Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the American Eel in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The American eel uses a very broad diversity of habitats (Helfman et al. 1987). During their oceanic migrations, eels occupy salt water and, in their continental phase, they use all salinity zones. During the continental phase, marine habitat use is limited to shallow protected waters. Survival is affected by environmental conditions in any habitat (oceanic, estuarine, freshwater) occupied during any life cycle phase, and by anthropogenic factors such as hydro-dams, habitat modification and fisheries.

Growing eels are primarily benthic, utilizing substrate (rock, sand, mud) and bottom debris such as snags and submerged vegetation for protection and cover (Scott and Crossman 1973; Tesch 1977).

Eel densities typically diminish with distance from the sea in medium and large rivers (Smith and Saunders 1955; Gray and Andrews 1971; Smogor et al. 1995). This pattern, however, may be altered by natural or artificial obstacles. In a component of European eels, White and Knights (1997) reported that barriers to upstream migration had a greater effect on eel densities than distance from the ocean. Ability to overcome obstacles is size-dependent. Small eels (less than 10 cm long) are able to creep up damp vertical barriers (Legault 1988), but larger eels are generally unable to bypass large waterfalls and dams (McCleave 1980; Barbin and Krueger 1994). Hence, larger eels attempting to move upstream require unobstructed passage (Moriarty 1987).

Reduced survival of maturing eels in their seaward migration has been associated with passage through hydroelectric turbines (Desrochers 1995; Normandeau Associates and Skalski 2000), fisheries (Castonguay et al. 1994a; Caron et al. 2003; Verreault and Dumont 2003), and with obstructions which produce free falls of more than 13 m (Larinier and Travade 1999).

Continental-phase American eels are highly plastic in their habitat use. In streams, eels generally do not show consistent preferences for habitat type, cover, substrate, water temperature, and density of predators (Hawkins 1995; Smogor et al. 1995), but there is some association between eel densities and diversity of depth-velocity regimes (Wiley et al. 2004). In Prince Edward Island, eels are abundant in freshwater ponds formed by dams but are rare in most freshwater streams (Cairns et al. submitted).

Some continental-phase eels are predominantly sedentary but others are predominantly migrant (Feunteun et al. 2003). Since otoliths are essentially calcium carbonate in an organic proteinaceous matrix, Casselman (1982) analyzed strontium/calcium ratios in eel otoliths to document migratory stages. Recent investigations using otolith microchemistry (Jessop et al. 2002; Cairns et al. 2004; Thibault et al. 2005; Lamson et al. submitted) report three main movement patterns: salt water residency, freshwater residency, and inter-habitat shifting. In the St. Jean River on the Gaspé Peninsula, some freshwater resident eels perform very short intrusions into brackish or salt water (Daverat et al., in press). Inter-habitat shifting is more frequent in systems where dams do not hinder movements (Jessop et al. 2002; Cairns et al. 2004). Catadromy is no longer seen as obligate for eels, but rather is a facultative life history option (Tsukamoto et al. 1998; Jessop et al. 2002; Morrison et al. 2003; Arai et al. 2004; Lamson et al. submitted). Seasonal local movements associated with wintering may also involve habitat needs in terms of water temperature, oxygen concentration and water quality, but winter habitat requirements are poorly known (Tesch 1977; Feunteun et al. 2003).

Eels spawn in the Sargasso Sea (Schmidt 1922), east of the Bahamas and south-west of Bermuda (25°N; 60°W; McCleave et al. 1987), but habitat requirements for spawning and incubating are poorly understood. Kleckner and McCleave (1988) related the northern limit of spawning by Atlantic eels (Anguilla spp.) in the Sargasso Sea to thermal fronts and surface water masses, with spawning taking place south of east-west thermal fronts that separate southern Sargasso Sea surface water from mixed Subtropical Convergence Zone water to the north.

 

Habitat Trends

Freshwater habitat deterioration, migratory barriers generating habitat loss and fragmentation for upstream migrants, and turbine mortality for downstream migrants, are among the most frequently cited factors proposed to explain the declines of the American eel (Castonguay et al. 1994a; Haro et al. 2000; Verreault et al. 2004). The effects of dams are presented in the Limiting Factors and Threats section, under Habitat modifications and dams. In general, habitat factors have shown relative stability over the past several decades, and changes in these factors do not correspond to the timing of changes in eel populations (Castonguay et al. 1994a).

 

Protection/Ownership

In Canada, American eels occur primarily in publicly owned waters.  The species’ habitat, including ocean habitat used during migrations, receives protection against alteration and destruction by the Canadian Fisheries Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, and numerous provincial acts including the Ontario Environmental Protection Act, the Ontario Water Resources Act, and the Quebec Environmental Quality Act.  Habitat that lies within National Parks, Provincial Parks, National Wildlife Areas, and Marine Protected Areas may be subject to additional protections through the National Parks Act, the Loi sur les Parcs in Quebec, the Ontario Provincial Parks Act in Ontario and the Canada Wildlife Act.  However, rules governing parks and conservation areas do not necessarily prohibit exploitation and do not automatically protect eels from other threats (see Limiting Factors and Threats section).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’anguille d'Amérique au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

L’anguille d’Amérique tire parti d’habitats très divers (Helfman et al., 1987). Au cours de leurs migrations océaniques, les anguilles occupent des eaux salées et, dans leur phase continentale, des zones de tous les degrés de salinité. Pendant la phase continentale, l’utilisation de l’habitat marin se limite aux eaux protégées peu profondes. La survie est affectée par les conditions environnementales dans tous les habitats (océanique, estuarien, d’eau douce) occupés pendant une phase ou l'autre du cycle vital et par des facteurs anthropiques comme les centrales hydroélectriques, la modification des habitats et les pêches.

Les anguilles en période de croissance sont surtout benthiques, utilisant le substrat (roche, sable, vase), les débris du fond comme das troncs d’arbre oubranches accrochées au fond, et la végétation submergée, pour s’abriter et se protéger (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Tesch, 1977).

La densité des anguilles, normalement, diminue avec la distance par rapport à la mer dans des cours d’eau moyens ou grands (Smith et Saunders, 1955; Gray et Andrews, 1971; Smogor et al., 1995). Ce scénario peut toutefois être modifié par des obstacles naturels ou artificiels. White et Knights (1997) ont signalé au sujet d’une composante d’anguilles d’Europe que les obstacles à la montaison avaient plus d’effet sur les densités d’anguilles que la distance de l’océan. L’aptitude à surmonter un obstacle est fonction de la taille. Les petites anguilles (de moins de 10 cm de long) ont la capacité de remonter des obstacles verticaux humides (Legault, 1988), mais les grosses anguilles sont ordinairement incapables de franchir les hautes chutes et les barrages élevés (McCleave, 1980; Barbin et Krueger, 1994). Il faut donc aux anguilles qui s’efforcent de remonter le courant un passage libre (Moriarty, 1987).

La survie réduite des anguilles en cours de maturation lors de leur migration vers la mer a été associée à leur passage par des turbines hydroélectriques (Desrochers, 1995; Normandeau Associates et Skalski, 2000), aux pêches (Castonguay et al., 1994a; Caron et al., 2003; Verreault et Dumont, 2003) et aux obstacles qui causent une chute libre de plus de 13 m (Larinier et Travade, 1999).

Les anguilles d’Amérique en phase continentale sont très adaptables dans leur utilisation de l’habitat. Dans les cours d’eau, elles n’affichent généralement pas de préférences constantes en ce qui a trait au type d’habitat, à la couverture, au substrat, à la température de l’eau ou à la densité de prédateurs (Hawkins, 1995; Smogor et al., 1995), mais une certaine association a été établie entre les densités des anguilles et la diversité des régimes profondeur-vitesse (Wiley et al., 2004). À l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, les anguilles abondent dans les étangs d’eau douce formés par les barrages, mais sont rares dans la plupart des cours d’eau douce (Cairns et al., soumis pour publication).

Certaines anguilles en phase continentale sont surtout sédentaires, mais d’autres sont plutôt migratrices (Feunteun et al., 2003). Comme les otolithes sont constitués essentiellement de carbonate de calcium dans une matrice organique protéique, Casselman (1982) a analysé les ratios strontium/calcium des otolithes d’anguilles afin de documenter les stades de leurs migrations. Des recherches récentes recourant à la microchimie des otolithes (Jessop et al., 2002; Cairns et al., 2004; Thibault et al., 2005; Lamson et al., soumis pour publication) ont permis d’identifier trois grands éléments : la résidence en eau salée, la résidence en eau douce et l’alternance entre habitats. Dans la rivière Saint-Jean, en Gaspésie, certaines anguilles résidentes des eaux douces font de très brèves incursions dans des eaux saumâtres ou salées (Daverat et al., sous presse). Le passage d’un habitat à l’autre se rencontre davantage dans les systèmes où les déplacements ne sont pas bloqués par des barrages (Jessop et al., 2002; Cairns et al., 2004). La catadromie n’est plus considérée comme obligée chez les anguilles, mais semble plutôt constituer une option du cycle vital (Tsukamoto et al., 1998; Jessop et al., 2002; Morrison et al., 2003; Arai et al., 2004; Lamson et al., soumis pour publication). Les déplacements locaux saisonniers associés à l’hivernage peuvent aussi comporter des besoins d’habitat en termes de température de l’eau, de concentration d’oxygène et de qualité de l’eau, mais les besoins hivernaux de l’espèce sont peu connus (Tesch, 1977; Feunteun et al., 2003).

Les anguilles frayent dans la mer des Sargasses (Schmidt, 1922), à l’est des Bahamas et au nord-ouest des Bermudes (25°N; 60°O) (McCleave et al., 1987), mais les besoins de l’espèce au chapitre de la fraye et de l’incubation sont mal compris. Selon Kleckner et McCleave (1988), la limite nord de l’aire de fraye des anguilles atlantiques (Anguilla spp.) en mer des Sargasses est liée aux fronts thermiques et aux masses d’eau de surface, la fraye ayant cours au sud des fronts thermiques est-ouest qui séparent les eaux de surface de la partie méridionale de la mer des Sargasses des eaux mélangées de la zone de convergence subtropicale, au nord.

 

Tendances en matière d’habitat

La détérioration des habitats d’eau douce, les obstacles à la migration entraînant la perte et la fragmentation des habitats des anguilles en remonte et la mortalité par turbinage des anguilles en avalaison figurent parmi les plus cités des facteurs proposés pour expliquer le déclin de l’anguille d’Amérique (Castonguay et al., 1994a; Haro et al., 2000; Verreault et al., 2004). Les effets des centrales sont présentés dans la section Facteurs limitatifs et menaces, à la rubrique Modifications des habitats et barrages. D’une façon générale, les facteurs concernant les habitats affichent une stabilité relative depuis les dernières décennies, et les modifications de ces facteurs ne correspondent pas à la chronologie des changements dans les populations d’anguilles (Castonguay et al., 1994a).

 

Protection et propriété

Au Canada, les anguilles d’Amérique se trouvent surtout dans les eaux publiques. L’habitat de l’espèce, y compris l’habitat océanique qu’elle occupe au cours des migrations, jouit de la protection contre l’altération et la destruction que lui procurent la Loi sur les pêchesdu Canada, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement et plusieurs lois provinciales, dont la Loi sur la protection de l’environnement de l’Ontario, la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario et la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement du Québec. Les habitats qui se situent dans les parcs nationaux, les parcs provinciaux, les réserves fauniques nationales et les aires marines protégées peuvent bénéficier d’une protection supplémentaire par l’effet de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux, de la Loi sur les Parcs du Québec, de la Loi sur les parcs provinciaux de l’Ontario et de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages au Canada. Les règles, cependant, de régie des parcs et des aires de conservation n’interdisent pas forcément l’exploitation et ne protègent pas automatiquement les anguilles contre d’autres menaces (voir la section Facteurs limitatifs et menaces).