Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle

2.8.2  Threats to the Nesting Environment

Poaching

The harvest of nesting adult females and their eggs for consumption or other uses continues to be a serious threat to leatherbacks throughout much of their range.  The loss of nesting adults can lead to local extirpations, while the collection of eggs reduces the number of hatchlings available for future recruitment.  To protect eggs from harvest, a number of conservation programs have developed hatcheries.  While this may increase the total number of hatchlings released into the wild, artificial incubation - which is typically done at lower ambient beach temperatures - may result in the production of increased numbers of males (Morreale, et al.,1982; Mrsovsky, 1982; Dutton et al., 1985).  The long-term recovery implications of this altered sex ratio have not been quantified. 

While leatherback meat is considered unpalatable by most, poaching of free-swimming and nesting turtles for meat and/or oil does occur in some areas, including the British Virgin Islands, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands (Fleming 2001).  A larger, more widespread problem is the collection of leatherback eggs for sale in local and/or foreign markets in the aforementioned countries as well as the Bahamas (Fleming 2001).

Coastal Construction

Coastal development and the resultant beach armouring (seawalls, revetments, riprap, sand bags, groins, and sand fences) put in place to protect upland structures from erosion can interfere with access to suitable nesting sites during construction, throughout the duration of the armouring and when structures deteriorate.  Erosion associated with hard armouring structures also leads to the loss of nesting habitat (NMFS, 1992).  Soft armouring such as beach nourishment can result in beaches unsuitable for nesting due to compaction or severe scarping and may also result in an altered physical nesting environment that can adversely impact hatchling development and hatching success. 

Artificial Light

Artificial lighting associated with coastal development, construction activities and roads can result in the disorientation of nesting adults and emerging hatchlings, resulting in failed nesting attempts and mortality of hatchlings.  Adult females may avoid nesting on beaches with intense artificial lighting or ambient glow.  When they do successfully nest on these beaches, hatchlings are attracted toward the artificial light source, which disrupts their natural sea finding behaviour, resulting in stress, dehydration, and predation (Witherington, 1992; Witherington & Bjorndal, 1991). 

Climate Change

According to Davenport (1997), global warming is predicted to have deleterious effects on marine turtles, as it could potentially influence temperature-dependent sex determination.  It can also be argued that increased hurricane activity associated with global climate change could result in increased nest loss due to amplified wind and wave erosion on leatherback nesting beaches.  Lastly, alterations in ocean current patterns may accompany climate change, thereby affecting the migration and dispersal of marine turtles (Davenport, 1997).

Other Potential Threats

Other important threats to nesting habitats include: beach erosion, nest predation, beach driving, beach cleaning, beach mining, and exotic vegetation.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

2.8.2  Menaces sur les plages de nidification

Braconnage

La capture de femelles reproductrices sur les plages et la récolte de leurs œufs pour la consommation humaine ou à d’autres fins est une menace grave pour l’espèce dans une grande partie de son aire. La destruction de femelles reproductrices peut entraîner la disparition de populations locales, et la récolte des œufs réduit le recrutement futur dans la population adulte. Divers programmes de conservation aménagent des écloseries artificielles pour soustraire les œufs au braconnage. Cette mesure augmente certes le nombre de jeunes qui sont relâchés dans la nature, mais l’incubation artificielle, qui se fait généralement à des températures inférieures à celles des températures d’incubation sur les plages, peut par ailleurs donner un nombre plus élevé de mâles (Morreale, et al., 1982; Mrsovsky, 1982; Dutton et al., 1985). Les répercussions à long terme d’une modification du rapport des sexes n’ont pas été étudiées.

La chair de la tortue luth n’est généralement pas prisée; le braconnage de l’espèce en mer et sur les plages pour la chair ou pour l’huile se produit néanmoins dans certaines régions, notamment dans les îles Vierges britanniques, en République dominicaine, en Jamaïque, à Porto Rico et aux îles Vierges américaines (Fleming, 2001). La récolte des œufs pour la vente sur les marchés locaux et étrangers pose un problème encore plus répandu et plus lourd de conséquences, dans ces régions de même qu’aux Bahamas (Fleming, 2001).

Constructions sur les côtes

L’aménagement  des côtes et les ouvrages de défense (murs, revêtements, perrés, sacs de sable, épis, clôtures à sable) érigés pour protéger les constructions contre l’érosion peuvent empêcher l’accès aux plages pour la nidification; cela est vrai aussi bien durant la phase de construction de ces ouvrages, que pendant le temps qu’ils demeurent en place et lorsqu’ils se dégradent. Les ouvrages de défense réalisés en dur peuvent entraîner la perte d’habitat de nidification (NMFS, 1992). Les ouvrages tels que la recharge des plages peuvent rendre celles‑ci impropres à la nidification en raison d’un compactage trop intensif ou d’une pente trop raide. Ils peuvent également transformer le milieu physique de manière qu’il ne favorise plus le développement des embryons ni l’éclosion des oeufs.

Éclairage artificiel

Les sources de lumière artificielle associées aux côtes construites, aux routes qui les desservent et aux travaux de construction peuvent désorienter les femelles ou les empêcher de venir pondre sur la plage, comme elles peuvent désorienter les nouveaux‑nés et les exposer à la mort. Les femelles peuvent craindre les plages trop éclairées ou baignées par une lueur trop forte. Lorsque des œufs éclosent sur des plages éclairées, les nouveaux‑nés sont attirés vers les sources de lumière, perdant leur sens d’orientation naturel qui les dirigerait normalement vers la mer. En conséquence, ils s’égarent, souffrent de stress et de déshydratation et courent un plus grand risque d’être dévorés (Witherington, 1992; Witherington et Bjorndal, 1991).

Changements climatiques

Selon Davenport (1997), le réchauffement planétaire pourrait avoir des effets néfastes sur les tortues marines du fait que le sexe des embryons est déterminé par la température d’incubation des œufs. On peut aussi penser que l’intensification des ouragans qui accompagnera vraisemblablement le réchauffement climatique entraînera une augmentation du nombre de nids de tortues luths qui seront détruits par l’action érosive du vent et des vagues. Enfin, le réchauffement climatique pourrait entraîner une modification des courants marins et, par conséquent, des migrations et de la répartition des tortues marines (Davenport, 1997).

Autres menaces possibles

Plusieurs menaces pour l’espèce sont associées aux plages de nidification : l’érosion, le pillage des nids, la circulation de véhicules, le nettoyage, l’extraction de sable et l’introduction de végétation exotique.