Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Lake Ontario population) in Canada

Distribution

Global range

The Atlantic salmon originally occurred in every country whose rivers flowed into the North Atlantic Ocean and Baltic Sea (Mills 1989) (Figure 2).  In Europe the range of the Atlantic salmon extended southward from Iceland along the Atlantic coastal drainage to Northern Portugal including rivers in both France and Spain (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979).  In North America, the range of the anadromous Atlantic salmon was northward from the Hudson River drainage in New York State, to outer Ungava Bay in Quebec (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979) (Figure 3).  Non-migratory or non-anadromous forms of Atlantic salmon occur in several glaciated areas of Europe, Scandinavia and North America.

The current distribution remains similar to the historical range; however, the number of rivers supporting spawning runs in each country as well as the estimated population densities are much lower than those recorded historically.


Current Global Distribution of Atlantic salmon (Salmo Salar), excluding Canada.

Figure 2.  Current Global Distribution of Atlantic salmon (Salmo Salar), excluding Canada. Source: World Wildlife Fund website: www.worlwildlife.org/oceans/salmon_handout.pdf. Arrows indicate migration patterns of wild salmon. The total number of historical salmon bearing rivers worldwide is indicated at the right of map.

Canadian range

Historically, nearly every suitable coastal stream within Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Labrador, and Newfoundland supported a run of salmon (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979) (Figure 3).  By the mid-1800s, Atlantic salmon populations on Canada's east coast were in decline, suffering principally from the timber trade that necessitated the damming of major streams and rivers used for spawning by Atlantic salmon and that subsequently destroyed or rendered inaccessible critical spawning and rearing habitat (Dunfield 1985).  Atlantic salmon can still be found in much of their northern native range on the Atlantic coast, but populations are currently at very low levels, possibly due to recent reduced marine survival, as well as fishing pressures.  A number of populations of non-anadromous salmon still occur in lakes throughout the region, especially in Newfoundland, Labrador and Quebec (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979, Scott & Crossman 1973).

The earliest written records of Atlantic salmon in Lake Ontario were those of Jesuit missionaries, which described catches of eight to ten barrels of salmon in a single night of fishing (Carcao 1986).  Fishers were able to catch these fish at all times of the year in Lake Ontario, its tributaries and the interior waters of New York (Clinton 1822) (Figure 4).  Runs of salmon were reported to have occurred in most of the north shore tributaries of the St. Lawrence River to the Ottawa River (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979).  No salmon runs were known in the Ottawa River itself due perhaps to poor quality spawning and rearing habitat (Dunfield 1985).  Lake Ontario salmon had historic isolation from the other Great Lakes to the west, due to the impassable Niagara Falls below Lake Erie.

Current Canadian distribution of Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar).


Figure 3. Current Canadian distribution of Atlantic salmon (Salmo salar).  The shading refers to the general areas where the presence of Atlantic salmon has been confirmed through literature records or through observation; at the scale of this map, these locations are approximations.  The X indicates the landlocked Trout Lake, Ontario population. Both the Trout Lake and Great Lakes populations (currently including Ontario) are introduced populations as a direct result of stocking efforts.

Tributaries of LakeOntarioin which Atlantic salmon were native: circled numbers indicate tributaries in which native salmon were planted (Parsons 1973)


Figure 4.  Tributaries of LakeOntarioin which Atlantic salmon were native: circled numbers indicate tributaries in which native salmon were planted (Parsons 1973).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon de l’Atlantique (population du lac Ontario) au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le saumon atlantique était à l'origine présent dans tous les pays ayant des rivières se déversant dans l'Atlantique Nord et dans la mer Baltique (Mills, 1989) (figure 2). En Europe, l'aire de répartition du saumon atlantique comprenait tout le bassin versant de l'Atlantique, depuis l'Islande jusqu'au nord du Portugal, et comprenait des rivières de France et d'Espagne (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979). En Amérique du Nord, l'aire de répartition du saumon atlantique allait du bassin versant de la rivière Hudson, dans l'État de New York, à la baie d'Ungava, au Québec (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979) (figure 3). Il existe des formes non migratrices ou non anadromes de saumons atlantiques dans plusieurs zones glaciaires de l'Europe, de la Scandinavie et de l'Amérique du Nord.

L'aire de répartition actuelle demeure similaire à l'aire de répartition historique, mais les rivières accueillant des montaisons dans chaque pays sont moins nombreuses et les densités de population estimées sont beaucoup plus faibles.

 

Aire de répartition canadienne 

Autrefois, presque tous les cours d'eau côtiers convenables de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Québec, du Labrador et de Terre-Neuve accueillaient une montaison de saumons anadromes. Au milieu du xixe siècle, les populations de saumons atlantiques de la côte est du Canada étaient en déclin, souffrant principalement de la construction de barrages pour le commerce du bois sur d'importants cours d'eau de fraie. Ces barrages ont détruit ou rendu inaccessibles des habitats essentiels pour la fraie et les alevins (Dunfield, 1985). Le saumon atlantique occupe toujours la majeure partie de la portion nord de son aire de répartition historique sur la côte de l'Atlantique, mais les populations sont actuellement très faibles, probablement en raison d'une baisse récente de la survie en mer et de la pression exercée par les activités de pêche. Il existe encore un certain nombre de populations non anadromes dans plusieurs lacs de la région, plus particulièrement à Terre-Neuve, au Labrador et au Québec (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979; Scott et Crossman, 1973).

La présence de saumons atlantiques a été consignée pour la première fois par des missionnaires jésuites, lesquels faisaient état de prises de huit à dix barils de saumons en une seule nuit (Carcao, 1986). Ce poisson se pêchait à tout moment de l'année dans le lac Ontario, dans ses affluents et dans les eaux intérieures de l'État de New York (Clinton, 1822) (figure 4). Des montaisons de saumons ont été signalées dans la majorité des affluents de la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent jusqu'à la rivière des Outaouais (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979). Il n'y a pas de montaison connue dans la rivière des Outaouais, probablement en raison de la mauvaise qualité de l'habitat de fraie et d’alevinage (Dunfield, 1985). Les saumons du lac Ontario ont toujours été isolés des autres Grands Lacs, les chutes du Niagara, en aval du lac Érié, étant un obstacle infranchissable.

Répartition mondiale actuelle du saumon atlantique (Salmo salar), à l’exception du Canada.

Figure 2.    Répartition mondiale actuelle du saumon atlantique (Salmo salar), à l’exception du Canada. Source : site Web du Fonds mondial pour la nature :www.worldwildlife.org/oceans/salmon_handout.pdf. Les flèches illustrent les trajets migratoires des saumons sauvages. Le nombre total de rivières à saumons historiques pour chaque pays figure à droite de la carte.

Aire de répartition canadienne actuelle du saumon atlantique (Salmo salar)

Figure 3.Aire de répartition canadienne actuelle du saumon atlantique (Salmo salar). Les zones ombragées représentent les zones générales où la présence du saumon atlantique a été confirmée dans des documents ou par des observations. Vu son échelle, cette carte est approximative. Le X montre la population fermée du lac Trout, en Ontario. La présence à l'heure actuelle de saumons atlantiques dans les Grands Lacs (incluant le lac Ontario) et le lac Trout sont entièrement le résultat d'efforts d'ensemencement et ne représente pas des populations sauvages autonomes.

Figure 4: Affluents du lac Ontario où le saumon atlantique était indigène : les chiffres encerclés indiquent les affluents dans lesquels des saumons indigènes ont été réintroduits (Parsons, 1973)

Figure 4. Affluents du lac Ontario où le saumon atlantique était indigène : les chiffres encerclés indiquent les affluents dans lesquels des saumons indigènes ont été réintroduits (Parsons, 1973).