Skip booklet index and go to page content

Part 3 – The Government Response Statement to the Recovery Strategy for the Common Five-lined Skink (Plestiodon fasciatus) – Carolinian and Southern Shield populations in Ontario, prepared by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

Five-lined Skink

Common Five-lined Skink

Carolinian and Southern Shield Populations

Ministry of Natural Resources

Natural. Valued. Protected.

Ontario Government

Response Statement

Protecting and Recovering Species at Risk in Ontario

Species at risk recovery is a key part of protecting Ontario’s biodiversity. Biodiversity – the variety of living organisms on Earth – provides us with clean air and water, food, fibre, medicine and other resources that we need to survive.

The Endangered Species Act, 2007 (ESA) is the Government of Ontario’s legislative commitment to protecting and recovering species at risk and their habitats. As soon as a species is listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened under the ESA, it is automatically protected from harm or harassment. Also, immediately upon listing, the habitats of endangered and threatened species are protected from damage or destruction.

Under the ESA, the Ministry of Natural Resources (the Ministry) must ensure that a recovery strategy is prepared for each species that is listed as endangered or threatened. A recovery strategy provides science-based advice to government on what is required to achieve recovery of a species.

Top of Page

Government Response Statements

Within nine months after a recovery strategy is prepared, the ESA requires the Ministry to publish a statement summarizing the government’s intended actions and priorities in response to the recovery strategy. The recovery strategy for the Common Five-lined Skink was completed on September 10, 2010.

The response statement is the government’s policy response to the scientific advice provided in the recovery strategy. In addition to the strategy, the response statement is based on input from stakeholders, other jurisdictions, Aboriginal communities and members of the public. It reflects the best available traditional, local and scientific knowledge at this time and may be adapted if new information becomes available. In implementing the actions in the response statement, the ESA allows the Ministry to determine what is feasible, taking into account social and economic factors.

Aside – Part 3

The Common Five-lined Skink is the only lizard native to Ontario. It is black or grey with five cream-coloured stripes along its back and a blue tail in juveniles. Females typically lay their eggs under cover objects, such as logs or rocks.

Top of Page

Moving forward to protect and recover Common Five-lined Skink

The Common Five-lined Skink is included on the Species at Risk in Ontario List as two geographically distinct populations – the Carolinian population, which is found in southwestern Ontario, and the Southern Shield population, which is found in central Ontario.

The Common Five-lined Skink (Carolinian population) is listed as an endangered species under the ESA, which protects both the animal and its habitat. The ESA prohibits harm to or harassment of the species and damage to or destruction of its habitat without authorization. Such authorization would require that conditions established by the Ministry be met.

The Common Five-lined Skink (Southern Shield population) is listed as a special concern species under the ESA. A special concern species is one with characteristics that make it sensitive to human activities or natural events.

The main threats to the Common Five-lined Skink include habitat loss and degradation as well as disturbance from the removal of cover objects used by the species, such as logs or rocks.

The government’s goal for the recovery of the Common Five-lined Skink is to ensure the long-term viability and survival of both designated populations in Ontario.

Protecting and recovering species at risk is a shared responsibility. No single agency or organization has the knowledge, authority or financial resources to protect and recover all of Ontario’s species at risk. Successful recovery requires intergovernmental co-operation and the involvement of many individuals, organizations and communities.

In developing the government response statement, the Ministry considered what actions are feasible for the government to lead directly and what actions are feasible for the government’s conservation partners to undertake with government support.

Top of Page

Government-Led Actions

To help protect and recover the Common Five-lined Skink, the government will directly undertake the following actions:

  • Develop a survey protocol to be used by proponents and partners to detect the presence or absence of Common Five-lined Skink.
  • Educate other agencies and authorities involved in planning and environmental assessment processes on the protection requirements under the ESA.
  • Encourage the submission of Common Five-lined Skink data to the Ministry’s central repository at the Natural Heritage Information Centre or to the Ontario Reptile and Amphibian Atlas Project.
  • Undertake communications and outreach to increase public awareness of species at risk in Ontario.
  • Protect the Common Five-lined Skink (Carolinian population) and its habitat through the ESA. Develop and enforce a regulation prescribing the habitat of the species.
  • Support conservation, agency, municipal and industry partners in undertaking activities to protect and recover the Common Five-lined Skink. Support will be provided through funding, agreements, permits (including conditions) and advisory services.
  • Establish and communicate annual priority actions for government support in order to encourage collaboration and reduce duplication of efforts.

Top of Page

Government-Supported Actions

The government endorses the following actions for the protection and recovery of the Common Five-lined Skink. Actions identified as “high” will be given priority consideration for funding or for authorizations under the ESA. The government will focus its support on these high-priority actions over the next five years.

Carolinian population:

Focus Area: Protection and Management
Objective: Develop and implement measures to protect sites, reduce identified threats and increase available habitat.

Actions:
1. (HIGH) Maintain and, where necessary, increase the amount and quality of habitat and microhabitat (i.e., cover objects) that is available for Common Five-lined Skinks.
2. Identify and implement approaches to reduce threats such as road mortality, highly subsidized predator[1] populations and disturbance of cover objects.
3. Develop and deliver communications to targeted groups (e.g., landowners, members of the pet trade and park visitors) to promote public awareness of protection provisions, stewardship opportunities and habitat requirements of the Common Five-lined Skink.
4. As opportunities arise, support the securement of lands that contain Common Five-lined Skink sub-populations through existing land securement and stewardship programs.

Focus Area: Research
Objective: Improve understanding of the spatial ecology of the Common Five-lined Skink and clarify uncertain threats.

Actions:
5. (HIGH) Conduct studies into the habitat use, typical movements and dispersal abilities of the Common Five-lined Skink.
6. Determine if natural succession to less open habitats is a significant threat to occupied sites and which techniques are beneficial to maintaining or enhancing the suitability of Common Five-lined Skink habitat.

Focus Area: Inventory and Monitoring
Objective: Determine the distribution, abundance and associated trends of the Common Five-lined Skink in Ontario.

Actions:
7. (HIGH) Implement a standardized survey protocol for estimating the abundance over time of Common Five-lined Skinks in the Carolinian population.
8. Develop a prioritized list of historic locations and sites where the species potentially occurs, and survey for the presence of Common Five-lined Skinks.

Southern Shield population:

Actions:
1. (HIGH) Implement a standardized survey protocol for estimating the distribution and abundance of Common Five-lined Skinks in the Southern Shield population.
2. Maintain the amount and quality of habitat and microhabitat that is available for Common Five-lined Skinks.
3. Develop and deliver communications to targeted groups (e.g., landowners, members of the pet trade and park visitors) to promote public awareness of stewardship opportunities and habitat requirements of the Common Five-lined Skink.

Top of Page

Implementing Actions

Financial support for the implementation of actions may be available through the Species at Risk Stewardship Fund, Species at Risk Farm Incentive Program, or Community Fisheries and Wildlife Involvement Program. Conservation partners are encouraged to discuss project proposals related to the actions in this response statement with the Ministry of Natural Resources. The Ministry can also advise whether any authorizations under the ESA or other legislation may be required for undertaking the project.

Implementation of the actions may be subject to changing priorities across the multitude of species at risk, available resources and the capacity of partners to undertake recovery activities. Where appropriate, the implementation of actions for multiple species will be co-ordinated across government response statements.

Top of Page

Reviewing Progress

The ESA requires the Ministry to conduct a review of progress towards protecting and recovering a species not later than five years from the publication of this response statement. The review will help identify whether adjustments are needed to achieve the protection and recovery of the Eastern Flowering Dogwood.

Top of Page

Acknowledgement

We would like to thank all those who participated in the development of the “Recovery Strategy for Common Five-lined Skink – Carolinian and Southern Shield Populations in Ontario” for their dedication to protecting and recovering species at risk.

For additional information:
Visit the species at risk website
Contact your MNR district office
Contact the Natural Resources Information Centre
1-800-667-1940
TTY 1-866-686-6072
Email: Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources E-mail
Website: Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

Top of Page


1These are predators that exist at unnaturally high levels because of “subsidies” (e.g., food waste or crops) that humans provide.

Page 2

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Partie 3 – La Déclaration du gouvernement en réponse au Programme de rétablissement du scinque pentaligne (Plestiodon fasciatus) – Populations carolinienne et de la région sud du bouclier, préparée par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario.

Five-lined Skink

Scinque pentaligne

Populations carolinienne et de la région sud du bouclier

Ministère des Richesses naturelles

Naturel. Apprécié. Protégé.

Governement de l'Ontario

Déclaration du gouvernement en réponse au programme de rétablissement

Protection et rétablissement des espèces en péril en ontario

Le rétablissement des espèces en péril est un volet clé de la protection de la biodiversité en Ontario. La biodiversité – la diversité des organismes vivants sur la Terre – nous fournit de l’air et de l’eau propres, de la nourriture, des fibres, des médicaments et d’autres ressources dont nous avons besoin pour survivre.

La Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition (LEVD) représente l’engagement juridique du gouvernement de l’Ontario envers la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril et de leurs habitats. Dès qu’une espèce est désignée comme disparue de l’Ontario, en voie de disparition ou menacée aux termes de la LEVD, elle est automatiquement protégée contre toute forme de harcèlement. En outre, dès qu’une espèce est désignée comme en voie de disparition ou menacée, son habitat est protégé contre les dommages et la destruction.

Aux termes de la LEVD, le ministère des Richesses naturelles (le ministère) doit veiller à ce qu’un programme de rétablissement soit élaboré pour chaque espèce inscrite à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées. Un programme de rétablissement offre des conseils scientifiques au gouvernement à l’égard de ce qui est nécessaire pour réaliser le rétablissement d’une espèce.

Haut de la page

Déclarations du gouvernement en réponse aux programmes de rétablissement

Dans les neuf mois qui suivent l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement, la LEVD exige que le ministère publie une déclaration qui résume les mesures que le gouvernement de l’Ontario prévoit prendre en réponse au programme de rétablissement et ses priorités à cet égard. Le programme de rétablissement pour le scinque pentaligne a été achevé le 10 septembre 2010.

Cette déclaration est la réponse du gouvernement de l’Ontario aux conseils scientifiques fournis dans le programme de rétablissement. En plus de se fonder sur les renseignements fournis dans le programme de rétablissement, elle tient compte des commentaires reçus de la part de parties intéressées, d’autres territoires de compétence, des collectivités autochtones et du public. Cette déclaration reflète les meilleures connaissances traditionnelles, locales et scientifiques auxquelles on peut accéder en ce moment; elle pourrait être adaptée si de nouveaux renseignements deviennent accessibles. En mettant en oeuvre les mesures prévues à la présente déclaration, la LEVD permet au ministère de déterminer ce qu’il est possible de réaliser, compte tenu des facteurs sociaux et économiques.

Le scinque pentaligne est un petit lézard indigène de l’Ontario. Il est noir ou gris et a cinq rayures de couleur crème le long de son dos; les jeunes scinques ont une queue bleue. La femelle pond de 9 à 10 oeufs qu’elle dépose à l’abri sous les troncs d’arbre ou les roches.

Haut de la page

Démarches futures pour protéger et rétablir le scinque pentaligne

Le scinque pentaligne est inscrit à la liste des espèces en péril en Ontario en tant que deux populations distinctes : la population carolinienne, qui se trouve dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, et la population le long de la marge sud du Bouclier canadien, dans le centre de la province.

La population carolinienne du scinque pentaligne est désignée en tant qu’espèce en voie de disparition aux termes de la LEVD, qui protège à la fois l’espèce et son habitat. La LEVD interdit qu’on nuise à l’espèce ou qu’on la harcèle et qu’on endommage ou détruise son habitat sans autorisation. Une telle autorisation exigerait que des conditions établies par le ministère soient respectées.

La population de la marge sud du Bouclier canadien est désignée en tant qu’espèce préoccupante aux termes de la LEVD. Une espèce préoccupante est une espèce dont les caractéristiques la rendent sensible aux activités humaines ou aux événements naturels.

Les principales menaces qui pèsent sur le scinque pentaligne comprennent la perte et la dégradation de son habitat ainsi que l’enlèvement des objets d’abri utiles à l’espèce, comme les billes de bois ou les roches.

Le but du gouvernement pour le rétablissement du scinque pentaligne est de veiller à la viabilité et à la survie des deux populations désignées en Ontario.

La protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril sont une responsabilité partagée. Aucune agence ni aucun organisme n’a toutes les connaissances, l’autorité ni les ressources financières pour protéger et rétablir toutes les espèces en péril de l’Ontario. Le succès sur le plan du rétablissement exige une coopération intergouvernementale et la participation de nombreuses personnes, organismes et collectivités.

En élaborant la présente déclaration, le ministère a tenu compte des démarches que le gouvernement pourrait entreprendre directement et de celles que les partenaires en conservation du gouvernement pourraient entreprendre avec l’appui de celui-ci.

Haut de la page

Mesures menées par le gouvernement mesures menées par le gouvernement mesures menées par le gouvernement

Afin de protéger et de rétablir le scinque pentaligne, le gouvernement entreprendra directement les mesures suivantes :

  • Mettre au point un protocole de relevé à l’usage des promoteurs et des partenaires pour déceler
  • Renseigner les autres organismes et autorités qui prennent part aux processus de planification et d’évaluation environnementales quant aux exigences de protection prévues à la LEVD.
  • Encourager la soumission de données sur le scinque pentaligne à l’entrepôt de données central du ministère au Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel ou à l’Ontario Reptile and Amphibian Atlas Project.
  • Entreprendre des activités de communication et de diffusion afin d’augmenter la sensibilisation de la population quant aux espèces en péril en Ontario.
  • Protéger la population carolinienne du scinque pentaligne et son habitat par l’entremise de la LEVD. Élaborer un règlement prescrivant l’habitat de l’espèce et veiller à son application.
  • Appuyer les partenaires en conservation, et les organismes, municipalités et industries partenaires pour l’entreprise d’activités visant à protéger et rétablir le scinque pentaligne. Ce soutien prendra la forme de financement, d’ententes, de permis (assortis de conditions) et de services consultatifs.
  • Établir et communiquer des mesures prioritaires annuelles pour l’appui gouvernemental afin d’encourager la collaboration et réduire le chevauchement des travaux.

Haut de la page

Mesures appuyées par le gouvernement

Le gouvernement appuie les mesures suivantes qu’il juge comme étant nécessaires à la protection et au rétablissement du scinque pentaligne. On accordera la priorité aux mesures portant la mention « hautement prioritaire » en ce qui concerne le financement ou les autorisations aux termes de la LEVD. Le gouvernement ciblera son appui sur ces mesures hautement prioritaires au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Population carolinienne :

Domaine d’intervention : Protection et gestion
Objectif : Mettre au point et en oeuvre des mesures pour protéger les sites, réduire les menaces cernées et augmenter l’habitat disponible.

Mesures :
1. (HAUTEMENT PRIORITAIRE) Maintenir, et lorsque cela est nécessaire, augmenter la superficie et la qualité de l’habitat et du microhabitat (c.-à-d. les objets servant d’abri) auxquels le scinque pentaligne a accès.
2. Cerner et mettre en oeuvre des approches pour diminuer les menaces comme la mortalité sur les routes, les populations de prédateurs hautement subventionnés[1] et la perturbation des objets servant d’appui.
3. Mettre au point et disséminer des communications aux groupes cibles (par ex. les propriétaires fonciers, les membres du commerce des animaux familiers et les visiteurs de parcs) afin de sensibiliser la population aux mesures de protection, aux possibilités d’intendance et aux exigences en matière d’habitat en ce qui concerne le scinque pentaligne.
4. Au fur et à mesure que les occasions se présentent, appuyer la protection des terres où vivent des sous-populations de scinque pentaligne par l’entremise des programmes existants de protection et d’intendance des terres.

Domaine d’intervention : Recherche
Objectif : Améliorer les connaissances de l’écologie spatiale du scinque pentaligne et préciser
les menaces incertaines.

Mesures :
5. (HAUTEMENT PRIORITAIRE) Effectuer des études sur l’utilisation de l’habitat, les déplacements typiques et les capacités de dispersion du scinque pentaligne.
6. Déterminer la succession naturelle présente une menace importante aux habitats moins ouverts et cibler les techniques qui sont avantageuses pour maintenir ou améliorer l’habitat du scinque pentaligne.

Domaine d’intervention : Inventaire et surveillance
Objectif : Déterminer la répartition, l’abondance et les tendances connexes du scinque pentaligne en Ontario.

Mesures :
7. (HAUTEMENT PRIORITAIRE) Mettre en oeuvre un protocole de relevé normalisé pour évaluer l’abondance au cours du temps de chacune des populations caroliniennes du scinque pentaligne.
8. Mettre au point une liste des emplacements historiques prioritaires et les sites où l’espèce pourrait potentiellement se trouver et effectuer un relevé pour déceler la présence de scinques pentalignes.

Population du sud du Bouclier canadien :

Mesures :
1. (HAUTEMENT PRIORITAIRE) Mettre en oeuvre un protocole de relevé normalisé pour évaluer la répartition et l’abondance de la population du scinque pentaligne de la marge du sud du Bouclier canadien.
2. Maintenir la superficie et la qualité de l’habitat et du microhabitat auquel le scinque pentaligne a accès.
3. Mettre au point et disséminer des communications aux groupes cibles (par ex. les propriétaires fonciers, les membres du commerce des animaux familiers et les visiteurs de parcs) afin de sensibiliser la population aux mesures de protection, aux possibilités d’intendance et aux exigences en matière d’habitat en ce qui concerne le scinque pentaligne.

Haut de la page

Mise en oeuvre des mesures

Le soutien financier pour la mise en oeuvre des mesures de rétablissement approuvées pourrait être fourni par l’entremise du Fonds d’intendance des espèces en péril, du Programme d'encouragement des exploitants agricoles à la protection des espèces en péril ou du Programme de participation communautaire à la gestion du poisson et de la faune. On encourage les partenaires en conservation à discuter de leurs propositions de projets liés à la présente déclaration avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles. Le ministère peut aussi conseiller ses partenaires à l’égard des autorisations exigées aux termes de la LEVD afin d’entreprendre le projet.

La mise en oeuvre des mesures pourra être modifiée en fonction de changements sur le plan des priorités touchant l’ensemble des espèces en péril, des ressources disponibles et de la capacité des partenaires à entreprendre des activités de rétablissement. La mise en oeuvre des mesures visant plusieurs espèces sera coordonnée partout là où les déclarations du gouvernement en réponse au programme de rétablissement l’exigent.

Haut de la page

Évaluation des progrès

Aux termes de la LEVD, le gouvernement doit évaluer l’efficacité des mesures visant à protéger et à rétablir une espèce au plus tard cinq ans après la publication de la présente déclaration en réponse au programme de rétablissement. Cette évaluation permettra de déterminer si des rectifications sont nécessaires pour en arriver à protéger et à rétablir l’espèce.

Haut de la page

Remerciements

Nous tenons à remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont pris part à l’élaboration du Programme de rétablissement du scinque pentaligne – populations carolinienne et de la région du sud du bouclier de l’Ontario pour leur dévouement en ce qui a trait à la protection et au rétablissement des espèces en péril.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Consultez le site Web des espèces en péril
Communiquez avec votre bureau de district du MNR
Communiquez avec le Centre d’information sur les ressources naturelles
1-800-667-1940
ATS 1-866-686-6072
Courriel : Ministère des Richesses naturelles Courriel
Site Web : Ministère des Richesses naturelles

Haut de la page


1Les prédateurs dont les niveaux sont plus élevés que la normale en raison de « subventions » (par ex. déchets alimentaires ou récoltes) fournies par les humains.