Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle

2.7 Biological Limiting Factors

A number of biological (and behavioural) factors affect leatherback turtles by limiting their potential for population growth.  These limiting factors have been grouped into those observed in the marine environment, and those that exist in the nesting beach habitat.

2.7.1 Marine environment

Leatherbacks depend on prey with very little nutritive content and since this species’ diet of jellyfish is high in water and low in organic content, they must consume large quantities of food (Lutcavage, 1996) to fulfil their food energy requirements.  This is the only known biological limiting factor in Canadian waters.

2.7.2 Nesting beach habitat

Leatherbacks prefer to nest on exposed, open beaches, adjacent to deep water and typically unprotected by fringing reefs.  In some years large numbers of nests on such beaches are lost to flooding and erosion (e.g., Whitmore & Dutton, 1985; Leslie et al., 1996).  In addition, the leatherback turtle is unique in producing numerous yolkless eggs in each clutch for which a selective advantage remains to be identified.  The yolkless eggs may not have a function and thus may be a potential cost to reproduction (Rostal et al., 1996).

Further, Leatherbacks are thought to be a long-lived species but life expectancy is unknown; the age at maturity is estimated at 5-14 years (Zug & Parham, 1996).  This, coupled with a 2-3 year interval between nestings (Hughes, 1996), may limit the ability of populations to rebound in times of low survival rates.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

2.7 Facteurs biologiques limitants

Plusieurs facteurs biologiques (et écologiques) limitent la croissance démographique de la tortue luth. Certains appartiennent au milieu marin, d’autres, aux plages de nidification.

2.7.1 Milieu marin

Les tortues luths se nourrissent de proies à très faible valeur nutritive, notamment de méduses, qui sont constituées de beaucoup d’eau et de peu de matière organique; elles doivent donc en consommer de très grandes quantités (Lutcavage, 1996) pour combler leurs besoins énergétiques. Ce régime alimentaire particulier est le seul facteur biologique connu limitant la population de tortues luths en eaux canadiennes.

2.7.2 Plages de nidification

La tortue luth préfère pour pondre les plages dénudées, accessibles depuis des eaux profondes et non protégées par des récifs frangeants. Certaines années, de nombreux nids creusés sur ce type de plages sont inondés ou détruits par l’érosion (voir par exemple Whitmore et Dutton, 1985; Leslie et al., 1996). En outre, la tortue luth a la particularité de produire à chaque ponte un grand nombre d’œufs sans jaune, dont la fonction n’est pas connue. Il est possible qu’ils n’en aient aucune; ils ne seraient alors qu’un coût de la reproduction (Rostal et al., 1996).

La tortue luth vit longtemps, mais on ne connaît pas sa longévité. L’âge auquel elle atteint la maturité se situe probablement entre 5 et 14 ans (Zug et Parham, 1996). Une maturité aussi tardive et des intervalles de 2 à 3 ans entre les reproductions (Hughes, 1996) peuvent limiter la capacité de la population à se rétablir à la suite d’une forte mortalité.