Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Consultation Workbook on the Addition of Four Aquatic Species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk- Lake Winnipeg Physa snail, Channel darter, Shortjaw cisco, Atlantic Cod (Arctic population)

Part II: Species Proposed For Amendment To The Sara List

ENDANGERED

Freshwater Mollusc

1. Lake Winnipeg Physa snail (Physa sp.)

Status:

Endangered

Last Examination by COSEWIC:

November 2002

Distribution and Biology:

The Lake Winnipeg Physa snail is endemic to Canada and its distribution is confined to Lake Winnipeg in Manitoba. There are currently five extant populations occurring in the following localities; (1) Fisher River Indian Reserve, (2) Pebble Beach, (3) Camp Morton, (4) Dunnottar and (5) Sunset Beach. Distribution is fragmented. Biology is unknown.

COSEWIC Reason for Designation:

Population of this Canadian endemic are confined to Lake Winnipeg where there are continuing declines in extent of occurrence, area of occupancy and extent of habitat due to habitat alteration, human disturbances and quality of habitat. Evidence suggests that nutrients and contaminants from sewage lagoons, industries, waste storage facilities and/or landfills are contributing to the declines.

Potential Protective Measures and Impacts:

Legal listing of the Lake Winnipeg Physa snail will invoke the prohibition provisions of SARA. Over the longer term, potential measures may result in management measures that impact on individuals, businesses, and governments.

Examples of potential protective measures may include:

  • Measures to change land and water use activities - these range from the activities of individuals (i.e. recreation users, cottage owners, etc.) to those of commercial entities (i.e. forestry, farming, etc.).
  • Strict guidelines may be established for those who wish to carry out research on the species or in areas of their critical habitat.
  • More research may be carried out on potential threats to the species and the level of impact of various human activities, especially more research on impacts of lake eutrophication and shoreline alteration.
  • More research may be carried out on areas of critical habitat for the species (the process of identifying critical habitat for endangered species is still in the initial stages).

These broad ranges of measures have the potential to impact First Nations activities, cottage owners, recreational users and other industries.

It should be noted that the recovery planning process will involve further consultation.

THREATENED

Freshwater Fish

1. Channel Darter (Percina copelandi)

Status:

Threatened

Last Examination by COSEWIC:

May 2002

Distribution and Biology:

The channel darter, Percina copelandi (Jordan, 1877), is a small benthic species of the perch family. This fish is light sand or olive-coloured with brown speckles on its back. X-shaped markings are scattered over its dorsal surface. A dark spot or bar may be present beneath the eye and extend onto the snout. There are 8-18 brown oblong blotches along the lateral line linked by a thin brown line. Adults are commonly 40 mm in total length. Although the channel darter is uncommon in Canada, disjunct populations can be found in Ontario and Quebec. In Ontario, specimens were found in the tributaries to Lake Ontario and along the shores and tributaries of Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair. In Quebec, specimens of channel darter were captured in the tributaries of the St. Lawrence River in the regions of Chaudière-Appalaches, Estrie, Lanaudière, Mauricie-Bois Francs, Montérégie and the Outaouais.

COSEWIC Reason for Designation:

This species exists in low numbers where found, and its habitat is impacted by siltation and fluctuations in water temperature.

Potential Protective Measures and Impacts:

Legal listing of the channel darter will invoke the prohibition provisions of SARA. Over the longer term, potential measures may result in management measures and identification of critical habitat that may impact individuals, businesses, and governments.

Examples of potential protective measures may include:

  • Measures to change land and water use activities – these range from the activities of individuals (i.e. gardening, farming, recreation, etc.) to those of commercial entities (i.e. urban development, farming, ranching, etc.).
  • Measures to improve water quality (i.e. reducing suspended solids and nutrients) and control the timing of water flows into tributaries, aquifers, lakes and rivers.

It should be noted that the recovery planning process will involve further consultation.

2. Shortjaw Cisco (Coregonus zenithicus)

Status:

Threatened

Last Examination by COSEWIC:

May 2003

Distribution and Biology:

The shortjaw cisco is a member of a taxonomically complicated group of closely related ciscoes. Historically, the shortjaw cisco was once an important component of the “chub” fishery on the Great Lakes as well as the “tullibee” fishery on Lake Winnipeg.  The species is now believed to be extirpated from the Great Lakes where it occurred, except Lake Superior where it is currently scarce.  The species has also been documented from a number of other lakes including Lake Attawapiskat , Basswood Lake, Big Trout Lake, Deer Lake, Lake Nipigon, Lac Seul, Lake of the Woods, Lake Saganaga, Loonhaunt Lake, Sandy Lake, Sandybeach Lake, and White Partridge Lake from Ontario; Lake Athapapuskow , George Lake, Lake Winnipeg and  Lake Winnipegosis from Manitoba; Lake Athabasca, Lac la Ronge and Reindeer Lake from Saskatchewan; Barrow Lake from Alberta; and Great Slave Lake in the Northwest Territories.

What little is known of the life history of the shortjaw cisco generally originates from the Great Lakes.  The species occurs in deep water generally occupying depths of 55m to 144m.  Growth is characterized as rapid during the first year followed by slower growth in subsequent years.  Maximum lengths attained are in the range of 350mm for males and 370mm for females.  Sexual maturity is believed to occur by the fifth or sixth year.  Spawning occurs over a clay bottom where the eggs are abandoned.  A 300mm female may produce as many as 20,000 eggs.  Freshwater shrimp, planktonic crustaceans and insect larvae are the primary food items of adult fish.  Little is known of the early life history for the species.

COSEWIC Reason for Designation:

This species has been extirpated from Lakes Huron and Lake Erie and is in decline in Lake Superior and Great Slave Lake.  It is still present in Lake Nipigon and numerous smaller lakes where its status is not well known. Threats include fishing, introduction of exotics and climate change.

Potential Protective Measures and Impacts:

Legal listing of the shortjaw cisco will invoke the prohibition provisions of SARA.  Potential measures could include:

  • Reduction or curtailment of fishing activities if they are deemed to be detrimental to the recovery of the species.
  • Monitoring of fisheries catch and by-catch to determine current and/or allowable levels of harvest.
  • Issuance of permits to allow incidental harvest at prescribed rates.
  • More research directed at better understanding of the taxonomy, life history and habitat requirements of the species. 
  • Continued support for broad based ecosystem and watershed initiatives that will contribute to the recovery of the species.
  • Development of stewardship initiatives that would involve stakeholders in recovery efforts.
  • Continued support for educational awareness programs to inform the public and stakeholders about the shortjaw cisco.
  • Development of recommendations to fisheries management agencies to promote site-specific recovery efforts.

Ultimately some measures may have the potential to impact on commercial, domestic and sport fisheries along with industries or developments that have the potential to adversely affect the species or its habitat.

Any individuals or organizations that may require one-on-one consultations should identify that need in Part III of this workbook.

A recovery strategy, currently under development for the shortjaw cisco, will address any issues that may relate to these provisions. A recovery strategy will also identify measures to further the recovery of the species and will involve further consultations.

It should be noted that the recovery planning process will involve further consultation.

SPECIAL CONCERN

Marine Fish

1. Atlantic Cod (Arctic population) (Gadus morhua)

Status:

Special Concern

Last Examination by COSEWIC:

May 2003

Distribution and Biology:

Arctic populations of the Atlantic cod are confined to a few coastal salt lakes on southeast Baffin Island. Populations are confirmed or thought to exist in only seven lakes. These populations exhibit extreme slow growth and late sexual maturity making them sensitive to exploitation or disturbance.

COSEWIC Reason for Designation:

Cod in the Arctic occur mostly in a few coastal salt lakes, and numbers of adults may be no more than a few thousand. Uncertainty with respect to the actual number of locales and populations makes it difficult to assign a higher status, but the known populations are sensitive to human activities. Poorly regulated fishing is a potential threat.

Potential Protective Measures and Impacts:

Automatic prohibition provisions of SARA do not apply to species of Special Concern

A management plan may include the following protective measures:

  • Restricting recreational fishing in areas where the species is known to occur.
  • Restricting gear type used in the commercial fishery in areas where the species is known to occur
  • Strict guidelines may be established for those who wish to carry out research on the species or in areas or their critical habitat
  • More research may be carried out on potential threats to the species and the level of impact of various human activities

It should be noted that the management planning process will involve further consultation.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide de consultation sur l'inscription de quatre espèces aquatiques à la liste des espèces sauvages en péril en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril- Physe du lac Winnipeg, fouille-roche gris, cisco à mâchoires égales, morue franche (population de l'Arctique)

Partie II : Espèces proposées en vue de la modification de la liste de la LEP

ESPÈCESEN VOIE DE DISPARITION

Mollusqued’eau douce

1. Physe du lac Winnipeg (Physa sp.)

Statut :

Espèce en voie de disparition

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC :

Novembre 2002

Répartition et biologie :

La physe du lac Winnipeg est une espèce endémique au Canada et son aire de répartition se limite au lac Winnipeg, Manitoba. On retrouve présentement cinq populations dans les localités suivantes : (1) Réserve indienne de Fisher River, (2) Pebble Beach, (3) Camp Morton, (4) Dunnottar et (5) Sunset Beach. La répartition est fragmentée. La biologie est inconnue.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

Les populations de cette espèce endémique canadienne sont restreintes au lac Winnipeg, où se poursuivent des déclins en matière d'occurrence, de zone d'occupation et d'étendue de l'habitat en raison de modification à l'habitat, de perturbations anthropiques et d'une baisse de la qualité de l'habitat. Les données portent à croire que les nutriments et les produits contaminants provenant des bassins de stabilisation des eaux usées, des industries, des installations de stockage des déchets et/ou des décharges contribuent au déclins.

Mesures de protection et impacts potentiels :

L’inscription à la liste officielle de la physe du lac Winnipeg invoquera les interdictions générales décrites dans la LEP. À long terme, les mesures potentielles pourront prévoir des mesures de gestion qui auront des impacts sur les particuliers, les entreprises et les gouvernements.

Voici quelques exemples de mesures de protection et d’impacts potentiels :

·        Des mesures visant à modifier la façon d’utiliser l’eau et les terres – ces mesures portent aussi bien sur les activités des particuliers (c.-à-d. loisirs, propriétaires de chalet, etc.) que sur celles des organismes commerciaux (c.-à-d. foresterie, agriculture, etc.).

·        Établir de rigoureuses directives pour les personnes qui souhaitent effectuer des recherches sur l’espèce ou dans les zones de son habitat essentiel.

·        Intensifier la recherche sur les menaces possibles à l’espèce et sur le niveau d’incidence de diverses activités anthropiques, particulièrement les effets de l’eutrophisation des lacs et de l’altération des rivages.

·        Intensifier la recherche sur les zones d’habitat essentiel pour l’espèce (le processus d’identification de l’habitat essentiel des espèces en voie de disparition en est encore à ses débuts).

Ce vaste éventail de mesures peut avoir une incidence sur les activités des Premières nations, les propriétaires de chalet, les activités récréatives et d’autres industries.

Il faut noter que le processus de planification du rétablissement nécessitera de nouvelles consultations.

ESPÈCES MENACÉES

Poissonsd’eau douce

1. Fouille-roche gris (Percina copelandi)

Statut :

Espèce menacée

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC :

Mai 2002

Répartition et biologie :

Le fouille-roche gris, Percina copelandi (Jordan, 1877) est une petite espèce benthique de la famille des perches. Ce poisson est de couleur sable ou olive pâle, avec des mouchetures brunes sur le dos. Des marques en X sont dispersées sur la face dorsale; on observe parfois sous l’œil une tache ou une ligne plus sombre se prolongeant vers le museau. On compte sur chaque flanc de 8 à 18 taches brunes oblongues disposées le long de la ligne latérale et réunies par une mince ligne. Les adultes dépassent rarement 40 mm de longueur totale. Bien que le fouille-roche gris soit une espèce peu commune au Canada, on trouve des populations disjointes en Ontario et au Québec. En Ontario, on a trouvé des individus dans des affluents du lac Ontario ainsi que le long des rives et dans les affluents des lacs Érié et St-Clair. Au Québec, on a capturé des individus dans des affluents du Saint-Laurent, dans les régions suivantes : Chaudière – Appalaches, Estrie, Lanaudière, Mauricie – Bois-Francs, Montérégie et Outaouais.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

Cette espèce existe en petits nombres où elle se trouve, et son habitat est touché par l’envasement et les fluctuations de la température de l’eau.

Mesures de protection et impacts potentiels :

L’inscription à la liste officielle du fouille-roche gris invoquera les interdictions générales décrites dans la LEP. À long terme, les mesures potentielles pourront prévoir des mesures de gestion et d’identification de l’habitat essentiel qui auront des des impacts sur les particuliers, les entreprises et les gouvernements.

Voici quelques exemples de mesures de protection et d’impacts potentiels :

  • Des mesures visant à modifier la façon d’utiliser l’eau et les terres. Ces mesures portent aussi bien sur les activités des particuliers (c.-à-d. jardinage, agriculture, loisirs, etc.) que sur celles des organismes commerciaux (c.-à-d. développement urbain, agriculture, élevage, etc.).
  • Des mesures visant à contrôler la qualité de l’eau (c.-à-d. réduction des substances nutritives et des matières en suspension) et le débit de l’eau dans les lacs et les rivières, dans les cours d’eau tributaires, et dans la nappe phréatique.

Il faut noter que le processus de planification du rétablissement nécessitera de nouvelles consultations.

2. Cisco à mâchoires égales (Coregonus zenithicus)

Statut :

Espèce menacée

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC :

Mai 2003

Répartition et biologie :

Le cisco à mâchoires égales fait partie d’un groupe d’espèces de ciscos étroitement apparentées, complexe sur le plan taxonomique. Sur le plan historique, le cisco à mâchoires égales était jadis un élément important des pêches de « chub » dans les Grands Lacs ainsi que des pêches de « corégone » dans le lac Winnipeg.  On croit maintenant que l’espèce est disparue de tous les Grands Lacs où on a observé sa présence, sauf le lac Supérieur où elle est présentement peu abondante. L’espèce a également été recensée dans un certain nombre d’autres lacs, dont le lac Attawapiskat, le lac Basswood, le lac Big Trout, le lac Deer, le lac Nipigon, le lac Seul, le lac des Bois, le lac Saganaga, le lac Loonhaunt, le lac Sandy, le lac Sandybeach et le lac White Partridge en Ontario; le lac Athapapuskow, le lac George, le lac Winnipeg et le lac Winnipegosis au Manitoba; le lac Athabasca, le lac la Ronge et le lac Reindeer en Saskatchewan; le lac Barrow en Alberta; et le Grand lac des Esclaves dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Le peu que nous connaissons de l’évolution biologique du cisco à mâchoires égales provient généralement des Grands Lacs.  L’espèce fréquente les eaux profondes, et on la retrouve généralement à des profondeurs de 55 m à 144 m. La croissance est rapide la première année et plus lente les années ultérieures. Les longueurs maximales atteintes sont de 350 mm dans le cas des mâles et de 370 mm dans le cas des femelles. On croit que les ciscos atteignent la maturité sexuelle environ dans leur cinquième ou sixième année.  La fraye se déroule sur un fond d’argile où les œufs sont abandonnés. Une femelle de 300 mm peut produire jusqu’à 20 000 oeufs.  Le menu du poisson adulte se compose principalement de crevettes d’eau douce, de crustacés planctoniques et de larves d’insectes. On en sait peu sur les premières étapes du cycle de vie de l’espèce.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

Cette espèce a disparu des lacs Huron et Érié et connaît un déclin dans le lac Supérieur et le Grand lac des Esclaves Elle est toujours présente dans le lac Nipigon et dans de nombreux lacs de plus petite taille où son statut n'est pas bien connu. Les menaces comprennent la pêche, l'introduction d'espèces exotiques et le changement climatique.

Mesures de protection et impacts potentiels :

L’inscription à la liste officielle du cisco à mâchoires égales invoquera les interdictions générales décrites dans la LEP.  Voici quelques exemples de mesures de protection potentielles :

  • Réduction des activités de pêche si on juge qu’elles nuisent au rétablissement de l’espèce.
  • Surveillance des prises et des prises accessoires pour déterminer les niveaux actuels et/ou permis de récolte.
  • Délivrance de permis pour autoriser la récolte fortuite à des taux prescrits.
  • Mise en œuvre de travaux de recherche supplémentaires axés sur une meilleure compréhension de la taxonomie, du cycle biologique et des exigences en matière d’habitat de l’espèce. 
  • Soutien continu pour les initiatives générales portant sur les écosystèmes et les bassins versants qui contribueront au rétablissement de l’espèce.
  • Création d’initiatives d’intendance qui engageront la participation des intervenants aux efforts de rétablissement.
  • Soutien continu pour les programmes de sensibilisation visant à informer le public et les intervenants au sujet du cisco à mâchoires égales.
  • Élaboration de recommandations pour les organismes de gestion des pêches visant à promouvoir les efforts de rétablissement propres à un site.

En fin de compte, certaines mesures pourraient avoir une incidence sur la pêche commerciale, non-commerciale, et sportive, de même que sur les industries ou les aménagements qui ont le potentiel de nuire à l’espèce ou à son habitat.

Tout particulier ou organisme qui pourrait nécessiter des consultations individuelles doit indiquer ce besoin dans la partie III du présent cahier.

Un programme de rétablissement, en voie d’élaboration pour le cisco à mâchoires égales, abordera toute question pouvant se rattacher à ces dispositions. Un programme de rétablissement permettra également de cerner les mesures à prendre pour favoriser le rétablissement de l’espèce et nécessitera de nouvelles consultations.

ESPÈCES PRÉOCCUPANTES 

Poissons de mer

1. Morue franche (population de l’Arctique) (Gadus morhua) 

Statut :

Espèce préoccupante

Dernier examen par le COSEPAC :

Mai 2003

Répartition et biologie :

Les populations de morue franche dans l’Arctique sont confinées dans quelques lacs salés côtiers au sud-est de l’île de Baffin. On a confirmé ou on croit que ces populations existent dans seulement sept lacs. Comme elles affichent une croissance extrêmement lente et une maturité sexuelle tardive, elles sont sensibles à l’exploitation ou aux perturbations.

Justification de la désignation par le COSEPAC :

La morue dans les eaux arctiques se trouve principalement dans quelques lacs salés côtiers, et le nombre d'adultes ne comporterait pas plus que quelques milliers d'individus. L'incertitude relative au nombre réel de niches et de populations rend difficile l'assignation de tout statut de risque plus élevé, mais les populations connues sont vulnérables aux activités anthropiques. Une pêche faiblement réglementée est une menace possible.

Mesures de protection et impacts potentiels :

Les interdictions générales de la LEP ne s’appliquent pas aux espèces préoccupantes.

Un plan de gestion peut comprendre les mesures de protection suivantes :

  • Restreindre les activités récréatives dans les zones fréquentées par l’espèce.
  • Restreindre le type de matériel utilisé pour la pêche commerciale dans les zones fréquentées par l’espèce.
  • Établir de rigoureuses directives pour les personnes qui souhaitent effectuer des recherches sur l’espèce ou dans les zones de son habitat essentiel.
  • Intensifier la recherche sur les menaces possibles à l’espèce et sur le niveau d’incidence de diverses activités anthropiques.

À noter que le processus de planification de gestion nécessitera de nouvelles consultations.