Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Lake Ontario population) in Canada

Biology

Reproduction

Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon appeared in the spawning tributaries as early as March and early April; whereas Gulf of St Lawrence salmon do not begin their migration before May, which agrees with the timing of warming of the water there (Huntsman 1944).

The female Atlantic salmon selects a nesting site in a gravel-bottom riffle area and then uses her caudal fin to dig a nesting depression or redd (Fleming 1998).  The eggs and sperm are deposited in the redd and then covered with gravel by the female.  This activity is repeated, including redd creation, until spawning is completed (Fleming 1998). Atlantic salmon are iteroparous; spawning repeatedly during their lifetime.  The number of eggs varies from population to population, but the average female deposits approximately 700 eggs/pound (~1540 eggs/kg) of body weight (Scott and Crossman 1973).  Following spawning, any surviving adult fish or kelt, drift downstream.   They begin feeding and may return the following or subsequent years to spawn again.

Life cycle of the Atlantic salmon courtesy of the Atlantic Salmon Federation. Original watercolour by J.O. Pennanen


Figure 5.  Life cycle of the Atlantic salmon courtesy of the Atlantic Salmon Federation. Original watercolour by J.O. Pennanen.

 

Physiology

Atlantic salmon, like all other bony fishes, are ectothermic and so are dependent upon the surrounding water temperature to cue migratory patterns, to drive metabolic processes, and to determine the rate and success of progression from one life stage to the next (Dymond 1963; Elson 1975; Wilzbach et al. 1998).  Water temperature is an important factor in river ascent by returning adults, together with river discharge (Banks, 1969).  Dependent upon the location of the population, adult salmon ascend spawning streams following afternoon temperature maxima between 16°C and 26°C (Elson 1975).  Optimum temperature for egg fertilization and incubation is approximately 6°C (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979).  Most juvenile growth has been found to occur at temperatures above 7°C (Elson 1975).  The preferred or optimal summer stream temperature for the growth and survivorship of Atlantic salmon is 17°C (Javoid & Anderson 1967), while the upper incipient lethal temperature for Atlantic salmon is 27.8°C (Garside 1973); however, adult and juvenile salmon may live for short periods above the ultimate lethal temperature (Fry 1947).  A sudden increase in incipient temperature of 10°C may bring about the death of resident salmon at temperatures considerably below the upper lethal temperature (MacCrimmon & Gots 1979).

Atlantic salmon juveniles undergo a series of changes at approximately 2-3 years of age and at a critical body length (varies according to location and population) which leads to outmigration (McCormick et al. 1998).   Behavioural changes include: loss of positive rheotactic behaviour and territoriality, adoption of a downstream orientation, and schooling tendencies (McCormick et al. 1998).  The outmigrating period is a critical stage for imprinting to odours used for homing (McCormick et al. 1998).  The transition is cued by photoperiod and temperature, while temperature and water flow appear to be key factors regulating the timing of downstream movements (McCormick et al. 1998).

 

Movements/dispersal 

When juvenile Atlantic salmon reach a certain size-related developmental stage in freshwater, they leave their rearing tributaries in spring and head downriver, to marine or lacustrine feeding areas (McCormick et al. 1998).  Although growth opportunities are generally better at sea than in fresh water, and mortality may be higher in the marine environment, the “decision” as to whether greater advantage is gained from migration or residence depends on the balance of these two factors (Gross et al. 1988).  For Lake Ontario salmon, the availability of prey in the lake may have rendered the need to travel the approximately 2400 kilometres back to the Atlantic Ocean unnecessary.

Historically, there was controversy as to whether Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon made the lengthy migration to the sea or whether they were permanent freshwater residents.  Wilmot alluded to the fact that there might be both an anadromous form and a lake-resident form of Atlantic salmon in Lake Ontario (in Parsons 1973).  In 1938, A. A. Blair published results of a comparison of scales from museum specimens of Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon with those of i) an ouananiche specimen form Lake St. John and ii) a sea salmon from Miramichi Bay, N.B.  Based on the character of the growth of these fish (measured average widths of 10 scale ridges formed during the first summer), Blair concluded that: “ the difference between the ouananiche salmon from Lake St. John and the Lake Ontario salmon is not significant but the difference between Lake Ontario salmon and the sea salmon from Miramichi Bay is significant.”  This study provided evidence that some individual Lake Ontario Atlantic salmon were non-anadromous forms.

Atlantic salmon remain in their natal stream for 2 to 3 years post hatch at which time they migrate to the sea or lake (depending upon whether the population is anadromous or non-anadromous).  The fish mature in the larger body of water and migrate back to their natal stream to spawn following 1 or 2 years of feeding and growth at sea or in the lake.  The Lake Ontario population was thought to ascend the streams in preparation for spawning in two separate runs, one in early spring (almost immediately following ice out) and another in September and October (Dymond 1965).  East of Toronto, salmon entered streams in the fall during the spawning season in October and November with exceptionally few entering in late September; both the Humber and the Credit rivers are stated to have had both spring and fall runs (Huntsman 1944).  Atlantic salmon in Lake Ontario may have dispersed throughout the lake.  Regardless of the locations, mature adults could be expected to have returned to their natal streams to spawn. 

 

Nutrition and feeding behaviour

Stream-dwelling juvenile salmonids are visual predators that forage by holding station in the water current within a defended territory and darting out to intercept prey (Wankowski 1981, Tucker and Rasmussen 1999).  Juvenile Atlantic salmon feed mainly upon aquatic insect larvae including chironomids, mayflies, caddisflies, blackflies and stoneflies that are supplied by the current (Scott & Crossman 1973).  Upon entry to the marine or lake environment, smolts feed opportunistically, primarily near the surface.  Their diet includes invertebrates, amphipods, euphausiids and fish (Hislop & Youngson 1984).  As post-smolts grow to adulthood in a marine environment, fish such as capelin (Mallotus villosus) and herring (Clupea harengus) become an increasingly dominant component of their diet (Mills 1989).  In Lake Ontario, the primary forage fish currently available to the Atlantic salmon are two non-native species: alewife (Alosa pseudoharengus) and rainbow smelt (Osmerus mordax).  Adults cease feeding when they begin their migration to the spawning grounds and consequently are in declining physiological condition at the time of spawning.

Lake Ontario salmon were known to have growth rates more similar to anadromous salmon than to non-anadromous salmon (Parsons 1973).  Rather than indicating that the Lake Ontario form was anadromous, however, this suggests that the conditions in the sea and Lake Ontario were more favourable for growth than those in relatively small lakes inhabited by non-anadromous salmon. 

Of some concern to the re-establishment of Atlantic salmon in Lake Ontario is a condition of thiamine deficiency that has been linked to a diet rich in alewife and smelt.  Both of these species contain high levels of thiaminase, an enzyme that catalyzes the destruction of thiamine (Ketola et al. 2000).  Results of several studies demonstrated that recruitment in non-anadromous populations in New York has been compromised by severe thiamine deficiency (Fisher et al. 1996, Ketola et al. 2000).  Thiamine deficiency can result in high mortality rates of eyed eggs (Ketola et al. 2000) and swim-up fry during yolk absorption (Fisher et al. 1996, Fynn-Aikins et al. 1998).  This condition has been called "Cayuga syndrome", "early mortality syndrome" (EMS) or "swim-up syndrome" (Fynn-Aikins et al. 1998).  Alewife and smelt colonized Lake Ontario in the late 1800s and early 1900s, respectively (Christie 1972).  These non-native species are the primary prey fish for salmon and trout in the lake today.  The dependence of Atlantic salmon on a diet of alewife and smelt lends support to the concern that thiamine deficiency may be affecting natural reproduction.  Research about early mortality syndrome is ongoing.

 

Interspecific interactions and survival 

Factors affecting the survival of Atlantic salmon change with each life stage.  Survival from the egg to alevin stage is dependent upon stream temperature at incubation and hatch, the amount of oxygen permeating the spawning gravel, the degree of siltation and the stability of the nest (i.e., whether it is re-excavated by another spawning female) (Mills 1989).

Survival from the fry to parr stage is primarily dependant upon optimal stream temperature which facilitates growth, and the nature and degree of competition with other salmonids for both food and territory (Gibson 1981, Mills 1989, Scott et al. 2003).  Juvenile rainbow trout are typically more aggressive than Atlantic salmon of the same age; however, this does not automatically translate to superior competitive ability (Hearn & Kynard 1986, Volpe et al. 2001).  While the two species demonstrate some degree of habitat overlap, and thus potentially engage in inter-specific competition, juvenile Atlantic salmon are more associated with positions close to the substrate (riffle areas) and rainbow trout with the water column (or pool habitats) (Hearn & Kynard 1986, Volpe et al. 2001).  Recent research conducted in Lake Ontario streams also suggests that Atlantic salmon and rainbow trout juveniles can coexist successfully in streams where the habitat is suitable for both species (Stanfield & Jones, 2003).  Coho salmon is another non-native salmonid species that through stocking has established a large, self-sustaining population in Lake Ontario (Scott et al. 2003).  The presence of chinook in the Lake Ontario system at very high densities has the potential to negatively affect Atlantic salmon behaviour and restoration efforts (Scott et al. 2003).  Yet another limiting factor for the survival of young-of-the-year fish is the threat of predation by larger Atlantic salmon, other resident fish species and piscivorous birds (Mills 1989).  The possibility for negative interactions between Atlantic salmon and other salmonine species such as rainbow trout (Onchorhynchus mykiss) poses a key concern to Atlantic salmon restoration (Stanfield and Jones 2003). 

 

Adaptability 

There is a recognized association between ‘healthy’ Atlantic salmon populations and pristine or stable natural environments.  This species has demonstrated a low tolerance to environmental degradation and thus has been considered by many researchers as a potential indicator of environmental decline (Wilzbach et al. 1998).  It is important to note, however, that it is the changes wrought by disturbances that cause Atlantic salmon to suffer; once the rate of change has slowed; the salmon can adapt and potentially flourish in the new environmental steady state.

The life cycle of the Atlantic salmon is very complex (Figure 5), involving many different habitats and physio-chemical requirements.  Increases in stream temperature above the optimal range can compromise the incubation of eggs, the emergence of fry, the growth of juveniles, and the timing of smoltification.  Increased sediment loads and siltation can smother eggs in the nest by filling in the interstitial spaces in the gravel and can also restrict the ability of the visual feeding juveniles to capture prey items.  Natural disturbances can be equally as catastrophic as human-induced disturbance to Atlantic salmon populations.  A mid-winter ice breakup and subsequent flood in Catamaran Brook, N.B. scoured salmon nests, causing significant egg mortality (Cunjak et al. 1998).

Atlantic salmon have been raised in hatcheries since approximately 1866 when the federal Newcastle Hatchery was first established on Wilmot Creek (McCrimmon 1950).   The resulting fry and smolts have been stocked in many tributaries of Lake Ontario.  Traditionally Lake Ontario was stocked with non-native Atlantic salmon, but recently, researchers have been searching for remnant specimens of the original Lake Ontario stock.  One possibility had been that some fish of the Lake Ontario basin (NY side) were stocked into waters of Argentina; however, further investigation has suggested that the Argentinian fish originated from the Grand Lake stream hatchery identified in McCrimmon & Gotts (1979) (pers. comm., Gerry Smitka). Comparisons of DNA samples from Argentina, Maine (West Grand Lake, Sebago Lake), and Lake Ontario (wall mounts and vertebrae samples from the 15th century from an archeological dig along the north shore of Lake Ontario) will be conducted to confirm their relatedness.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon de l’Atlantique (population du lac Ontario) au Canada

Biologie

Reproduction

 

Le saumon atlantique du lac Ontario apparaissait dans les affluents de fraie dès le mois de mars et le début du mois d'avril, tandis que le saumon du golfe du Saint-Laurent n'amorce pas sa migration avant le mois de mai, ce qui correspond au moment du réchauffement de l'eau à cet endroit (Huntsman, 1944).

La femelle choisit un site de nidification dans un radier à fond de gravier et creuse un nid de fraie à l'aide de sa nageoire caudale (Fleming, 1998). Les œufs et le sperme sont déposés dans le nid, puis recouverts de gravier par la femelle. Cette activité, y compris le creusage de nids, est répétée jusqu'à la fin de la fraie (Fleming, 1998). Le saumon atlantique est itéropare, c'est-à-dire qu'il fraye plusieurs fois dans sa vie. Le nombre d'œufs n'est pas le même d'une population à l'autre, mais les femelles pondent en moyenne environ 700 œufs par livre (~ 1 540 œufs par kilogramme) de poids corporel (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Après la fraie, tous les adultes encore vivants, ou charognards, descendent le cours d'eau. Ils recommencent à se nourrir et peuvent retourner frayer l'année suivante ou les années subséquentes.

Cycle vital du saumon atlantique, publié avec la permission de la Fédération du saumon atlantique.

Figure 5.Cycle vital du saumon atlantique, publié avec la permission de la Fédération du saumon atlantique. Aquarelle originale de J.O. Pennanen.

 

Physiologie

Le saumon atlantique, étant ectotherme comme tous les autres poissons osseux, c'est la température de l'eau qui donne le signal de la migration et des processus métaboliques et qui détermine les taux et le succès de la progression d'un stade de vie à l'autre (Dymond, 1963; Elson, 1975; Wilzbach et al., 1998). La température de l'eau, tout comme le débit fluvial, est un important facteur pour la remonte des adultes dans leur cours d'eau natal (Banks, 1969). Selon le lieu, les saumons adultes remontent les cours d'eau de fraie lorsque la température maximale l'après-midi atteint entre 16 °C et 26 °C (Elson, 1975). La température optimale pour la fécondation et l'incubation des œufs est d'environ 6°C (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979). La croissance des juvéniles a surtout été observée à des températures supérieures à 7 °C (Elson, 1975). La température estivale préférable ou optimale des cours d'eau pour la croissance et la survie du saumon atlantique est de 17 °C (Javoid et Anderson, 1967), alors que la température létale de l'espèce est de 27,8 °C (Garside, 1973). Les adultes et les juvéniles peuvent toutefois vivre pendant de courtes périodes à des températures supérieures (Fry, 1947). Une augmentation soudaine de 10 °C de la température de l'eau peut causer la mort de saumons même si la température est de beaucoup inférieure à la température létale (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979).

Lorsqu'ils ont environ deux ou trois ans et que leur corps atteint une certaine longueur (variable selon le lieu et la population), les juvéniles subissent des changements qui les poussent à descendre leur cours d'eau (McCormick et al., 1998). Les changements comportementaux sont notamment la perte du comportement rhéostatique positif et de la territorialité, l’adoption d'une orientation vers l'aval et une tendance à la grégarité (McCormick et al., 1998). La période de descente est essentielle pour la mémorisation des odeurs qui permettront aux saumons de revenir au lieu de leur naissance (McCormick et al., 1998). La transition est déclenchée par la photopériode et la température, alors que la température et le débit de l'eau semblent être des facteurs importants pour la régulation des mouvements d'avalaison (McCormick et al., 1998).

 

Déplacements et dispersion

Lorsque les juvéniles atteignent un certain stade développemental lié à la taille, ils quittent au printemps les affluents de fraie et descendent les cours d'eau pour atteindre des aires d'alimentation marines ou lacustres (McCormick et al., 1998). Les possibilités de croissance sont meilleures en mer qu'en eau douce, mais le taux de mortalité y est plus élevé. La « décision » d'aller en mer ou de rester en eau douce dépend donc de ces deux facteurs (Gross et al., 1988). Dans le cas du saumon du lac Ontario, la disponibilité des proies a peut-être rendu inutile un voyage d'environ 2 400 km vers l'océan Atlantique.

Il y avait autrefois une controverse quant à la nature du saumon atlantique du lac Ontario : certains croyaient qu'il entreprenait un long périple vers la mer, alors que d'autres pensaient qu'il était dulcicole. Wilmot a quant à lui fait allusion à la possible présence dans le lac d'une forme anadrome et d'une forme dulcicole (dans Parsons, 1973). En 1938, A. A. Blair a publié les résultats d'une comparaison réalisée entre les écailles de spécimens de musée de saumons atlantiques du lac Ontario et celles d'un spécimen de ouananiche du lac Saint-Jean et d'un spécimen de saumon de mer de la baie Miramichi, au Nouveau-Brunswick. En se basant sur les caractéristiques de la croissance de ces poissons (largeurs moyennes de 10 lignes d'écailles formées au cours du premier été), Blair a conclu que la différence entre la ouananiche du lac Saint‑Jean et le saumon du lac Ontario n'était pas importante, mais que celle entre le saumon du lac Ontario et le saumon de mer de la baie Miramichi l'était. Cette étude a prouvé que certains individus du lac Ontario étaient de formes non anadromes.

Le saumon atlantique demeure dans son cours d'eau natal jusqu’à deux à trois ans après sa naissance, puis migre vers un milieu marin ou lacustre (selon qu'il s’agit d'une population anadrome ou non anadrome). Le poisson se nourrit et grossit pendant un ou deux ans et atteint la maturité dans les grands plans d'eau marins ou lacustres, puis retourne à son cours d'eau natal pour frayer. On pense que la population du lac Ontario remontait les cours d'eau pour frayer en deux montaisons distinctes : une au début du printemps (presque immédiatement après le retrait des glaces) et une autre en septembre et octobre (Dymond, 1965). À l'est de Toronto, les saumons entraient dans les cours d'eau de fraie en octobre et en novembre, et dans de très rares cas, à la fin de septembre. Des montaisons printanières et automnales ont été observées dans les rivières Humber et Credit (Huntsman, 1944). Le saumon atlantique du lac Ontario se dispersait peut-être dans tout le lac. Peu importe l'endroit où ils se trouvaient, on peut présumer que les adultes retournaient vers leur cours d'eau natal pour frayer.

 

Alimentation et comportement alimentaire

En eau douce, les salmonidés juvéniles sont des prédateurs visuels qui se campent dans le courant, défendent un territoire et s'élancent pour intercepter leurs proies (Wankowski, 1981; Tucker et Rasmussen, 1999). Les juvéniles se nourrissent principalement de larves d'insectes aquatiques, comme les chironomidés, les éphéméroptères, les trichoptères, les mouches noires et les plécoptères que leur apporte le courant (Scott et Crossman, 1973). À leur arrivée en milieu marin ou lacustre, les saumoneaux s'alimentent de manière opportuniste, surtout près de la surface. Leur régime alimentaire se compose notamment d'invertébrés, d'amphipodes, d'euphausiacés et de poissons (Hislop et Youngson, 1984). En milieu marin, plus les saumoneaux vieillissent, plus leur alimentation est dominée par des poissons comme le capelan (Mallotus villosus) et le hareng (Clupea harengus) (Mills, 1989). Dans le lac Ontario, les principaux poissons dont peuvent s'alimenter les saumons sont deux espèces non indigènes, le gaspareau (Alosa pseudoharengus) et l'éperlan (Osmerus mordax). Puisque les adultes cessent de s'alimenter lorsqu'ils entreprennent leur migration vers les frayères, leur état physiologique est en déclin au moment de la fraie.

Les taux de croissance des saumons atlantiques du lac Ontario ressemblaient davantage à ceux des saumons anadromes qu'à ceux des saumons non anadromes (Parsons, 1973). Cette comparaison ne suggère pas que le saumon du lac Ontario était anadrome, mais plutôt que les conditions qui règnent dans la mer et dans le lac Ontario sont plus favorables à la croissance que celles des lacs plus petits occupés par les saumons non anadromes.

La question de la carence en thiamine, qui est le résultat d'un régime alimentaire riche en gaspareaux et en éperlans, est préoccupante pour le rétablissement du saumon atlantique dans le lac Ontario. Ces deux espèces contiennent des teneurs élevées en thiaminase, une enzyme qui catalyse la destruction de la thiamine (Ketola et al., 2000). Plusieurs études ont démontré que le recrutement de populations non anadromes dans l'État de New York est compromis par de graves carences en thiamine (Fisher et al., 1996; Ketola et al., 2000). Une carence en thiamine peut entraîner des taux élevés de mortalité chez les œufs embryonnés (Ketola et al., 2000) et les alevins nageants pendant l'absorption du vitellus (Fisher et al., 1996, Fynn-Aikins et al., 1998). Cette affection est nommée « syndrome de Cayuga » ou « syndrome de mortalité précoce » (Fynn-Aikins et al., 1998). Le gaspareau a colonisé le lac Ontario à la fin du xixe siècle et l'éperlan, au début du xxe siècle (Christie, 1972). Aujourd'hui, ces espèces non indigènes sont, parmi les poissons, les proies principales du saumon et de la truite dans le lac. La dépendance alimentaire du saumon atlantique envers le gaspareau et l'éperlan soutient la thèse selon laquelle la carence en thiamine aurait une incidence sur la reproduction naturelle. Les recherches sur le syndrome de mortalité précoce se poursuivent.

 

Relations interspécifiques et survie 

Les facteurs ayant une incidence sur la survie du saumon atlantique ne sont pas les mêmes d'un stade à l'autre. La survie du stade d'œuf à celui d'alevin dépend de la température de l'eau lors de l'incubation et de l'éclosion, de la quantité d'oxygène qui pénètre au travers du gravier couvrant les œufs, du niveau d'envasement et de la stabilité du nid (c.-à-d. si l'endroit est excavé à nouveau par une autre femelle en fraie) (Mills, 1989).

La survie du stade d'alevin à celui de tacon dépend principalement du maintien d'une température de l'eau optimale favorisant la croissance, et de la concurrence avec d'autres salmonidés pour l'obtention de nourriture et l'occupation du territoire (Gibson, 1981; Mills, 1989; Scott et al., 2003). Les truites arc-en-ciel juvéniles sont généralement plus agressives que les saumons atlantiques du même âge, mais ce comportement ne se traduit pas nécessairement en des capacités de compétition supérieures (Hearn et Kynard, 1986; Volpe et al., 2001). Bien que les habitats des deux espèces se chevauchent quelque peu, et qu’il puisse donc y avoir une certaine concurrence interspécifique, les saumons atlantiques juvéniles se tiennent davantage à proximité du substrat (zones de radiers), alors que les truites arc-en-ciel occupent plutôt la colonne d'eau (ou les fosses) (Hearn et Kynard, 1986; Volpe et al., 2001). Une récente recherche menée dans des affluents du lac Ontario suggère que les saumons atlantiques et les truites arc-en-ciel juvéniles peuvent cohabiter si l'habitat convient aux deux espèces (Stanfield et Jones, 2003). Le saumon coho est une autre espèce non indigène de salmonidé qui a été introduite dans le lac Ontario et qui y a établi une grande population autonome (Scott et al., 2003). La présence du saumon quinnat à de très grandes densités dans le système du lac Ontario pourrait modifier le comportement du saumon atlantique et nuire aux efforts de rétablissement (Scott et al., 2003). La survie des jeunes de l'année est en outre menacée par la prédation des plus gros saumons atlantiques, d'autres espèces résidentes de poissons et d'oiseaux ichtyophages (Mills, 1989). Les interactions négatives possibles entre le saumon atlantique et d'autres espèces de salmonidés, comme la truite arc-en-ciel (Onchorhynchus mykiss), sont préoccupantes pour le rétablissement du saumon atlantique (Stanfield et Jones, 2003).

 

Adaptabilité 

Il y a une relation reconnue entre les populations « saines » de saumons atlantiques et les environnements naturels vierges ou stables. Cette espèce montre une faible tolérance à la dégradation de l’habitat et est, par conséquent, considérée par de nombreux chercheurs comme un indicateur potentiel de la détérioration de l'environnement (Wilzbach et al., 1998). Il est cependant important de souligner que ce sont les changements qui perturbent le saumon atlantique et que, une fois les conditions stabilisées, l'espèce pourra s'adapter à un nouvel habitat, voire y prospérer.

Le cycle vital du saumon atlantique est très complexe (figure 6) et nécessite de nombreux habitats et conditions physiochimiques différents. L'augmentation de la température des cours d'eau au-delà des valeurs optimales peut compromettre l'incubation des œufs, l'émergence des alevins, la croissance des juvéniles et le déclenchement de la smoltification. Un accroissement de la sédimentation et de l'envasement peut avoir pour conséquence d'étouffer les œufs dans les nids en remplissant les espaces entre les morceaux de gravier et de réduire la capacité des juvéniles, qui sont des prédateurs visuels, à capturer des proies. Les perturbations naturelles peuvent être tout aussi catastrophiques pour les populations de saumons atlantiques que les perturbations anthropiques. Une débâcle survenue au milieu de l'hiver et ayant causé des inondations à Catamaran Brook (Nouveau-Brunswick) a eu pour effet de draguer les nids, ce qui a entraîné une importante mortalité des œufs (Cunjak et al., 1998).

Le saumon atlantique est élevé en pisciculture depuis environ 1866, date à laquelle la pisciculture fédérale de Newcastle a été établie sur le ruisseau Wilmot (McCrimmon, 1950). Les alevins et les saumoneaux produits en pisciculture ont été introduits dans de nombreux affluents du lac Ontario. Le lac Ontario a toujours été ensemencé de saumons atlantiques non indigènes, mais les chercheurs ont récemment tenté de trouver des spécimens reliques de la population originale du lac. On a pensé que certains saumons atlantiques du bassin versant du lac Ontario (du côté de l'État de New York) avaient peut-être été introduits dans les eaux de l'Argentine, mais des recherches plus poussées ont indiqué que le poisson argentin serait plutôt originaire de la pisciculture du lac Grand identifiée dans McCrimmon et Gotts (1979) (Gerry Smitka, comm. pers.). Des comparaisons d'ADN seront effectuées sur des échantillons provenant de l'Argentine, du Maine (lac West Grand, lac Sebago) et du lac Ontario (poissons naturalisés et échantillons de vertèbres du xve siècle trouvés lors d'une fouille archéologique le long de la rive nord du lac Ontario) afin de confirmer la parenté.