Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bowhead Whale in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Commercial whaling had severely depleted all populations of bowhead whales by the 1900s. Whaling started near Labrador in the 1500s and had spread to the Bering Sea by the mid-1800s (Braham 1984). Woodby and Botkin (1993) estimated that there were 10 400-23 000 bowheads in the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population prior to whaling and that this number had fallen to less than 3 000 by the time commercial whaling stopped. The commercial whaling period for the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Seas population lasted from 1848-1914, with about 20 070 bowheads landed (Ross 1993). Woodby and Botkin (1993) estimated that the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population numbered 440 to 470 in 1859 based on catch data from northwestern Hudson Bay between 1860-1915, during which time about 565 bowheads are estimated to have been landed (Ross 1993). Woodby and Botkin (1993) estimated that the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population numbered 11 000 in 1825, with about 28 695 bowheads landed from 1719-1915 (Ross 1993).


Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort Population

Several methods have been used to estimate the population size of the Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population (summarized in Zeh et al. 1993). The most recent published estimate, based on the 2001 ice-based census, is 10 470 (95% CI 8 100-13 500 (George et al. 2004). The estimated annual rate of increase from 1978-2001 was 3.4% (95% CI 1.7-5.0%) (George et al. 2004).


Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin Population

Aerial surveys flown on two days in August of 1994 in northern Foxe Basin estimated 256±31.3 and 284 ±48.6 whales (Cosens et al. 1997b). The average of these estimates was 270 bowheads (95% CI 210 - 331) (Cosens et al. 1998; DFO 1999). An estimate of 75 (95% CI 17-133) whales was calculated from an aerial survey of bowheads in northwestern Hudson Bay in August 1995 (Cosens and Innes 2000). These estimates were not adjusted to account for animals that were submerged or otherwise missed by the observers aboard the aircraft. Therefore they are negatively biased. DFO (1999) have used the combined central estimates from the two surveys--345 bowheads--as a minimum estimate of population size (DFO 1999).

The most recent summer surveys (2002-2004) provide the most comprehensive coverage to date of the bowhead whale distribution in the eastern arctic (Cosens et al. 2005). However, the large size of the summer range precluded surveying all areas in one season. In 2002, bowheads were surveyed in Eclipse Sound, Prince Regent Inlet and Gulf of Boothia. In 2003, two concurrent surveys were conducted: southern Gulf of Boothia-Foxe Basin-Hudson Bay and Admiralty Inlet-east coast of Baffin Island. In 2004, surveys were repeated in Admiralty Inlet and Eclipse Sound, and in Barrow Strait.

The total size of the Hudson Bay- Foxe Basin bowhead whale population cannot be estimated because an unknown number of individuals from this population were in Prince Regent Inlet (and thus outside the study area) during the 2003 survey. The best partial estimate for the Hudson Bay-Foxe Basin population in 2003 was 1026 individuals (95% CI = 338-3124) (DFO 2005, Cosens et al. 2005). The confidence limit is extremely wide, indicating considerable uncertainty in the estimate. A total estimate would need to include the unknown proportion of the whales from this population that were summering in Prince Regent Inlet.

The 2003 population estimate was corrected for numbers of whales that were underwater when counts were made. A mean adjustment factor of 3.8 (95% CI = 3.6-4.0) was applied to the survey counts (i.e., number of whales present was 3.8 times more than the number seen) based on the diving behaviour of 4 whales (DFO 2005, Dueck et al. 2005). An important shortcoming, apart from the small numbers of tracked whales, is that the correction factor incorrectly only considers the fraction of time animals are at the surface, and does not consider the window of time that an aircraft would be able to see a whale at the surface (Barlow pers. comm. 2005). The 2003 estimates of abundance are thus biased, and may overestimate population size by 20% (Cooper pers. comm. 2005).

Assuming a total population of 800 (i.e.,1000 reduced by 20% to account for the potential bias) of which 59% are immature, there may be as few as 300 mature individuals and only about 150 mature females. However, amore precautionary approach in view of the uncertainties summarized above is to apply the lower confidence limit of the estimate (i.e., 338), which suggests the current population is significantly lower than pre-exploitation levels (i.e., there may in fact be no more than 50 mature females).

Insufficient quantitative data are available to assess trends for this population. The Inuit Bowhead Knowledge Study (NWMB 2000) reports that elders and hunters from Hall Beach and Igloolik have seen more whales in the 1990s than they did during the 1960s. Similarly, Repulse Bay and Coral Harbour residents report that they saw more bowheads in the 1990s than they did in the 1970s.


Davis Strait-Baffin Bay Population

On the basis of extensive aerial surveys of NW Baffin Bay and Lancaster Sound (conducted between 1974 and 1979), Davis and Koski (1980) estimated that the number of bowheads migrating southward past Cape Adair was 140 ±33. With the rediscovery of the Isabella Bay whales, and a better understanding of population segregation and migrations, Finley (1990) estimated the Baffin Bay population at about 250. Using Finley’s photo-identification data, it was estimated that about 214 whales were present over a two-year period at Isabella Bay (1986-87) and that the total population could number at least 350 (Zeh et al. 1993), or 375 (95% CI 315 - 435) with the inclusion of the northern component of 140±33 (Cosens et al. 1998). The estimate of 375 was considered negatively biased because no adjustment was made to account for submerged whales or whales missed by the observers for the northern component and not all of the whales photographed were included in the mark-recapture estimate for Isabella Bay. In the winter of 1998 Heide-Jørgensen and Acquarone (2002) estimated that 246 bowheads (95% CI 62 - 978) were present off West Greenland between Qeqertarsuaq (lat 69°N 00’) and Paamiut (lat 62°N 00’) and to as far west as 80 km from the coast. This number included an adjustment to account for submerged whales but the survey area did not cover the entire winter range of the population.

A comprehensive estimate of the Davis Strait- Baffin Bay population is not available for 2003 because an unknown number of individuals from this population were already in Prince Regent Inlet, where both Foxe Basin and Baffin Bay whales summered during the 2003 Admiralty Inlet-Baffin Bay survey. The best partial estimate for the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population is 1539 individuals (95% CI = 631-3770) if the correction factor including cows with calves is used (3.8; time-at-surface=26% of time) and 1944 individuals (95% CI = 797-4762) if the correction factor does not include the data from cows with calves (4.8; time-at-surface=21% of time) (DFO 2005, Cosens et al. 2005). However, the probability of detecting a whale on the aerial survey trackline was incorrectly calculated, and over-inflates the estimate of abundance (Barlow et al. 1988, Laake et al. 1997, Barlow pers. comm. 2005) by perhaps 20% (Cooper pers. com. 2005). The total size of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population is unknown, and could only be obtained if the proportion of the population that summers in Prince Regent Inlet were known.

Bowhead whale surveys were conducted in 2004 in Barrow Strait, Admiralty Inlet and Eclipse Sound. However, bowhead whales were seen only in Eclipse Sound (Cleator pers. comm. 2005). Further work is needed to determine if the animals seen were juveniles or adults. Several factors could explain the absence of whales in other areas including weather conditions, presence of killer whale, or ice (DFO 2005, Cosens et al. 2005).

Insufficient quantitative data are available to assess trends for the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population. Greenlanders reported that the population had not noticeably increased in the last few decades (Reeves and Heide-Jørgensen 1996), but Inuit hunters from Baffin Island reported that numbers there had increased (NWMB 2000). Reeves and Heide-Jørgensen (1996) stated that if this population was increasing in size, it appeared to be doing so mainly in the western part of its range. Aerial surveys continue to be undertaken by DFO to estimate numbers of bowheads in Baffin Bay/Davis Strait, so better estimates of bowhead numbers may be available in future years.

The best partial estimate for the combined eastern Canadian arctic bowhead populations is 5016 (95% CI = 2611-9633) (i.e., Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population and Hudson Bay- Foxe Basin population combined) (DFO 2005, Cosens et al. 2005). This estimate is derived from the pooled 2002 surveys in Eclipse Sound, Prince Regent Inlet and Gulf of Boothia--and is likely overestimated due to the error in calculating the applied correction factor (Barlow pers. com. 2005). A single estimate of all bowheads in the eastern Canadian arctic is unavailable because no single survey covered the entire summer range in one year. The combined estimate is much larger than the totalled partial estimates of the Davis Strait-Baffin Bay and Hudson Bay–Foxe Basin populations. This difference is largely due to the numbers of whales seen during summer in Prince Regent Inlet, which cannot be partitioned between the two populations.

The best available census data suggest that the current population size numbers less than 50% of historic numbers (i.e., pre-commercial whaling). The 2003 partial population estimates indicate that there may be between 1539 (95% CI = 631- 3770) and 1944 individuals (95% CI = 797 - 4762). Even the most optimistic population estimate for all of the eastern Canadian Arctic is less than 50% of pre-exploitation numbers (i.e., 5016: 95% CI = 2611-9633 for Davis Strait-Baffin Bay population and Hudson Bay population). This suggests a population that could number fewer than 3000 individuals of all ages (i.e., 3000 ≈ [5000 – 1000 HBFB pop. est.] X 0.80 bias correction).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la baleine boréale au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

À l’aube du XXe siècle, la chasse commerciale avait gravement décimé toutes les populations de baleines boréales. La chasse à la baleine a commencé au XVIe siècle près du Labrador; au milieu du XIXe siècle, elle s’était étendue jusqu’à la mer de Béring (Braham, 1984). Woodby et Botkin (1993) estiment que la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort comptait entre 10 400 et 23 000 individus avant le début de la chasse, et qu’il en restait moins de 3 000 lorsque la chasse commerciale a été interrompue. La période de chasse commerciale de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort a duré de 1848 à 1914, période pendant laquelle environ 20 070 baleines boréales ont été prises (Ross, 1993). Woodby et Botkin (1993) estiment que la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe comptait entre 440 et 470 individus en 1859, d’après les données sur les prises dans le nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson entre 1860 et 1915. Pendant cette période, environ 565 baleines ont été prises (Ross, 1993). Woodby et Botkin (1993) estiment que la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin comptait 11 000 individus en 1825, et qu’environ 28 695 baleines ont été prises entre 1719 et 1915 (Ross, 1993).


Population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort

Plusieurs méthodes ont été employées pour évaluer la taille des populations de la population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort (voir le résumé de Zeh et al., 1993). La dernière estimation publiée, fondée sur un recensement à partir de la banquise mené en 2001, fait état de 10 470 individus (de 8 100 à 13 500, IC de 95 p. 100) (George et al., 2004). Le taux de croissance annuel de la population entre 1978 et 2001 était de 3,4 p. 100 (de 1,7 à 5.0 p. 100, IC de 95 p. 100) (George et al., 2004).


Population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe

Un relevé aérien étalé sur deux jours en août 1994 dans le nord du bassin de Foxe a permis d’estimer cette population entre 256 ± 31,3 et 284 ± 48,6 individus (Cosens et al., 1997b). La moyenne de ces estimations est de 270 individus (de 210 à 331, IC de 95 p. 100) (Cosens et al., 1998; MPO, 1999). Une estimation de 75 individus (de 17 à 133, IC de 95 p. 100) a été calculée à partir de relevés aériens dans le nord-ouest de la baie d’Hudson en août 1995 (Cosens et Innes, 2000). Ces estimations ne sont pas corrigées pour tenir compte des individus immergés ou ayant échappé à la surveillance des observateurs à bord de l’avion. Elles sont donc des sous-estimations. Le MPO (1999) a combiné les estimations des deux relevés, soit 345 baleines boréales, pour déterminer la taille minimale de la population.

Les derniers relevés d’été (de 2002 à 2004) constituent la plus grande couverture effectuée à ce jour de la répartition de la baleine boréale dans l’est de l’Arctique (Cosens et al., 2005). Par contre, en raison de la grande étendue de l’aire d’estivage, il était impossible de recenser l’ensemble du domaine de la population en une seule saison. En 2002, on a recensé les baleines boréales du détroit d’Éclipse, de l’inlet du Prince-Régent et du golfe de Boothia. En 2003, deux relevés ont été menés simultanément : l’un dans le sud du golfe de Boothia, le bassin de Foxe et la baie d’Hudson, et l’autre dans l’inlet de l’Amirauté et la côte est de l’île de Baffin. En 2004, les relevés ont été repris dans l’inlet de l’Amirauté, le détroit d’Éclipse et le détroit de Barrow.

Il est toutefois impossible d’estimer la taille de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe, car un nombre inconnu d’individus de cette population se trouvaient dans l’inlet du Prince-Régent (et donc hors de la zone couverte par les relevés de 2003). La meilleure estimation partielle de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe en 2003 est de 1 026 individus (de 338 à 3 124, IC de 95 p. 100) (MPO, 2005; Cosens et al., 2005). La limite de confiance extrêmement large reflète l’incertitude considérable de cette estimation. Pour être complète, l’estimation devrait comprendre la proportion inconnue des individus de cette population se trouvant dans l’inlet du Prince-Régent.

L’estimation de la population de 2003 a été corrigée pour tenir compte des baleines immergées au moment du relevé. Un facteur de correction moyen de 3,8 (de 3,6 à 4,0, IC de 95 p. 100) a été appliqué aux dénombrements du relevé (c’est-à-dire que le nombre de baleines présentes était 3,8 fois plus élevé que le nombre de baleines observées), d’après le comportement de plongée de quatre individus (MPO, 2005; Dueck et al., 2005). Une lacune importante de ce relevé, outre le petit nombre de baleines observées, est que le facteur de correction ne tient compte que du temps où les baleines se trouvent à la surface et ne tient pas compte de l’intervalle pendant lequel un observateur en avion est en mesure d’apercevoir une baleine à la surface (Barlow, comm. pers., 2005). Les estimations de 2003 sont donc biaisées et pourraient surestimer la taille de la population de 20 p. 100 (Cooper, comm. pers., 2005).

En postulant une population totale de 800 individus (c.-à-d. 1 000 - 20 p. 100 pour tenir compte de la possible surestimation), dont 59 p. 100 sont des immatures, la population pourrait ne totaliser que 300 individus matures et seulement 150 femelles matures. Par contre, compte tenu des incertitudes mentionnées précédemment, une approche plus prudente consisterait à appliquer la limite de confiance inférieure (soit 338 individus), ce qui laisse entendre que la population actuelle serait beaucoup moins abondante qu’avant la chasse commerciale (elle pourrait ne compter que 50 femelles matures).

Les données quantitatives sont insuffisantes pour dégager des tendances chez cette population. L’Étude sur les connaissances des Inuits sur les baleines boréales (CGRFN, 2000) révèle que les Aînés et les chasseurs de Hall Beach et d’Igloolik ont observé plus de baleines pendant les années 1990 que pendant les années 1960. De même, les résidants de Repulse Bay et de Coral Harbour affirment avoir aperçu plus de baleines boréales au cours des années 1990 qu’au cours des années 1970.


Population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin

Se fondant sur des relevés aériens exhaustifs menés dans le nord-ouest de la baie de Baffin et le détroit de Lancaster entre 1974 et 1979, Davis et Koski (1980) estiment que 140 ±33 baleines boréales migrent vers le sud au niveau du cap Adair. Avec la redécouverte des baleines de la baie Isabella et une meilleure connaissance de la ségrégation et des migrations des populations, Finley (1990) estime la population de la baie de Baffin à environ 250 individus. À l’aide des données d’identification photographique de Finley, on a pu déterminer qu’environ 214 baleines étaient présentes sur une période de deux ans dans la baie Isabella (de 1986 à 1987) et que la population totaliserait au moins 350 individus (Zeh et al., 1993), ou 375 individus (de 315 à 435, IC de 95 p. 100) en incluant le segment nordique de 140 ±33 (Cosens et al., 1998). On considère que le chiffre de 375 individus est une sous-estimation, car aucun facteur de correction n’a été appliqué pour tenir compte des baleines immergées ou qui auraient échappé aux observateurs dans le segment du nord, et toutes les baleines photographiées n’ont pas été incluses dans l’estimation de marquage-recapture de la baie Isabella. À l’hiver 1998, Heide-Jørgensen et Acquarone (2002) ont évalué à 246 (de 62 à 978, IC de 95 p. 100) le nombre de baleines boréales au large de la côte ouest du Groenland, entre Qeqertarsuaq (latitude 69° 00’ N.) et Paamiut (latitude 62°00’ N.), et jusqu’à 80 km de la côte vers l’ouest. Ce nombre comprend un facteur de correction tenant compte des baleines immergées, mais la zone quadrillée ne couvrait pas l’ensemble de l’aire d’hivernage de la population.

Il n’existe aucune estimation complète de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin pour 2003, car un nombre inconnu d’individus de cette population se trouvaient déjà dans l’inlet du Prince-Régent, où tant les baleines du bassin de Foxe que celles de la baie de Baffin estivaient en 2003 pendant les relevés dans l’inlet de l’Amirauté et la baie de Baffin. La meilleure estimation partielle pour la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin se situe entre 1 539 individus (de 631 à 3 770, IC de  95 p. 100) si un facteur de correction incluant les femelles avec des baleineaux est appliqué (3,8; avec un temps en surface de 26 p. 100) et 1 944 individus (de 797 à 4 762, IC de 95 p. 100) si le facteur de correction n’inclut pas les femelles avec des baleineaux (4,8; avec un temps en surface de 21 p. 100) (MPO, 2005; Cosens et al., 2005). Par contre, la probabilité de détecter une baleine sur la trajectoire du relevé aérien a été mal calculée et surestime l’abondance de la population (Barlow et al., 1988; Laake et al., 1997; Barlow, comm. pers., 2005) de peut-être 20 p. 100 (Cooper, comm. pers., 2005). On ignore la taille totale de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin; pour la déterminer, il faudrait connaître la proportion de la population qui estive dans l’inlet du Prince-Régent.

Des relevés visant à dénombrer les baleines boréales ont été menés en 2004 dans le détroit de Barrow, l’inlet de l’Amirauté et le détroit d’Éclipse, mais on n’a aperçu des baleines boréales que dans le détroit d’Éclipse (Cleator, comm. pers., 2005). Des recherches approfondies sont nécessaires pour déterminer si les baleines aperçues étaient des juvéniles ou des adultes. Plusieurs facteurs peuvent expliquer l’absence de baleines dans les autres secteurs, par exemples les conditions météorologiques, la présence d’épaulards ou les conditions des glaces (MPO, 2005; Cosens et al., 2005).

Les données quantitatives sont insuffisantes pour dégager des tendances chez la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin. Les Groenlandais affirment que la population n’a pas augmenté sensiblement au cours des dernières décennies (Reeves et Heide-Jørgensen, 1996), mais les chasseurs inuits de l’île de Baffin soutiennent qu’elle a augmenté (CGRFN, 2000). Reeves et Heide-Jørgensen (1996) concluent que si cette population augmente en nombre, cela se produit surtout dans la partie ouest de son aire de répartition. Le MPO poursuit ses relevés aériens dans le but d’estimer le nombre de baleines boréales dans la baie de Baffin et le détroit de Davis; de meilleures estimations devraient donc être disponibles au cours des prochaines années.

La meilleure estimation partielle pour toutes les populations de baleines boréales de l’est de l’Arctique canadien est de 5 016 individus (de 2 611 à 9 633, IC de 95 p. 100) (c’est-à-dire la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin plus la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe) (MPO, 2005; Cosenset al., 2005). Cette estimation est une combinaison des relevés de 2002 dans le détroit d’Éclipse, l’inlet du Prince-Régent et le golfe de Boothia. Elle est probablement trop élevée en raison de l’erreur de calcul du facteur de correction appliqué (Barlow, comm. pers., 2005). Il n’existe aucune estimation unique de toutes les baleines boréales de l’est de l’Arctique canadien, car aucun relevé n’a couvert toute l’aire d’estivage en une seule année. L’estimation combinée est beaucoup plus élevée que la somme des estimations partielles de la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin et de la population de la baie d’Hudson et du bassin de Foxe. Cette différence est principalement attribuable aux baleines aperçues durant l’été à l’inlet du Prince-Régent, qui ne peuvent être partagées entre les deux populations.

Les meilleures données des relevés disponibles indiquent que la taille actuelle de la population s’élève à moins de 50 p. 100 de la taille historique (c.-à-d. avant la chasse commerciale à la baleine). Les estimations partielles de 2003 indiquent la présence de 1 539 (de 631 à 3 770, IC de 95 p. 100) à 1 944 individus (de 797 à 4 762, IC de 95 p. 100). Même l’estimation la plus généreuse pour tout l’est de l’Arctique canadien se chiffre à moins de 50 p. 100 de l’abondance antérieure à la chasse commerciale (c.-à-d. 5 016 individus; de 2 611 à 9 633, IC de 95 p. 100 pour la population du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin et la population de la baie d’Hudson). Cela signifie que la population pourrait compter moins de 3 000 individus, tous âges confondus [soit 3 000 ≈ (5 000 – 1 000 est. pop. BHBF) x 0,80 facteur de correction].