Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle

2.8 Threats [1]

Researchers have observed a decline of over 70% in the leatherback turtle population on its nesting beaches.  While there are known (and probably unknown) threats to leatherbacks in migratory and feeding habitat, these are not well understood.  Threats occur both in nesting habitat and at sea.  Because this strategy focuses on those known and potential threats that occur in Atlantic Canadian waters, it more specifically addresses threats that occur at sea. 

2.8.1 Threats in the Marine Environment

Entanglement in fishing gear

Leatherback turtles are incidentally captured in nets and entangled in lines in fisheries operating in pelagic and coastal foraging areas and in migratory corridors.  Of all the Atlantic sea turtle species, leatherbacks seem to be the most vulnerable to entanglement in fishing gear such as pelagic longlines, lines associated with fixed pot gear and gillnets, buoy anchor lines, and other ropes and cables (e.g., Chan et al., 1988; Goff & Lien, 1988; NMFS, 1992; Cheng & Chen, 1997; Godley et al., 1998).

Interactions between leatherback turtles and fishing gear are expected to differ depending on gear type.  Although little observer data exist to document leatherback interactions with different gear types in Atlantic Canadian waters, O’Boyle (2001) identifies the gears with high potential for interactions (Table 1).

Table 1.  Summary of the gear types with high potential for sea turtle interactions

 

GearTargeted SpeciesArea/SeasonComment

Longline

Groundfish All areas and seasons Hooks set close to bottom but entanglement a concern
  Pelagic Atlantic Coast Observations available
Gillnet Herring Newfoundland Bait fishery; not regularly tended
  Groundfish 5Z Cod fishery
  Mackerel 4X Bait fishery all year
Trap Lobster 4VWX5Z Offshore Turtles in this area
  Groundfish/Pelagic All areas and seasons Entanglement a concern
Pot Snow Crab 3L (April-September) Entanglement occurred in 2004
  Snow Crab 4VW (April- September) Entanglement a concern

Table 1.  Summary of the gear types with high potential for sea turtle interactions.  In many cases there is little or no observer data to document the incidence of sea turtle interactions with these gear types (O’Boyle 2001).

Incidental interaction of marine turtles in pelagic longlines is evident from observer data for the Canadian pelagic longline fisheries.  These fisheries have implemented the broadest observer coverage to date among Atlantic fisheries that have been identified as posing a risk of interaction with leatherback sea turtles.

Turtle interactions do not appear to occur in Canadian pelagic longline fisheries targeting shark (Javitech 2003C), but are well documented in longline fisheries targeting swordfish and tunas (28 individuals – swordfish 2001; 33 individuals – swordfish 2002; 4 individuals – offshore tuna 2002).  During a two-year programme of enhanced observer coverage levels of 20%, live release was observed in all cases for leatherback turtles in the swordfish fisheries.  Similar results were observed in the offshore tuna fishery where observer coverage levels were 100% in 2002.

From observations in the swordfish fishery, hooks and gangion line remained attached to turtles in 48.8% of all cases in 2001 and 74.5% of all cases in 2002.  Just hooks remained attached in 5.6% of all cases in 2001 and 24.1% of all cases in 2002.  All hooks and gangion line were removed from 33.3% of all cases in 2001 and 1.4% of all cases in 2002.  In all of the above cases, post-release mortality is not known (Javitech 2002, 2003A and 2003B).

Unfortunately, no observer information exists regarding interactions between the leatherback turtle and fixed gear.  However, valuable information is available through strandings.  The Nova Scotia Leatherback Turtle Working Group  reported 87 records of stranded leatherbacks from 1995-2002 – turtles entangled in fixed fishing gear and turtles found floating dead in shelf waters off Atlantic Canada.

Of the 87 records, 74% provided direct or indirect evidence of leatherbacks interacting with fixed fishing gear and 62% were associated with specific types of gears.  Snow crab, rock crab, inshore lobster, offshore lobster and whelk fisheries were associated with 29% of the records, 22% of the records involved mooring or buoy lines associated with bottom gill nets, bait nets and pound nets of other fish traps.  Three percent were associated with vertical lines in the groundfish longline gear.

Leatherback turtles are also entangled in U.S. Atlantic waters.  For example, 92 leatherbacks were entangled in fixed pot gear from New York through Maine for the period 1990-2000 (Dwyer et al., 2002).  Additional leatherbacks are stranded with line wraps or evidence of prior entanglement (Dwyer et al, 2002).  Further, leatherback interactions have been observed in the shrimp trawl and other bottom trawl fisheries.  Historically, interactions were observed in the drift gillnet fishery for swordfish.  However, in January 1999, the U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) issued a Final Rule to prohibit the use of driftnets (i.e. permanent closure) in the North Atlantic swordfish fishery (50 CFR Part 630).

Although NMFS promulgated regulations requiring the use of turtle excluder devices (TEDs) in shrimp trawl fisheries in 1990, Epperly et al. (2002) in a review of sea turtle stranding data, found that the TED openings were much too small to exclude leatherbacks and larger loggerhead and green turtles.  In 2003 NMFS amended the regulations to require larger TED openings in U.S. Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico waters.  In addition to the TED regulations, the U.S. also established a leatherback turtle Conservation Zone in 1995 to restrict trawl activities on the Atlantic coast during periods when leatherbacks are concentrated.

The susceptibility of leatherbacks to entanglements may result from their large body size, long pectoral flippers and soft shell.  Entanglement of leatherbacks in lines or cable can result in serious injuries, infection, necrosis or death.  These entangled turtles are generally limited in their ability to feed, dive, breathe or perform any other behaviour essential to survival (Balazs, 1985).

 Collisions

While no incidences of collisions with boats are documented in Atlantic Canada, they have been known to occur in some areas of the U.S. and may have an impact on the leatherback turtle population that also uses Canadian waters.  In areas where recreational boating, commercial fishing and ship traffic are concentrated, propeller and collision-related injuries may represent a source of mortality (NMFS, 1992).  However, in situations where there is evidence of a collision, it is difficult to infer whether the collision itself led to the death of the turtle in question, or if the turtle was hit after it died of other causes.  Leatherback turtles are known to bask at the surface for extended periods of time when foraging in temperate waters and, therefore, may be vulnerable to collisions with marine traffic.

Marine Pollution

The effect of marine pollution on sea turtles is not well quantified, and therefore the magnitude of pollution-related mortality is unknown.  Leatherback sea turtles may be more susceptible to marine debris ingestion than other turtle species due to their pelagic existence and the tendency of floating debris to concentrate in convergence zones that adults and juveniles use for feeding areas and migration (Lutcavage et al., 1997; Shoop & Kenney 1992).

Leatherbacks are known to ingest a variety of anthropogenic marine debris, including plastic bags, balloons, plastic and Styrofoam pieces, tar balls, plastic sheeting, and fishing gear (e.g., Sadove, 1980; Hartog &Van Nierop, 1984; Lucas, 1992; Starbird, 2000).  Ingestion of such materials may interfere with metabolism or gut function and lead to blockages in the digestive tract, which could result in starvation or in the absorption of toxic byproducts (Plotkin & Amos, 1989).

Leatherbacks may serve as an indicator of the degree of contamination of the oceanic food web by bio-accumulating substances such as heavy metals and polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) found in plankton-feeding jellyfish (Davenport & Wrench 1990).  Metal and PCB levels in the leatherback are expected to represent a biomagnification of concentrations found in their prey; however, to date, tissue samples derived from leatherbacks in European waters have not revealed evidence of significant chemical contamination (Davenport et al., 1990; Godley et al., 1998).

Acoustic disturbances

Little is known about the hearing ability of the leatherback turtle and its response to acoustic disturbance.  Studies involving adult green, loggerhead and Kemp’s ridley turtles suggest that sea turtles detect sounds in the low frequency sound range, with the greatest hearing sensitivity between 250-700 Hz (Ridgway et al., 1969; Lenhardt et al., 1983; Bartol et al., 1999).

The effects of exposure to increased noise, based largely on studies involving marine mammals, may include habituation, behavioural disturbance (including displacement), temporary or permanent hearing impairment, acoustic masking, and mortality (Richardson el al., 1995).  Studies on sea turtles have shown that certain levels of exposure to low frequency sound may cause displacement from the area near the sound source and increased surfacing behaviour (O’Hara & Wilcox, 1990; Lenhardt et al., 1983).  This raised the concern that turtles may be displaced from preferred foraging areas (e.g., O’Hara & Wilcox, 1990; Moein et al., 1994).

There are a range of sources of anthropogenic noise in the marine waters of Atlantic Canada that produce underwater sounds within the frequency range detectable by sea turtles.  These include oil and gas exploration and development, shipping, fishing, military activity, underwater detonations, and shore based activities (Davis et al., 1998; Greene & Moore, 1995; Lawson et al., 2000).  Concerning the exposure to seismic airguns used in exploration, studies to date describe behavioural responses such as; increased swimming speed, increased activity, change in swimming direction and avoidance (DFO, 2004).  Startle responses and erratic swimming behaviour was observed by McCauley et al. (2000).  A study by Moein et al., (1994), noted a temporary reduction in hearing capability and temporarily increased physiological parameters (e.g., glucose, white blood cells and creatinine phosphokinase) which is suggestive of damaged tissues or altered physiology.  .Overall, based on the available information, it is considered unlikely that sea turtles are more sensitive to seismic operations associated with oil and gas exploration than cetaceans or some fish (DFO, 2004). Seismic operators currently use mitigation techniques, such as “ramp-up” procedures to encourage species such as marine mammals to move away from survey areas, and use “shut down” procedures when a species is identified as too close to survey.  However, mitigation focused on detection are expected to be less effective for turtles given that they are more difficult to identify both visually and acoustically.  Noise from offshore hydrocarbon production platforms and exploration drilling generally tend to be of low frequency (<500 Hz) (Richardson et al., 1995); however there are no published studies on the potential impacts of production or drilling operations on sea turtles.  Sea turtles may react to noise from vessel traffic and helicopter overflights with a startle response (NRC, 1990; NOAA, 2002).  Although it is assumed that turtles close to the surface can hear aircraft noise and may subsequently change their behaviour, there are no published studies to confirm this (NOAA, 2002). 



[1] SARA requires that the recovery strategy identify “threats to the survival of the species that is consistent with information provided by COSEWIC.” [SARA, s.41(b)].

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

2.8 Menaces[1]

 Les chercheurs ont constaté un déclin de plus de 70 % du nombre de tortues luths venant pondre sur les plages. L’espèce est menacée aussi bien en mer que sur les plages de nidification. Les dangers auxquels elle est exposée lors de ses migrations et de ses séjours dans ses aires d’alimentation ne sont pas bien connus. Comme le présent programme de rétablissement vise les menaces, connues et éventuelles, qui guettent la tortue luth dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique, il y a lieu de s’intéresser surtout à celles auxquelles l’espèce est exposée en mer.

 2.8.1 Menaces en mer

 Empêtrement dans les engins de pêche

Il arrive que des tortues luths s’empêtrent dans les filets ou les lignes de pêche placés dans ses aires d’alimentation côtières et de haute mer ou ses couloirs de migration. De toutes les espèces de tortues marines présentes dans l’Atlantique, la tortue luth semble être celle qui se prend le plus fréquemment dans les câbles de palangres, de filets maillants, de casiers, de bouées, etc. (voir par exemple Chan et al., 1988; Goff et Lien, 1988; NMFS, 1992; Cheng et Chen, 1997; Godley et al., 1998).

On peut supposer que le danger pour l’espèce varie selon la nature de l’engin de pêche. Il existe peu de données d’observation concernant l’incidence sur la tortue luth des différents types d’engins de pêche utilisés dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique; cependant, O’Boyle (2001) énumère ceux qui, à son avis, sont les plus dangereux pour l’espèce (voir le tableau 1).

Tableau 1. Engins de pêche présentant un risque élevé pour les tortues marines.

EnginsEspèces cibléesSecteurs/saisonsObservations

Palangres

Poissons démersauxTous les secteurs, toutes les saisonsLes hameçons sont placés près du fond, mais il subsiste un risque d’empêtrement
 Poissons pélagiquesCôte atlantiqueObservations disponibles
Filets maillantsHarengTerre‑NeuvePêche à boëtte; les filets ne sont pas surveillés régulièrement.
 Poissons démersaux5ZPêche de la morue
 Maquereau4XPêche à boëtte toute l’année
CasierHomard4VWX5Z au largeIl y a des tortues dans ce secteur.
 Poissons démersaux pélagiquesTous les secteurs, toutes les saisonsRisque d’empêtrement
CasierCrabe des neiges3L (d’avril à septembre)Cas d’empêtrement en 2004
 Crabe des neiges4VW (d’avril à septembre)Risque d’empêtrement

Tableau 1. Engins de pêche présentant un risque élevé pour les tortues marines. Pour de nombreux types d’engins, il n’existe pas ou pratiquement pas de données d’observation permettant de déterminer le danger pour les tortues (O’Boyle, 2001).

Les données des observateurs des pêches pélagiques à la palangre révèlent que ces pêches ont une incidence sur les tortues marines. De toutes les pêches pratiquées dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique qui présentent un risque pour la tortue luth, la flottille de pêche pélagique à la palangre est celle qui a déployé le plus vaste réseau d’observateurs.

Dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique, la pêche à la palangre du requin ne semble avoir aucune incidence sur les tortues (Javitech, 2003C), contrairement à la pêche à la palangre de l’espadon et du thon (pêche à l’espadon en 2001 : 28 tortues; pêche à l’espadon en 2002 : 33 tortues; pêche hauturière du thon en 2002 : 4 tortues). Sur une période de deux ans où le niveau de présence d’observateurs a été rehaussé à 20 %, toutes les tortues luths prises par la flottille de pêche de l’espadon ont été remises à la mer vivantes. Les mêmes résultats ont été observés dans la pêche hauturière du thon, où le niveau de présence d’observateurs était de 100 % en 2002.

D’après les données des observateurs dans les pêches d’espadon, les hameçons et les avançons sont demeurés attachés aux tortues dans 48,8 % des cas en 2001 et dans 74,5 % des cas en 2002. Seuls les hameçons sont demeurés attachés aux tortues dans 5,6 % des cas en 2001 et dans 24,1 % des cas en 2002. Les hameçons et avançons ont été complètement retirés dans 33,3 % des cas en 2001 et dans 1,4 % des cas en 2002. Le taux de mortalité après remise à la mer des tortues n’est connu pour aucun des cas susmentionnés (Javitech, 2002, 2003A et 2003B).

Malheureusement, il n’y a eu aucune observation des répercussions des engins de pêche fixes sur la tortue luth. On peut cependant tirer des informations utiles de l’observation des tortues échouées. Le Nova Scotia Leatherback Turtle Working Group répertorie, pour la période de 1995 à 2002, 87 tortues luths empêtrées dans des engins de pêche fixes ou flottant dans les eaux de la plate-forme continentale au large de la côte est du Canada.

De ces 87 cas, 74 % peuvent être liés directement ou indirectement à des engins de pêche fixes, et 62 % à des types d’engins en particulier. Vingt‑neuf pour cent des cas sont liés aux pêches du crabe des neiges, du crabe commun, du homard (pêches côtière et hauturière) et du buccin, 22 % aux amarres ou aux bandingues de filets maillants calés, de filets à boëtte et de verveux. Dans 3 % des cas, la ligne principale de palangres de pêche de poissons de fond était en cause.

Des cas analogues sont également répertoriés pour les États-Unis. De 1990 à 2000, 92 tortues luths ont été trouvées emmêlées dans les câbles de casiers fixes entre le New York et le Maine (Dwyer et al., 2002). Des sujets échoués ont été trouvés entortillés dans des lignes ou portant des marques de lignes (Dwyer et al., 2002). Les pêches au chalut de la crevette et d’autres espèces de fond font aussi des victimes. Dans le passé, les filets maillants dérivants utilisés pour la pêche de l’espadon tuaient également des tortues luths. Cependant, en janvier 1999, le U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) a interdit l’usage de filets dérivants (fermeture permanente) pour la pêche de l’espadon dans l’Atlantique nord (50 CFR Part 630).

Depuis 1990, en vertu d’un règlement du NMFS, les chaluts des crevettiers doivent être pourvus de dispositifs permettant aux tortues captives de s’échapper. Cependant, en examinant les données concernant les tortues échouées, Epperly et al. (2002) ont constaté que les ouvertures de ces dispositifs étaient beaucoup trop petites pour permettre le passage de tortues luths et de grosses caouanes et tortues vertes. En 2003, le NMFS a modifié le règlement, prescrivant des ouvertures plus grandes pour la pêche le long de la côte est des États-Unis et dans le golfe du Mexique. Les autorités américaines ont également défini en 1995 une zone de conservation de la tortue luth pour restreindre la pêche au chalut sur la côte atlantique aux moments de l’année où l’espèce y vient en grands nombres.

La propension de la tortue luth à se prendre dans les engins de pêche peut être attribuée à sa grande taille, à la longueur de ses nageoires antérieures et à sa carapace molle. Les lignes de pêche et autres câbles peuvent lui causer des blessures graves, des infections, des nécroses, voire la mort. Les tortues ainsi empêtrées ont de la difficulté à s’alimenter, à plonger, à respirer, à accomplir toutes les fonctions nécessaires à leur survie (Balazs, 1985).

Collisions

Bien qu’aucun cas de collision n’ait été signalé dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique, des cas ont été observés aux États-Unis et sont également possibles au Canada. Dans les secteurs où la navigation de plaisance, la pêche commerciale et le trafic maritime sont intenses, les collisions et les blessures causées par les hélices des bateaux peuvent entraîner de la mortalité chez la tortue luth (NMFS, 1992). Dans les cas de collision, il est cependant difficile de déterminer avec certitude si l’incident a causé la mort de la tortue ou si la tortue était déjà morte lorsqu’elle a été frappée. La tortue luth se laisse flotter à la surface durant de longs moments dans les eaux tempérées où elle se nourrit, et elle risque alors de se faire frapper par des bateaux.

Pollution marine

Les effets de la pollution marine sur la tortue luth n’ont pas été mesurés; on ne connaît donc pas la mortalité imputable à ce facteur. L’ingestion de débris est peut‑être plus fréquente chez la tortue luth que chez les autres tortues marines en raison de la nature pélagique de l’espèce et du fait que les débris flottants ont tendance à se concentrer dans les zones de convergence, exploitées par les tortues luths adultes et juvéniles comme aires d’alimentation et couloirs de migration (Lutcavage et al., 1997; Shoop et Kenney, 1992).

La tortue luth ingère toutes sortes de débris jetés à la mer, notamment des sacs en polyéthylène, des ballons, des objets en plastique et en mousse de polystyrène, des boules de goudron, des emballages en plastique et des agrès de pêche (voir par exemple Sadove, 1980; Hartog etVan Nierop, 1984; Lucas, 1992; Starbird, 2000). Ces matières peuvent nuire à la digestion et au métabolisme de l’animal, causer des occlusions intestinales et entraîner la mort par inanition ou absorption de sous-produits toxiques (Plotkin et Amos, 1989).

La tortue luth pourrait servir d’indicateur du degré de contamination du réseau trophique océanique par des matières bioaccumulables telles que les métaux lourds et les diphényles polychlorés (BPC), présents notamment dans les méduses qui se nourrissent de plancton (Davenport et Wrench, 1990). On s’attendrait à une bioamplification dans la tortue luth des concentrations de métaux et de BPC présents dans leurs proies. À ce jour, cependant, on n’a trouvé aucune concentration significative de contaminants chimiques dans les tissus prélevés chez des tortues luths des eaux européennes de l’Atlantique (Davenport et al., 1990; Godley et al., 1998).

Bruit

On connaît peu de choses sur l’ouïe de la tortue luth et sur la réaction de l’espèce au bruit. Des études indiquent que les adultes de la tortue verte, de la caouane et de la tortue bâtarde perçoivent les sons de basse fréquence et que leur plus grande sensibilité auriculaire se situe entre 250 et 700 Hz (Ridgway et al., 1969; Lenhardt et al., 1983; Bartol et al., 1999).

Selon des études axées sur les mammifères marins, les effets de l’exposition à un bruit croissant  peuvent comprendre l’accoutumance, la modification du comportement (y compris le déplacement), la perte temporaire ou permanente d’acuité auditive, le masquage des sons perçus par l’espèce et la mort (Richardson et al., 1995). Des études ont montré que les sons de basse fréquence peuvent provoquer le déplacement des tortues de mer et les porter à remonter plus fréquemment à la surface (O’Hara et Wilcox, 1990; Lenhardt et al., 1983). On peut donc craindre que certains bruits éloignent les tortues de leurs aires d’alimentation préférées (voir par exemple O’Hara et Wilcox, 1990; Moein et al., 1994).

Diverses activités anthropiques ont cours dans les eaux de mer du Canada atlantique qui peuvent produire dans l’eau des sons dont la fréquence se situe dans la bande perceptible par les tortues marines. On peut penser à l’exploration et à l’exploitation pétrolières et gazières, au transport maritime, à la pêche, aux activités militaires, au tir aux explosifs et à certaines activités côtières (Davis et al., 1998; Greene et Moore, 1995; Lawson et al., 2000).  Pour ce qui est de l’exposition au bruit produit par les canons à air utilisés en prospection sismique, les études réalisées à ce jour font état de réactions comme l’accélération de la vitesse de nage, une activité plus intense, un changement de direction de nage et l’évitement (MPO. 2004). Des réflexes de sursaut et des comportements natatoires excentriques ont été observés par McCauley et al. (2000). Dans le cadre d’une étude réalisée par Moein et al. (1994), on a constaté une diminution temporaire de l’acuité auditive et une augmentation temporaire de certains paramètres physiologiques (par exemple, concentrations du glucose, des globules blancs et de la créatinine phosphokinase), donnant à penser à des dommages physiques ou des perturbations physiologiques. En général, les données disponibles révèlent qu’il est peu probable que les tortues de mer soient plus sensibles aux bruits sismiques associés à la prospection pétrolières et gazière que les cétacés ou certains poissons (MPO, 2004).

Les prospecteurs ont recours à des mesures comme l’augmentation progressive de l’intensité des canons à air pour inciter les animaux marins, comme les mammifères marins, à s’éloigner de la zone de prospection, ou à l’interruption des activités de prospection lorsqu’ils jugent qu’un animal est trop proche de la zone de prospection. Toutefois, on s’attend à ce que les mesures d’atténuation axées sur la détection soient moins efficaces dans le cas des tortues, car celles-ci sont plus difficiles à identifier visuellement et par leurs sons. Le bruit provenant des plates-formes de production d’hydrocarbures ou des activités de forage de puits d’exploration en mer est généralement de basse fréquence (<500 Hz) (Richardson et al., 1995). Aucune étude n’a cependant été publiée sur les répercussions possibles de ces activités sur les tortues marines. On pense que les tortues marines peuvent avoir une réaction de sursaut au bruit des bateaux et des hélicoptères (NRC, 1990; NOAA, 2002). On suppose que les tortues se trouvant près de la surface de l’eau entendent le bruit des hélicoptères et peuvent y réagir par un changement de comportement, mais aucune étude publiée ne le confirme (NOAA, 2002).


[1] La LEP exige que le programme de rétablissement comporte « une désignation des menaces à la survie de l'espèce . . . qui soit compatible avec les renseignements fournis par le COSEPAC » [LEP, par. 41(1)b)].