Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bowhead Whale in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Bowheads occur in marine waters and in conditions ranging from open water to thick, extensive (but unconsolidated) pack ice. They are able to break thick ice (over 20 cm) to breathe and can navigate under extensive ice fields (George et al. 1989). Once bowheads arrive on their summering grounds, their primary activity is feeding (Thomas 1999; Würsig et al. 2001). Thus habitat requirements during this time would depend on the distribution of their primary food source (zooplankton), which can be affected by temperature and salinity, nutrient availability, and light intensity (Mackas et al. 1985). This along with water masses of different properties can influence the distribution and abundance of zooplankton (Simard et al. 1986; Castel and Veiga 1990). Physical processes in the Beaufort Sea vary considerably from year to year, causing the distribution and abundance of zooplankton to also vary (Griffiths and Thomson 2001).

On the summering grounds in July, bowheads from the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population seem to aggregate in the western half of Amundsen Gulf in deep areas (>200 m), where breakup occurs early. By late August, they have moved farther west into shallower waters (<100 m) east and west of the Mackenzie Delta (Richardson et al. 1987a). Subadults (<10 m long) are the dominant group in shallow (<20 m) nearshore areas during the fall migration in the Alaskan Beaufort Sea, with progressively fewer small subadult whales and more large subadults and adults as water depth increases (Koski and Miller 2001). Using sighting data from aerial surveys, Moore et al. (2000) found that bowheads selected inner shelf waters (≤50 m) and light ice conditions in the autumn. Moore (2000) also found that bowheads selected shallow inner-shelf waters (≤50 m) during moderate and light ice conditions, and deeper slope habitat (201-2000 m) during heavy ice conditions. Some adults may summer far offshore in pack ice or at the ice edge (Richardson et al. 1987a; Koski pers. comm. 1999).

Bowheads in Foxe Basin aggregate along the land-fast ice edge in June and July before the ice breaks up. The whales use the ice edge for socializing and feeding, possibly because the ice edge offers both food and shelter (Thomas 1999).

In Isabella Bay (east coast of Baffin Island), whales congregate in areas that correspond to major underwater bathymetric features (Finley 1990; Finley et al. 1994). Most feeding activity takes place in two deep troughs where food is most concentrated, and most social-sexual activity takes place on Isabella Bank, possibly because it offers both protection from killer whales and shelter from heavy seas and strong currents (Finley 1990; Finley et al. 1994).


Trends

There is considerable variation among years in the geographic locations where bowheads are sighted during their fall migration (Koski and Miller 2001), and in the summering areas in the Canadian Beaufort Sea (Richardson et al. 1987a; Moore and Reeves 1993). The near absence of bowheads in northern Foxe Basin in August 1999, when they are normally abundant there, raised a number of questions about the distribution patterns of the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population (Cosens and Blouw 2003). Koski and Miller (2001) suggested that between-year variation is related to the local abundance of bowhead prey and the differing locations of water mass boundaries that affect zooplankton (Griffiths and Thomson 2001; Griffiths et al. 2001).

Oil development in the Alaskan Beaufort Sea may be causing bowheads to migrate farther offshore. Richardson et al. (1995) observed an avoidance response to active seismic vessels as far as 20 km away. However, the disturbance from oil and gas development is not known to have affected the population growth rate.


Protection/Ownership

Bowhead habitat is potentially protected in Canada by the Fisheries Act, which prohibits the destruction of any fish habitat (Section 32, 27(2) of the Fisheries Act). A marine protected area is being developed for Igaliqtuuq, near Clyde River, through the proposed Igaliqtuuq Bowhead Conservation Plan (Moshenko et al. 2003). The Hudson Bay Oceans Working Group is developing an Integrated Management Plan for Hudson Bay, with the goal of protecting, maintaining and enhancing the health of the Hudson Bay ecosystem (Oceans Canada 2002). Although there is no marine protected area in the Beaufort Sea yet, a harvest-based monitoring program called the Tariuq (Ocean) Monitoring Program is undertaken by local fishermen, and deals with the ecology, management and contaminants of the southern Beaufort Sea (Oceans Canada 2002). Also, the Beaufort Sea and Amundsen Gulf are in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, and any project that could disturb the habitat there would have to be subjected to screening and possibly public review under the screening and review process of the Inuvialuit Final Agreement. In the Nunavut Settlement Area, projects that could potentially disturb bowhead habitat are initially reviewed by the Nunavut Impact Review Board, which forwards its findings to other organizations such as DFO and NWMB.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine boréale au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Les baleines boréales occupent des eaux marines dont les conditions varient de la mer libre à la banquise épaisse et étendue (mais non consolidée). Elles sont capables de briser la glace épaisse (plus de 20 cm) pour respirer et savent naviguer sous de grandes étendues de banquise (George et al., 1989). Lorsque les baleines boréales atteignent leur aire d’estivage, leur activité première est de se nourrir (Thomas, 1999; Würsig et al., 2001). Ainsi, leurs besoins en habitat durant cette période varient selon la distribution de leur première source alimentaire (le zooplancton), qui dépend elle-même de la température et de la salinité de l’eau, de la disponibilité des nutriments et de l’intensité lumineuse (Mackas et al., 1985). Ces facteurs, de même que les différences dans les propriétés des masses d’eau, influencent la répartition et l’abondance du zooplancton (Simard et al., 1986; Castel et Veiga, 1990). Les processus physiques, dans la mer de Beaufort, varient considérablement d’année en année, causant une variation dans la répartition et l’abondance du zooplancton (Griffiths et Thomson, 2001).

En juillet, dans leur aire d’estivage, les baleines boréales de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort semblent se regrouper dans la moitié ouest du golfe d’Amundsen, dans les zones profondes (> 200 m) où la dislocation des glaces est précoce. Avant la fin d’août, elles se seront déplacées plus à l’ouest dans des eaux moins profondes (< 100 m), à l’est et à l’ouest du delta du Mackenzie (Richardson et al., 1987a). Les subadultes (< 10 m de longueur) sont le groupe dominant dans les eaux peu profondes (< 20 m) près de la côte au cours de la migration d’automne dans la partie alaskienne de la mer de Beaufort; les petits subadultes sont de moins en moins nombreux et la proportion de gros subadultes et d’adultes augmente progressivement avec la profondeur de l’eau (Koski et Miller, 2001). Par des observations et des relevés aériens, Moore et al. (2000) ont constaté que les baleines boréales préfèrent les eaux littorales du plateau continental (≤ 50 m) et les glaces minces en automne. Moore (2000) a également démontré que les baleines boréales choisissent les eaux littorales peu profondes du plateau (≤ 50 m) lorsque le couvert de glace est faible à moyen et un habitat de talus plus profond (de 201 à 2 000 m) dans des conditions de glace épaisse. Certains adultes estivent loin des côtes, dans la banquise ou à la limite des glaces (Richardson et al., 1987a; Koski, comm. pers., 1999).

Les baleines boréales du bassin de Foxe se regroupent le long de la limite de la banquise côtière en juin et en juillet, avant la dislocation des glaces. Les baleines fréquentent la bordure de la banquise pour socialiser et se nourrir, peut-être parce que cet habitat offre à la fois de la nourriture et un refuge (Thomas, 1999).

Dans la baie Isabella (côte est de l’île de Baffin), les baleines se rassemblent dans des secteurs correspondant aux grandes lignes du profil bathymétrique (Finley, 1990; Finley et al., 1994) : la plupart des activités de quête de nourriture ont lieu dans deux fosses profondes où la nourriture est concentrée, alors que les activités sociales et sexuelles se déroulent surtout sur le banc Isabella, peut-être parce que celui-ci offre une protection contre les épaulards, les tempêtes et les forts courants (Finley, 1990; Finley et al., 1994).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Les coordonnées géographiques des observations de baleines boréales pendant la migration d’automne varie considérablement d’une année à l’autre (Koski et Miller, 2001). Il en va de même dans leurs aires d’estivage, dans la partie canadienne de la mer de Beaufort (Richardson et al., 1987a; Moore et Reeves, 1993). La quasi-absence de baleines boréales dans le nord du bassin de Foxe en août 1999, alors qu’elles y sont d’habitude nombreuses, a suscité plusieurs interrogations sur les modes de répartition de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe (Cosens et Blouw, 2003). Koski et Miller (2001) jugent que cette variation interannuelle est liée à l’abondance locale des proies de la baleine boréale et à la fluctuation des limites entre les masses d’eau, qui influe sur le zooplancton (Griffiths et Thomson, 2001; Griffiths et al., 2001).

L’exploitation pétrolière dans la partie alaskienne de la mer de Beaufort pourrait forcer les baleines boréales à migrer plus au large. Richardson et al. (1995) ont observé un comportement d’évitement relativement à des navires d’exploration sismique actifs distants de 20 km. Par contre, il n’a pas été démontré que les perturbations liées à l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière ont un effet sur le taux de croissance de la population.


Protection et propriété

L’habitat de la baleine boréale jouit au Canada d’une protection éventuelle en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, qui interdit la destruction de tout habitat des poissons (article 32 et paragraphe 27(2) de la Loi sur les pêches). Une zone de protection marine est en cours de création à Igaliqtuuq, près de Clyde River, dans le cadre du plan de conservation des baleines boréales d’Igaliqtuuq (Moshenko et al., 2003). Le groupe de travail sur les océans de la baie d’Hudson élabore un plan intégré de gestion pour la baie d’Hudson visant à protéger, à conserver et à assainir l’écosystème de la baie (Oceans Canada, 2002). Bien que la mer de Beaufort ne contienne encore aucune zone de protection marine, un programme de suivi fondé sur les captures, nommé Tariuq (l’océan), a été entrepris par les pêcheurs locaux et vise l’écologie, la gestion et les contaminants de la mer de Beaufort du sud (Oceans Canada, 2002). En outre, la mer de Beaufort et le golfe d’Amundsen chevauchent la région désignée des Inuvialuit. De ce fait, tout projet susceptible d’y perturber l’habitat doit être soumis à un examen, voire à une consultation publique, en vertu du processus d’examen et de consultation prévu par la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit. Dans la région du Nunavut, les projets susceptibles de perturber l’habitat de la baleine boréale sont initialement examinés par la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l’examen des répercussions, qui transmet ses conclusions à d’autres entités comme le MPO et le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut (CGRFN).