Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Horsetail Spike-rush

Background

1.1   Description

Horsetail spike-rush is an aquatic, perennial plant in the sedge family (Cyperaceae). It has unbranched, green aerial stems (“culms”) 50–100 cm in height and 3–5 mm in diameter, which are round in cross-section. Horsetail spike-rush is, in part, distinguished from other spike-rushes within its range by relatively stout culms that are at least the same thickness as its mature terminal spikelets. Another distinctive characteristic is the presence of internal, cross-partitioning membranes inside the culm. The plant does not have leaf blades, but instead has narrow, papery scales at the base of the culm. Horsetail spike-rush begins flowering in late spring and fruits from July to October. Fruits are held within a terminal spikelet of 15–40 mm in length, which is covered in light brown scales dotted purple on the inside. The small fruits are oval-shaped and flattened to triangular, with a long protrusion extending from one end. Horsetail spike-rush also reproduces clonally by underground rhizomes. Technical descriptions and illustrations are available in Voss (1972), Gleason and Cronquist (1991), and Holmgren (1998).

1.2   Populations and Distribution

Horsetail spike-rush is primarily a species of the southern Atlantic and Gulf coastal plains, also occurring locally at the northern extent of its range along the southern Great Lakes.It is considered globally apparently secure (G4) (NatureServe 2006). It has been recorded in 23 American states, but is considered rare (S1–S3) in 13 of these and historical (SH) or extirpated (SX) in another five (Appendix 1).

In Canada, horsetail spike-rush is known from a single occurrence at Long Point National Wildlife Area in southwestern Ontario (Reznicek and Catling 1989; Sutherland 2000). It is considered critically imperiled (S1) in Ontario (Natural Heritage Information Centre 2005) and this occurrence represents less than 1% of the species’ global population (Sutherland 2000). Long-term trends within this single population are unknown owing to an absence of data from earliest accounts. While the number of culms and areal extent of the population of this plant fluctuated somewhat between surveys in 1988 and 2004 (Table 1), this may indicate annual variation only, due in part to natural changes in water level. The recent (2004) drop in the number of culms is not considered to be an indicator of serious decline, as the areal extent had not changed greatly, and water levels were unusually high that year (M. Oldham, pers. comm. 2005). Owing to the clonal nature of this species, it is also possible that the occurrence represents only a single plant.

Table 1. Population Data for horsetail spike-rush on Long Point, Ontario
YearCollector/observerPopulation/plant numbersArea (m2)
1953LandonNo estimateNo estimate
1956Soper & DaleNo estimateNo estimate
1960LandonNo estimateNo estimate
1988A.A.Reznicek et al.Approximately 12 culms1
1993D. Sutherland151 culms (91 fruiting)6
1999A.A. Reznicek & M. OldhamApproximately 100 culms (10 fruiting)8–10
2004M. Oldham, A.A. Reznicek, & J. Robinson19 culms (9 fruiting)5–10

Sources: Sutherland (2000); Oldham (2004).

In 1999, a possible new location was reported at Turkey Point Provincial Park but no specimen or photograph exists to document this finding. The plant was not located again in spite of considerable searching at the reported location by botanists familiar with the species (M. Oldham, pers. comm. 2005). The nearest recorded populations of horsetail spike-rush are at least 200 km east of Long Point in Monroe County, New York, and over 300 km west in Washtenaw County, Michigan (Young and Weldy 2005; Michigan Natural Features Inventory 2006).

Extant Canadian population of horsetail spike-rush

Figure 1 Extant Canadian population of horsetail spike-rush

1.3    Needs of Horsetail Spike-rush

1.3.1   Habitat and biological needs

In Ontario, horsetail spike-rush on Long Point grows in sandy organic muck along the south-facing shoreline of an inland pond (Sutherland 2000). The pond lies between two stabilized dune ridges near the tip of Long Point and is affected by natural processes. Horsetail spike-rush is considered an aquatic species, growing in water between 4 and 35 cm deep. Like many other Atlantic coastal plain species, it may be tolerant of periodic water level fluctuations (Schneider 1994), although its specific tolerance limits have not been studied.

The shoreline community at this location is dominated by buttonbush (Cephalanthus occidentalis) and red-osier dogwood (Cornus stolonifera). Other species observed growing in association with horsetail spike-rush include water bulrush (Scirpus subterminalis), Small’s spike-rush (Eleocharis smallii), grass-leaved pondweed (Potamogeton gramineus), long-leaved pondweed (Potamogeton nodosus), common coontail (Ceratophyllum demersum), slender naiad (Najas flexilis), bulhead pond-lily (Nuphar variegatum), northern wild rice (Zizania palustris), and slender sedge (Carex lasiocarpa). A complete list of vascular plants recorded for this pond site can be found in Sutherland (2000).

Very little is known about the specific biological requirements of horsetail spike-rush, beyond a general identification of its current habitat. Horsetail spike-rush occurs rarely throughout northeastern North America and is presumably of limited distribution in Canada because of climate. The possibility that this occurrence represents very few or perhaps even a single plant suggests that the genetic diversity of this population may be very low, which may limit its long-term viability.

Like other members of the genus Eleocharis, horsetail spike-rush is presumably wind-pollinated. European studies have demonstrated that seeds of Eleocharis species can be dispersed in the fecal matter of migratory waterbirds (Charalambidou and Santamaria 2005). Propagules of a number of common wetland plants (including Scirpus spp., Eleocharis spp., and Chenopodium spp.) can also remain viable following waterbird gut passage (De Vlaming and Proctor 1968; Holt-Mueller and van der Valk 2002). Waterbirds may therefore be responsible for transporting propagules of this species.

1.3.2   Ecological role

The specific role that the species may play within the ecosystem (e.g., providing food or shelter to other organisms) has not been identified.

1.3.3   Limiting factors

It is not known whether reproductive factors or life history is biologically limiting in any way.

1.4    Threats

Currently, there are few threats that affect horsetail spike-rush and its habitat, as the only Canadian occurrence of the species is within an infrequently accessed area inside a national wildlife area. The habitat is considered secure, and the surrounding area is subject mainly to natural processes. Property adjacent to the national wildlife area and relatively close to the species’ occurrence has recently been purchased by the Nature Conservancy of Canada (H. Arnold, pers. comm. 2005), but the lands are still used by the various joint landowners for outdoor recreational pursuits. This may cause some disturbance to any potential habitat present on these adjacent lands. However, it does not directly impact the known occurrence or its current habitat.

Five potential threats to the species and its habitat have been identified; however, none of these has currently been demonstrated as having a negative impact on the species in Canada. Threats are listed in estimated order of probability and significance.

1.4.1   Invasion by common reed (Phragmites australis

The invasive common reed (Phragmites australis) is expanding on Long Point National Wildlife Area, as it has in the entire Great Lakes region. It has been recently observed in the pond where horsetail spike-rush occurs (M. Oldham, pers. comm.2005). It has not been reported from this site in the past, in spite of its distinctive appearance (e.g., Sutherland 2000). The dense stand is within several hundred metres of the location of horsetail spike-rush (M. Oldham, pers. comm. 2005). Common reed may reduce a site’s species richness, due to its ability to form dense, monospecific stands that crowd out other plant species and reduce structural habitat diversity for wetland birds (Mal and Narine 2004). Its further spread probably poses the most serious threat to horsetail spike-rush habitat. 

1.4.2          Susceptibility to stochastic impacts  

The threats due to environmental stochasticity have not been studied and are virtually impossible to quantify. In general, evidence indicates that stochastic impacts may increase as population size decreases (Lande 1993). With only one Canadian occurrence, the very small areal extent of this occurrence (5–10 m2) and number of individuals may make it extremely vulnerable to loss, even in a single, unpredictable chance event (e.g., disease, storm, flood). The rare occurrence of the species throughout northeastern North America also means that recolonization is unlikely. Stochastic processes that would affect this population are natural processes. For example, the extirpation during the Holocene (5700–2800 BP) of localized populations of horsetail spike-rush in Indiana, which has been demonstrated via the pollen record, was likely due to rapid climate drying (Jackson and Singer 1997).

1.4.3          Herbivory

High populations of white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus), in the absence of natural levels of predators, have been a problem at Long Point in the past; however, ongoing deer management has successfully reduced the population on the Point (J. Robinson, pers. comm. 2005). Evidence of direct deer herbivory on horsetail spike-rush at this site has not been observed to date (J. Robinson, D. Sutherland, and M. Oldham, pers. comm. 2005), and the population persisted even when deer numbers were high. On Long Point, the horsetail spike-rush population is buffered from the shoreline by dense shrubs and may be inaccessible to deer. However, deer herbivory has been observed on other species of Eleocharis (D. Sutherland, pers. comm. 2005), and it may be considered a possible threat. Herbivory by beavers (Castor canadensis) and muskrats (Ondatra zibethicus) is also possible, but has not been observed. 

1.4.4          Water level elevation or stabilization 

Beaver activity has been reported within the pond in the past and may cause short- to medium-term changes in water levels. Like other shoreline emergent species that are relicts of Atlantic coastal plains (see Reznicek 1994), horsetail spike-rush is probably adapted to fluctuating water levels. It is possible that prolonged stabilization of water levels may threaten this species. However, while many annual Atlantic coastal plain species require water level fluctuations in order to germinate (Keddy and Reznicek 1982), it is also possible that horsetail spike-rush’s perennial rootstocks may buffer it against such changes to the hydroperiod.

1.4.5          Loss of genetic diversity 

Reductions in population size can reduce the number of alleles in a population and decrease the overall genetic variability of populations over time, thus lowering individual fitness and population viability. Immigration of pollen or seeds from nearby populations can reduce the likelihood of allele loss, introducing variation to a small population (Young et al. 1996). The Long Point population of horsetail spike-rush may be vulnerable to genetic loss, owing to its small size and the fact that pollen transfer and seed immigration from distant populations are likely very low. It is unknown whether one small patch of culms will be sufficient to maintain individual fitness and population viability over the long term. There is no information on this threat, and therefore it is speculative.

1.4.6          Climate change 

Climate change may threaten horsetail spike-rush if its current, narrow habitat preference in Ontario becomes unsuitable. The effects of climate change may lead to an alteration in the moisture regime of the area or a shift in winter temperatures, which may impact the species’ survival.

1.5    Actions Already Completed or Under way

The tip of Long Point is subject to natural processes, and active management for horsetail spike-rush has not occurred. Ongoing management of deer populations should continue to maintain a sustainable deer population while protecting biodiversity.

1.6    Knowledge Gaps

Research important to the Canadian population is identified in Table 2 (see section 2.5). However, because of the almost complete lack of ecological research on this species in North America, any basic ecological research (reproduction, seed viability, etc.) would be helpful in managing this species. Below are significant areas where further information is required and research questions that would help refine the goals and objectives:

·       Threat identification: What are the real versus perceived threats at this site and at others in its range? How does population vary with water level? Is horsetail spike-rush vulnerable to herbivory? Do muskrats pose a threat to the survival of the species?

·       Ecology: What is the range of tolerance of horsetail spike-rush to water level fluctuations? What biotic and abiotic factors explain the habitat preferences of this species? How long do seeds persist in the seed bank, and what are their germination requirements? How far is pollen able to travel? Is this species able to self-pollinate? What is the role of the species in the ecosystem, e.g., as a food source or host?

·       Genetics: What is the genetic variability within this occurrence? Is there evidence of gene flow between this population and others in the northeastern United States?

·       Recruitment and demographics: What are the recruitment rate and demographic structure of the Ontario population? What is the probable demographic viability of this population? How many individuals of this species are required to ensure long-term viability, and how much habitat do they require?

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Éléocharide fausse-prêle

Contexte

1.1   Description de l’espèce

L’éléocharide fausse-prêle est une plante aquatique vivace de la famille des Cypéracées (famille du carex). Les tiges aériennes (chaumes) sont vertes, non ramifiées. Elles sont longues de 50 à 100 cm, ont un diamètre de 3 à 5 mm et sont rondes en coupe transversale. L’éléocharide fausse-prêle se distingue partiellement des autres éléocharides présentes dans son aire de répartition par ses tiges, qui sont relativement épaisses, au moins aussi larges que leurs épillets terminaux mûrs et pourvues de cloisons internes. La tige n’est pas feuillée mais comporte à la base des écailles papyracées étroites. L’espèce commence à fleurir à la fin du printemps et produit des fruits de juillet à octobre. Les fruits sont réunis dans un épillet terminal long de 15 à 40 mm et couvert d’écailles de couleur paille, à surface intérieure ponctuée de violet. Les fruits sont petits, ovés, aplatis à triangulaires et se terminent d'un côté par une longue saillie. L’éléocharide fausse-prêle se multiplie également par voie végétative, par des rhizomes souterrains. On trouvera des descriptions techniques et des illustrations dans Voss (1972), Gleason et Cronquist (1991) ainsi que Holmgren (1998).

1.2   Population et répartition

L’éléocharide fausse-prêle est une espèce des plaines côtières de l’Atlantique et du golfe du Mexique mais pousse également par endroits dans le sud de la région des Grands Lacs, qui marque la limite nord de son aire de répartition. À l’échelle mondiale, l’espèce est cotée apparently secure (G4) (apparemment non en péril) (NatureServe, 2006). L’espèce est répertoriée dans 23 États des États‑Unis mais est cotée rare (S1-S3) (rare) dans 13 États et historical (SH) (historique) ou extirpated (SX) (disparue) dans cinq autres (annexe 1).

Au Canada, l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est répertoriée pour une seule localité située dans la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario (Reznicek et Catling, 1989; Sutherland, 2000). L’espèce est considérée gravement en péril (S1) dans la province (Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel, 2005), et cette occurrence représente moins de 1 % de son effectif mondial (Sutherland, 2000). On ne connaît pas les tendances à long terme de cette population en raison de l’absence de données. Bien que le nombre de tiges et l’étendue de cette population aient fluctué entre les relevés de 1988 et de 2004 (tableau 1), ces changements ne sont peut-être que des variations annuelles en partie attribuables à la fluctuation du niveau des eaux. On ne croit pas que la chute récente (2004) du nombre de tiges indique un déclin important de la population, car la superficie du site n’a pas beaucoup changé, et le niveau des eaux en 2004 était exceptionnellement élevé (M. Oldham, comm. pers., 2005). Comme l’espèce peut se multiplier de façon végétative, il est possible que la population soit en fait formée par un seul individu.

Tableau 1.  Données sur la population de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle de Long Point, en Ontario
AnnéeHerborisateurs/ observateursEffectifSuperficie occupée (m2)
1953LandonAucune estimationAucune estimation
1956Soper et DaleAucune estimationAucune estimation
1960LandonAucune estimationAucune estimation
1988A.A. Reznicek et al.Environ 12 tiges1
1993D. Sutherland151 tiges (91 fertiles)6
1999A.A. Reznicek et M. OldhamEnviron 100 tiges (10 fertiles)8-10
2004M. Oldham, A.A. Reznicek et J. Robinson19 tiges (9 fertiles)5-10

Sources : Sutherland (2000); Oldham (2004).

En 1999, l’espèce a été signalée dans le parc provincial Turkey Point, mais il n’existe aucun spécimen ni aucune photographie pour documenter cette nouvelle occurrence, et celle‑ci n’a pas été localisée de nouveau, malgré les recherches intensives de botanistes connaissant bien l’espèce (M. Oldham, comm. pers., 2005). Les populations connuesles plus proches se trouvent à au moins 200 km à l’est de Long Point, dans le comté de Monroe, dans l’État de New York, et à plus de 300 km à l’ouest, dans le comté de Washtenaw, au Michigan (Young et Weldy, 2005; Michigan Natural Features Inventory, 2006).

Figure 1. Occurrence de l’éléocharide fausse-prêleau Canada

Figure 1. Occurrence de l’éléocharide fausse-prêleau Canada.

1.3    Besoins de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle

1.3.1  Besoins biologiques et en matière d'habitat

À Long Point, l’éléocharide fausse-prêle pousse dans un sol boueux, organique et sableux sur la rive exposée au sud d’un étang intérieur (Sutherland, 2000) situé entre deux cordons de dunes fixées, à l’extrémité de la pointe, et exposé à des processus naturels. L’éléocharide fausse-prêle est une espèce aquatique poussant dans des eaux de 4 à 35 cm de profondeur. Il est possible qu’elle tolère, comme de nombreuses autres espèces des plaines côtières de l’Atlantique, des fluctuations périodiques de niveau d’eau (Schneider, 1994), mais ses limites à cet égard n’ont pas été étudiées.

La végétation bordant l’étang où pousse l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est dominée par le céphalanthe occidental (Cephalanthus occidentalis) et le cornouiller stolonifère (Cornus stolonifera). Parmi les autres espèces associées à l’éléocharide fausse-prêle figurent le scirpe subterminal (Scirpus subterminalis), l’éléocharide de Small (Eleocharis smallii), le potamot à feuilles de graminé (Potamogeton gramineus), le potamot noueux (Potamogeton nodosus), la cornifle nageante (Ceratophyllum demersum), la naïade flexible (Najas flexilis), le grand nénuphar jaune (Nuphar variegatum), la zizanie des marais (Zizania palustris) et le carex à fruits tomenteux (Carex lasiocarpa). Sutherland (2000) dresse une liste complète des plantes vasculaires recensées dans cette localité.

On connaît très peu les exigences biologiques de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle, en dehors des caractères généraux de son habitat. L’espèce est rare dans tout le nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord, et sa répartition au Canada est vraisemblablement limitée par le climat. Si la population canadienne se compose de quelques individus seulement, voire d’un seul, sa diversité génétique est très faible, ce qui pourrait limiter sa viabilité à long terme.

L’éléocharide fausse-prêle est probablement anémophile, comme les autres Eleocharis. Des études européennes ont montré que les graines des Eleocharis pouvent être dispersées avec les fèces des oiseaux aquatiques migrateurs (Charalambidou et Santamaria, 2005). Les propagules de plusieurs plantes aquatiques communes (notamment Scirpus spp., Eleocharis spp. et Chenopodium spp.) peuvent également demeurer viables après être passées dans l’intestin d’oiseaux aquatiques (De Vlaming et Proctor, 1968; Holt-Mueller et van der Valk, 2002). Les oiseaux aquatiques agiraient ainsi comme agents de dispersion de l’espèce.

1.3.2   Rôle écologique

On ne connaît pas le rôle écologique de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle (par ex. servir de nourriture ou de refuge à d’autres organismes).  

1.3.3   Facteurs limitatifs

On ne sait pas si la reproduction ou le cycle vital sont limitatifs au plan biologique.

1.4    Menaces

À l’heure actuelle, peu de facteurs menacent l’éléocharide fausse-prêle et son habitat puisque la seule colonie canadienne de l’espèce se trouve dans un secteur peu fréquenté d’une réserve nationale de faune. L’habitat de l’espèce est jugé non menacé, et le milieu environnant est surtout exposé à des processus naturels. Des terrains adjacents à la Réserve nationale de faune et proches du site de l’espèce ont récemment été achetés par Conservation de la nature Canada (H. Arnold, comm. pers., 2005), mais ils sont encore utilisés par les propriétaires à des fins récréatives. Ces activités pourraient perturber l’habitat potentiel de l’espèce qui pourrait exister sur ces terres, mais n’ont aucun impact direct sur la population connue ou son habitat.

Cinq facteurs pouvant constituer une menace pour l’espèce et son habitat ont été identifiés. Cependant, les répercussions négatives que pourraient avoir ces facteurs sur l’espèce au Canada n’ont pas été démontrées. Les menaces sont énumérées ci-dessous par ordre décroissant de probabilité et de gravité.

1.4.1   Envahissement par le roseau commun (Phragmites australis

Le roseau commun (Phragmites australis), espèce envahissante, se répand dans la Réserve nationale de faune de Long Point comme dans toute la région des Grands Lacs. Il a été observé récemment dans l’étang où pousse l’éléocharide fausse-prêle (M. Oldham, comm. pers.,2005). Il n’y avait jamais été signalé auparavant, malgré son apparence distinctive (voir par ex. Sutherland, 2000). Le roseau commun forme une colonie dense à quelques centaines de mètres de la population d’éléocharides fausse-prêle (M. Oldham, comm. pers., 2005). Le roseau commun a tendance à former des colonies denses excluant les autres espèces et peut ainsi réduire la diversité de la végétation et la complexité de sa structure, importante pour les oiseaux aquatiques (Mal et Narine, 2004). La prolifération du roseau commun est le facteur qui menace le plus sérieusement l’habitat de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle. 

1.4.2          Vulnérabilité aux phénomènes stochastiques 

Les menaces attribuables aux phénomènes stochastiques n’ont pas été étudiées et sont à peu près impossibles à quantifier. De manière générale, les preuves indiquent que l’impact des événements stochastiques peut augmenter lorsque la taille de la population diminue (Lande, 1993). Le seul site canadien de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle, avec son très faible effectif et sa très faible étendue (de 5 à 10 m2), est extrêmement vulnérable à cet égard et pourrait disparaître par suite d’un seul événement de cette nature (ex. : maladie, tempête, inondation). Comme l’espèce est rare dans tout le nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord, la recolonisation serait peu probable. Les processus stochastiques qui peuvent avoir un impact sur la population canadienne de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle sont les processus naturels. Des analyses polliniques ont montré que des populations localisées de l’espèce sont disparues d’Indiana pendant la période holocène (5 700 à 2 800 ans avant le présent),probablement en raison de l’assèchement rapide du climat(Jackson et Singer, 1997).

1.4.3          Herbivorie

Dans le passé, la population de cerfs de Virginie (Odocoileus virginianus) a atteint un niveau nuisible à Long Point en l’absence de populations suffisantes de prédateurs, mais des mesures ont été prises pour ramener la population de cerfs à un niveau acceptable (J. Robinson, comm. pers., 2005). À ce jour, on n’a relevé aucun indice de broutage de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle par le cerf de Virginie (J. Robinson, D. Sutherland, et M. Oldham,comm. pers., 2005), et la population d’éléocharides fausse-prêle s’est maintenue même lorsque la population de cerfs de Virginie était élevée. La population d’éléocharides fausse-prêle est isolée du rivage par une arbustaie dense et est peut-être inaccessible aux cerfs. Toutefois, le cerf de Virginie broute d’autres espèces d’Eleocharis (D. Sutherland, comm. pers., 2005) et peut être considéré comme une menace potentielle pour l’éléocharide fausse-prêle. Les castors (Castor canadensis) et les rats musqués (Ondatra zibethicus) sont également des menaces possibles, mais aucun indice de broutage par ces espèces n’a été observé.

1.4.4          Élévation ou stabilisation du niveau d’eau 

La présence de castors a déjà été signalée dans le passé dans l’étang et pourrait modifier à court ou à moyen terme le niveau des eaux. Comme d’autres espèces émergentes de rivage qui représentent des reliques des plaines côtières de l’Atlantique (voir Reznicek, 1994), l’éléocharide fausse-prêle est probablement adaptée aux fluctuations de niveau d’eau. Il est possible que la stabilisation prolongée du niveau d’eau constitue une menace pour l’espèce. Cependant, alors que de nombreuses espèces annuelles des plaines côtières de l’Atlantique ont besoin des fluctuations du niveau d’eau pour germer (Keddy et Reznicek, 1982), il est aussi possible que les racines vivaces de l’éléocharide fausse‑prêle permettent à l’espèce de mieux résister à ces changements de l'hydropériode.

1.4.5          Perte de diversité génétique 

La diminution de la taille d’une population peut s’accompagner d’une réduction du nombre d’allèles qu’elle compte et, à long terme, de sa variabilité génétique globale. Les conséquences à long terme peuvent être une réduction de la capacité d’adaptation des individus et de la viabilité de la population. L’apport dans une petite population de pollen ou de semences provenant de populations voisines peut réduire le risque d’appauvrissement génétique (Young et al., 1996). La colonie canadienne d’éléocharides fausse-prêle est exposée à l’appauvrissement génétique en raison de sa petite taille et du fait qu’elle ne peut bénéficier d’un apport important de pollen et de semences des populations voisines, trop éloignées. On ne sait pas si une seule petite colonie est suffisante pour maintenir la capacité d’adaptation des individus et la viabilité de la population à long terme. Il n’y a aucune information sur cette menace, qui demeure donc hypothétique.

1.4.6          Changements climatiques 

Les changements climatiques pourraient menacer la population canadienne d’éléocharides fausse-prêle en altérant son habitat actuel, très restreint. Les changements climatiques pourraient également entraîner des modifications dans le régime hydrique de la région ou dans les températures hivernales, lesquelles pourraient avoir un impact sur la survie de la population.

1.5    Mesures déjà achevées ou en cours

L’extrémité de la péninsule Long Point est exposée à des processus naturels, et aucune mesure de gestion particulière n’a encore été prise à l’égard de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle. La gestion des populations de cerfs devrait continuer de maintenir un effectif stable tout en protégeant la biodiversité.

1.6    Lacunes dans les connaissances

Les recherches requises pour la gestion de la population canadienne de l’éléocharide fausse‑prêle sont indiquées dans le tableau 2 (voir section 2.5). Toutefois, vu l’absence presque complète de données sur l’écologie de l’espèce en Amérique du Nord, toute recherche écologique de base (reproduction, viabilité des semences, etc.) serait utile. Les principaux domaines où il y a des lacunes à combler sont indiqués ci‑dessous, de même que les questions auxquelles il faut répondre pour pouvoir préciser les objectifs de rétablissement :

·  Identification des menaces : Quelles sont les menaces réelles et les menaces potentielles qui pèsent sur l’espèce, à Long Point et ailleurs dans son aire de répartition? De quelle manière le niveau d’eau influence-t-il la population? L’éléocharide fausse-prêle risque-t-elle d’être broutée? Les rats musqués menacent-ils l’espèce?

·  Écologie : Quel est la tolérance de l’éléocharide fausse-prêle aux fluctuations du niveau d’eau? Quels sont les facteurs biotiques et abiotiques qui expliquent les préférences de l’espèce en matière d’habitat? Quelle est la longévité des graines en dormance, et quelles sont les conditions nécessaires à leur germination? À quelle distance le pollen de l’espèce peut-il être transporté? Cette espèce est-elle capable d’autofécondation? Quel est le rôle de l’espèce dans l’écosystème (p. ex. : source de nourriture ou hôte)?

·  Génétique : Quelle est la variabilité génétique de la population canadienne? Y a-t-il des indices de flux génique entre cette population et d’autres populations du nord-est des États-Unis?

·  Recrutement et démographie : Quel est le taux de recrutement et quelle est la structure de la population de l’Ontario? Quelle est la viabilité probable de cette population? Combien faut-il d’individus pour assurer la viabilité à long terme de la population, et combien d’habitat leur faudrait‑il?