Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Cottus sp.), Eastslope populations, in Canada [Proposed]

1. COSEWIC species assessement information

Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assessment summary

Date of Assessment: May 2005 (New)
Common Name: Eastslope Sculpin (St. Mary and Milk river populations)
Scientific Name: Cottus sp.
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Status Criteria: D2
Reason for Designation: This species has a very restricted area of occurrence in the St. Mary and Milk rivers in Canada where it has been impacted by habitat loss and degradation from water diversion, conditions that have been exacerbated in recent years by drought.
Canadian Occurrence: AB
Status History: Designated Threatened in May 2005. Assessment based on a new status report.

 

Alberta summary

Common Name: St Mary Sculpin
Scientific Name: Cottus Bairdi.
Rank: Threatened
Designated: 2007
Reason for Designation: This species has a very restricted area of occupancy. The only locations in Alberta where this species is found are in the Milk River basin and upper St. Mary River basin of southern Alberta. Dispersal and exchange with adjacent populations is limited.
Status History: Designated “May be at Risk” in 2000. Upgraded to Threatened in 2004 based on a new status report (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development 2004). Listed in the Wildlife Act as Threatened in 2007.

Note: The above species summaries are based on information available to COSEWIC and the Alberta Endangered Species Conservation Committee (ESCC) at the time of the species assessment updates and are included for reference purposes. The species was initially reviewed under the common name ‘Eastslope Sculpin”, which has been renamed “Rocky Mountain Sculpin”.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (Cottus sp.) (populations du versant est) au Canada

1. Information sur l'évaluation des espèces du COSEPAC

Résumé de l'évaluation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC)

Date de l'évaluation : mai 2005 (nouveau rapport)

Nom commun : chabot du versant est (populations des rivières St. Mary et Milk)

Nom scientifique : Cottus sp.

Situation selon le COSEPAC : menacée

Critères d'évaluation : D2

Justification de la désignation : La zone d'occurrence de cette espèce est très limitée dans les rivières St. Mary et Milk au Canada. La perte et la dégradation de l'habitat causées par les déviations de cours d'eau, des conditions qui ont été aggravées au cours des dernières années par la sécheresse, ont eu des conséquences néfastes pour l'espèce à ces endroits.

Répartition au Canada : Alberta

Historique de la situation : Espèce désignée « menacée » en mai 2005. Évaluation fondée sur un nouveau rapport de situation.

Résumé du Gouvernement de l'Alberta

Nom commun : chabot de St. Mary

Nom scientifique : Cottus Bairdi.

Désignation : espèce menacée

Date de désignation : 2007

Justification de la désignation : L'aire de répartition de cette espèce est très limitée. Elle ne vit que dans le bassin de la rivière Milk et dans la partie supérieure du bassin de la rivière St. Mary, au sud de l'Alberta. La répartition et l'échange avec les populations voisines sont limités.

Historique du statut : désignée « susceptible d'être en péril » en 2000, elle est passée à espèce menacée en 2004 d'après les renseignements publiés dans un nouveau rapport de situation (Alberta Sustainable Resource Development, 2004). Elle est inscrite sur la liste des espèces menacées en vertu de la Wildlife Act depuis 2007.

Remarque : Les résumés sur les espèces présentées ci-dessus se fondent sur les renseignements transmis au COSEPAC et à l’ESCC (Alberta Endangered Species Conservation Committee) au moment de la mise à jour sur l’évaluation des espèces. Ils sont intégrés à des fins de consultation. L'espèce a d'abord été étudiée sous le titre « chabot du versant est », pour ensuite devenir « chabot des montagnes Rocheuses ».