Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Lake Ontario population) in Canada

Species Information

Name and classification 

The Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar) or saumon atlantique is in the family Salmonidae which includes Atlantic and Pacific salmon, trout, charr, grayling and whitefishes (Mills 1989).  Atlantic salmon have several other common names in English and French, many of which refer to the geographical location of a population or a specific life stage.  Names such as black salmon, grilse, grilt, kelt, grayling, smolt, slink, fiddler, and parr are all lifestage references (Scott & Crossman 1973).  Populations which spend their entire life cycle in freshwater are often referred to as lake Atlantic salmon, non-anadromous salmon, ouananiche, sebago, freshwater salmon or saumon d'eau douce (Scott & Crossman 1973, MacCrimmon & Gots 1979).  They have been found in lakes in New Brunswick, Quebec, Newfoundland, Ontario (Lake Ontario; and an introduction into Trout Lake, Ontario), and the New England states.  

 

Description 

The most complete description of Atlantic salmon can be found in Scott and Crossman (1973) where they are described as having a "trout-like" body with an average length of about 18 inches (457 mm), somewhat compressed laterally, with the greatest body depth usually at the dorsal fin origin or slightly posterior to it (Figure 1).  The sea salmon has a blue-green back, silvery sides and a white belly (Carcao 1986).  There are several X-shaped and round spots mostly above the lateral line (Carcao 1986).  When a marine salmon reenters freshwater it loses the silvery guanine coat replacing it with hues of greenish or reddish brown and large spots that are edged with white (Scott & Crossman1973, Carcao 1986).  Juvenile salmon or salmon parr display parr marks or pigmented vertical bands with a single red spot between each parr mark along the lateral line (Scott & Crossman 1973).  When parr become smolts and go to sea, the parr marks are lost and the fish become silvery (Scott & Crossman 1973).  Adult Lake Ontario salmon and other freshwater salmon were reported to be darker than the "true" salmon found on the east coast and in the British Isles (Dymond 1965).

 

Designatable units 

Approximately 40 tributaries of Lake Ontario were known to support runs of Atlantic salmon (Parsons 1973).  The Credit River was "reputed to be the best salmon river in Upper Canada" (Wilmot 1879).  Scales obtained from two adult museum specimens indicate an exclusively freshwater growth history, suggesting that the salmon that originally inhabited Lake Ontario was most likely a non-anadromous (freshwater) form (Blair 1938). 

Some authors have suggested that prior to the construction of the R.H. Saunders dam in 1958 in the St. Lawrence River, Atlantic salmon would have been able to migrate to the Atlantic Ocean, aside from the distance of 2400 km (Carcao 1986).  However, there is compelling evidence that Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon were isolated from the sea and did not mix with other non-anadromous populations.  The spring date of runs into Lake Ontario tributaries occurred earlier than possible for adult Atlantic salmon to have returned from the ocean. Two runs occurred, one in spring (March/April) and one in fall (Sep/Oct).  Wilmot (1879) reported that salmon appeared in the Humber River in April, and the earliest recorded date in the year for the capture of salmon was March 17.  Anadromous individuals are unlikely to have been capable of moving into Lake Ontario so soon after the ice left the St. Lawrence and arrive in the prime condition noted in the Oswego River in New York, and in the Credit and Humber Rivers in Canada (Webster 1982).  It is therefore highly likely that the Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon population was geographically and reproductively isolated from other Atlantic salmon populations in North America.  Ongoing genetic studies to test this hypothesis are constrained by small sample sizes (historic mounts).

Figure 1.  The Atlantic Salmon. Source: A.H. Leim and W.B. Scott. Fishes of the Atlantic coast of Canada. (1966)


Figure 1.  The Atlantic Salmon. Source: A.H. Leim and W.B. Scott. Fishes of the Atlantic coast of Canada. (1966)

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon de l’Atlantique (population du lac Ontario) au Canada

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le saumon atlantique (Salmo salar; Atlantic salmon) fait partie de la famille des Salmonidés, laquelle regroupe les saumons atlantiques et pacifiques, les truites, les ombles, l'ombre et les corégones (Mills, 1989). Le saumon atlantique a plusieurs autres noms courants en français et anglais, qui font souvent référence à la situation géographique d'une population ou à un stade précis du cycle vital. Des noms comme saumon noir, madeleineau, charognard, saumoneau, saumon vide et tacon réfèrent tous à des stades du cycle vital (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Les populations dont tout le cycle de vie se déroule en eau douce sont souvent désignées sous les noms de saumon atlantique de lac, saumon non anadrome, ouananiche, sebago, saumon d'eau douce ou freshwater salmon (Scott et Crossman, 1973; MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979). Ces populations ont été observées dans des lacs du Nouveau-Brunswick, du Québec, de Terre-Neuve, de l'Ontario (lac Ontario et une introduite dans le lac Trout) et des États de la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

 

Description 

Scott et Crossman (1973) présentent la description la plus complète du saumon atlantique. L'espèce est décrite dans cet ouvrage comme ayant un corps semblable à celui de la truite, d'une longueur moyenne de 18 po (457 mm), légèrement comprimé sur les côtés et présentant généralement sa plus grande hauteur au niveau de l’origine de la nageoire dorsale ou un peu en arrière (figure 1). En mer, le saumon a le dos bleu‑vert, les flancs argentés et le ventre blanc (Carcao, 1986) et présente plusieurs taches rondes ou en forme de x principalement au-dessus de la ligne latérale (Carcao, 1986). Lorsque le saumon revient en eau douce, il perd sa livrée argentée de guanine et prend une teinte brun verdâtre ou rougeâtre et se couvre de grandes taches bordées de blanc (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Carcao, 1986). Les juvéniles ou les tacons exhibent des marques de tacon ou des bandes verticales pigmentées, et une tache rouge se trouve entre chaque marque le long de la ligne latérale (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Lorsque les poissons passent du stade de tacon à celui de saumoneau, ils perdent leurs marques de tacon et deviennent argentés (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Les saumons adultes du lac Ontario et d'autres saumons dulcicoles étaient, semble-t-il, plus foncés que le « vrai » saumon de la côte est et des îles britanniques (Dymond, 1965).

 

Unités désignables 

Environ 40 affluents du lac Ontario étaient connus comme accueillant des montaisons de saumons atlantiques (Parsons, 1973). La rivière Credit avait la réputation d'être la meilleure rivière à saumons du Haut-Canada (Wilmot, 1879). Les écailles prélevées sur 2 spécimens adultes conservés dans un musée montrent un historique de croissance exclusivement dulcicole, ce qui indique que le saumon qui vivait autrefois dans le lac Ontario était probablement non anadrome (Blair, 1938).

Certains rédacteurs ont suggéré que, avant la construction du barrage R.H. Saunders en 1958 sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, le saumon atlantique pouvait migrer vers l'océan Atlantique, et ce, malgré la distance de 2 400 km l'en séparant (Carcao, 1986). Il existe cependant des preuves convaincantes que le saumon atlantique du lac Ontario était isolé de la mer et qu'il ne se mélangeait pas à d'autres populations non anadromes. La montaison de printemps dans les affluents du lac Ontario survenait trop tôt pour que des saumons atlantiques adultes dans l'océan aient eu le temps d'en revenir. Il y avait 2 montaisons, une au printemps (mars, avril) et une autre à l'automne (septembre, octobre). Wilmot (1879) écrit que les saumons apparaissaient dans la rivière Humber en avril, et la prise la plus hâtive d'un saumon a été faite un 17 mars. Il est peu probable que les individus anadromes aient pu atteindre le lac Ontario et parvenir dans la rivière Oswego, dans l'État de New York, et dans les rivières Credit et Humber, au Canada, aussi peu de temps après le retrait des glaces du fleuve Saint-Laurent (Webster, 1982). Il est donc fort probable que la population de saumons atlantiques du lac Ontario était isolée sur les plans géographique et reproductif des autres populations nord‑américaines. Les études génétiques en cours qui visent à vérifier cette hypothèse sont limitées par la petite taille de l'échantillon (poissons empaillés).

Le saumon atlantique. Source : A.H. Leim et W.B. Scott. Poissons de la côte atlantique du Canada [1966]

Figure 1. Le saumon atlantique. Source : A.H. Leim et W.B. Scott. Poissons de la côte atlantique du Canada [1966].