Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the American Eel in Canada

Special significance of the species

Historically, the American eel possessed the largest range of any fish species in the western Hemisphere, and had a dominant position by numbers and biomass in many habitats it occupied. The American eel was one of the most important freshwater fish species in commercial, recreational and Aboriginal catches in the St. Lawrence River watershed. An obvious trend of decline has been pointed out from the recruitment index in Cornwall for FEA1 (Great Lakes– Western St. Lawrence), and from upstream migration data on the Sud-Ouest River for FEA2 (Eastern St. Lawrence), components composed of large fecund females that correspond to an important part of the reproductive potential of the species.

Aboriginal people have historically fished eels throughout the Canadian range of the American eel for subsistence food purposes. Aboriginal lands located within the species’ range include the following specific claims and Indian reserves: 1) FEA1: Bay of Quinte, Akwesasne, Kanesatake, Kahnawake, Odanak, Wolinak, Lorette, Nation Huronne Wendake; 2) FEA2: Premiere Nation Malecite de Viger, Cacouna, Innue Essipit, Betsiamites, Listugui Mi’gmaq Government, Restigouche, Maria, Micmacs of Gesgapegiag, Seven Islands, Innu Takuaikan Uashat Mak Mini-Utenam, Mingan, Natashquan; 3) FEA3: Eel River Bar First Nation, Pabineau, Eel Ground, Buctouche, Fort Folly, Acadia, Bear River, Mill Brook, Paq’tnkek First Nation, Waycobah First Nation, Wagmatcook, Chapel Island First Nation, Membertou, Lennox Island, Abegweit.

The first Europeans to allude to the importance of native American eel fisheries, specifically those associated with the St. Lawrence River system, were Jacques Cartier in 1535 and Samuel de Champlain (reviewed by Casselman 2003). Indeed, eel fishing was already a valuable and traditional activity for Aboriginal people at the time of European exploration of the St. Lawrence River watershed (Bourget 1984, cited in Robitaille et al. 2003). There is evidence of eel fisheries as early as 3,000 years ago. Native fishers fished with stone weirs on rivers, eelpots made of ash splints, and winter and summer spears (Gordon 1993, cited in Prosper 2001). Native people, including the Montagnais, fished eels during the fall season near Quebec City and along the lower St. Lawrence estuary with spears or weirs set up on the tidal flats (LeJeune 1634, cited in Robitaille et al. 2003; Casselman 2003). The Jesuits also reported that the Onondaga of the St. Lawrence Iroquois fished eels in the Finger Lakes region, south of Lake Ontario, and in tributaries of Lake Ontario, particularly in Oneida Lake on the Oswego River, in the Ottawa River (Morrison and Allumettes islands) and at Pointe-du-Buisson in the early 1900s, with two-way weirs and sluices and speared at night from canoes (Junker-Anderson 1988, cited in Casselman 2003; Pilon 1999, cited in Verreault et al. 2004; M. Courtemanche, Université de Montréal, pers. comm.). A summer spear fishery occurred in the Thousand Islands section of the upper St. Lawrence River as well (Stevens 1958, cited in Casselman 2003). Given the importance of eels for the Onondaga, an Eel Clan was formed (Tooker 1978, cited in Casselman 2003). The decline in abundance in the St. Lawrence watershed threatens the longstanding association of the St. Lawrence Iroquois with an important species and historic food resource (Casselman 2003).

In the Maritimes, the Mi’kmaq people have traditionally had a deep cultural and economic relationship with eels (Anonymous 2002). They are primarily fished for food and skin, but used for a variety of purposes as well (Anonymous 2002). Archaeological evidence indicates six fishing methods used by the Mi’kmaq: baited traps, unbaited traps, spears, hooks, nets, and weirs (Prosper 2001). However, the spear remains the fishing gear of choice reflecting a Mi’kmaq cultural practice (Anonymous 2002). American eels were a traditional and important food source for many of the Mi’kmaq people year round. The best locations to fish eels in St. George's Bay (Nova Scotia) were at Lakevale, Harver Boucher, Pomquet and Antigonish Harbour (Eales 1966, cited in Anonymous 2002). Eel fishing experiences in Pomquet Harbour have been described as extremely successful but, since the early 1990s, the American eel has become generally much less plentiful throughout the Maritime region (Anonymous 2002). The decline of the American eel threatens the longstanding Mi’kmaq relationship with the eel.

 

EXISTING PROTECTION OR OTHER STATUS DESIGNATIONS

Commercial fisheries for American eels are regulated by fishing season, number of licences, gear type, setting, minimum size limit, or quotas. Commercial fisheries are not permitted in substantial parts of the eel's Canadian range.  The fishery was closed in Ontario in 2004.  No commercial fishery targets eels reared in FEA2.  Eel fishing is not premitted in the great majority of freshwater habitat in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence area (FEA3).  The majority of freshwater and coastal eel habitat in the Scotia-Fundy area and in Newfoundland is unfished (Cairns et al. unpubl. ms.).  Regulations and licensing policies have changed through time. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, along with the Quebec Ministry of Natural Resources, Wildlife and Parks and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources have agreed to develop an integrated conservation-management plan to arrest significant population decline of the American eel. A worldwide decline of eel resources, including the American eel, has been declared at the International Eel Symposium in 2003 (American Fisheries Society Annual Meeting; Dekker et al. 2003).

The American eel and its habitat are protected by the Canadian Fisheries Act. Prior to 2006 the American eel was not assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), nor was it listed by the Canadian Species at Risk Act, or by The World Conservation Union (IUCN) and is being reviewed in this status report for the first time. NatureServe (2005), a network providing scientific information to help guide effective conservation action and natural resource management, listed the American eel as Secure (S5) for Canada and the United States, as a species as a whole. However, NatureServe Canada (2005) designated eels Apparently secure (S4) in Labrador and Prince Edward Island and Vulnerable (S3) in Quebec. Present statuses for the Canadian provinces and the states of the United States were last reviewed in September 1996 (Table 7). A revision of the NatureServe statuses has been recently requested by the USFWS (H. Bell, USFWS, pers. comm.). NatureServe Canada includes independent conservation data centres such as the Atlantic Canada Conservation Data Centre, the Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre and the Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec.

 

Table 7. Present statuses for the American eel in Canadaand of ranked and applicable states in the United States (last review in September 1996; NatureServe 2005). Bold indicates Canadian provinces and regions.
Province or StateStatus
WisconsinS1: Critically imperilled
Illinois, Kansas, West Virginia, WisconsinS2: Imperilled
Quebec, Iowa, Georgia, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, VermontS3: Vulnerable
Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Indiana, Kentucky, MarylandS4: Apparently secure
Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware,
Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire,
New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia
S5: Secure
New MexicoSX: Presumed extirpated

American eel components in the United States are currently being examined on several fronts.  The United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), in coordination with the National Marine Fisheries Service, is undertaking a status review of the species to determine whether listing is warranted under the Endangered Species Act (USFWS 2005). Additionally, the USFWS Division of Scientific Authority is considering a proposal to list the species in Appendix III of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES). They are currently completing the information collection stage. The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) is also completing a stock assessment of the American Atlantic (L. Munger, ASMFC, pers. comm.). ASMFC developed the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for the American eel in order to protect and enhance the abundance of the species in both inland and territorial waters to provide sustainable subsistence, recreational and commercial fisheries by preventing overharvest of any eel life stage (USFWS 2005).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’anguille d'Amérique au Canada

Importance de l'espèce

L’anguille d’Amérique, historiquement, possédait l’aire de répartition la plus étendue de tous les poissons de l’hémisphère occidental et tenait une position dominante par son nombre et par sa biomasse dans les nombreux habitats qu’elle occupait. Elle a figuré parmi les plus importantes espèces de poissons d’eau douce des prises commerciales, sportives et autochtones dans le bassin du Saint-Laurent. Une tendance au déclin est apparue dans l’indice de recrutement de Cornwall, qui représente l’AEED 1 (Grands Lacs et Ouest du Saint-Laurent) et dans les données de montaison de la rivière du Sud-Ouest pour l’AEED 2 (Est du Saint-Laurent), ces composantesétant composées de grosses femelles fécondes qui correspondent à une part importante du potentiel de reproduction de l’espèce.

Les Autochtones ont de tout temps pêché l’anguille d’Amérique, à des fins de subsistance, dans toute son aire de répartition canadienne. Les territoires autochtones situés dans l’aire de répartition de l’espèce comprennent les terres faisant l’objet de revendications territoriales et les réserves indiennes suivantes : 1) dans l’AEED 1, la baie de Quinte, Akwesasne, Kanesatake, Kahnawake, Odanak, Wolinak, Lorette et Wendake; 2) dans l’AEED 2, la Première Nation Malécite de Viger, Cacouna, Innue Essipit, Betsiamites, le gouvernement autochtone des Mi’gmaq Listuguj, Restigouche, Maria, les Mi’kmaq de Gesgapegiag, Seven Islands, Innu Takuaikan Uashat Mak Mani-Utenam, Mingan et Natashquan; 3) dans l’AEED 3, la Première Nation d’Eel River Bar, Pabineau, Eel Ground, Buctouche, Fort Folly, Acadia, Bear River, Mill Brook, la Première Nation de Paq’tnkek, la Première Nation de Waycobah, Wagmatcook, la Première Nation de Chapel Island, Membertou, Lennox Island et Abegweit.

Les premiers Européens à faire allusion à l’importance des pêches autochtones d’anguille d’Amérique, et plus précisément aux pêches associées au réseau du fleuve Saint-Laurent, ont été Jacques Cartier, en 1535, et Samuel de Champlain (recension de Casselman, 2003). La pêche de l’anguille, en effet, constituait déjà une activité importante et traditionnelle pour les peuples autochtones au temps de l’exploration par les Européens du bassin du Saint-Laurent (Bourget, 1984, cité dans Robitaille et al., 2003). Selon les signes matériels, la pêche de l’anguille remonterait à 3 000 ans. Les pêcheurs autochtones utilisaient des levées de pierre barrant les rivières, des pièges à anguilles faits d’éclisses de frêne et des harpons d’hiver et d’été (Gordon, 1993, cité dans Prosper, 2001). Les peuples autochtones, et notamment les Montagnais, pêchaient l’anguille en automne près de Québec et le long de l’estuaire inférieur du Saint-Laurent, au harpon ou dans des pièges à fascines installés sur les battures (LeJeune, 1634, cité dans Robitaille et al., 2003; Casselman, 2003). Selon les Jésuites, les Onondagas, qui comptent parmi les Iroquois du Saint-Laurent, pêchaient l’anguille dans la région de Finger Lakes, au sud du lac Ontario, et dans les tributaires du lac Ontario, particulièrement le lac Oneida, qui se trouve sur la rivière Oswego, dans la rivière des Outaouais (îles Morrison et aux Allumettes) et à Pointe-du-Buisson au début du 20e siècle; ils installaient des pêcheries fixes bidirectionnelles et pêchaient au harpon, la nuit, en canot (Junker-Anderson, 1988, cité dans Casselman, 2003; Pilon, 1999, cité dans Verreault et al., 2004; M. Courtemanche, Université de Montréal, comm. pers.). Il se pratiquait aussi une pêche estivale au harpon dans le secteur des Mille‑Îles du haut Saint-Laurent (Stevens, 1958, cité dans Casselman, 2003). Chez les Onondagas, il existait un clan de l’Anguille, ce qui témoigne de l’importance culturelle de ce poisson (Tooker, 1978, cité dans Casselman, 2003). La baisse d’abondance de l’anguille dans le bassin du Saint-Laurent menace l’association de longue date des Iroquois du Saint-Laurent avec une espèce importante qui constitue historiquement une ressource alimentaire (Casselman, 2003).

Dans les Maritimes, les Mi’kmaq entretiennent traditionnellement une profonde relation culturelle et économique avec l’anguille (Anon., 2002). S’ils la pêchent surtout pour s’en nourrir et en utiliser la peau, ils en tirent également une multitude d’usages (Anon., 2002). Des preuves archéologiques indiquent que les Mi’kmaq employaient six méthodes de pêche : des trappes appâtées, des trappes sans appât, des harpons, des hameçons, des filets et des pièges à fascines (Prosper, 2001). Le harpon, toutefois, demeure l’engin de pêche de choix, qui correspond à une pratique culturelle Mi’kmaq (Anon., 2002). Les anguilles d’Amérique constituaient toute l’année pour de nombreux membres du peuple Mi’kmaq une source de nourriture importante et traditionnelle. Les meilleurs endroits où pêcher l’anguille dans la baie Saint‑Georges (Nouvelle-Écosse) se trouvaient à Lakevale, Harver Boucher, Pomquet et Antigonish (Eales, 1966, cité dans Anon., 2002). La pêche pratiquée au port de Pomquet a été décrite comme extrêmement fructueuse, mais depuis le début des années 1990, l’anguille d’Amérique est globalement beaucoup moins abondante à l’échelle des Maritimes (Anon., 2002). Le déclin de l’anguille d’Amérique constitue une menace pour la relation de longue date qu’entretiennent les Mi’kmaq avec l’anguille.

 

PROTECTION ACTUELLE OU AUTRES DÉSIGNATIONS DE STATUT

Les pêches commerciales de l’anguille d’Amérique sont réglementées au moyen des saisons de pêche, du nombre de permis, du type d’engin et de leur localisation, de la limite inférieure de taille ou des quotas. La pêche commerciale est interdite dans de vastes parties de l’aire de répartition canadienne de l’anguille. La pêche a été fermée en Ontario en 2004. Aucune pêche commerciale ne vise les anguilles ayant grossi dans l’AEED 2. La pêche de l’anguille n’est pas permise dans la grande majorité des habitats d’eau douce du secteur sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (AEED 3). La majorité des habitats côtiers et d’eau douce de l’anguille, dans la région Scotia-Fundy et à Terre-Neuve, ne sont pas exploités (Cairns et al., manuscrit inédit). La réglementation et les politiques de délivrance des permis ont évolué au fil du temps. Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada s’est entendu avec le ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, secteur Faune et Parcs, et avec le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario pour élaborer un plan intégré de conservation et de gestion afin de mettre fin au déclin marqué de la population d’anguille d’Amérique. Une baisse mondiale des ressources d’anguille, y compris l’anguille d’Amérique, a été annoncée lors du Symposium international sur l’anguille tenu en 2003 (assemblée annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society; Dekker et al., 2003).

L’anguille d’Amérique et son habitat sont protégés par la Loi sur les pêchesdu Canada. Elle ne figure ni sur la liste des espèces de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada, ni sur celle de l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN), et le présent rapport constitue le premier rapport officiel sur la situation de l’espèce. NatureServe (2005), un réseau d’information scientifique qui vise à guider les mesures efficaces de conservation et de gestion des ressources naturelles, a donné à l’anguille d’Amérique, dans son ensemble, le statut de Non en péril (S5) au Canada et aux États-Unis, mais lui a octroyé les statuts de Apparemment non en péril (S4) au Labrador et à l’Île‑du-Prince‑Édouard et de Vulnérable (S3) au Québec. Les statuts actuels concernant les provinces canadiennes et les États des États-Unis ont été revus pour la dernière fois en septembre 1996 (tableau 7). L’USFWS a récemment demandé l’examen des statuts attribués par NatureServe (H. Bell, USFWS, comm. pers.). NatureServe Canada fait entrer dans ses examens les données de centres indépendants de conservation, comme le Centre de données sur la conservation du Canada Atlantique, le Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de l’Ontario et le Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec.

Tableau 7. Statuts actuels de l’anguille d’Amérique au Canada, et statuts applicables aux États-Unis (dernier examen en septembre 1996; NatureServe, 2005).
Les caractères gras indiquent les provinces et régions canadiennes.
Province ou étatStatut
WisconsinS1 : Gravement en péril
Illinois, Kansas, Virginie-Occidentale, WisconsinS2 : En péril
Québec, Iowa, Géorgie, Oklahoma, Dakota du Sud, Tennessee, VermontS3 : Vulnérable
Labrador, Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard, Arkansas, district fédéral de Columbia, Indiana, Kentucky, MarylandS4 : Apparemment non en péril
Ontario, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre‑Neuve, Alabama,
Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Louisiane, Maine, Massachusetts, Mississippi,
New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Caroline du Nord, Pennsylvanie, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginie
S5 : Non en péril
Nouveau-MexiqueSX : Vraisemblablement disparue

Les composantes étatsuniennes d’anguille d’Amérique font actuellement l’objet d’études sur plusieurs fronts. Le United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), en collaboration avec le National Marine Fisheries Service, vient d’entreprendre un examen de la situation de l’espèce afin de juger s’il est justifié de l’inscrire sur la liste de l’Endangered Species Act (USFWS 2005). La Division of Scientific Authority de l’USFWS, d’autre part, étudie une proposition d’inscription de l’espèce à l’Annexe III de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES); elle achève actuellement la collecte d’information. L'Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) travaille également à une évaluation des stocks de la façade atlantique des États-Unis (L. Munger, ASMFC, comm. pers.). L’ASMFC a élaboré un plan interétats de gestion des pêches de l’anguille d’Amérique pour protéger l’espèce et en accroître l’abondance dans les eaux intérieures et territoriales en vue d’assurer la durabilité des pêches de subsistance, sportive et commerciale en empêchant la surpêche à tous les stades de la vie de l’anguille (USFWS, 2005).