Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Lake Ontario population) in Canada

Executive Summary

Atlantic Salmon

Salmo Salar

Lake Ontario Population

 

Species information 

The Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar) belongs to the family Salmonidae that includes Atlantic and Pacific salmon, trout, charr, grayling and whitefishes.  Adult Atlantic salmon that have been out to sea have trout-like bodies with a blue-green back and silvery sides.  The freshwater adults once populating Lake Ontario were reportedly smaller and darker than anadromous strains.  This report is concerned with the Lake Ontario population (COSEWIC Designatable Unit).

 

Distribution

Anadromous Atlantic salmon once occurred in every country with rivers flowing into the North Atlantic Ocean and Baltic Sea.  In Canada, nearly every suitable coastal stream within Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Labrador, and Newfoundland supported a spawning run of anadromous salmon.  In addition, many inland lakes had freshwater populations that did not migrate to the ocean.  Atlantic salmon populations have declined in number throughout much of their global range, as well as in Canada, and self-sustaining populations are no longer found west of Montréal. The Lake Ontario population ceased to exist over 100 years ago.

 

Habitat 

Streams suitable for Atlantic salmon juveniles and adult spawning are characterized by clean water seldom rising above 25°C and naturally graded and stable beds with stony bottoms comprised of particles varying in size from coarse sand and gravel to large boulders. Anadromous Atlantic salmon utilize estuaries and continental margins as well as open seas for growth to the adult stage.  Little is known about the specific stream or lake habitat required by the extinct Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon.  Usage of streams was probably similar to that for other populations in eastern Canada, and Lake Ontario, because of its large size, likely sustained the adult stage in a manner somewhat similar to that of an ocean environment.

 

Biology 

Atlantic salmon have a complex life history typically described as progressing from egg to alevin to fry to parr to smolt to grilse to adult to kelt.  The Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon, unlike those in eastern Canada, probably did not migrate to the Atlantic Ocean but instead completed its life cycle within the Lake Ontario watershed, with egg through parr stage in rivers and smolt through adult and kelt stages within the lake.  The life history of Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon was probably similar to that of the species in general, although local adaptations such as in run timing are known.

 

Population sizes and trends

The Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon is extinct.  At one time, Atlantic salmon were so common in Lake Ontario and its tributaries that catches were measured in barrels of fish rather than in numbers of individual fish.  The population began to decline by the mid-1800s and continued to decline with various hatchery stocking activities, which began in 1866.  The last known Atlantic salmon was removed from the Lake Ontario basin before 1900, by anglers.  Today, the Lake Ontario ecosystem contains apparently suitable habitat for Atlantic salmon; however, attempts at stocking non-native populations have continued to be unsuccessful in establishing reproducing populations. 

 

Limiting factors and threats

Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon habitat was degraded by timbering, agriculture, and mills and dams across rivers that prevented access to spawning grounds.  Adult Atlantic salmon were also captured as food fish, and harvested in large numbers in a commercial fishery.  Lake Ontario fish communities and the aquatic environment have continued to change dramatically over time; presenting new challenges to the introduction of non-native Atlantic salmon.  There have been many stocking efforts, but there are no self-reproducing Atlantic salmon in Lake Ontario.

 

Special significance of the species 

Atlantic salmon are said to have encouraged the territorial expansion by Europeans into the interior of Canada.  The "king of fish" was valued by aboriginals, provided food for natives and settlers alike, and enabled the creation of a fishery employing thousands of people.  The Atlantic salmon was an important species ecologically, functioning in the movement of nutrients from the lake into its tributaries, and as a top predator in both the rivers and the lake.  Several recent watershed fisheries management plans have identified the public's interest in restoring naturally sustaining populations of Atlantic salmon.

 

Existing protection or other status designations 

Due to its vast range and collectively large population, the Atlantic salmon has been given a global rank by the Nature Conservancy of G5 (demonstrably widespread, abundant and secure), and a national rank of N4 (apparently secure).  At the individual provincial and state levels, however, the designations range from "presumed extirpated" in Ontario, to "secure" in Quebec.  Inner Bay of Fundy Atlantic salmon are currently listed as endangered by Canada’s Species at Risk Act (SARA), and most neighbouring US populations of Atlantic salmon are listed as endangered (US Endangered Species Act).



COSEWIC HISTORY

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) was created in 1977 as a result of a recommendation at the Federal-Provincial Wildlife Conference held in 1976. It arose from the need for a single, official, scientifically sound, national listing of wildlife species at risk. In 1978, COSEWIC designated its first species and produced its first list of Canadian species at risk. Species designated at meetings of the full committee are added to the list.  On June 5th 2003, the Species at Risk Act (SARA) was proclaimed. SARA establishes COSEWIC as an advisory body ensuring that species will continue to be assessed under a rigorous and independent scientific process.

 

COSEWIC MANDATE

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assesses the national status of wild species, subspecies, varieties, or other designatable units that are considered to be at risk in Canada. Designations are made on native species for the following taxonomic groups: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, arthropods, molluscs, vascular plants, mosses, and lichens.

 

COSEWIC MEMBERSHIP

COSEWIC comprises members from each provincial and territorial government wildlife agency, four federal entities (Canadian Wildlife Service, Parks Canada Agency, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Federal Biodiversity Information Partnership, chaired by the Canadian Museum of Nature), three non-government science members and the co-chairs of the species specialist subcommittees and the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge subcommittee. The Committee meets to consider status reports on candidate species. 

 

DEFINITIONS

(2006)


Wildlife Species: A species, subspecies, variety, or geographically or genetically distinct population of animal, plant or other organism, other than a bacterium or virus, that is wild by nature and it is either native to Canada or has extended its range into Canada without human intervention and has been present in Canada for at least 50 years.

Extinct (X): A wildlife species that no longer exists.

Extirpated (XT): A wildlife species no longer existing in the wild in Canada, but occurring elsewhere.

Endangered (E): A wildlife species facing imminent extirpation or extinction.

Threatened (T): A wildlife species likely to become endangered if limiting factors are not reversed.

Special Concern (SC)*: A wildlife species that may become a threatened or an endangered species because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats.

Not at Risk (NAR)**: A wildlife species that has been evaluated and found to be not at risk of extinction given the current circumstances.

Data Deficient (DD)***: A category that applies when the available information is insufficient (a) to resolve a species' eligibility for assessment or (b) to permit an assessment of the species' risk of extinction.

*       Formerly described as "Vulnerable" from 1990 to 1999, or "Rare" prior to 1990.
**     Formerly described as "Not In Any Category", or "No Designation Required."
***   Formerly described as "Indeterminate" from 1994 to 1999 or "ISIBD" (insufficient scientific information on which to base a designation) prior to 1994. Definition of the (DD) category revised in 2006.

 

Environment                         Environnement
Canada                                Canada

Canadian Wildlife                 Service canadien
Service                                de la faune

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, provides full administrative and financial support to the COSEWIC Secretariat.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon de l’Atlantique (population du lac Ontario) au Canada

Résumé

Saumon atlantique

Salmo salar

Population du lac Ontario

 

Information sur l’espèce

Le saumon atlantique (Salmo salar) appartient à la famille des Salmonidés, laquelle regroupe les saumons de l'Atlantique et du Pacifique, les truites, les ombles, l'ombre et les corégones. Le saumon atlantique adulte qui a atteint la mer a un corps semblable à celui de la truite, un dos bleu vert et des flancs argentés. Les adultes dulcicoles qui peuplaient autrefois le lac Ontario étaient, semble-t-il, plus petits et plus foncés que les souches anadromes. Le présent rapport porte sur la population du lac Ontario (unité désignable du COSEPAC).

 

Répartition

À une certaine époque, le saumon atlantique anadrome était présent dans tous les pays ayant des rivières se déversant dans l'Atlantique Nord et la mer Baltique. Au Canada, presque tous les cours d'eau côtiers convenables de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau‑Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Québec, du Labrador et de Terre‑Neuve accueillaient une montaison de saumons anadromes. De plus, de nombreux lacs intérieurs contenaient des populations dulcicoles ne migrant pas vers l'océan. Les populations de saumons atlantiques ont connu un important déclin dans la majeure partie de leur aire de répartition, tant à l'échelle mondiale que canadienne, et il n'existe plus aucune population autonome à l'ouest de Montréal. La population du lac Ontario a disparu depuis plus de 100 ans.

 

Habitat

Les cours d'eau qui conviennent aux juvéniles et à la fraie des adultes sont caractérisés par des eaux claires dont la température dépasse rarement 25 °C et des lits naturellement stables et inclinés dont le fond est rocheux et composé de matières allant du gros sable et du gravier aux gros blocs. Le saumon atlantique anadrome utilise les estuaires et les marges continentales de même que la haute mer pour atteindre sa taille adulte. On sait peu de choses sur les exigences spécifiques en matière d'habitat dans les cours d'eau ou les lacs de la population de saumons atlantiques disparue du lac Ontario. L'utilisation des cours d'eau était probablement similaire à celle des autres populations de l'est du Canada, et le lac Ontario, en raison de sa taille importante, pouvait sans doute soutenir les individus adultes sensiblement de la même façon qu'un environnement océanique.

 

Biologie

Le saumon atlantique a un cycle vital complexe généralement décrit comme progressant de la façon suivante : œuf, alevin, fretin, tacon, saumoneau, madeleineau, adulte, charognard. Les saumons atlantiques du lac Ontario, contrairement à ceux de l'est du Canada, ne migraient probablement pas vers l'océan Atlantique, mais complétaient plutôt leur cycle vital dans le bassin versant du lac. Les poissons occupaient les rivières du stade de l'œuf à celui du tacon et passaient les stades de saumoneau, d'adulte et de charognard dans le lac. Le cycle vital du saumon atlantique du lac Ontario était probablement similaire à celui de l'espèce en général, quoique des adaptations locales, comme la date de montaison, sont connues.

 

Tailles et tendances des populations

Le saumon atlantique a disparu du lac Ontario. À une certaine époque, les saumons atlantiques étaient si nombreux dans le lac Ontario et dans ses affluents que les prises se mesuraient en barils plutôt qu’en nombre d’individus. Au milieu du XIXe siècle, la population a entamé un déclin, qui s'est poursuivi malgré les diverses activités d'ensemencement amorcées dès 1866. Le dernier saumon atlantique à être prélevé du bassin du lac Ontario a été pêché à la ligne avant 1900. Aujourd'hui, l'écosystème du lac Ontario contient des habitats pouvant convenir au saumon atlantique. Néanmoins, les tentatives visant à ensemencer le lac d'individus non indigènes n'ont toujours pas permis d'établir des populations capables de se reproduire.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

L'habitat du saumon atlantique du lac Ontario a été détérioré par l'exploitation forestière, l'agriculture, ainsi que par la construction de moulins et de barrages qui ont bloqué l'accès aux frayères. Les saumons atlantiques adultes ont également été capturés en grand nombre pour leur chair par les pêcheurs commerciaux. L'environnement aquatique et les communautés de poissons du lac Ontario ont continué de changer de façon radicale au fil des années, ce qui a posé de nouveaux problèmes pour l'introduction de saumons atlantiques non indigènes. De nombreux efforts d'ensemencement ont été entrepris, mais il n'y a toujours pas de population autoreproductrice de saumons atlantiques dans le lac Ontario.

 

Importance de l’espèce

On dit que le saumon atlantique a encouragé l'expansion territoriale des Européens vers l'intérieur du Canada. Le « roi des poissons » était prisé des peuples autochtones. Il nourrissait les peuples autochtones et les colons, et sa pêche a créé des milliers d'emplois. Le saumon atlantique était une espèce importante au plan écologique, contribuant au transfert de nutriments du lac vers les affluents et étant un prédateur supérieur dans la chaîne alimentaire des rivières et du lac. Plusieurs plans de gestion des pêches dans le bassin versant ont montré l'intérêt du public pour le rétablissement de populations autonomes de saumons atlantiques.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut 

En raison de l'importance de son aire de répartition et du grand nombre d'individus, le saumon atlantique a été coté G5 (espèce répandue, abondante et non en péril) à l'échelle mondiale par Conservation de la nature et N4 (apparemment non en péril) à l'échelle nationale. Cependant, au niveau des provinces et des États, les désignations varient de « présumée disparue » en Ontario à « non en péril » au Québec. Le saumon atlantique de l'intérieur de la baie de Fundy a été désigné en voie de disparition en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada, et la majorité des populations américaines voisines ont été désignées en voie de disparition (US Endangered Species Act).

 

HISTORIQUE DU COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a été créé en 1977, à la suite d’une recommandation faite en 1976 lors de la Conférence fédérale-provinciale sur la faune. Le Comité a été créé  pour satisfaire au besoin d’une classification nationale des espèces sauvages en péril qui soit unique et officielle et qui repose sur un fondement scientifique solide. En 1978, le COSEPAC (alors appelé Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada) désignait ses premières espèces et produisait sa première liste des espèces en péril au Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) promulguée le 5 juin 2003, le COSEPAC est un comité consultatif qui doit faire en sorte que les espèces continuent d’être évaluées selon un processus scientifique rigoureux et indépendant.

 

MANDAT DU COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) évalue la situation, au niveau national, des espèces, des sous-espèces, des variétés ou d’autres unités désignables qui sont considérées comme étant en péril au Canada. Les désignations peuvent être attribuées aux espèces indigènes comprises dans les groupes taxinomiques suivants : mammifères, oiseaux, reptiles, amphibiens, poissons, arthropodes, mollusques, plantes vasculaires, mousses et lichens.

 

COMPOSITION DU COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC est composé de membres de chacun des organismes responsable des espèces sauvages des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, de quatre organismes fédéraux (le Service canadien de la faune, l’Agence Parcs Canada, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et le Partenariat fédéral d’information sur la biodiversité, lequel est présidé par le Musée canadien de la nature), de trois membres scientifiques non gouvernementaux et des coprésidents des sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces et du sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. Le Comité se réunit au moins une fois par année pour étudier les rapports de situation des espèces candidates.

 

DÉFINITIONS

(2006)

Espèce sauvage: Espèce, sous-espèce, variété ou population géographiquement ou génétiquement distincte d'animal, de plante ou d'une autre organisme d'origine sauvage (sauf une bactérie ou un virus) qui est soit indigène du Canada ou qui s'est propagée au Canada sans intervention humaine et y est présente depuis au moins cinquante ans.

Disparue (D): Espèce sauvage qui n'existe plus.

Disparue du pays (DP): Espèce sauvage qui n'existe plus à l'état sauvage au Canada, mais qui est présente ailleurs.

En voie de disparition (VD)*: Espèce sauvage exposée à une disparition de la planète ou à une disparition du pays imminente.

Menacée (M): Espèce sauvage susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si les facteurs limitants ne sont pas renversés.

Préoccupante (P)**: Espèce sauvage qui peut devenir une espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition en raison de l'effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces reconnues qui pèsent sur elle.

Non en péril (NEP)***: Espèce sauvage qui a été évaluée et jugée comme ne risquant pas de disparaître étant donné les circonstances actuelles.

Données insuffisantes (DI)****: Une catégorie qui s'applique lorsque l'information disponible est insuffisante (a) pour déterminer l'admissibilité d'une espèce àl'évaluation ou (b) pour permettre une évaluation du risque de disparition de l'espèce.

*           Appelée « espèce disparue du Canada » jusqu'en 2003.
**         Appelée « espèce en danger de disparition » jusqu'en 2000.
***       Appelée « espèce rare » jusqu'en 1990, puis « espèce vulnérable » de 1990 à 1999.
****     Autrefois « aucune catégorie » ou « aucune désignation nécessaire ».
*****   Catégorie « DSIDD » (données insuffisantes pour donner une désignation) jusqu'en 1994, puis « indéterminé » de 1994 à 1999. Définition de la catégorie (DI) révisée en 2006.

Environnement                             Environment
Canada                                       Canada

Service canadien                          Canadian
de la faune                                   Wildlife Service

Le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada assure un appui administratif et financier complet au Secrétariat du COSEPAC.