Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle

Habitat

2.9 Habitat Requirements 

To protect and recover leatherback turtles, it is essential to understand the full range of habitats required and how these habitats are utilized both spatially and temporally.  For the endangered leatherback turtle, the full range of habitat use is poorly understood (COSEWIC, 2001).  The details of leatherback migrations remain elusive, in part because the turtles occur far from land and travel such great distances (Lutz, 2003).  However, recent and ongoing studies will soon yield more specific information on the habitat requirements of the leatherback turtle in the northwest Atlantic.

Nesting

Little is known about the breeding habitats of leatherbacks, although Eckert and Eckert (1988) proposed that mating takes place outside of the nesting grounds, prior to female migrations to their nesting beaches.  Adult female leatherbacks nest every 2-3 years on high energy, open access, sandy beaches in the tropics that tend to be adjacent to deeper waters.  The largest leatherback nesting colony in the Western Atlantic is located in French Guiana and Suriname (Pritchard and Trebbau, 1984).  In the Atlantic and Caribbean, other significant leatherback nesting assemblages are found in the U.S. Virgin Islands (principally St. Croix), Puerto Rico, southeastern Florida, Guiana, Columbia, Panama and Costa Rica (NMFS and USFWS, 1992).  Little is known about the habitat requirements of post-hatchlings and juveniles.

Foraging

Leatherbacks normally inhabit areas where prey productivity is high, along oceanic frontal systems and along vertical gradients located at oceanic fronts (Lutcavage, 1996).  Doctoral thesis work by James (pers comm.) suggests that adult turtles aggregate at oceanic fronts and in specific areas with unique ocean circulation characteristics: shelf slope fronts, upwelling fronts, and western current boundary edges (James et al. 2005a).  This behaviour is likely related to the concentration of jelly-plankton in these areas.  Therefore, adult leatherback habitat may be determined by prey abundance, with turtles moving from offshore waters into coastal areas to exploit the seasonal production of jellyfish.

Eastern Canadian waters represent a common destination for sub-adult and adult leatherback turtles undertaking lengthy migrations from southern latitudes.  While the proportion of the Atlantic leatherback population utilizing Canadian waters is not known, each year large numbers of turtles from nesting areas in Florida and South and Central America (including French Guiana, Suriname, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad and the Antilles) aggregate here to feed.  As such, Atlantic Canada provides important foraging habitat for this species, and may offer seasonal densities of prey that are not widely available in other areas of the northwest Atlantic.

Sightings data, telemetry data and fisheries observer data suggest that most leatherbacks enter shelf and shelf slope waters from late May to September, although they may remain in Canadian waters for several months and depart as late as the middle of December.  Some turtles move from shelf waters to pelagic feeding areas in the fall before assuming a southward migration.  There is some evidence(Goff and Lien, 1988)to suggest that small numbers of turtles may be present in Canadian waters during the winter months; however, such behaviour does not conform to the typical migratory pattern for the species.

During the summer and fall foraging period, leatherbacks are broadly distributed in shelf waters off the northeastern United States, Nova Scotia, and southern Newfoundland.  While there appears to be significant inter-annual variation in both leatherback abundance and in the temporal and spatial characteristics of preferred foraging areas in Canadian waters, some areas do appear to be used by turtles every year.

Leatherbacks occur off the southwest coast of Nova Scotia throughout the foraging period and off the south and east coasts of Cape Breton in late summer and fall.  The species is rarely observed in the northern half of the Gulf of Maine and the Bay of Fundy.  Turtles regularly enter waters off the south coast of Newfoundland, and off the Magdalen Islands and north coast of Cape Breton Island (Gulf of St. Lawrence) during their foraging period.

While some turtles spend long periods of time foraging in specific areas (e.g., slope waters east of the Fundian Channel), other turtles may forage for several weeks in multiple, often disparate locations, including waters corresponding to both Canadian and American jurisdictions.  Data from turtles equipped with satellite tags in shelf waters seldom indicates subsequent extensive foraging in temperate waters far beyond the shelf break; however, as leatherbacks are incidentally captured in pelagic fisheries operating at high latitudes (Witzell, 1999; Lewison et al., 2004), it is reasonable to expect that some animals move onto the shelf after foraging in pelagic habitats, while others may migrate to and remain in these areas throughout the summer and fall foraging period (Eckert, 1998).

The diet of leatherbacks in northern waters of the Atlantic has been studied, and the species of jellyfish which they prey upon have been identified (Hartog & Nierop, 1984; Holland et al., 1990; Bleakney, 1965; James & Herman, 2001). However, relatively little is known about the biology of these jellyfish in this region.  Changes in the distribution and abundance of jellyfish may help explain annual variation in the number of turtles using Canadian waters and the timing and locations of turtle aggregations.

3.0 CRITICAL HABITAT [1]

Critical habitat as defined under section 2 of SARA is the “habitat necessary for the survival and recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species”.

While the state of knowledge on habitat requirements of leatherback turtles in Canadian waters is increasing as new scientific evidence becomes available, it is currently not possible to identify critical habitat for this species.  As set out in SARA, if information is inadequate to identify critical habitat within the recovery strategy, a schedule of studies must be prepared.  Such a schedule, when implemented, will yield new information to enable the species’ critical habitat to be described.

Appendix II includes a list of research and monitoring activities that collectively, constitute a schedule of studies.  It is hoped that the results of this work will allow Fisheries and Oceans to be able to identify the critical habitat for Atlantic leatherback turtle in a recovery action plan, which will be developed once the activities outlined in the Appendix has been completed.



[1] SARA requires recovery strategies to include “an identification of the species’ critical habitat, to the extent possible, based on the best available information, including the information provided by COSEWIC” [SARA, s.41(c)].

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

Habitat

2.9 Exigences en matière d’habitat

On ne peut espérer protéger et rétablir la tortue luth sans connaître parfaitement tous les types de milieux nécessaires à sa survie ainsi que la façon dont elle les exploite dans le temps et dans l’espace. Or, à l’heure actuelle, nous possédons peu de données à cet égard (COSEPAC, 2001). Le détail des migrations de la tortue luth notamment échappe à notre connaissance, en partie parce que ces migrations se produisent en haute mer et sur de très grandes distances (Lutz, 2003). Cependant, des études récentes et d’autres en cours augmenteront bientôt nos connaissances sur les exigences de la tortue luth en matière d’habitat dans l’Atlantique nord-ouest.

Nidification

On sait peu de choses au sujet des habitats de reproduction de la tortue luth. Eckert et Eckert (1988) croient que l’accouplement et la nidification n’ont pas lieu aux mêmes endroits et que c’est après l’accouplement que les femelles entreprennent leur migration vers les plages de nidification. Les tortues luths pondent tous les 2 à 3 ans sous les tropiques, sur des plages de sable dégagées, balayées par les vagues et généralement accessibles depuis des eaux assez profondes. Le plus grand rassemblement de ponte dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique est en Guyane française et au Surinam (Pritchard et Trebbau, 1984). Il existe d’autres rassemblements importants de tortues luths dans l’océan Atlantique et dans la mer des Caraïbes, notamment aux îles Vierges américaines (principalement Sainte‑Croix), à Porto Rico, dans le sud‑est de la Floride, en Guyane, en Colombie, à Panama et au Costa Rica (NMFS et USFWS, 1992). On connaît mal les besoins des nouveaux‑nés et des juvéniles en matière d’habitat.

Alimentation

La tortue luth se rencontre normalement dans des zones de forte productivité, notamment le long de fronts océaniques et des gradients verticaux qui les accompagnent (Lutcavage, 1996). Les recherches réalisées par James (comm. pers.) pour sa thèse de doctorat indiquent que les tortues luths adultes se rassemblent le long de fronts océaniques et à certains endroits où circulent des courants océaniques particuliers : fronts de talus continental, fronts de remontées d’eau et lisières des courants de frontière ouest (James et al. 2005a) Ce comportement s’explique probablement par la concentration de cténaires qu’on trouve à ces endroits. On pense donc que l’habitat de la tortue luth adulte est déterminé par l’abondance de proies et que la tortue luth adulte n’approche des côtes que pour y exploiter l’abondance saisonnière de méduses.

Les tortues luths adultes et subadultes entreprennent de longues migrations pour remonter des basses latitudes jusqu’à la côte atlantique canadienne. On ne sait pas quelle proportion de la population de tortue luth de l’Atlantique effectue cette migration, mais c’est en grands nombres que l’espèce quitte chaque année les aires de nidification de la Floride et de l’Amérique Centrale et du Sud (Guyane française, Surinam, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad, Antilles) pour venir s’alimenter dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique. Celles-ci comptent donc parmi les principales aires d’alimentation de l’espèce, qui y trouve peut‑être une densité de proies peu commune dans d’autres partie de l’Atlantique nord-ouest.

Les mentions répertoriées, les données de télémesure et les données recueillies par les observateurs des pêches indiquent que la plupart des tortues luths pénètrent dans les eaux canadiennes de la plate-forme et du talus entre la fin mai et septembre; elles peuvent demeurer plusieurs mois dans les eaux canadiennes, parfois jusqu’à la mi‑décembre. À l’automne, certaines quittent les eaux de la plate-forme pour aller se nourrir en haute mer avant de redescendre vers le sud. Il semble(Goff et Lien, 1988)qu’un petit nombre passe l’hiver en eaux canadiennes; ce comportement s’écarte toutefois du comportement migrateur normal de l’espèce.

Durant la période d’alimentation, soit en été et en automne, la tortue luth est largement répartie dans les eaux de la plate-forme continentale au large du nord‑est des États-Unis, de la Nouvelle‑Écosse et du sud de Terre-Neuve. Bien que l’abondance de l’espèce ainsi que sa répartition spatiale et temporelle dans les eaux canadiennes varient sensiblement d’une année à l’autre, il semble que certaines aires d’alimentation sont fréquentées tous les ans.

La tortue luth se rencontre au large de la côte sud‑ouest de la Nouvelle‑Écosse durant toute la saison d’alimentation et au large des côtes sud et est du cap Breton à la fin de l’été et à l’automne. Elle est rarement aperçue dans la moitié nord du golfe du Maine et dans la baie de Fundy. Il arrive souvent qu’on puisse l’apercevoir au large de la côte sud de Terre‑Neuve, des îles de la Madeleine et de la côte nord de l’île du Cap‑Breton (golfe du Saint‑Laurent) durant la saison d’alimentation.

Certaines tortues luths passent de longues périodes dans la même aire d’alimentation (par exemple dans les eaux du talus continental, à l’est du chenal de Fundy); d’autres changent après quelques semaines, fréquentant ainsi plusieurs aires, parfois différentes, tant dans les eaux américaines que canadiennes. Le suivi d’individus munis de dispositifs de localisation par satellite alors qu’ils se trouvaient dans les eaux de la plate-forme continentale a révélé qu’en règle générale ils ne s’éloignaient pas beaucoup ni longtemps du bord de la plate-forme en quête de nourriture. Cependant, compte tenu des prises accessoires de tortues luths par les pêches hauturières pratiquées sous les hautes latitudes(Witzell, 1999; Lewison et al., 2004), il est raisonnable de penser que certains individus gagnent les eaux de la plate-forme après avoir passé du temps à se nourrir en haute mer tandis que d’autres demeurent en haute mer, y passant tout l’été et tout l’automne(Eckert, 1998).

Le régime alimentaire de la tortue luth durant son séjour dans les eaux de l’Atlantique nord a été étudié, et les espèces de méduses dont elle se nourrit ont été identifiées (Hartog et Nierop, 1984; Holland et al., 1990; Bleakney, 1965; James et Herman, 2001). La biologie des méduses de cette région est cependant relativement peu connue. Il est possible que des variations dans l’abondance et la répartition des méduses expliquent en partie les variations d’une année à l’autre du nombre de tortues luths migrant vers les eaux canadiennes et des moments et des lieux où elles se concentrent.

3.0 Habitat essentiel[1]

L’habitat essentiel est défini à l’article 2 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril comme étant l’« habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d'action élaboré à l'égard de l'espèce ».

Bien que les recherches scientifiques continuent d’augmenter les connaissances sur les besoins de la tortue luth en matière d’habitat dans les eaux canadiennes, il n’est pas encore possible de déterminer quel est l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce. La LEP précise que si l’information disponible est insuffisante pour déterminer l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce, il faut établir un calendrier des études nécessaires pour le définir.

L’annexe II présente une liste des activités de recherche et de surveillance qui constituent collectivement « un calendrier des études nécessaires ». Il est à espérer que les résultats de ces travaux permettront à Pêches et Océans Canada de définir l’habitat essentiel de la tortue luth de l’Atlantique afin d’élaborer un plan d’action pour le rétablissement de l’espèce.



[1] Le programme de rétablissement doit comporter « la désignation de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce dans la mesure du possible, en se fondant sur la meilleure information accessible, notamment les informations fournies par le COSEPAC ». [LEP, par. 41(1)c)].