Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin

Appendix 1 -Record of Cooperation and Consultation

Cultus pygmy sculpin is listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and as an aquatic species is under federal jurisdiction and managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO): 200 - 401 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC.

To assist in the development of an initial draft of this Recovery Strategy, as well as those for other listed freshwater fishes in British Columbia, DFO in cooperation with the Province of BC assembled a group of experts from various levels of government, academia, consultants, and non-governmental organizations to form the Pacific Region Non-Game Freshwater Fish Recovery Team. This team, co-chaired by DFO and the Province of BC, is responsible for drafting recovery strategies for Pacific Region freshwater fish species listed under SARA, including Cultus pygmy sculpin.

Public and stakeholder input on the draft Recovery Strategy was sought through a webpage, discussion guide and feedback form, available online from March-May 2007. Two public responses were received. First Nations input on the Recovery Strategy was sought through letters sent out to 12 area First Nations organizations, inviting participation. One request for more information was received. Input from the Province of BC was received through recovery team participation.

Recovery Team:

Jordan Rosenfeld, BC Ministry of Environment, (co-chair)

Dan Sneep, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, (co-chair)       

Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research, (coordinator)

Don McPhail, University of British Columbia

John Richardson, University of British Columbia

Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia

Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia

Page 9

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée

Annexe 1 -registre des initiatives

Le chabot pygmée est inscrit à l’Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et, en tant qu’espèce aquatique, est de compétence fédérale et est régi par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) : 200-401, rue Burrard, Vancouver, C.-B.

Pour procéder à l’élaboration d’une première ébauche du présent programme de rétablissement, ainsi qu’à celle de programmes de rétablissement visant d’autres poissons d’eau douce inscrits de la Colombie-Britannique, le MPO, en collaboration avec le gouvernement de la C.-B., a réuni un groupe d’experts provenant de divers paliers de gouvernement, du milieu universitaire et d’organismes non gouvernementaux ainsi que des experts-conseils pour former l’équipe de rétablissement des poissons d’eau douce non pêchés de la région du Pacifique. Cette équipe, co-présidée par le MPO et le gouvernement de la C.-B., est chargée de la rédaction des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces de poissons d’eau douce de la région du Pacifique inscrites en vertu de la LEP, y compris le chabot pygmée.

On a tenté d’obtenir l’avis du public et des intervenants sur l’ébauche du programme de rétablissement par l’entremise d’une page Web de même que d’un guide de discussion et d’un formulaire de rétroaction publiés sur Internet de mars à mai 2007. Deux réponses du public ont été reçues. L’avis des Premières nations sur le programme de rétablissement proposé a été obtenu par l’entremise de lettres envoyées à 12 organismes des Premières nations du secteur, qui invitaient ces derniers à participer. Une demande d’information supplémentaire a été reçue.L’avis du gouvernement de la C.-B. a été transmis par les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement.

Équipe de rétablissement

Jordan Rosenfeld, ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique (co-président)

Dan Sneep, Pêches et Océans Canada (co-président)

Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research (coordonnateur)

Don McPhail, University of British Columbia

John Richardson, University of British Columbia

Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia

Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia