Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bowhead Whale in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Bowheads have a nearly circumpolar distribution in the northern hemisphere, spanning latitudes 54°N – 75°N in the North Pacific basin and 60°N – 85°N in the North Atlantic basin (Moore and Reeves 1993). Several physical barriers (land or impassable sea ice) have been thought to divide the world bowhead population into five populations (Moore and Reeves; Figure 2): (1) Okhotsk Sea population, largely or entirely confined to this sea year-round; (2) Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Seas population, which summers in the eastern Beaufort Sea and Amundsen Gulf, and winters in the central and eastern Bering Sea; (3) Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population, assumed to winter mainly in northern Hudson Bay and Hudson Strait, and to summer mainly in Foxe Basin and northwestern Hudson Bay; (4) Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population, which summers in Baffin Bay and the Canadian High Arctic, and winters along the ice edge in Davis Strait and off West Greenland; and (5) Svalbard (Spitsbergen) population, centred in the Barents and Greenland Seas.


Figure 2: Approximate Global Distribution of the Five Bowhead Whale Populations

Figure 2: Approximate global distribution of the five bowhead whale populations(after Braham et al. 1984).

After Braham et al. 1984.

Bowheads were hunted by Inuit in the 1700s along the Labrador coast to as far south as Hopedale (Taylor 1988). They were also a major target, and possibly the principal target, of the very large-scale Basque commercial whale hunt centred in the Strait of Belle Isle during the 1500s and 1600s (Rastogi et al. 2004). No live bowheads have been observed in the southern Labrador Sea for more than a century, but a dead juvenile was found floating off northeastern Newfoundland in October 1998 (Daoust et al. 1998). It is not clear whether the bowhead whales killed in the Strait of Belle Isle and St. Lawrence estuary in the 1500s and 1600s formed a distinct population, or whether they were part of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population that ranged further south during the Little Ice Age (Rastogi et al. 2004). Genetic analysis of bones recovered from historic whaling sites is required to resolve this question.

The bowhead’s range is affected over long time scales by sea ice fluctuations (Schledermann 1976; McCartney and Savelle 1985; Dyke and Morris 1990; Dyke et al. 1996). During the climatic optimum (7 500 - 10 000 years ago) bowheads roamed more widely in the Canadian Arctic, with possible mixing between the eastern and western Arctic populations (Bednarski 1990). Some exchange may have occurred in more recent times as well (Bockstoce and Burns 1993).

Of particular relevance to the description of population ranges is the distinction between the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin and Davis Strait-Baffin Bay populations. Until recently, the evidence supporting the distinction was circumstantial and indirect (Reeves et al. 1983; Reeves and Mitchell 1990). Preliminary genetic evidence of mtDNA haplotype frequencies, presented by Maiers et al. (1999), appear to be corroborative. The most common of 22 haplotypes studied made up the highest proportion in both the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort (3/9 animals) and Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin (13/34 animals) samples, but this haplotype was not found at all in the Davis Strait (0/19 animals) samples. Maiers et al. (1999) also concluded provisionally that the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population was more similar to the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort than to the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population.

More recently, molecular genetic analyses (DNA sequencing of the mitochondrial d-loop region and analysis of 15 nuclear DNA microsatellite loci) were completed for 286 individual bowheads sampled at various locations across the eastern Canadian Arctic and west Greenland (Postma et al. 2005, DFO 2005). Nuclear DNA microsatellite results showed genetic differentiation among some of the sample groups, specifically the samples from Igloolik in northern Foxe Basin as compared to those from West Greenland and from Pangnirtung in southeastern Baffin Island. Furthermore, the Repulse Bay (Hudson Bay) samples were differentiated from the West Greenland samples, but not from the Pangnirtung samples.

DFO (2005) noted that the recent genetics data could be explained as indicating a complex structure of a single population that is segregated by age and/or sex or selective mating strategies. However, the available genetic analyses indicate that the tissue samples obtained from bowhead whales from the eastern Canadian Arctic came from more than one population (DFO 2005). This is consistent with the earlier genetic evidence and the assumption that there are two populations of bowhead whales in the eastern Canadian arctic-the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population and the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population.


Canadian Range

Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Population

Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort bowheads winter (November to April) in the western and central Bering Sea where there is adequate open water and broken pack ice. Recent winter sightings have been mainly along the ice edges and in polynyas in the pack ice near St. Matthew and St. Lawrence Islands and in the northern Gulf of Anadyr (Moore and Reeves 1993) (Figures figure3 and figure4). In spring (April through June) the whales migrate north and east to the eastern Beaufort Sea (Figure 3). The spring distribution is restricted to open-water areas that develop as the ice breaks up. The summer (June to September) distribution is primarily in the eastern Beaufort Sea, along the south and west coasts of Banks Island, in Amundsen Gulf, and along western Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula. Sightings in the eastern Chukchi and western Beaufort Seas in June (Braham et al. 1980; Carroll et al. 1987), along the Chukotka Peninsula throughout the summer (Bogoslovskaya et al. 1982), and in the Alaskan Beaufort Sea in August (Moore et al. 1989) indicate that not all animals in this population summer in the eastern Beaufort Sea. In the fall (September and October), bowheads migrate west from the Canadian Beaufort Sea into the Alaskan Beaufort and the Chukchi Sea, and then into the Bering Sea.


Figure 3: Generalized Seasonal Occurrence and Migration Corridor for the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Sea Bowhead Population

Figure 3: Generalized seasonal occurrence and migration corridor for the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Sea bowhead population.


Figure 4: Map of the Canadian Western Arctic Showing Places Mentioned in Text

Figure 4: Map of the Canadian western arctic showing places mentioned in text showing 1. Amundsen Gulf; 2. Banks Island; 3. Gulf of Anadyr; 4. Hershel Island; 5. Kaktovik; 6. Point Barrow; 7. St. Lawrence Island; 8. St. Matthew Island; 9. Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula.

Showing 1. Amundsen Gulf; 2. Banks Island; 3. Gulf of Anadyr; 4. Hershel Island; 5. Kaktovik; 6. Point Barrow; 7. St. Lawrence Island; 8. St. Matthew Island; 9. Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula

Nineteenth-century commercial whalers took bowheads from spring to autumn in the northern and southwestern Bering Sea (Bockstoce and Burns 1993). Bockstoce and Burns (1993) assumed that these bowheads were on their normal feeding grounds and not migrating through those areas, leading to the speculation that the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population consisted of several subpopulations. Bockstoce and Burns (1993) suggested as an alternative hypothesis that the bowheads comprised a single population that responded rapidly to the whaling activities and fled from areas of intense hunting, causing them to recede farther north and east to temporarily safer areas. The issue of whether there was (or is) more than one population in the western Arctic has been the subject of intense debate within the IWC Scientific Committee over the last few years.

The extent of occurrence of the bowheads in western Canadian Arctic waters extends from the Alaskan/Yukon border east into Amundsen Gulf (~900 km) and from the shore out to at least 230 km, with most animals occurring within 100 km of shore (Richardson et al. 1987a). The extent of occurrence of the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population in Canadian waters is therefore approximately 200 000 km2 (900 km x 230 km). This extent of occurrence is stable. The area of occupancy of this population in Canadian waters is approximately 90 000 km2 (900 km x 100 km). The area of occupancy obviously fluctuates seasonally, depending on prey distribution and other factors. Annual differences are also linked to variability in prey distribution (Richardson et al. 1987a).

Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin Population

Relatively dense aggregations of bowhead whales occur in summer in northwestern Hudson Bay around Repulse Bay and Frozen Strait, and in northern Foxe Basin, north of Igloolik (Figures figure5 and figure6). Scattered individuals and small groups also occur along the west coast of Hudson Bay and near Mansel and the Ottawa Islands in eastern Hudson Bay (Reeves and Mitchell 1990). Some animals winter in Hudson Strait (ca. 800 km long)and northeastern Hudson Bay (McLaren and Davis 1982).


Figure 5: Generalized Seasonal Occurrence and Migration Corridor for the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin Population of Bowhead Whales

Figure 5: Generalized seasonal occurrence and migration corridor for the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population of bowhead whales.


Figure 6: Map of the Canadian Eastern Arctic Showing Places Mentioned in Text

Figure 6: Map of the Canadian eastern arctic showing places mentioned in text.

Showing: 1. Barrow Strait; 2. Bylot Island; 3. Cape Adair; 4. Cape Hopes Advance; 5. Cumberland Sound; 6. Disco Bay; 7. Fisher Strait; 8. Frozen Strait; 9. Fury and Hecla Strait; 10. Gifford Fiord; 11. IsabellaBay; 12. Jens Munk Island; 13. Kane Basin; 14. Labrador Sea; 15. Lyon Inlet; 16. Mansel Island; 17. Marble Island; 18. North Water; 19. Ottawa Islands; 20. Pond Inlet; 21. Prince Regent Inlet; 22. Repulse Bay; 23. Roes Welcome Sound; 24. Southampton Island

Ross (1974) estimated that the 19th century commercial whaling grounds for bowheads in northwestern Hudson Bay covered an area of 60 000 km2 (23 000 square miles), extending from Marble Island northeastward through Roes Welcome Sound to Lyon Inlet and into Fisher Strait (also see Reeves and Cosens 2003). Much of this area is still used by bowheads (NWMB 2000). Aerial surveys in August 1995 found bowheads in Roes Welcome Sound, Repulse Bay and Frozen Strait (Cosens and Innes (2000). In Foxe Basin, animals congregate in a well-defined area of approximately 3700 km2 north of Igloolik Island. This region extends from Fury and Hecla Strait eastward 71 km to Jens Munk Island, and from Igloolik Island northward 52 km to Gifford Fiord. Recent satellite tracking has shown that bowheads also move through Fury and Hecla Strait and into the Gulf of Boothia and northward into at least the southern reaches of Prince Regent Inlet (Dueck pers. comm. 2002). Bowheads are observed migrating north along the western side of Foxe Basin, and they have also been seen along the eastern side of Foxe Basin during the spring (NWMB 2000).

The extent of occurrence of the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population is approximately 350 000 km2 (Appendix 1, Table 1). This extent of occurrence is considered stable. The area of occupancy of the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population is approximately 250 000 km2 (Appendix 1, Table1).

The fine-scale distribution of bowheads is probably influenced by the movements of killer whales and the availability of invertebrate prey species. In August 1999 bowheads were nearly absent in their usual northern Foxe Basin feeding area (Cosens and Blouw 2003). They had arrived there in June 1999, but by August they had moved away. Local people reported unusual behaviour by many marine mammals that summer (Wheatley pers. comm. 2004). Ice breakup patterns differed from “normal,” in part owing to the early passage of an ice-breaker through Frozen Strait; also, killer whales were present in higher numbers than usual (Wheatley pers. comm. 2004).

Davis Strait-Baffin Bay Population

Some of the animals in this population move westward through Lancaster Sound in late June and early July, remaining in the inlets and sounds of the High Arctic until September (Figures figure6 and figure7). Others, mainly adults and adolescents, remain off the east coast of Baffin Island for the summer and autumn (Davis and Koski 1980; Finley 1990), migrating northwards from eastern Baffin Island (NWMB 2000) or across from Greenland (Heide-Jørgensen et al. 2003). Some bowheads winter in and near Disko Bay, West Greenland (Heide-Jørgensen and Finley 1991; Reeves and Heide-Jørgensen 1996), arriving there in late November and December and remaining until April or May (Born and Heide-Jørgensen 1983). Other bowhead whales are believed to winter in central Davis Strait and southern Baffin Bay in the unconsolidated pack ice and in polynyas (Finley 1990, 2001).


Figure 7: Generalized Seasonal Occurrence and Migration Corridor for the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay Population of Bowhead Whales

Figure 7: Generalized seasonal occurrence and migration corridor for the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population of bowhead whales.

Bowheads attributed to this population occur in Canadian waters from the southern ice edge in Davis Strait north to the North Water in the High Arctic (~2100 km), and from Baffin Island east to the Greenland coast. During the summer months they are also found in Lancaster Sound and Barrow Strait, and in the inlets adjoining them. The extent of occurrence of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population in Canadian waters is therefore approximately 800 000 km2 (Appendix 1, Table 2).

The extent of occurrence in the Arctic is considered stable as bowheads occur in many of the same areas where they were found during the period of commercial whaling. However, they are no longer found in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Strait of Belle Isle where they were hunted by Basque whalers in the 1500s (Rastogi et al. 2004). Whether or not the whales that were killed in this region belonged to a separate population or were part of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population is unknown (Rastogi et al. 2004). The current area of occupancy for the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population is approximately 300 000 km2 (Appendix 1, Table 2).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine boréale au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Les baleines boréales ont une répartition quasi circumpolaire dans l’hémisphère nord, occupant les latitudes de 54° N. à 75° N. dans le nord du Pacifique et de 60° N. à 85° N. dans le nord de l’Atlantique (Moore et Reeves, 1993). Plusieurs barrières physiques (terres ou banquise infranchissable) semblent diviser la population mondiale de baleines boréales en cinq populations (Moore et Reeves; figure 2), soit : (1) la population de la mer d’Okhotsk, principalement ou entièrement confinée à cette mer à l’année longue; (2) la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort, qui estive dans l’est de la mer de Beaufort et le golfe d’Amundsen et hiverne dans le centre et l’est de la mer de Béring; (3) la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe qui, croit-on, hiverne principalement dans le nord de la baie d’Hudson et le détroit d’Hudson et estive principalement dans le bassin de Foxe et le nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson; (4) la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin, qui estive dans la baie de Baffin et l’Extrême-Arctique canadien et hiverne le long de la limite de la banquise dans le détroit de Davis et au large de la côte ouest du Groenland; (5) la population du Svalbard (Spitzberg), centrée sur les mers de Barents et du Groenland.


Figure 2 : Aire de répartition mondiale approximative des cinq populations de baleines boréales

Figure 2 : Aire de répartition mondiale approximative des cinq populations de baleines boréales(d’après Braham et al., 1984).

D’après Braham et al., 1984.


Les baleines boréales étaient chassées par les Inuits au XVIIIe siècle le long de la côte du Labrador, jusqu’à Hopedale vers le sud (Taylor, 1988). Elles étaient également une cible de choix, et peut-être la cible principale, de la chasse commerciale à la baleine pratiquée à très grande échelle par les Basques dans le détroit de Belle-Isle au XVIe et au XVIIe siècle (Rastogi et al., 2004). Aucune baleine boréale vivante n’a été observée dans le sud de la mer du Labrador depuis plus d’un siècle, mais un juvénile mort a été observé flottant au large de la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve en octobre 1998 (Daoust et al., 1998). On ignore si les baleines boréales chassées dans le détroit de Belle-Isle et dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent au XVIe et au XVIIe siècle formaient une population distincte ou si elles appartenaient à la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin, qui aurait étendu son domaine vers le sud pendant le Petit Âge glaciaire (Rastogi et al., 2004). Il faudrait procéder à une analyse génétique des os retrouvés dans les sites historiques de chasse à la baleine pour répondre à cette question.

Au cours des âges, l’aire de répartition de la baleine boréale a varié au gré des fluctuations de la banquise (Schledermann, 1976; McCartney et Savelle, 1985; Dyke et Morris, 1990; Dyke et al., 1996). Durant l’optimum climatique (il y a de 7 500 à 10 000 ans) les baleines boréales occupaient une plus grande partie de l’Arctique canadien, et il est possible que des échanges aient eu lieu entre les populations de l’est et de l’ouest de l’Arctique (Bednarski, 1990). Certains échanges pourraient être survenus à des époques plus récentes (Bockstoce et Burns, 1993).

La distinction entre la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe et la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin est particulièrement importante dans la définition des aires de répartition des populations. Jusqu’à tout récemment, les preuves à l’appui de cette distinction étaient circonstancielles et indirectes (Reeves et al., 1983; Reeves et Mitchell, 1990). Or, les résultats préliminaires de l’analyse génétique des fréquences d’haplotypes d’ADNmt, présentés par Maiers et al. (1999), semblent corroborer cette distinction. L’haplotype le plus fréquent parmi les 22 haplotypes étudiés est fortement représenté dans les populations des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort (3/9 individus échantillonnés) et de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe (13/34 individus échantillonnés), mais absent de la population du détroit de Davis (0/19 individus échantillonnés). Maiers et al. (1999) concluent provisoirement que la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe est plus apparentée à la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort qu’à la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin.

Plus récemment, on a analysé la structure génétique moléculaire (séquençage de la région de la boucle D de l’ADN mitochondrial et analyse de 15 loci de microsatellites d’ADN nucléique) de 286 baleines boréales échantillonnées en divers endroits de l’est de l’Arctique canadien et de l’ouest du Groenland (Postma et al., 2005; MPO, 2005). L’analyse des microsatellites d’ADN nucléique révèle une différenciation génétique entre certains groupes d’échantillons, notamment ceux d’Igloolik dans le nord du bassin de Foxe par comparaison à ceux de l’ouest du Groenland et de Pangnirtung dans le sud-est de l’île de Baffin. En outre, les échantillons de la baie Repulse (baie d’Hudson) présentent une différenciation par rapport à ceux de l’ouest du Groenland, mais sont similaires à ceux de Pangnirtung.

Le MPO (2005) interprète ces nouvelles données génétiques par l’existence d’une seule population de structure complexe, qui pratiquerait une ségrégation par l’âge et/ou par le sexe ou par des stratégies d’accouplement sélectif. Cependant, les analyses génétiques disponibles indiquent que les échantillons de tissus tirés de baleines boréales dans l’est de l’Arctique canadien proviennent de plus d’une population (MPO, 2005). Cela corroborerait les études génétiques antérieures, ainsi que l’hypothèse voulant qu’il existe deux populations de baleines boréales dans l’est de l’Arctique canadien, soit la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe et la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort

Les baleines de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort hivernent (novembre à avril) dans l’ouest et le centre de la mer de Béring, aux endroits où la surface présente suffisamment d’eau libre et de banquise non consolidée. Les observations hivernales récentes ont été effectuées principalement le long de la limite de la banquise et dans des polynies près des îles St. Matthew et St. Lawrence dans le nord du golfe d’Anadyr (Moore et Reeves, 1993) (figures figure3 et figure4). Au printemps (d’avril à juin), les baleines boréales migrent vers le nord et l’est pour atteindre l’est de la mer de Beaufort (figure 3). La répartition printanière se limite aux zones d’eau libre qui se développent avec la dislocation de la banquise. En été (de juin à septembre), l’espèce occupe principalement l’est de la mer de Beaufort, le long des côtes sud et ouest de l’île Banks, dans le golfe d’Amundsen et le long de la partie ouest de la péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk. Les observations dans l’est de la mer des Tchouktches et l’ouest de la mer de Beaufort en juin (Braham et al., 1980; Carroll et al., 1987), le long de la péninsule de Chukotka durant tout l’été (Bogoslovskaya et al., 1982) et dans la mer de Beaufort au large de l’Alaska en août (Moore et al., 1989) révèlent que certains individus de cette population n’estivent pas dans l’est de la mer de Beaufort. En automne (septembre et octobre), les baleines boréales migrent vers l’ouest de la partie canadienne à la partie alaskienne de la mer de Beaufort puis traversent la mer des Tchouktches pour atteindre la mer de Béring.


Figure 3 : Occurrence saisonnière générale et voies de migration de la population de baleines boréales des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort

Figure 3 : Occurrence saisonnière générale et voies de migration de la population de baleines boréales des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort.


Figure 4 : Carte de l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien indiquant les endroits mentionnés dans le texte

Figure 4 : Carte de l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien indiquant les endroits mentionnés dans le texte.

1. Golfe d’Amundsen; 2. Île Banks; 3. Golfe d’Anadyr; 4. Île Herschel; 5. Kaktovik; 6. Point Barrow; 7. Île St. Matthew; 8. ÎleSt. Lawrence; 9. Péninsule de Tuktoyaktuk

Les baleiniers commerciaux du XIXe siècle prenaient des baleines boréales du printemps à l’automne dans le nord et le sud-ouest de la mer de Béring (Bockstoce et Burns, 1993). Ces auteurs supposent que les baleines boréales se trouvaient alors dans leurs aires d’alimentation habituelles et non en migration, émettant l’hypothèse que plusieurs sous-populations existent au sein de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort. Bockstoce et Burns (1993) suggèrent une autre hypothèse voulant que ces baleines boréales constituent une seule population qui, réagissant rapidement à la présence des chasseurs, fuyait temporairement les zones de chasse intensive pour se réfugier vers le nord et l’est. L’existence (passée ou actuelle) d’une seule ou de plusieurs populations dans l’ouest de l’Arctique a été l’objet d’un vif débat au sein du comité scientifique de la International Whaling Commission (IWC) au cours des dernières années.

La zone d’occurrence des baleines boréales dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien s’étend depuis la frontière Alaska-Yukon jusqu’au golfe d’Amundsen vers l’est (~ 900 km) et depuis la côte jusqu’à au moins 230 km au large, quoique la plupart des baleines se trouvent à moins de 100 km de la côte (Richardson et al., 1987a). La zone d’occurrence de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort dans les eaux canadiennes est donc d’environ 200 000 km2 (900 km x 230 km). Cette zone d’occurrence est stable. La zone d’occupation de cette population dans les eaux canadiennes est d’environ 90 000 km2 (900 km x 100 km). La zone d’occupation fluctue selon les saisons, la répartition des proies et d’autres facteurs. Les variations annuelles sont également liées à la variabilité de la répartition des proies (Richardson et al., 1987a).

Population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe

En été, on trouve des regroupements relativement denses de baleines boréales dans le nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson et dans les environs de la baie Repulse et du détroit Frozen, ainsi que dans le nord du bassin de Foxe au nord d’Igloolik (figures figure5 et figure6). On trouve également des individus isolés et de petits groupes dispersés le long de la côte ouest de la baie d’Hudson et près de l’île Mansel et des îles Ottawa dans l’est de la baie d’Hudson (Reeves et Mitchell, 1990). Certains individus hivernent dans le détroit d’Hudson (environ 800 km de longueur) et le nord-est de la baie d’Hudson (McLaren et Davis, 1982).


Figure 5 : Occurrence saisonnière générale et voies de migration de la population de baleines boréales de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe

Figure 5 : Occurrence saisonnière générale et voies de migration de la population de baleines boréales de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe.


Figure 6 : Carte de l’est de l’Arctique canadien indiquant les endroits mentionnés dans le texte

Figure 6 : Carte de l’est de l’Arctique canadien indiquant les endroits mentionnés dans le texte.

1. Détroit de Barrow; 2. Île Bylot; 3. Cap Adair; 4. Cap Hopes Advance; 5. Baie de Cumberland; 6. Baie de Disko; 7. Détroit de Fisher; 8. Détroit Frozen; 9. Détroit de Fury-et-Hecla; 10. Fjord Gifford; 11. Baie Isabella; 12. Île Jens Munk; 13. Baie de Kane; 14. Mer du Labrador; 15. Inlet Lyon; 16. Île Mansel; 17. Île Marble; 18. Polynie des Eaux du Nord; 19. Îles Ottawa; 20. Inlet Pond; 21. Inlet du Prince-Régent; 22. Baie Repulse; 23. Détroit de Roes Welcome; 24. Île Southampton

Ross (1974) estime que le territoire de chasse commerciale à la baleine dans le nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson, au XIXe siècle, couvrait une superficie de 60 000 km2 (23 000 milles carrés), soit depuis l’île Marble vers le nord-est jusqu’au détroit de Fisher et l’inlet Lyon en passant par le détroit de Roes Welcome (voir également Reeves et Cosens, 2003). La plupart de ce territoire est encore occupé par la baleine boréale (CGRFN, 2000). Des relevés aériens menés en août 1995 ont révélé la présence de baleines boréales dans le détroit de Roes Welcome, la baie Repulse et le détroit Frozen (Cosens et Innes, 2000). Dans le bassin de Foxe, les baleines se regroupent dans une zone bien définie d’environ 3 700 km2 au nord de l’île Igloolik. Cette région s’étend depuis le détroit de Fury-et-Hecla vers l’est sur 71 km jusqu’à l’île Jens Munk et depuis l’île Igloolik vers le nord sur 52 km jusqu’au fjord Gifford. Un récent suivi des déplacements par satellite a également révélé que des baleines boréales passent par le détroit de Fury-et-Hecla pour atteindre le golfe de Boothia et se diriger vers le nord, au moins jusqu’aux parages sud de l’inlet du Prince-Régent (Dueck, comm. pers., 2002). On a observé des baleines boréales migrant vers le nord le long du côté ouest du bassin de Foxe et on en a également observé du côté est de ce bassin au printemps (CGRFN, 2000).

La zone d’occurrence de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe est d’environ 350 000 km2 (annexe 1, tableau 1). Elle est considérée comme stable. La zone d’occupation de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe est d’environ 250 000 km2 (annexe 1, tableau 1).

La répartition à petite échelle des baleines boréales est probablement influencée par les déplacements des épaulards et l’abondance des invertébrés dont l’espèce se nourrit. En août 1999, les baleines boréales étaient quasi absentes de leur aire d’alimentation habituelle dans le bassin de Foxe (Cosens et Blouw, 2003). Elles s’y étaient présentées en juin, mais en août elles avaient disparu. Des résidants de l’endroit ont signalé un comportement anormal chez de nombreux mammifères marins cet été-là (Wheatley, comm. pers., 2004). La dislocation de la banquise avait suivi une séquence « anormale », perturbée en partie par le passage précoce d’un brise-glace dans le détroit Frozen. De plus, les épaulards étaient plus abondants que d’habitude (Wheatley, comm. pers., 2004).

Population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin

Une partie de cette population se déplace vers l’est par le détroit de Lancaster à la fin de juin et au début de juillet, demeurant dans les inlets et les détroits de l’Extrême-Arctique jusqu’en septembre (figures figure6 et figure7). Une autre partie, composée surtout d’adultes et d’adolescents, demeure au large de la côte est de l’île de Baffin pendant l’été et l’automne (Davis et Koski, 1980; Finley, 1990), et migre vers le nord à partir de là (CGRFN, 2000) ou du Groenland (Heide-Jørgensen et al., 2003).Certaines baleines boréales hivernent dans la baie de Disko, sur la côte ouest du Groenland, ou dans les environs (Heide-Jørgensen et Finley, 1991; Reeves et Heide-Jørgensen, 1996), arrivant sur place à la fin de novembre et en décembre et y demeurant jusqu’en avril ou en mai (Born et Heide-Jørgensen, 1983). On croit que d’autres baleines boréales hivernent dans le centre du détroit de Davis et le sud de la baie de Baffin, dans la banquise non consolidée et dans des polynies (Finley, 1990; idem, 2001).

Les baleines boréales appartenant à cette population fréquentent les eaux canadiennes comprises entre la limite sud de la banquise dans le détroit de Davis et la polynie des Eaux du Nord dans l’Extrême-Arctique (~ 2 100 km), et entre l’île de Baffin et la côte du Groenland. Au cours de l’été, elles occupent également les détroits de Lancaster et de Barrow et les inlets adjacents. La zone d’occurrence de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin dans les eaux canadiennes est donc d’environ 800 000 km2 (annexe 1, tableau 2).

Sa zone d’occurrence dans l’Arctique est considérée comme stable puisqu’on retrouve des baleines boréales à peu près aux mêmes endroits qu’à l’époque de la chasse commerciale à la baleine. Par contre, les baleines boréales ont disparu du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du détroit de Belle-Isle, où elles étaient chassées par les Basques au xvie siècle (Rastogi et al., 2004). On ignore si les baleines chassées dans cette région constituaient une population distincte ou si elles appartenaient à la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin (Rastogi et al., 2004). La zone d’occupation de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin est d’environ 300 000 km2 (annexe 1, tableau 2).


Figure 7 : Occurrence saisonnière générale et voies de migration de la population de baleines boréales du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin

Figure 7 : Occurrence saisonnière générale et voies de migration de la population de baleines boréales du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin.