildlife in this country, including the prevention of wildlife species from becoming extirpated or extinct." It is recognized in the Bilateral Agreement on Species at Risk, between British Columbia and Canada that:

"Stewardship by land and water owners and users is fundamental to preventing species from becoming at risk and in protecting and recovering species that are at risk" and that "Cooperative, voluntary measures are the first approach to securing the protection and recovery of species at risk."

Threats

Vernal pools and associated habitats are likely greatly diminished from their former abundance due to habitat conversion. Remaining habitat patches continue to be threatened by urban development and recreational demands, as well as by the encroachment of invasive alien shrubs, grasses and forbs. Fire suppression has further altered vegetation composition, hydrologic regimes and nutrient cycling, and increased fuel loading. Activities such as wetland draining, ditching, mowing, biking, dog-walking, utility maintenance, and garbage dumping also pose potential threats. Finally, as most populations are small and cover small areas, they may be inherently at risk from stochastic demographic and environmental events.

Recovery feasibility

Further studies and trials will be needed to determine whether there are insurmountable barriers to the restoration of existing populations, the re-establishment of extirpated populations, and the establishment of new populations. However, following the precautionary nature of SARA, and to prevent undue extinctions or extirpations, the premise of this strategy is that recovery is technically and biologically feasible for all species.

Recovery goals and objectives

The long-term goals for recovery of each species include maintaining existing populations at current levels of abundance or greater, restoring species to their approximate historical area of occupancy and extent of occurrence through reintroductions or translocations, and ensuring longterm population viability.

The short-term (5-10 year) objectives for meeting the long-term goals are:

  • To establish protection1 for existing populations through stewardship and other mechanisms.
  • To engage the cooperation of all implicated landholders in habitat protection.
  • To mitigate threats to habitat and survival from recreational activities, hydrologic alterations, and eutrophication.
  • To mitigate threats to habitat and survival from secondary succession and invasive species encroachment.
  • To restore to functioning condition a minimum of 10 historical (presently non-functional) vernal pools sites.
  • To identify and rank 5-10 potential recovery (translocation) sites for each species at risk.
  • To establish new populations (or subpopulations) of each species as per the recovery goal.
  • To increase plant population sizes and/or population growth rates at extant sites as per the recovery goal.
  • To establish Vernal Pool Conservation Areas at Uplands Park, Trial Island, Rocky Point, and Harewood Plains.
  • To increase public awareness of the existence and conservation value of vernal pools and associated species at risk.

Strategic approaches

Broad strategies to address the threats and meet the recovery objectives include:

  1. Habitat protection and stewardship
  2. Landholder contact
  3. Ecological research
  4. Habitat restoration and site management
  5. Population augmentation and establishment
  6. Inventory and monitoring
  7. Public outreach and education

Critical habitat

No critical habitat, as defined under the federal Species at Risk Act [s2], is proposed for identification at this time.

While much is known about the habitat needs of the species included within this recovery strategy, more definitive work must be completed before any specific sites can be formally proposed as critical habitat. It is expected that critical habitat will be proposed within one or more recovery action plans following: 1) consultation and development of stewardship options with affected landowners and organizations and 2) completion of outstanding work required to quantify specific habitat and area requirements for these species.

Following completion of key work such as development and implementation of a landowner contact program including stewardship activities, it is anticipated that proposed critical habitat may include habitat currently occupied by one or more species addressed within this recovery strategy, together with the adjacent upland areas that contribute directly to sustaining hydrologic functions within the primary habitat. A more complete definition of proposed critical habitat that also incorporates potential habitat will be addressed at a later date in the Recovery Action Plan stage. Based on current state of knowledge, potential critical habitat for recovery of these species may also include:

  • Intact, naturally-occurring vernal pool, seep, or other ephemeral wet area greater than 1  on southeastern Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands having the necessary ecological characteristics to serve as future recovery habitat for species at risk, along with assessment of a 20 m buffer zone around said feature
  • The associated watershed and hydrologic features, including upland habitat, that contribute to the filling and drying of the above vernal pool or ephemeral wet area, and that maintain suitable periods of inundation, water quality, and soil moisture for species at risk germination, growth and reproduction, and dispersal.

Examples of activities likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat identified in the future

Examples of types of activities that would be expected to result in the destruction of any critical habitat that may be proposed in a recovery action plan include residential development, recreational off-road vehicle use, garbage dumping, logging road construction, utility corridor maintenance, wetland draw-down, draining, ditching and dredging, and bicycle jump construction.

Existing and recommended approaches to habitat protection

Current levels of protection for sites in this strategy range from "none" to "effectively protected." Potential approaches to habitat protection include stewardship agreements such as conservation covenants (a legal agreement by which a landowner voluntarily restricts or limits the types and amounts of development that may take place on the land to protect its natural features), direct land acquisition.

Schedule of studies to identify critical habitat

A formal definition of critical habitat will not be made until after a multi-step process to:

  • determine the physical boundaries, biological attributes, and current ownership of occupied and potential habitat
  • estimate the proportion of such habitat required to meet recovery targets
  • identify threats to this habitat
  • work with land owners and land managers to protect the species through stewardship and other mechanisms
  • obtain peer review

The recommended completion date for these and other necessary steps is 2009.

Anticipated impacts on non-target species

This strategy recognizes the importance of the entire vernal pool community and also that of associated Garry oak ecosystems. By focusing on habitat protection, maintenance of hydrologic regimes, habitat restoration, and public outreach, it is expected that the approaches recommended here will benefit not only individual species at risk but the wider ecological community as well. A program of research to identify specific impacts on associated species at risk will be provided in the Recovery Action Plan.

Social and economic considerations

Recovery of species at risk and restoration of imperiled habitats associated with Garry oak ecosystems will contribute to biodiversity, health and functioning of the environment and enhance opportunities for appreciation of such special places and species thereby contributing to overall social value in southwestern British Columbia. The natural beauty of Garry oak ecosystems in the lower mainland, Gulf Islands and Vancouver Island are an important resource for British Columbians that provide for a robust tourism and recreation industry. Protecting these natural spaces, biodiversity and recreation values has enormous value to the local economy.

Some activities occurring in and around vernal pools and other ephemeral wet areas can impact sensitive species at risk. Deleterious impacts on species at risk and the integrity of these spaces may occur through activities that:

  • modify or damage hydrologic processes important for maintenance of these sites,
  • directly or indirectly introduce species, native or non-native, that alter the biotic or abiotic environment in a manner detrimental to processes important for the perpetuation of the vernal pool complex,
  • directly damage or destroy an individual species at risk (such as through trampling or wheeled activities), or
  • modify or destroy vernal pools or other ephemeral wet areas (such as through in-filling)

Vernal pools and other ephemeral wet areas are rare on the landscape and the overall land area required for physical protection of these sites is relatively small. Effective mitigation of potentially detrimental activities can be accomplished through careful planning and environmental assessment of proposed developments and site activities and sensitive routing of travel corridors and recreational activities.

Recovery actions could potentially affect the following socioeconomic sectors: recreation; private land development; forestry; operational and maintenance activities. The expected magnitude of these effects is expected to be low in almost all cases.

Knowledge gaps

To address current knowledge gaps, further information on the following is needed: species distributions and population status; vernal pool distribution and status; appropriate restoration targets for vernal pool communities; species demography and population dynamics; microsite attributes; optimal disturbance regimes; response of habitats and species (including non-plant species) to restoration activities; seed storage and propagation techniques; and impacts of climate change.

Evaluation and measures of success

Performance measures that can be used to evaluate the progress of recovery include:

  • Stated targets for plant abundance, viability, and occupied range
  • Formalization of critical habitat designations through a Recovery Action Plan
  • Level of protection achieved for proposed critical habitat
  • Knowledge gaps addressed
  • Number of high priority sites protected by acquisition, conservation covenants, or other stewardship actions
  • Number of vernal pool sites improved through restoration activities

Timeline for completion of recovery action plan (RAP)

It is recommended that a draft Recovery Action Plan be completed by October 2009.


1 This may involve protection in any form including stewardship agreements and conservation covenants on private lands, land use designations on crown lands, and protection in federal, provincial and local government protected areas.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement multi-espèces visant les plantes en péril des mares printanières et autres milieux humides saisonniers associés aux chênaies de Garry au Canada (Proposé)


Sommaire

Le présent programme de rétablissement vise six espèces végétales en voie de disparition qui poussent dans les mares printanières et autres milieux humides saisonniers : le lotier à feuilles pennées (Lotus pinnatus), le psilocarphe élevé (Psilocarphus elatior), le jonc de Kellogg (Juncus kelloggii), la renoncule à feuilles d'alisme (Ranunculus alismifolius var. alismifolius), l'orthocarpe à épi feuillu (Orthocarpus bracteosus) et la minuartie naine (Minuartia pusilla). Au Canada, ces espèces se rencontrent (ou se rencontraient) surtout à l'intérieur de chênaies de Garry et d'écosystèmes associés se trouvant dans l'île de Vancouver et les îles Gulf, où elles sont essentiellement limitées aux zones côtières de basse altitude. Toutes ces espèces sont également présentes aux États-Unis, mais dans plusieurs cas leurs populations canadiennes sont considérablement séparées (disjointes) des populations des États-Unis. Le présent programme est un des volets du programme de rétablissement des chênaies de Garry et des écosystèmes associés, défini dans le document Recovery Strategy for Garry Oak and Associated Ecosystems and their Associated Species at Risk in Canada: 2001-2006.

Quatre principaux types de milieux sont visés par le présent programme : les mares printanières, les baissières inondées au printemps, les suintements printaniers et les zones riveraines saisonnièrement inondées. Les mares printanières sont des cuvettes isolées, inondées de façon saisonnière, qui se forment à la surface de couches imperméables telles qu'un horizon induré, un horizon argileux compact ou le substratum rocheux. Ces mares se rencontrent sous des climats de type méditerranéen qui font qu'elles sont inondées en hiver et au début du printemps mais s'assèchent entièrement ou partiellement durant l'été. Les baissières inondées au printemps ressemblent aux mares printanières, mais elles sont d'ordinaire moins profondes et ont des limites moins définies et une période d'inondation plus courte. Les suintements printaniers sont des filets d'eau peu profonds qui apparaissent dans les lieux où les eaux souterraines émergent en terrain incliné, généralement dans la partie inférieure d'un versant. Les zones riveraines saisonnièrement inondées sont des terrains bas voisins de cours d'eau permanents, de lacs ou de marais, qui sont inondées pendant la crue hivernale ou printanière mais s'assèchent durant l'été. Tous ces milieux sont naturellement très fragmentés et se présentent en petites zones isolées le long des rivages et sur les petites îles. L'urbanisation a intensifié leur fragmentation naturelle, et les espèces qui s'y trouvent affrontent toutes sortes de menaces.

Approche en matière d'intendance

Pour mettre en œuvre une protection efficace des espèces en péril, il sera très important d'entreprendre des activités d'intendance à l'égard de terrains présentant divers régimes fonciers et notamment de terrains privés et de réserves des Premières Nations. Ces activités supposent une coopération volontaire des propriétaires des terrains visés en vue de protéger les espèces en péril et les écosystèmes nécessaires à leur survie. En effet, dans le préambule de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale, il est admis « que les activités d'intendance visant la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat devraient bénéficier de l'appui voulu pour éviter que celles-ci deviennent des espèces en péril » et « que tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans la conservation des espèces sauvages, notamment en ce qui a trait à la prévention de leur disparition du pays ou de la planète ». De même, dans l'Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique, il est reconnu que « l'intendance par les propriétaires de terres et de plans d'eau, ainsi que par leurs utilisateurs, est essentielle afin d'éviter que des espèces ne deviennent en péril et de protéger et rétablir les espèces qui sont en péril » et que « les mesures coopératives et volontaires sont les premières approches pour assurer la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril ».

Menaces

Les mares printanières et les milieux connexes ont probablement diminué énormément par rapport à leur ancienne abondance à cause de leur conversion en d'autres types de milieux. Les parcelles de milieu demeuré intact continuent d'être menacées par l'urbanisation et par la demande accrue en loisirs de plein air. L'empiétement d'arbustes ainsi que de graminées et autres plantes herbacées introduites constitue une autre menace. La suppression des incendies a modifié davantage la composition végétale, les régimes hydrologiques et le cycle des éléments nutritifs, tout en augmentant la charge de matières combustibles. Les activités telles que le drainage des milieux humides, le creusage de fossés, le fauchage, le cyclisme, la promenade avec chiens, l'entretien des emprises de services publics et le dépôt d'ordures peuvent également constituer des menaces. En dernier lieu, comme la plupart des populations sont petites et occupent de petites superficies, elles peuvent être intrinsèquement menacées par les événements démographiques et écologiques de nature stochastique.

Faisabilité du rétablissement

Il faudra d'autres études et essais pour déterminer s'il y a des obstacles insurmontables à la restauration des populations existantes, à l'implantation de populations dans les localités de stations disparues et à l'implantation de populations dans de nouvelles localités. Cependant, compte tenu du principe de prudence sur lequel repose la Loi sur les espèces en péril et la volonté d'éviter que des espèces ne disparaissent inutilement du pays, nous avons présumé, aux fins du présent programme, qu'une forme ou l'autre de rétablissement est réalisable, sur les plans technique et biologique.

Buts et objectifs du rétablissement

Les buts à long terme du présent programme à l'égard de chacune des espèces visées sont de maintenir ou d'accroître leur effectif, de les rétablir dans toute leur zone d'occurrence et leur zone d'occupation historiques, par la translocation d'individus vers les stations historiques ou vers de nouveaux milieux leur convenant, et d'assurer la viabilité à long terme des populations.

Les objectifs à court terme (5 à 10 ans) devant permettre d'atteindre ces buts à long terme sont les suivants :

  • Assurer la protection des populations actuelles au moyen de mesures d'intendance et d'autres mécanismes1.
  • Obtenir la coopération de tous les propriétaires fonciers visés pour la protection de l'habitat.
  • Atténuer les menaces que constituent les activités récréatives, les modifications du régime des eaux et l'eutrophisation pour l'habitat ou la survie des espèces.
  • Atténuer les menaces que constituent la succession végétale et l'empiétement des espèces envahissantes pour l'habitat ou la survie des espèces.
  • Restaurer le fonctionnement d'au moins 10 mares printanières qui ont abrité des stations historiques (mais qui ne remplissent plus leurs fonctions).
  • Répertorier et classer 5 à 10 milieux potentiels de translocation pour chacune des espèces en péril.
  • Établir de nouvelles populations (ou sous-populations) de chacune des espèces conformément au but fixé pour son rétablissement.
  • Augmenter la taille ou le taux de croissance des populations actuelles conformément au but fixé pour le rétablissement de chaque espèce.
  • Établir des zones de conservation des mares printanières dans le parc Uplands, à l'île Trial, à Rocky Point et dans les plaines Harewood.
  • Sensibiliser le public à l'existence des mares printanières et des espèces en péril associées ainsi qu'à l'importance de les conserver.

Approches stratégiques

Sept approches générales ont été retenues pour l'atteinte des buts et objectifs de rétablissement des espèces visées :

  1. Protection et intendance de l'habitat
  2. Démarches auprès des propriétaires fonciers
  3. Recherches écologiques
  4. Restauration de l'habitat et gestion des stations
  5. Accroissement des populations et implantation de nouvelles populations
  6. Relevés et suivi
  7. Éducation et vulgarisation

Habitat essentiel

Pour l'instant, aucun habitat essentiel n'est proposé dans le présent programme aux fins de désignation aux termes de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril fédérale.

Bien que les besoins en matière d'habitat des espèces visées soient assez bien connus, il faudra que des travaux plus concluants soient réalisés avant que des parcelles spécifiques puissent être délimitées aux fins de la protection de l'habitat essentiel. Cette désignation devrait être proposée dans un ou plusieurs des plans d'action de rétablissement, une fois que les propriétaires fonciers et les organisations touchés auront été consultés, que des mesures d'intendance auront été élaborées avec eux et que les travaux encore requis pour quantifier l'habitat essentiel de chaque espèce et les superficies nécessaires auront été réalisés.

Une fois qu'auront été réalisés des travaux clés tels que l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'un programme d'intervention auprès des propriétaires (comportant notamment des activités d'intendance), on peut s'attendre à ce que l'habitat essentiel proposé inclue les milieux actuellement occupés par une ou plusieurs des espèces visées par le présent programme, ainsi que tout terrain plus élevé adjacent contribuant directement au maintien du régime hydrologique de l'habitat principal des espèces visées. Une définition de l'habitat essentiel proposé plus complète et incorporant également l'habitat potentiel nécessaire au rétablissement sera proposée à une date ultérieure, dans le cadre du Plan d'action de rétablissement. Selon les connaissances actuelles, l'habitat potentiel pourrait en outre inclure :

  • Les mares, suintements printaniers et autres milieux humides saisonniers, naturels et intacts, d'une superficie supérieure à 1 , situés dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver ou dans une des îles Gulf et ayant les propriétés écologiques requises pour servir d'habitat de rétablissement pour une espèce en péril, ainsi qu'une zone tampon de 20 m, à évaluer, autour de chacun de ces milieux.
  • Les micro-bassins et autres éléments hydrologiques, y compris les terrains élevés, qui contribuent au remplissage ou à l'assèchement des mares printanières et autres milieux humides susmentionnés et sont nécessaires à une période d'inondation suffisante, à la qualité de l'eau ainsi qu'à l'humidité du sol requise pour la croissance, la reproduction et la dispersion des espèces en péril et pour la germination de leurs graines.

Exemples d'activités susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel éventuellement désigné

Divers types d'activités risqueraient fortement d'entraîner la destruction de l'habitat essentiel éventuellement proposé dans le cadre d'un plan d'action, dont le lotissement résidentiel, l'usage de véhicules tout-terrain à des fins récréatives, le dépôt d'ordures, l'aménagement de chemins d'exploitation forestière, l'entretien des corridors de services publics, l'assèchement des milieux humides, le drainage, le creusage et le dragage de fossés ainsi que l'aménagement de tremplins pour le saut à bicyclette.

Méthodes existantes et proposées pour la protection de l'habitat

Le niveau de protection dont jouissent actuellement les stations visées par le présent programme varie de « aucune protection » à « protection effective ». Les méthodes pouvant permettre de les protéger comprennent : la conclusion d'accords d'intendance ou de conservation (entente juridique par laquelle le propriétaire d'un terrain limite volontairement la nature et l'étendue des travaux d'aménagement pouvant y être réalisés, afin de protéger ses caractéristiques naturelles); l'acquisition directe des terrains visés.

Calendrier des études visant à désigner l'habitat essentiel

Une définition officielle de l'habitat essentiel ne pourra être faite qu'au terme d'un processus en plusieurs étapes visant à :

  • déterminer les limites physiques, les caractéristiques biologiques et le régime foncier actuel des milieux occupés ou propices;
  • estimer quelle proportion de ces milieux doivent être protégés pour que les buts du rétablissement puissent être atteints;
  • déterminer les menaces pesant sur l'habitat;
  • collaborer avec les propriétaires et gestionnaires des terrains en vue de la protection des espèces par voie d'intendance ou d'autres mécanismes;
  • faire examiner les résultats par des pairs.

La date d'achèvement recommandée pour ces mesures et les autres mesures qui seraient nécessaires est 2009.

Impact prévu sur les espèces non ciblées

Le présent programme reconnaît l'importance de toute la communauté biologique des mares printanières ainsi que des chênaies de Garry et écosystèmes associés dans leur ensemble. En mettant l'accent sur la protection de l'habitat, le maintien des régimes hydrologiques, la restauration de l'habitat et la sensibilisation du public, on s'attend à ce que les méthodes ici recommandées profitent non seulement aux espèces en péril visées, mais aussi à l'ensemble de leur communauté. Un programme de recherches visant à prévoir l'impact précis des mesures sur les autres espèces en péril sera décrit dans le Plan d'action de rétablissement.

Incidences socioéconomiques du rétablissement

Le rétablissement des espèces en péril et la restauration des milieux menacés associés aux chênaies de Garry favoriseront la biodiversité, la santé et la productivité de l'environnement et une meilleure appréciation de ces espèces et milieux particuliers, ce qui aura globalement une utilité sociale dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. En effet, la beauté naturelle des chênaies de Garry et écosystèmes connexes de la vallée du Bas-Fraser, des îles Gulf et de l'île de Vancouver constitue une ressource importante pour la population de la province, en permettant une industrie récréotouristique vigoureuse. La protection de ces espaces naturels, de leur biodiversité et de leur potentiel récréatif est d'une immense valeur pour l'économie locale.

Certaines activités menées à l'intérieur ou aux alentours de mares printanières et d'autres milieux humides saisonniers risquent de nuire à des espèces en péril sensibles. Les activités qui peuvent ainsi affecter les espèces en péril ou l'intégrité des milieux dont ils dépendent sont celles qui :

  • modifient ou perturbent des processus hydrologiques importants pour le maintien de ces milieux;
  • provoquent directement ou indirectement l'introduction d'espèces indigènes ou exotiques pouvant altérer le milieu biotique ou abiotique de manière à nuire à des processus importants pour le maintien des complexes de mares printanières;
  • détruisent ou endommagent directement une espèce en péril (piétinement, utilisation de véhicules, etc.);
  • modifient ou détruisent des mares printanières ou d'autres milieux humides saisonniers (travaux de remblai, etc.).

Les mares printanières et autres milieux humides saisonniers sont des éléments rares du paysage, et la superficie globalement requise pour leur protection physique est relativement restreinte. Une réduction efficace des activités pouvant leur nuire peut être obtenue par une planification minutieuse et une évaluation environnementale des travaux de développement et autres activités prévues ainsi que par une bonne disposition des corridors destinés au transport et aux activités récréatives.

Les mesures de rétablissement pourraient affecter certaines activités socioéconomiques : activités récréatives; lotissement de terres privées; exploitation forestière; autres activités d'exploitation ou d'entretien. Cet impact devrait demeurer faible dans presque tous les cas.

Lacunes dans les connaissances

Afin de combler les lacunes actuelles dans les connaissances, il faudra obtenir plus de données sur : la répartition des espèces et la situation de leurs populations; la répartition et l'état des mares printanières; les cibles de restauration convenant aux communautés des mares printanières; la démographie des espèces et la dynamique de leurs populations; les caractéristiques de leur microhabitat; le régime de perturbation optimal; la réaction des espèces (y compris les espèces non végétales) et de leur habitat aux activités de restauration; les techniques de multiplication et d'entreposage des semences; l'impact du changement climatique.

Évaluation et mesures du rendement

Les résultats ci-dessous seront indicateurs des progrès accomplis vers le rétablissement :

  • Établissement de cibles pour l'effectif, la viabilité et la zone d'occupation des espèces visées
  • Désignation officielle de l'habitat essentiel dans le cadre d'un plan d'action
  • Atteinte du niveau recommandé de protection pour l'habitat essentiel
  • Comblement de lacunes dans les connaissances requises
  • Protection d'un grand nombre de milieux prioritaires par l'acquisition de terrains et par la conclusion d'accords de conservation ou d'intendance
  • Amélioration d'un certain nombre de mares printanières par diverses mesures de restauration

Échéance prévue pour l'élaboration du plan d'action

Il est recommandé que le plan d'action de rétablissement soit prêt au plus tard en octobre 2009.


1 Cet objectif pourra exiger toute forme de mesure de protection, y compris les ententes d'intendance ou de conservation visant les terains privés, l'établissement d'usages désignés pour les terres de la Couronne et la protection proprement dite dans les zones protégées de juridiction fédérale, provinciale ou locale.