Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle

2.5 Distribution

2.5.1 Global Range

Leatherback turtles are capable of tolerating a wide range of water temperatures and have the most extensive geographic range of any reptile species.  Leatherbacks undertake extensive migrations throughout the tropical and temperate waters of the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian oceans, with a northernmost recorded latitude of 70° 15’N (Gulliksen, 1990) and a southernmost of approximately 27°S (Boulon et al., 1988).

The largest Atlantic nesting colonies are located in French Guiana and Suriname in South America, and Gabon in Africa.  Nesting also occurs in lower densities throughout the Caribbean and in Brazil.  Florida is the only state in the continental U.S. known to support a significant number of nests (Calleson et al, 1998).  Rabon et al. (2003) recently summarized leatherback nesting activity north of Florida and reported seven confirmed nests from the state of North Carolina.  This is the northern extent of the nesting range in the northwest Atlantic.  It is believed that all major nesting sites for this species are known and nesting activity has been intensively monitored at most of these sites for several years (Spotila et al., 1996).

At the end of the nesting season, an unknown portion of the population of leatherbacks migrates northward to temperate waters.  In the course of these migrations, individual turtles may attain speeds of over 9km/h (Keinath & Musick, 1993).  Studies of leatherbacks in the Gulf of Mexico (e.g., Fritts et al., 1983), off the Atlantic coast of the United States (e.g., Lazell 1980; Shoop & Kenney, 1992) and off the east coast of Canada (James, 2000; Lawson and Gosselin 2003) suggest that these turtles may preferentially inhabit continental shelf waters.  Offshore, leatherbacks are regularly present along thermal fronts, including the edges of oceanic gyre systems (e.g., Collard, 1990; Lutcavage, 1996).  These are highly productive areas, concentrating jellyfish and other soft-bodied invertebrates on which leatherbacks feed.

New data regarding leatherback turtle distribution continues to be gathered through a number of tagging methods (i.e., flipper tagging, internal Passive Integrated Transponder (PIT) tags and satellite tagging).  Through flipper tagging, leatherbacks from the western Atlantic population (Guiana) have been recorded off west Africa, in the Gulf of Venezuela, in the Gulf of Mexico and on the Atlantic coast of the United States (Pritchard, 1976).  Since 1978, others have been captured along the eastern United States, between Florida and South Carolina (Girondot & Fretey, 1996).  Leatherbacks tagged in French Guiana have also been captured in the northeast Atlantic off the coasts of France, Spain and Morocco, less than 12 months after nesting (Girondot & Fretey, 1996).  In 1987, a leatherback tagged 128 days previously in French Guiana was discovered entangled in fishing nets in Placentia Bay, Newfoundland (Goff et al., 1994).  The turtle had travelled a minimum straight-line distance of over 5000km.  The northernmost records for Atlantic Canada are of leatherbacks entangled in gear (2, 1986 and 2004) or free-swimming (1, 1986 at almost 54 N) along the coast of Labrador (DFO, 2005b).

Through satellite tracking (e.g., Eckert et al, 1989; Morreale et al., 1996; Hughes et al., 1998), more direct studies of leatherback distribution and migration have been undertaken.  One study revealed long-distance movements from tropical nesting beaches to temperate waters of the north Atlantic (Eckert, 1998).  Two leatherbacks tagged on a nesting beach in Trinidad migrated north to waters between 40 and 50 degrees latitude before swimming south to the coast of Mauritania, Africa (Eckert, 1998).  More recently, 39 leatherbacks satellite-tagged in eastern Canadian waters were tracked on their migrations to subtropical and tropical waters (James, unpublished data).  Ten of these turtles represent the first male leatherbacks to be tracked via satellite telemetry.

Relevant information has also been obtained through studies of the barnacles that leatherbacks host.  For example, Zullo & Bleakney (1966) reported barnacles, typical of tropical and subtropical waters (Stomatolepas elegans), on the skin of leatherbacks recovered off Nova Scotia.

In Canada, leatherbacks from the Pacific population are found seasonally off the coast of British Columbia, foraging between July and September (Stinson, 1984).  Although more sightings occur every year, there are a limited number of areas where leatherbacks are routinely observed, and sightings are generally made by fishers.  Recently, reports by recreational boaters have become more frequent.  These observations have been recorded through the Queen Charlotte Islands and increasingly throughout the protected waters of the Georgia and Hecate Straits (Pacific Leatherback Turtle Recovery Strategy, 2005).

2.5.2 Range in Atlantic Canada

 Although leatherbacks do not nest in Canada, adult turtles occur annually in Atlantic Canadian waters to forage, with the majority of turtles present between June and November (Figure 2). Figure 2 includes a compilation of published and previously unpublished distributional records for the leatherback turtle in Atlantic Canada.  This data is based on individual stranding and entanglement records of both live and dead turtles, as well as at-sea sightings.

With the observed variability in numbers of individuals that migrate annually through Canadian waters and the difficulty in censusing the population at sea, documentation of leatherbacks in Atlantic Canada has been limited.  This has resulted in conservative historical evaluations of leatherback abundance (e.g., Cook, 1981; Gilhen, 1984).  Yet, a relatively large seasonal population has recently been identified through efforts described below.

Bleakney (1965) was the first to document scientifically the occurrence of leatherbacks in eastern Canada and his analysis of 26 records of leatherbacks in this region (1889-1964) suggested a seasonal, rather than accidental, movement of the species into the cold waters of the northwest Atlantic.  Recent research by James (2000; James et al. 2005a, 2005b) and DFO scientists (unpublished) supports the conclusion that leatherbacks regularly enter temperate waters off eastern Canada.  Peak leatherback occurrences in Canadian waters occur during August-September but there are records for leatherbacks in Canadian waters for most months of the year (McAlpine et al., 2004).

Specifically, leatherbacks have been recorded off the coasts of Nova Scotia (e.g., Bleakney, 1965; James, 2000), Newfoundland (e.g., Goff & Lien, 1988; Lawson and Gosselin, 2003), and Labrador (Threlfall, 1978; DFO, 2005b).  Reports from New Brunswick come from turtles sighted in the Bay of Fundy, the Northumberland Strait and the Gulf of St. Lawrence.  In Prince Edward Island, a small number of records come from coastal strandings and reports made by fishers.  Leatherbacks have also been reported in the Gulf of the St. Lawrence off Quebec (e.g., D’Amours, 1983; Bosse, 1994).  Cultural artefacts from Baffin Island suggest that leatherbacks are occasionally encountered in that region of the north Atlantic (Shoop, 1980).

There has been some question as to whether juvenile leatherbacks occur in Canadian waters. Based on a review of all sightings of leatherback sea turtles of  <145cm curved carapace length (ccl), Eckert (1999) found that leatherback juveniles remain in waters warmer than 26°C until they exceed 100 cm.  These results lead us to believe that it is unlikely that juveniles venture into Atlantic Canadian waters.

image

Figure 2.  Occurrence of the leatherback turtle, Dermochelys coriacea, off eastern Canada.  Shaded areas show the location of concentrations of observations and are taken from Goff and Lien (1988; A), Witzell (1999 and DFO, 2005; B), and James (2000; C).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

2.5 Répartition

 2.5.1 Répartition mondiale

 La tortue luth tolère une grande amplitude de températures de l’eau, et de tous les reptiles c’est elle qui a la plus large répartition. On la trouve dans les eaux tropicales et tempérées des océans Atlantique, Pacifique et Indien. On l’a observée au nord jusqu’à 70°15’N (Gulliksen, 1990) et au sud environ jusqu’à 27°S (Boulon et al., 1988).

Dans l’Atlantique, les plus grands rassemblements de ponte s’observent en Guyane française et au Surinam, en Amérique du Sud, et au Gabon, en Afrique. L’espèce nidifie également, mais en plus faible densité, partout dans les Antilles et au Brésil. La Floride est le seul État continental des États‑Unis où on trouve un nombre important de nids (Calleson et al., 1998). Rabon et al. (2003) ont dressé récemment un inventaire des activités de nidification de la tortue luth au nord de la Floride et mentionnent sept nids pour la Caroline du Nord, limite nord de l’aire de nidification de l’espèce dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique. On pense que les principaux lieux de nidification de la tortue luth sont connus, et la plupart d’entre eux sont étroitement surveillés depuis plusieurs années (Spotila et al., 1996).

À la fin de la saison de nidification, une partie indéterminée de la population migre vers le nord jusqu’aux eaux tempérées. Lors de ces migrations, certains individus peuvent nager à des vitesses dépassant 9km/h (Keinath et Musick, 1993). Des études réalisées dans le golfe du Mexique (voir par exemple Fritts et al., 1983) et dans les eaux de la côte est des États-Unis (voir par exemple Lazell, 1980; Shoop et Kenney, 1992) et du Canada (James, 2000; Lawson et Gosselin, 2003) indiquent que la tortue luth préfère les eaux de la plate‑forme continentale. Au large, l’espèce est régulièrement présente le long des fronts thermiques, notamment à la lisière des gyres (voir par exemple Collard, 1990; Lutcavage, 1996). Ces zones sont très productives, et la tortue luth y trouve une abondance de méduses et d’autres invertébrés à corps mou.

Plusieurs méthodes de marquage (étiquette fixée à une nageoire, étiquette à transpondeur passif intégré (PIT), dispositif de localisation par satellite) sont employées pour recueillir des données sur la répartition de la tortue luth. Ainsi, des sujets de la population de l’ouest de l’Atlantique (Guyane) marqués avec une étiquette de nageoire ont été repérés au large de la côte ouest de l’Afrique, dans le golfe de Venezuela, dans le golfe du Mexique et sur la côte est des États‑Unis (Pritchard, 1976). Depuis 1978, d’autres ont été capturés le long de la côte est des États-Unis, entre la Floride et la Caroline du Sud (Girondot et Fretey, 1996). Des tortues luths marquées en Guyane française ont également été capturées dans le nord‑est de l’Atlantique, au large de la France, de l’Espagne et du Maroc, moins de 12 mois après la nidification (Girondot et Fretey, 1996). En 1987, une tortue luth marquée en Guyane française 128 jours plus tôt a été trouvée prise dans des filets de pêche dans la baie de Plaisance, à Terre‑Neuve (Goff et al., 1994). Elle avait franchi une distance de plus de 5 000 km en ligne droite. Les observations les plus au nord dans les eaux du Canada atlantique portaient sur des tortues luth emmêlées dans des engins (2, 1986 et 2004) ou nageant librement (1, 1986 à près de 54 N) le long de la côte du Labrador (MPO, 2005b). 

Des études plus directes de la répartition et des migrations de la tortue luth ont été réalisées par télémesure satellitaire (voir par exemple Eckert et al., 1989; Morreale et al., 1996; Hughes et al., 1998). L’une d’elles a révélé que l’espèce parcourt de grandes distances, se déplaçant des plages tropicales jusqu’aux eaux de l’Atlantique nord (Eckert, 1998). Deux sujets marqués sur une plage de Trinidad ont migré vers le nord jusqu’à 40 à 50 degrés de latitude, puis sont redescendus jusqu’à la côte de Mauritanie, en Afrique (Eckert, 1998). Plus récemment, 39 tortues luths munies de dispositifs de localisation par satellite dans les eaux de l’est du Canada ont été suivies dans leurs migrations vers les eaux subtropicales et tropicales (James, données inédites). Dix d’entre elles sont les premières tortues luths mâles à être suivies par satellite.

Des études sur les balanes qui parasitent la tortue luth ont révélé de précieuses informations sur les migrations de l’espèce. Par exemple, Zullo et Bleakney (1966) ont observé des balanes des eaux tropicales et subtropicales (Stomatolepas elegans) sur la peau de tortues luths capturées au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

La tortue luth du Pacifique vient se nourrir au large de la côte ouest du Canada entre juillet et septembre (Stinson, 1984). Bien que le nombre d’individus observés augmente d’année en année, le nombre de lieux où ils apparaissent régulièrement est restreint. La présence de l’espèce est le plus souvent signalée par des pêcheurs, mais les mentions de la part de plaisanciers ont récemment augmenté. Dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, l’espèce est mentionnée pour les îles de la Reine‑Charlotte et, de plus en plus, pour les eaux protégées des détroits d’Hécate et de Georgie (Pacific Leatherback Turtle Recovery Strategy, 2005).

2.5.2 Répartition dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique

La tortue luth ne nidifie pas au Canada, mais des adultes de l’espèce viennent chaque année se nourrir dans les eaux canadiennes, principalement entre juin et novembre (figure 2). La figure 2 résume les mentions publiées et inédites de la tortue luth pour les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique. Ces données se rapportent aux spécimens échoués ou trouvés pris dans des engins de pêche, morts ou vivants, ainsi qu’aux spécimens observés en mer.

Comme le nombre de tortues luths pénétrant dans les eaux canadiennes varie d’une année à l’autre et qu’il est difficile de recenser l’espèce en mer, les données concernant la présence de l’espèce dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique ont été fragmentaires. De ce fait, les évaluations d’abondance de la population ont toujours été modérées  (voir par exemple Cook, 1981; Gilhen, 1984). Toutefois, on a pu établir récemment, grâce aux efforts décrits ci‑dessous, que la population saisonnière est assez abondante.

Bleakney (1965) est le premier à avoir documenté de façon scientifique la présence de la tortue luth dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique. Les 26 mentions de l’espèce pour cette région (1889-1964) donnent à croire que ses déplacements vers les eaux du nord‑ouest de l’Atlantique sont saisonniers plutôt qu’occasionnels. Les recherches récentes de James (2000; James et al. 2005a, 2005b) et de scientifiques du MPO (non publiées) indiquent également que la tortue luth pénètre régulièrement dans les eaux tempérées au large de la côte est du Canada. L’espèce s’y trouve principalement entre août et septembre, mais elle y a été observée presque tous les mois de l’année (McAlpine et al, 2004).

La tortue luth a été observée notamment au large des côtes de la Nouvelle‑Écosse (voir par exemple Bleakney, 1965; James, 2000), de Terre‑Neuve (voir par exemple Goff et Lien, 1988; Lawson et Gosselin, 2003) et du Labrador (Threlfall, 1978; MPO, 2005b). Au Nouveau‑Brunswick, elle est mentionnée pour la baie de Fundy, le détroit de Northumberland et le golfe du Saint‑Laurent. Les registres de l’Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard mentionnent quelques observations signalées par des pêcheurs ainsi qu’un petit nombre de spécimens échoués sur les côtes. La tortue luth a également été aperçue dans le golfe du Saint‑Laurent à la hauteur de Québec (voir par exemple D’Amours, 1983; Bosse, 1994). Des objets fabriqués provenant de l’île de Baffin donnent à croire que la tortue luth monte parfois jusqu’à cette latitude (Shoop, 1980).

Certains se sont demandé si des juvéniles de l’espèce montaient jusqu’au Canada. Après avoir examiné toutes les mentions d’individus dont la carapace, mesurée suivant la courbure, avait moins de 145 cm de longueur, Eckert (1999) a conclu que les juvéniles ne quittent pas les eaux chaudes de 26°C et plus avant d’avoir atteint une taille dépassant les 100 cm. Il semble donc peu probable que des juvéniles s’aventurent dans l’Atlantique jusqu’au Canada.

image

Figure 2. Présence de la tortue luth (Dermochelys coriacea) au large de la côte est du Canada. Les zones hachurées indiquent les fortes concentrations, d’après Geoff et Lien (1988;A), Witzell (1999 et MPO. 2005;B) et James (2000;C).

Ungava Bay = Baie d’Ungava

Labrador Sea = Mer du Labrador

200 mile fishing zone = Zone de pêche de 200 milles

Gulf of St. Lawrence = Golfe du Saint-Laurent

Newfoundland = Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

New-Brunswick = Nouveau-Brunswick

Prince Edward Island = Île-du-Prince-Édouard

U.S.A. = Etats-Unis

Gulf of Maine = Golfe du Maine

Bay of Fundy= Baie de Fundy

Nova Scotia = Nouvelle-Écosse

Continental Shelf = Plateau continental

Grand Bank = Grand Banc

Flemish Cap =Bonnet flamand

Newfoundland Basin = Bassin de Terre‑Neuve

Sable Island = Île de Sable

Atlantic Ocean = Océan Atlantique