Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the American Eel in Canada

Rescue effect

If the American eel became extirpated or severely depleted in one or more FEAs in Canada, the possibility of a rescue effect can be addressed in two scenarios:

1.     Eels become extirpated or severely depleted in Canada, but there is no substantial change in American components. In this scenario, young eels from the Sargasso Sea, primarily of American parentage, would continue to colonize the whole continental rearing area, including eastern Canada. External components would thus "rescue" the species in Canada. However, egg production in the Sargasso Sea might be substantially reduced due to the lack of Canadian-reared spawners, so total recruitment of young eels to Canada and elsewhere could be much less than normal, and recruitment towards range limits could be reduced if migration is density dependent.

2)    Eels become extirpated or severely depleted in both Canada and the United States. In this scenario, egg deposition in the Sargasso Sea would be drastically lowered, and recruitment of young eels would likely fall to low or negligible levels in all rearing areas, including Canada. The rescue effect for eels in Canada would therefore be limited, particularly if migration is density dependent.

Because of panmixis, progeny of eels reared in Canada colonize the full range of the species in random fashion. Therefore, in the case of a population decline that affects both Canada and the United States, reproductive output from Canadian-reared eels would "rescue" United States components as much as reproductive output from United States-reared eels would "rescue" Canadian components.

There are widespread concerns about the conservation status of the American eel in the United States. These concerns have led to the current examination by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) of the American eel as a candidate for listing under the Endangered Species Act (USFWS 2005). Additionally, the USFWS is considering a proposal to list the species in Appendix III of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). Conservation concerns have also prompted the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission to prepare a stock assessment for the species, which is currently underway.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’anguille d'Amérique au Canada

Effect d'une immigration de source externe

Si l’anguille d’Amérique disparaissait du pays ou était gravement décimée dans l’une des AEED du Canada, la possibilité d’un effet d’immigration de source externe pourrait être abordée selon deux scénarios :

1)    Les anguilles ont disparu ou sont gravement décimées au Canada, mais il ne s’est pas produit de modification substantielle dans les composantes étatsuniennes. Selon ce scénario, de jeunes anguilles de la mer des Sargasses, surtout de lignée étatsunienne, continuent de coloniser l’ensemble de l’aire de croissance continentale, y compris l’est du Canada. Des composantes extérieures viennent ainsi « à la rescousse » de l’espèce au Canada. Toutefois, la production d’œufs en mer des Sargasses risque de se trouver fort réduite faute de géniteurs engraissés au Canada, aussi le recrutement total des anguillettes au Canada et ailleurs est-il nettement inférieur à la normale, et le recrutement vers les limites de l’aire de répartition peut être réduit si la migration est dépendante de la densité.

2)    Les anguilles ont disparu ou sont gravement décimées tant au Canada qu’aux États-Unis. Selon ce scénario, la ponte en mer des Sargasses est radicalement réduite, et le recrutement des anguillettes tombe sans doute à des niveaux faibles ou négligeables dans toutes les aires de croissance, y compris le Canada. L’effet d’une immigration de source externe des anguilles au Canada est donc limité, particulièrement si la migration dépend de la densité.

En raison de la panmixie, la progéniture des anguilles engraissées au Canada colonise au hasard l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. En conséquence, dans le cas d’un déclin de la population touchant le Canada et les États-Unis, la ponte des anguilles engraissées au Canada viendrait « à la rescousse » des composantes des États-Unis tout comme la ponte des anguilles engraissées aux États-Unis viendrait « à la rescousse » des composantes canadiennes.

La situation de l’anguille d’Amérique sur le plan de la conservation est jugée très préoccupante aux États-Unis, où le United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) mène actuellement une étude visant l’inscription de l’espèce sur la liste des espèces en péril aux termes de l’Endangered Species Act (USFWS, 2005). L’USFWS, d’autre part, étudie une proposition d’inscription de l’espèce à l’Annexe III de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES). Les craintes en matière de conservation ont aussi amené l’Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) à préparer une évaluation des stocks d’anguilles, qui est actuellement en cours.