Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema Sintoxia)

Existing Protection or Other Status

Pleurobema sintoxia is listed as common (G4) in North America (Natureserve.org 2003). However, it is presently listed as endangered in Iowa (Cummings and Mayer 1992) and Pennsylvania (R. Evans, Pennsylvania Natural Diversity Inventory, pers. comm. September 2002), threatened in Minnesota (M. Davis, Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources, pers. comm. September 2002), special concern in Michigan (P. Marangelo, The Nature Conservancy – Michigan Chapter, pers. comm. September 2002) and Wisconsin (W. Smith, Natural Heritage Inventory Program, pers. comm. September 2002) and as a species of special interest in Ohio (Cummings and Mayer 1992). It is therefore afforded some protection in these states. The Round Pigtoe is not currently listed or proposed for listing under the U.S. Endangered Species Act, nor is it listed in the IUCN Red Book. Sub-juristictional (state and provincial) ranks for the species are shown in Figure 7

Ontario is one of six provinces that have stand-alone Endangered Species Acts (B.T. Fowler, Co-Chair, Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee, COSEWIC, pers. comm. August 2002). Species designated as endangered are protected from willful destruction under these Acts. Seven species of freshwater mussels that are listed as endangered by COSEWIC, namely, the Rayed Bean (Villosa fabalis), Wavy-rayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola), Northern Riffleshell (Epioblasma torulosa rangiana), Snuffbox (Epioblasma triquetra), Mudpuppy Mussel (Simpsonaias ambigua), Kidneyshell (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris) and Round Hickorynut (Obovaria subrotunda), are found only in the Province of Ontario. None of these species has been listed as endangered by Ontario, so they do not benefit from provincial legislation at this time.

The Round Pigtoe population in Lake St. Clair is located entirely within the territory of the Walpole Island First Nation (WIFN). Special user permits are required to access First Nation territory and waters, which limits human disturbance in the area. The WIFN has no specific policy protecting the species at risk within their territory, but their philosophy is: “To preserve, enhance, and maintain a mutual respect, to continue a beneficial dependency upon the environment, and endeavor to co-exist with Mother Nature and protect this relationship” (C. Jacobs, Walpole Island Heritage Centre, pers. comm. October 2001). The Walpole Island Heritage Centre has been notified about the presence of the population of P. sintoxia in their territory.


Figure 7: State and Provincial Conservation Priority Ranks (S-ranks) for Pleurobema sintoxia

Figure 7: State and provincial conservation priority ranks (S-ranks) for Pleurobema sintoxia.

The federal Fisheries Act may represent the most important legislation protecting mussel habitat in Canada. Freshwater mussels are considered to be shellfish and, as such, are included in the definition of “fish” under this Act. Collection of live mussels is considered “fishing” and therefore falls under the Ontario Fishery Regulations made under the federal Fisheries Act. Threatened and endangered species in Ontario receive policy level protection from development and site alteration through the Provincial Policy Statement under the provincial Planning Act. The Ontario Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act (prohibiting the impoundment or diversion of watercourses that would lead to siltation) and the voluntary Land Stewardship II program of OMAFRA (which is designed to reduce the erosion of agricultural lands) also protect mussel habitat. Stream-side development in Ontario is managed through flood plain regulations enforced by local Conservation Authorities. Land ownership along the reaches of the Sydenham, Grand, and Thames rivers where P. sintoxia occurs is mainly private and most of the land is in agricultural use (Protection/Ownership in the section on Habitat).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia)

Protection actuelle et autres désignations

Le Pleurobema sintoxia est considéré comme une espèce commune (G4) en Amérique du Nord (Natureserve.org, 2003). Cependant, il est actuellement classé comme espèce en voie de disparition (endangered) en Iowa (Cummings et Mayer, 1992) et en Pennsylvanie (R. Evans, Pennsylvania Natural Diversity Inventory, comm. pers., septembre 2002), comme espèce menacée (threatened) au Minnesota (M. Davis, Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources, comm. pers., septembre 2002), comme espèce préoccupante (special concern) au Michigan (P. Marangelo, The Nature Conservancy – Michigan Chapter, comm. pers., septembre 2002) et au Wisconsin (W. Smith, Natural Heritage Inventory Program, comm. pers., septembre 2002) et comme espèce d’intérêt particulier (special interest) en Ohio (Cummings et Mayer, 1992). On lui accorde donc une certaine protection dans ces États. Le pleurobème écarlate ne figure pas sur la liste de l’Endangered Species Act des États-Unis et il n’existe aucune proposition à cet effet; il ne figure pas non plus dans le Livre rouge de l’UICN. Les cotes infranationales (États et provinces) sont indiquées à la figure 7.


Figure 7 : Statuts du Pleurobema sintoxia selon l’État ou la province (cotes S)

Figure 7 : Statuts du Pleurobema sintoxia selon l’État ou la province (cotes S).

L’Ontario est une des six provinces canadiennes à s’être dotées d’une loi sur les espèces en péril (B.T. Fowler, coprésident, Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et des mollusques, COSEPAC, comm. pers., août 2002). Ces lois protègent les espèces désignées en péril de toute destruction délibérée. Sept espèces de mulettes désignées en voie de disparition par le COSEPAC, soit la villeuse haricot (Villosa fabalis), la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola), la dysnomie ventrue jaune (Epioblasma torulosa rangiana), l’épioblasme tricorne (Epioblasma triquetra), la mulette du Necturus (Simpsonaias ambigua), le ptycobranche réniforme (Ptychobranchus fasciolaris) et l’obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda), ne se trouvent qu’en Ontario. Comme aucune de ces espèces ne figure sur la liste des espèces en péril du gouvernement de l’Ontario, elles ne sont pas protégées par la loi provinciale pour le moment.

Toute la population de pleurobèmes écarlates du lac Sainte-Claire se trouve sur le territoire de la Première Nation de l’île Walpole. Il faut un permis spécial pour avoir accès au territoire et aux eaux des Premières Nations, ce qui limite les perturbations anthropiques dans ce secteur. La Première Nation de l’île Walpole n’a pas de politique définie sur la protection des espèces en péril sur son territoire, mais une philosophie : « Pour préserver, accroître et entretenir un respect mutuel et pour maintenir notre dépendance bénéfique par rapport à l’environnement, nous devons nous efforcer de bien coexister avec mère Nature et de protéger cette relation » [traduction] (C. Jacobs, Walpole Island Heritage Centre, comm. pers., octobre 2001). Le Walpole Island Heritage Centre a été informé de la présence de la population de P. sintoxia sur son territoire.

La Loi sur les pêches du Canada est sans doute la principale législation assurant la protection de l’habitat des moules au Canada. Les mulettes sont englobées dans la définition de « poisson » au sens de cette loi. La récolte de moules vivantes étant considérée comme une activité de « pêche », elle est visée par le Règlement de pêche de l’Ontario adopté en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches du Canada. En Ontario, les espèces menacées et en voie de disparition bénéficient, sur le plan des politiques, de la protection contre le développement et l’altération des milieux que leur accorde la Déclaration de principes provinciale aux termes de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire. La Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières de l’Ontario (qui interdit d’endiguer ou de détourner un cours d’eau s’il en découlerait un envasement) et le programme d’intendance des terres II du MAAARO (Land Stewardship II program, programme volontaire qui vise à réduire l’érosion des terres agricoles) protègent eux aussi l’habitat des moules. Le développement riverain en Ontario est régi par une réglementation sur les plaines inondables mise en œuvre par les offices de protection de la nature. En général, les terres qui bordent les tronçons des rivières Sydenham, Grand et Thames où vit le P. sintoxia sont des terres privées, dont la plupart sont utilisées pour l’agriculture (voir Protection et tenure dans la section Habitat).