Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bowhead Whale in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The severe depletion of the bowhead population by commercial whalers is the main reason that the species is listed as endangered in several parts of its range. A recent report suggests that killer whales may be the number one threat to the bowheads in the eastern Canadian Arctic (Moshenko et al. 2003). An additional concern comes with increased interest in offshore developments in the Beaufort Sea and the eastern Canadian Arctic, which could possibly affect whale populations with the traffic, noise, and possible oil spills associated with such developments. Illegal hunting could directly affect population numbers. It has been suggested that climatic factors, which are influencing ice conditions, may also affect both the survival and the distribution of bowhead whales in the future (Tynan and DeMaster 1997). None of the other threats discussed below is expected to pose a serious threat to the population.


Killer Whales

The distributions of killer whales and bowhead whales in the Bering Sea overlap, at least during fall (George et al. 1994). Killer whales have never been seen during the 15 years of ice-based censusing in spring at Barrow (George et al., 1994), and only two sightings have been reported from the Beaufort Sea (Lowry et al., 1987) where bowheads spend the summer months. George et al. (1994) examined bowhead whales of the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population harvested by Alaskan Inuit for scars from killer whale injuries. They estimated that the frequency of scars from killer whale attacks ranged from 4.1% to 7.9%. The relatively low frequency of bite marks on the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population likely reflects a relatively low frequency of killer whale attacks and predation pressure, although most bowheads that are successfully killed probably go unrecorded (George et al. 1994).

Predation by killer whales has been suggested to be a higher source of mortality for the Baffin Bay-Davis Strait population (than the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population), where about one-third of the bowheads have killer whale scars (Finley 1990). Killer whales regularly appear in Cumberland Sound and Pond Inlet (eastern Baffin Island) where they would have frequent access to bowhead whales (Mitchell and Reeves 1982). Inuit report the presence of killer whales in all regions of Nunavut (NWMB 2000). Many stranded bowheads have been found with evidence suggesting that killer whales were responsible for the deaths (NWMB 2000). Some Inuit have observed interactions between bowheads and killer whales with the end result of the killer whale killing the bowhead (NWMB 2000). According to elder Inuit, young bowheads are especially susceptible to predation by killer whales (Finley 1990). Moshenko et al. (2003) rated the killer whale as possibly the greatest threat to the recovery of eastern arctic bowhead whales.

Predation by killer whales on bowhead whales may increase in the future if the refuge provided by ice coverage is reduced by global warming.


Illegal Hunting

Due to the relatively old age of first birth (age 25 yr) and low birth rate (1 calf every 3-4 yr), the sustainable removal rates from bowhead whale populations are extremely low. For example, the sustainable removal rate from the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population has been estimated as one whale per two or three years based on historical hunting and the associated assumption that the population has been increasing or stable despite the removals. For the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population, the sustainable removal rate has been estimated as one whale every thirteen years.

From 1993-2004, one bowhead whale was reported landed from the Davis Strait Baffin Bay population, and five were reported landed from the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population. Regulated hunting does not appear to be a threat under current management. However, there have been unsubstantiated reports from the eastern Canadian Arctic of bowhead whales being shot at illegally and, on at least a few occasions, killed over the past few decades (Reeves pers. comm. 2005). Illegal hunting could pose a threat to bowheads given their low abundance.


Strandings

Reports of stranded bowhead whales are exceedingly rare due perhaps to the remoteness of such events from human habitation. Nonetheless, nine stranded bowheads were found in the western Canadian Arctic from 2000-2004 (Carpenter pers. comm. 2005). The reason(s) for these strandings are uncertain but may range from natural mortality to illegal shootings. No similar strandings have been reported in Alaska (Nelson pers. comm. 2005).


Toxins (pollution contaminants)

Jayko et al. (1990) developed a model to quantify the probability of bowhead whales encountering spilled oil in Alaskan waters. Their spill scenarios resulted in the oiling of an average of 0.1-2.0% of the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort bowhead population. The model simulations discussed by Jayko et al. (1990) indicate that oil spills in the Beaufort Sea are unlikely to affect a significant portion of the bowhead whale population. There is no evidence that any of the large oil spills to date have had a significant impact on a baleen whale population (Geraci and St. Aubin 1990). St. Aubin et al. (1984) showed that oil fouling of the fringes of the baleen reduces feeding efficiency but that the impact would be short-term if the animal does not remain in the affected area. Offshore oil/gas exploration is rapidly increasing in Davis Strait (off West Greenland), and Lancaster Sound is known to have some significant deposits of oil and natural gas (though not yet commercially viable to extract) (Moshenko et al. 2003). Many Inuit fear that oil spills may pose a hazard for bowheads and other sea mammals in Nunavut (NWMB 2000). Moshenko et al. (2003) ranked pollution and contaminants as a high threat to bowheads in the eastern arctic populations.

Baleen whales generally have lower tissue contaminant levels than the toothed whales (O’Shea and Brownell 1994). Chemical pollutants are believed to accumulate at low concentration levels due to the low trophic level of bowhead (O’Hara et al. 1998). Bratton et al. (1993) describe various aspects of contaminants but data and understanding of physiological mechanisms are limited. The limited available information suggests that contaminant exposure poses no present threat to bowheads; however, productivity damage by chemical contaminants on planktonic food resources could potentially affect them.


Man-made Noise

The main sources of man-made noise pollution are ships, aircraft, seismic exploration, marine construction, drilling, and motor boats (Richardson and Malme 1993).Most of the research on bowhead reactions to industrial activities has been done on the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population that summers in the Beaufort Sea (Richardson et al. 1985; Richardson and Malme 1993). Bowhead whales are known to react to man-made sources of underwater noise by avoiding the area where the noise comes from. Reactions appear to vary by season, habitat and behavioural state (Richardson et al. 1985; Richardson and Malme 1993). Inuit hunters from the eastern Alaskan Beaufort Sea reported that noise affected whale behaviour when there was seismic activity in the area (Galginaitis and Koski 2001). They observed that the whales moved further offshore, and that they were easily spooked when they did see them. Some Inuit report that bowheads react negatively to noise from snowmobiles and small motorized boats, although many Inuit have also reported that bowheads do not seem to be adversely affected by the same noises (NWMB 2000). Inuit in Clyde River are concerned with the increasing numbers of large tour ships, and their unregulated operations (Moshenko et al. 2003). With an increasing number of motorized boats, both from tourism and local recreational activities, the potential for interference with bowhead activities increases (Moshenko et al. 2003). Moshenko et al. (2003) ranked man-made noise and tourism and recreation as a high threat to bowheads in the eastern arctic.


Climate Change

Direct effects of climate change on arctic marine mammals include the loss of ice-associated habitat (Tynan and DeMaster 1997). Indirect effects include regional or seasonal shifts in prey availability, which can affect nutritional status, reproductive success, and geographic range. It may also alter the timing or patterns of migrations, which may produce changes in species distributions and population structure of bowheads (Tynan and DeMaster 1997). Schell (2000) found isotopic evidence that the Bering Sea ecosystem underwent a reduction of between 30-40% in average seasonal primary productivity from 1966 to 1997. Gough and Wolfe (2001) compared two generations of a climate model using the impact of a CO2 doubling on the Hudson Bay region. One model suggests that sea ice might virtually disappear in Hudson Bay, leading to a substantially higher regional temperature. This degree of climate change would likely affect the bowhead population by altering the food web, although it is not known whether this would be a positive or negative effect.

In the high Arctic, the base of the food chain consists of ice algae (Alexander 1995) formed on the underside of the ice at the ice-seawater interface. With spring warming and ice melt, algal cells are sloughed off into the surrounding water column, where a seasonal bloom of phytoplankton is initiated. Ice edge habitat generates a restricted zone of high productivity (Sakshaug et al., 1994). Many species of copepods (the primary prey of bowheads) reproduce under the ice before the phytoplankton bloom and feed on sedimenting ice algae (Drolet et al., 1991). With a loss in ice habitat, there would be less ice algae produced and possibly less food for copepods (bowhead prey). Given the coupling between the ice-edge habitat and the prey of many species of arctic marine mammals, Tynan and DeMaster (1997) speculated that a sufficient reduction in the extent of the ice edge, and its associated community, may have deleterious consequences for marine mammals that have evolved with these unique systems. There is the additional concern that species which rely on the ice-edge community for foraging could be adversely affected by a reduction in the areal extent and latitudinal shift of ice-edge habitat (Tynan and DeMaster 1997).

In the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population, bowhead whales stay with the ice edge as it advances and retreats each year (Goering and McRoy 1974). Reductions in the southern extent of seasonal sea ice could displace southern ranges of bowheads northward. Interannual changes in the onset and severity of seasonal sea ice may also affect the length of feeding seasons, timing of migration, fecundity, and survivorship of marine mammal species (Tynan and DeMaster 1997). Inuit hunters from the eastern Alaskan Beaufort Sea report more whales migrate later in the season than they used to (Galginaitis and Koski 2001). It is not possible at this time to determine the impact (whether positive or negative) of climate change on the bowhead population. Moshenko et al. (2003) ranked climate change as a high threat to bowhead whales.


Ship Collisions

George et al. (1994) examined bowhead whales of the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Seas population harvested by Alaskan Eskimos for scars from ship-collision injuries. They estimated that the frequency of scars from ship-collisions was about 1%. These low numbers suggests that the incidence of ship collisions with bowheads is quite low, because few vessels pass through most of the bowhead’s range, but it may also be that bowheads do not survive the collision (Kraus 1990). It is unlikely that many bowheads come in contact with ships in any of the bowhead ranges, due to the low number of ships that enter the arctic waters, and bowhead are generally associated with ice, where ships would generally travel in the ice-free areas. Moshenko et al. (2003) ranked ship collisions as a low threat to bowheads in the eastern arctic.

Richardson et al. (1987a) reported that most bowheads show avoidance reactions to approaching ships more than 1 km distant in the Eastern Canadian Beaufort, which would reduce the likelihood of a ship collision. However, they found these reactions were short-term and suggest that summering bowheads could habituate to an ongoing stimulus from offshore drilling or vessel operations, especially when they are feeding.


Ice-entrapment

The close association of bowheads with ice places them at risk. Mitchell and Reeves (1982) describe accounts of fatal ice entrapment, but whether the whale was frozen in the ice after it died could not be determined. Inuit have observed ice-entrapped bowheads on a few occasions (NWMB 2000). One bowhead was discovered entrapped on March 20, 1997 in a polyna in Admiralty Inlet (NWMB 2000). The whale was still alive when last seen just before ice breakup, and was believed to have survived since no carcass was ever found (NWMB 2000). Short of direct mortality due to ice entrapment, there is little doubt that bowheads can be prevented from reaching preferred feeding grounds during heavy ice years (Mitchell and Reeves 1982), which may affect their survival. Inuit report bowheads avoid areas where the ice cover is very extensive or apparently continuous (NWMB 2000). Ice-entrapment is likely the lowest threat to bowheads due to their ability to navigate through extensive ice fields and punch holes up through the ice in order to breathe.


Diseases and Parasites

There is limited information on causes of natural mortality in bowhead whales. What is known has come from the study of what were otherwise apparently healthy whales taken in the subsistence hunt (Philo et al. 1993). Bowheads carry parasites, such as whale lice, internal roundworms, tapeworms, and potentially pathogenic microbes (yeasts, bacteria and viruses), but none of these are thought to contribute to bowhead mortality (Philo et al. 1993). They also are known to occasionally suffer from developmental and degenerative conditions. Smith et al. (1986, 1987) suggests there is evidence that bowheads may be hosts for viruses such as caliciviruses, of which symptoms may include formation of cysts, open sores, inflammation of the lungs, brain, heart, stomach and intestine lining, and abortion. How these viruses affect mortality and reproductive rates is unknown (Philo et al. 1993). Moshenko et al. (2003) ranked disease and parasites as a low threat to bowhead whales.


Entanglement

There are no data to estimate the number of entanglement fatalities that occur in bowhead whales, although smaller bowheads are more likely to die from entanglement than larger whales because they may not be powerful enough to break the ropes or have the stamina to drag the gear (Philo et al. 1992). Reports of bowhead whales entangled in harpoon lines or ropes from fishing gear have occurred (summarized in Philo et al. 1992), but are rare. Inuit have reported bowheads swimming into nets set for belugas, narwhals and fish in Cumberland Sound and near Pangnirtung, resulting in destroyed nets and entanglement (NWMB 2000). The effect of entanglement mortality on the bowhead whale population is unknown, but is likely small at present. Moshenko et al. (2003) ranked entanglement as a low threat to bowhead whales at this time.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine boréale au Canada – Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Le déclin sévère infligé aux populations de baleines boréales par la chasse commerciale à la baleine est la principale raison de désignation de l’espèce comme menacée dans plusieurs parties de son aire de répartition. Moshenko et al. (2003) ont récemment avancé que les épaulards constitueraient la principale menace pour les baleines boréales dans l’est de l’Arctique canadien. L’intérêt grandissant pour l’exploitation extracôtière dans la mer de Beaufort et l’est de l’Arctique canadien est une autre source de préoccupation, car l’accroissement du trafic, le bruit et les déversements possibles d’hydrocarbures associés à cette exploitation pourraient avoir une incidence sur les populations de baleines. Le braconnage pourrait toucher directement l’abondance des populations. On a avancé que des facteurs climatiques influençant les conditions des glaces pourraient également toucher la survie et la répartition des baleines boréales dans l’avenir (Tynan et DeMaster, 1997). Aucune des autres menaces discutées ci-dessous ne devrait représenter une menace sérieuse pour la population.


Épaulards

Les aires de répartition des épaulards et des baleines boréales dans la mer de Béring se chevauchent, du moins en automne (George et al., 1994). On n’a jamais aperçu d’épaulards au printemps à Barrow en 15 ans de relevés menés à partir de la banquise (George et al., 1994), et seulement deux observations ont été notées dans la mer de Beaufort (Lowry et al., 1987), où estivent les baleines boréales. George et al. (1994) ont examiné les baleines boréales de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort capturées par les Inuits de l’Alaska à la recherche de traces de blessures infligées par des épaulards. Ils ont estimé que la fréquence des cicatrices issues d’attaques d’épaulards varie entre 4,1 p. 100 et 7,9 p. 100. La fréquence relativement faible de traces de morsures sur les individus de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort reflète vraisemblablement une fréquence relativement faible des attaques d’épaulards et de la prédation qu’ils exercent, quoique la plupart des baleines boréales qui sont ainsi tuées échappent probablement à toute observation (George et al., 1994).

On a avancé que la prédation par les épaulards pourrait constituer une source de mortalité plus importante dans la population de la baie de Baffin et du détroit de Davis, où près d’un tiers des baleines portent des cicatrices témoignant d’attaques d’épaulards (Finley, 1990), que dans la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort. Les épaulards se rendent régulièrement dans le détroit de Cumberland et l’inlet Pond (est de l’île de Baffin), où ils peuvent rencontrer fréquemment des baleines boréales (Mitchell et Reeves, 1982). Les Inuits signalent la présence d’épaulards dans toutes les régions du Nunavut (CGRFN, 2000). De nombreuses baleines boréales échouées portent des marques indiquant que les épaulards sont responsables de leur mort (CGRFN, 2000). Certains Inuits ont observé des interactions entre des baleines boréales et des épaulards se terminant par la mise à mort de la baleine boréale par l’épaulard (CGRFN, 2000). D’après les Aînés inuits, les jeunes baleines boréales sont particulièrement vulnérables à la prédation par les épaulards (Finley, 1990). Moshenko et al. (2003) considèrent que l’épaulard est probablement le principal obstacle au rétablissement des baleines boréales dans l’est de l’Arctique.

La prédation des baleines boréales par les épaulards pourrait s’intensifier à l’avenir si les refuges offerts par la banquise diminuent sous l’effet du réchauffement climatique.


Braconnage

Compte tenu de l’âge relativement avancé des femelles à la première mise bas (25 ans) et du faible taux de naissance de l’espèce (un baleineau tous les trois ou quatre ans), le taux de prélèvement équilibré des populations de baleines boréales est extrêmement faible. Par exemple, le taux de prélèvement équilibré de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe a été estimé à une baleine tous les deux ou trois ans, d’après les données historiques de chasse et en supposant que la population a augmenté ou est demeurée stable malgré la chasse. Dans le cas de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin, le taux de prélèvement équilibré a été estimé à une baleine tous les treize ans.

Entre 1993 et 2004, on a signalé l’échouage d’une baleine boréale appartenant à la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin et de cinq appartenant à la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe. La chasse réglementée ne semble pas représenter une menace dans les conditions actuelles de gestion. Cependant, on a signalé au cours des dernières décennies des incidents non confirmés dans l’est de l’Arctique canadien, où des baleines boréales auraient été tirées illégalement et, dans quelques cas au moins, tuées (Reeves, comm. pers., 2005). Le braconnage pourrait constituer une menace pour la baleine boréale compte tenu de la rareté de ce cétacé.


Échouages

Les observations signalées de baleines boréales échouées sont extrêmement rares, peut-être parce que ces événements ont lieu à grande distance de toute habitation humaine. On a néanmoins trouvé neuf baleines boréales échouées dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien entre 2000 et 2004 (Carpenter, comm. pers., 2005). Ces échouages sont inexpliqués et pourraient être autant dus à la mortalité naturelle qu’à la chasse illégale. Aucun échouage n’a été signalé en Alaska (Nelson, comm. pers., 2005).


Composés toxiques (pollution par les contaminants)

Jayko et al. (1990) ont élaboré un modèle pour quantifier la probabilité de contact entre les baleines boréales et les déversements d’hydrocarbures dans les eaux de l’Alaska. Selon leurs scénarios de déversements, entre 0,1 et 2,0 p. 100 de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort serait mazoutée en moyenne. Les simulations du modèle proposé par Jayko et al. (1990) indiquent que les déversements d’hydrocarbures dans la mer de Beaufort risquent peu d’avoir une incidence sur une partie importante de la population. Il n’existe aucune preuve que l’un des grands déversements d’hydrocarbures survenus jusqu’à présent ait eu un effet considérable sur une population de baleines à fanons (Geraci et St. Aubin, 1990). St. Aubin et al. (1984) ont démontré que les hydrocarbures souillant les bords des fanons réduisent l’efficacité de la capture de nourriture, mais cet effet est de courte durée si la baleine ne demeure pas dans la zone polluée. L’exploration pétrolière et gazière extracôtière se développe rapidement dans le détroit de Davis (au large du Groenland), et on sait que le détroit de Lancaster recèle d’importants gisements de pétrole et de gaz naturel (bien que leur extraction n’ait pas encore franchi le seuil de rentabilité commerciale) (Moshenko et al., 2003). De nombreux Inuits craignent que les déversements d’hydrocarbures menacent les baleines boréales et d’autres mammifères marins au Nunavut (CGRFN, 2000). Moshenko et al. (2003) ont classé la pollution et les contaminants comme une menace importante pour les populations de baleines boréales de l’est de l’Arctique.

Chez les mysticètes, les tissus présentent généralement moins de contaminants que chez les odontocètes (O’Shea et Brownell, 1994). Cette faible accumulation de substances chimiques polluantes peut s’expliquer par le fait que la place de la baleine boréale dans la chaîne trophique est peu élevée (O’Hara et al., 1998). Bratton et al. (1993) décrivent divers aspects des contaminants, mais les données et la compréhension des mécanismes physiologiques connexes sont limitées. La maigre information disponible indique que l’exposition aux contaminants ne représente pas une menace imminente pour les baleines boréales. Par contre, une réduction de la productivité planctonique due à des substances chimiques contaminantes pourrait avoir une incidence sur l’espèce.


Bruit de source humaine

Les principales sources anthropiques de bruit sont les navires, les avions, l’exploration sismique, les ouvrages maritimes, le forage et les bateaux à moteur (Richardson et Malme, 1993). La plupart des recherches sur les réactions de la baleine boréale aux activités industrielles ont porté sur la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort, qui estive dans la mer de Beaufort (Richardson et al., 1985; Richardson et Malme, 1993). On sait que les baleines boréales réagissent au bruit anthropique sous-marin en évitant la zone d’où provient le bruit. Ces réactions semblent varier selon la saison, l’habitat et l’état comportemental (Richardson et al., 1985; Richardson et Malme, 1993). Les chasseurs inuits de l’est de la mer de Beaufort alaskienne signalent que le bruit de l’exploration sismique dans le secteur a une incidence sur le comportement des baleines (Galginaitis et Koski, 2001). Ils ont souligné que les baleines s’éloignent de la côte et que les individus qu’ils rencontrent dans ces circonstances sont facilement effarouchés. Certains Inuits signalent que les baleines boréales réagissent mal au bruit des motoneiges et des petits bateaux à moteur, mais de nombreux autres affirment que les baleines boréales ne semblent pas dérangées par ces mêmes bruits (CGRFN, 2000). Les Inuits de Clyde River s’inquiètent du nombre croissant de grands navires de croisière et de l’absence de réglementation à leur égard (Moshenko et al., 2003). Avec l’accroissement du nombre de bateaux à moteur pour le tourisme et les activités récréatives locales, la possibilité d’interférence avec les activités des baleines boréales augmente (Moshenko et al., 2003). Ces mêmes chercheurs ont classé le bruit causé par l’homme comme une menace importante pour les baleines boréales de l’est de l’Arctique.


Changement climatique

La perte d’habitat associé aux glaces est l’une des conséquences directes du changement climatique pour les mammifères marins de l’Arctique (Tynan et DeMaster, 1997). Parmi les conséquences indirectes, on compte des variations régionales ou saisonnières dans l’abondance des proies, qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur la nutrition, le succès reproducteur et l’aire de répartition géographique. Le moment et le parcours des migrations peuvent également être altérés, ce qui pourrait modifier la répartition et la structure des populations de baleines boréales (Tynan et DeMaster, 1997). D’après son analyse isotopique, Schell (2000) avance que l’écosystème de la mer de Béring a subi une réduction de productivité primaire saisonnière moyenne de 30 à 40 p. 100 entre 1966 et 1997. Gough et Wolfe (2001) ont comparé deux modèles climatiques simulant l’incidence du doublement du CO2 dans la région de la baie d’Hudson. L’un des modèles prédit que la banquise disparaîtrait presque entièrement dans la baie d’Hudson, ce qui augmenterait considérablement la température dans la région. Un changement climatique d’une telle ampleur toucherait probablement les baleines boréales en altérant la chaîne alimentaire, bien qu’on ignore si les conséquences seraient positives ou négatives.

Dans l’Extrême-Arctique, les algues épontiques, qui vivent sous la glace et à l’interface entre la glace et l’eau de mer, constituent la base de la chaîne trophique (Alexander, 1995). Avec le réchauffement et la fonte des glaces au printemps, les cellules algales sont dispersées dans la colonne d’eau environnante, ce qui déclenche une poussée saisonnière de phytoplancton. L’habitat de la lisière des glaces génère une zone restreinte de haute productivité (Sakshaug et al., 1994). De nombreuses espèces de copépodes (principales proies des baleines boréales) se reproduisent sous la glace avant la prolifération phytoplanctonique et se nourrissent des algues épontiques qui sédimentent (Drolet et al., 1991). La perte d’habitat dans les glaces signifierait une baisse de la production d’algues épontiques et donc peut-être de la quantité de nourriture disponible pour les copépodes (proies des baleines boréales). Étant donné l’association étroite entre l’habitat de la lisière des glaces et les proies de nombreuses espèces de mammifères marins arctiques, Tynan et DeMaster (1997) avancent qu’une réduction substantielle de cet habitat et des communautés qui lui sont associées aurait des conséquences néfastes pour les mammifères marins qui ont évolué dans ces écosystèmes uniques en leur genre. On craint également que les espèces qui dépendent de ces communautés pour se nourrir souffrent d’une réduction de la superficie et d’un déplacement latitudinal des habitats de la lisière des glaces (Tynan et DeMaster, 1997).

La population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort suit la bordure de la banquise au gré de sa progression et de son retrait annuels (Goering et McRoy, 1974). Une diminution de la progression saisonnière des glaces vers le sud pourrait déplacer la limite sud de l’aire de répartition des baleines boréales vers le nord. Des variations interannuelles dans le début de l’englacement et l’épaisseur de la banquise saisonnière pourraient également avoir une incidence sur la longueur de la saison de recherche de nourriture, le moment des migrations, la fécondité et le taux de survie de certaines espèces de mammifères marins (Tynan et DeMaster, 1997). Les chasseurs inuits de l’est de la mer de Beaufort alaskienne ont remarqué qu’un nombre croissant de baleines migrent plus tard en saison qu’auparavant (Galginaitis et Koski, 2001). Il est impossible, à l’heure actuelle, de déterminer les conséquences (positives ou négatives) des changements climatiques sur les baleines boréales. Moshenko et al. (2003) ont classé les changements climatiques comme une menace importante pour les baleines boréales.


Collisions avec des navires

George et al. (1994) ont examiné les baleines boréales de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort capturées par les Inuits de l’Alaska pour rechercher des traces de blessures infligées par des navires. Ils estiment que la fréquence des cicatrices provenant de collisions avec des navires est d’environ 1 p. 100. Ces chiffres indiquent que l’incidence des collisions de baleines boréales avec des navires est assez faible, car la navigation est faible dans la plupart de l’aire de répartition de la baleine boréale, mais il est également possible que les baleines boréales ne survivent pas aux collisions (Kraus, 1990). Il est improbable qu’un grand nombre de baleines boréales entrent en contact avec des navires et ce, dans l’ensemble de leur aire de répartition, car rares sont les navires qui sillonnent les eaux de l’Arctique, et les baleines boréales se trouvent généralement près des glaces, alors que les navires passent généralement dans les eaux libres. Moshenko et al. (2003) ont classé les collisions avec les navires comme une menace mineure pour les baleines boréales de l’est de l’Arctique.

Richardson et al. (1987a) signalent que la plupart des baleines boréales ont des réactions d’évitement quand les navires qui s’approchent sont à moins de 1 km de distance dans l’est de la mer de Beaufort canadienne, ce qui réduit les risques de collision. Par contre, ils ont indiqué que ces réactions sont de courte durée et pensent que les baleines boréales en estivage, en particulier lorsqu’elles se nourrissent, pourraient s’habituer au stimulus constant du forage extracôtier ou d’une navigation plus intense.


Emprisonnement dans les glaces

L’étroite association des baleines boréales et des glaces n’est pas sans risque. Mitchell et Reeves (1982) décrivent des cas d’emprisonnement mortel dans les glaces, mais on ignore si les baleines ont été prises dans la glace après leur mort ou non. Des Inuits ont observé à quelques reprises des cas d’emprisonnement de baleines boréales dans les glaces (CGRFN, 2000). Une baleine boréale prise dans les glaces a été découverte le 20 mars 1997 dans une polynie de l’inlet de l’Amirauté (CGRFN, 2000). La baleine était encore vivante lorsqu’on l’a aperçue pour la dernière fois juste avant la dislocation de la banquise, et on présume qu’elle a survécu puisque la carcasse n’a jamais été trouvée (CGRFN, 2000). Mise à part la mortalité directe causée par l’emprisonnement dans les glaces, il est presque certain que, les années où la banquise est très épaisse, celle-ci empêche les baleines d’atteindre leurs habitats d’alimentation privilégiés (Mitchell et Reeves, 1982), ce qui peut compromettre leur survie. Des Inuits ont observé que les baleines boréales évitent les eaux où le couvert de glace est très étendu ou apparemment continu (CGRFN, 2000). L’emprisonnement dans les glaces est probablement la menace la moins importante pour les baleines boréales, car ces cétacés sont capables de naviguer dans des banquises étendues et de percer des trous dans la glace pour respirer.


Maladies et parasites

On dispose de peu d’information sur les causes naturelles de mortalité chez les baleines boréales. Les connaissances à cet égard proviennent de l’étude de baleines apparemment en santé capturées dans le cadre de la chasse de subsistance (Philo et al., 1993). Les baleines boréales portent des parasites, comme les poux de baleine, les vers ronds, les ténias et peut-être des microbes pathogènes (levures, bactéries et virus), mais il semble qu’aucun de ces organismes ne soit mortel pour les baleines boréales (Philo et al., 1993). Certaines baleines souffrent également de troubles du développement et de maladies dégénératives. Smith et al. (1986, 1987) signalent que les baleines boréales seraient les hôtes de virus comme les calicivirus, dont l’effet se manifeste par des symptômes comme la formation de kystes, des plaies ouvertes, une inflammation des poumons, du cerveau, du cœur et des parois intestinales et des avortements. L’effet de ces virus sur les taux de mortalité et de reproduction est inconnu (Philo et al., 1993). Moshenko et al. (2003) ont classé les maladies et les parasites comme une menace mineure pour les baleines boréales.


Contacts avec les engins de pêche

Il n’existe aucune donnée permettant d’estimer le nombre d’incidents mortels de contacts avec les engins de pêche chez les baleines boréales, quoique les individus de petite taille, manquant de force pour briser les cordages ou d’endurance pour traîner un gréement de pêche, risquent davantage de périr que ceux de grande taille (Philo et al., 1992).On a signalé des cas de baleines boréales empêtrées dans des lignes de harpons ou dans les câbles d’un train de pêche (voir le résumé de Philo et al., 1992), mais cela est rare. Des Inuits ont vu des baleines boréales se prendre dans des filets tendus pour capturer des bélugas, des narvals et des poissons dans la baie de Cumberland et près de Pangnirtung, avec pour résultat la destruction des filets et l’empêtrement des baleines (CGRFN, 2000). Les conséquences de la mortalité due aux engins de pêche pour les populations de baleines boréales sont inconnues, mais probablement mineures à l’heure actuelle. Moshenko et al. (2003) ont classé les contacts avec les engins de pêche comme une menace mineure pour les baleines boréales.