Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bowhead Whale in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

The Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population is probably endemic to Canada, but the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population and the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population are not. McLeod et al. (1993) state that the bowhead is a relict species (both geographically and evolutionarily) that probably arose during Pliocene time in the northern hemisphere. Tynan and DeMaster (1997) list the bowhead as a possible indicator species for climatic change in the northern hemisphere, and is therefore of special interest for scientific reasons. The bowhead is a monotypic species, with its closest relative being the right whale (Eubalaena australis). The bowhead is listed as endangered worldwide, although the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population constitutes more than 90% of the world’s remaining individuals (Marine Mammal Commission 1999).

Bowhead whales are killed by subsistence hunters in Alaska and Russia, and a smaller hunt by Inuit takes place in the Canadian Arctic. The International Whaling Commission regulates Alaskan and Russian hunts. In Canada, bowhead hunting is co-managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Wildlife Management Boards created under land claims agreements. These include the Fisheries Joint Management Committee in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region and the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board in Nunavut.

The bowhead had great significance to the early human communities along the shores of the Arctic. The hunting of bowheads for subsistence was well established in Hudson Bay and Foxe Basin long before the British and American commercial whale fishery became established (Reeves and Mitchell 1990). The archaeological record indicates that various species of whale have been hunted in northern regions of Canada for at least 2,000 years (Freeman et al. 1998). From about A.D. 1100 to 1440, the ancestors of today’s eastern Canadian Arctic Inuit hunted bowhead whales (Freeman et al. 1998). The bowhead whale was one of the most important species harvested by Inuit, whereby one whale could provide enough food, oil and building material for an entire camp, for a year (NWMB 2000).

Commercial whaling had a profound impact on the Inuit and the wildlife on which they subsisted. During most of the commercial whaling period, the Beaufort Sea and Nunavut Inuit obtained abundant supplies of bowhead muktuk and meat as a by-product of the commercial whaling operations (Freeman et al. 1992; NWMB 2000). This ease with which supplies of muktuk could be obtained from the commercial whalers caused a suspension of traditional bowhead hunting. For Inuit, who had become accustomed to the now-familiar pattern of living near the whaling stations, the eventual closing of the whaling stations brought about real hardship (Freeman et al. 1998). Severe depletion of the bowhead population undermined the importance of these animals to Inuit subsistence (Reeves and Mitchell 1990).

The present significance of bowheads to humans can be expressed in terms of their future potential as a renewable subsistence and aesthetic resource (Reeves and Mitchell 1990). Most Inuit are concerned about losing Inuit knowledge of the bowhead whale and techniques for hunting it (NWMB 2000). The Inuit have a strong desire to preserve their culture, so intimately linked with bowheads and whaling, and many believe that resuming the bowhead hunt may help to preserve their culture (NWMB 2000).

Limited numbers of bowhead whales have been hunted since 1990. Inuvialuit of the western arctic landed one bowhead in 1991 and another in 1996 under licence from DFO. One bowhead from the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population was reported landed in 1993, and five are known to have been removed from the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population since 1993.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine boréale au Canada – Mise à jour

Importance de l'espèce

La population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe est probablement endémique du Canada, mais la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort et la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin ne le sont pas. McLeod et al. (1993) affirment que la baleine boréale est une espèce relique (en termes tant géographiques qu’évolutionnaires) qui est probablement apparue dans l’hémisphère nord durant le Pliocène. Selon Tynan et DeMaster (1997) la baleine boréale pourrait constituer une espèce indicatrice des changements climatiques dans l’hémisphère nord, et revêt donc un intérêt particulier du point de vue scientifique. La baleine boréale est une espèce monotypique; son plus proche parent est la baleine franche australe (Eubalaena australis). La baleine boréale est désignée en péril à l’échelle mondiale, même si la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort contient plus de 90 p. 100 des individus survivants du monde (Marine Mammal Commission, 1999).

Des baleines boréales sont prises par la chasse de subsistance en Alaska et en Russie, et une chasse à plus petite échelle est pratiquée par les Inuits dans l’Arctique canadien. La International Whaling Commission (IWC) réglemente la chasse en Alaska et en Russie. Au Canada, la chasse à la baleine boréale est cogérée par Pêches et Océans Canada et les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques créés dans le cadre des accords sur des revendications territoriales. Ces conseils sont le Comité mixte de gestion de la pêche dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit et le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut.

La baleine boréale était vitale pour les premières communautés humaines qui se sont établies le long des côtes de l’Arctique. La chasse à la baleine boréale pour la subsistance était une tradition dans la baie d’Hudson et le bassin de Foxe bien avant que les Anglais et les Américains n’y introduisent la chasse commerciale (Reeves et Mitchell, 1990). Les vestiges archéologiques révèlent que plusieurs espèces de baleines étaient chassées dans le nord du Canada il y a au moins 2 000 ans (Freeman et al., 1998). D’environ 1100 à 1440, les ancêtres des Inuits de l’est de l’Arctique canadien ont chassé la baleine boréale (Freeman et al., 1998). La chasse de cette espèce était l’une des plus importantes pour les Inuits; une seule baleine fournissait à un camp suffisamment de nourriture, d’huile et de matériaux de construction pour une année (CGRFN, 2000).

La chasse commerciale a eu une incidence profonde pour les Inuits et pour les espèces sauvages dont ils dépendaient pour survivre. Durant la plupart de la période de la chasse commerciale, les Inuits de la mer de Beaufort et du Nunavut ont bénéficié d’un approvisionnement abondant en muktuk et en viande de baleine boréale, sous-produits de l’exploitation commerciale de la baleine (Freeman et al., 1992; CGRFN, 2000). Cette facilité d’approvisionnement en muktuk auprès des chasseurs commerciaux a provoqué un arrêt de la chasse traditionnelle à la baleine boréale. Pour les Inuits, la fermeture des stations baleinières, auprès desquelles ils s’étaient habitués à vivre, a annoncé le début de temps très durs (Freeman et al., 1998). Les baleines boréales ayant été gravement décimées, ces cétacés ont perdu de leur importance pour la subsistance des Inuits (Reeves et Mitchell, 1990).

Aujourd’hui, l’importance de la baleine boréale pour l’homme réside dans le fait qu’elle pourrait être une ressource renouvelable pour la subsistance et la valeur esthétique (Reeves et Mitchell, 1990). La plupart des Inuits s’inquiètent de la perte de leurs connaissances sur la baleine boréale et sur la technique de chasse de cette espèce (CGRFN, 2000). Les Inuits souhaitent ardemment préserver leur culture, qui est intimement liée à la baleine boréale et à la chasse à la baleine, et plusieurs sont d’avis que le retour de la chasse à la baleine pourrait contribuer à préserver cette culture (CGRFN, 2000).

Des baleines boréales ont été chassées en nombre limité depuis 1990. Les Inuvialuit de l’ouest de l’Arctique ont débarqué une baleine boréale en 1991 et une autre en 1996 avec un permis du MPO. Une baleine boréale de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin a été prise en 1993, et cinq individus de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe ont été capturés depuis 1993.