Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema Sintoxia)

Biographical Summary of the Report Writers

David T. Zanatta received a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Biology from Laurentian University (1998) and an M.Sc. (Zoology) from the University of Guelph (2000). His M.Sc. supervisor, Dr. Gerald L. Mackie, is currently chair of the Mollusc Species Subgroup Group of the Lepidoptera and Mollusca Subcommittee of COSEWIC. Mr. Zanatta’s thesis was entitled “Biotic and abiotic factors relating to distribution of unionid mussel species in Lake St. Clair.” Part of his thesis research, which documented the discovery of native mussel refuge sites in Lake St. Clair, has been published in the Journal of Great Lakes Research. He has also studied Lake Trout populations in Northwestern Ontario lakes and analyzed Walleye index netting data for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. He is a member of the North American Benthological Society and the Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society. David is currently a research technologist with the National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada in Burlington, Ontario. He has co-authored two previous status reports on mussel species at risk for COSEWIC.

Janice L. Metcalfe-Smith is an Aquatic Research Biologist with the National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada in Burlington, Ontario. She has a B.Sc. (Hons.) in Zoology from the University of Manitoba (1973), and 30 years of experience as a technologist (1973-1978) and biologist (1978-present) with the departments of Fisheries and Oceans (Winnipeg, Manitoba and St. Andrews, New Brunswick) and Environment (Burlington, Ontario). She has conducted research in several areas, including the effects of forestry practices and acid rain on Atlantic salmon, the use of benthic macroinvertebrate communities in water quality assessment, and the development of biological monitoring techniques for measuring contaminant trends in freshwater ecosystems. Since 1995, her research has focused on the assessment and conservation of freshwater mussels in Ontario. She has authored or co-authored over 70 scientific papers and reports, including 20 on biodiversity issues. She is a member of the North American Benthological Society, the Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society, and the Mollusc working group of the Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee of COSEWIC. She co-authored seven previous status reports on mussel species at risk for COSEWIC.


Authorities Contacted

Bogan A..  North Carolina State Museum of Natural Sciences, Research Laboratory, Raleigh, NC.

Bruenderman, S. Fisheries Research Biologist/Malacologist, Missouri Department of Conservation, Conservation Research Center, Columbia, MO.

Cicerello, R.  KentuckyState Nature Preserves Commission, Frankfort, KY.

Clayton, J. West VirginiaDivision of Natural Resources, WV.

Davis, M. Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Division of Ecological Services, Lake City, MN.

Dextrase, A. Ontario Parks, Species at Risk Section, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Peterborough, ON.

Evans, R. Conservation Zoologist, The Western Pennsylvania Conservancy/ Pennsylvania Natural Diversity Inventory - Western Office, Pittsburgh, PA.

Fowler, B.T. Co-chair, Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee, COSEWIC. Canadian Wildlife Service, Hull, Quebec.

Garner, J. Malacologist, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries,Florence, AL.

Jacobs, C. Walpole Island Heritage Centre, Walpole Island First Nation, Wallaceburg, ON.

Marangelo, P. Planning Ecologist, The Nature Conservancy, Michigan Chapter, East Lansing, MI.

Mason, P. Grand River Conservation Authority, Cambridge, Ontario.

Masteller, E. Emeritus Professor of Biology, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, Erie, PA.

Nicks, C. Water Quality Specialist - Species at Risk, Upper Thames River Conservation Authority, London, ON.

Schneider, K.  Stuyvesant Environmental Consulting, LLC, Stuyvesant Falls, New York.

Smith, W. Natural Heritage Inventory Program, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison, WI.

Strayer, D.L.  Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY.

Sutherland, D. Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre, Ministry of Natural Resources, Peterborough, Ontario.

Woolnough, D.  PhD Candidate, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa.


Collections Examined

In 1996, all available historical and recent data on the occurrences of freshwater mussel species throughout the lower Great Lakes drainage basin were compiled into a computerized, GIS-linked database referred to as the Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database. Data sources included the primary literature, natural history museums, federal, provincial, and municipal government agencies (and some American agencies), conservation authorities, Remedial Action Plans for the Great Lakes Areas of Concern, university theses, and environmental consulting firms. Mussel collections held by six natural history museums in the Great Lakes region (Canadian Museum of Nature, Ohio State University Museum of Zoology, Royal Ontario Museum, University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, Rochester Museum and Science Center, and Buffalo Museum of Science) were the primary sources of information, accounting for over two-thirds of the data acquired. The database continues to be updated and now has over 7000 records of unionids from the lower Great Lakes drainage. One of us (J.L. Metcalfe-Smith) personally examined the collections held by the Royal Ontario Museum, University of Michigan Museum of Zoology and Buffalo Museum of Science, as well as smaller collections held by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

Page 16

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia)

Sommaire biographique des rédacteurs du rapport

David T. Zanatta est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en biologie de l’Université Laurentienne (1998) et d’une maîtrise en zoologie de la University of Guelph (2000). Son directeur de mémoire de maîtrise, Gerald L. Mackie, est actuellement président du Groupe de travail sur les mollusques du Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et des mollusques du COSEPAC. Le mémoire de M. Zanatta s’intitulait « Biotic and abiotic factors relating to distribution of unionid mussel species in Lake St. Clair ». Une partie de son mémoire, qui fait état de nouveaux refuges de mulettes indigènes dans le lac Sainte‑Claire, a été publiée dans le Journal of Great Lakes Research. Il a également étudié des populations de touladi dans des lacs du nord-ouest de l’Ontario et analysé les indices de capture au filet du doré jaune pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Il est membre de la North American Benthological Society et de la Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society. M. Zanetta est actuellement technicien de recherche à l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’Environnement Canada, à Burlington (Ontario). Il a déjà corédigé deux autres rapports de situation sur des espèces de moules en péril pour le COSEPAC.

Janice L. Metcalfe-Smith est chercheure en biologie aquatique à l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’Environnement Canada, à Burlington (Ontario). Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en zoologie de l’Université du Manitoba (1973) et a acquis 30 années d’expérience comme technologue (1973-1978) et biologiste (depuis 1978) auprès de Pêches et Océans Canada (Winnipeg [Manitoba] et St. Andrews [Nouveau-Brunswick]) et d’Environnement Canada (Burlington [Ontario]). Elle a mené des recherches diversifiées, notamment sur les effets des pratiques forestières et des pluies acides sur le saumon atlantique, sur l’utilisation des communautés de macro-invertébrés benthiques dans l’évaluation de la qualité de l’eau et sur l’élaboration de techniques de surveillance biologique pour la mesure des tendances de la contamination dans les écosystèmes d’eau douce. Depuis 1995, ses recherches se concentrent sur l’évaluation et la conservation des mulettes en Ontario. Elle a rédigé ou co-rédigé plus de 70 articles et rapports scientifiques, dont 20 sur des questions relatives à la biodiversité. Elle est membre de la North American Benthological Society, de la Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society et du Groupe de travail sur les mollusques du Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et des mollusques du COSEPAC. Elle a déjà co-rédigé sept autres rapports de situation sur des espèces de moules en péril pour le COSEPAC.


Experts contactées

Bogan, A. North Carolina State Museum of Natural Sciences, Research Laboratory, Raleigh, NC.

Bruenderman, S. Fisheries Research Biologist/Malacologist, Missouri Department of Conservation, Conservation Research Center, Columbia, MO.

Cicerello, R. Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, Frankfort, KY.

Clayton, J. West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, WV.

Davis, M. Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Division of Ecological Services, Lake City, MN.

Dextrase, A. Parcs Ontario, Section de la protection des espèces en péril, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, Peterborough (Ontario).

Evans, R. Conservation Zoologist, The Western Pennsylvania Conservancy/Pennsylvania Natural Diversity Inventory – Western Office, Pittsburgh, PA.

Fowler, B.T. Coprésident, Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et des mollusques, COSEPAC. Service canadien de la faune, Hull (Québec).

Garner, J. Malacologist, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, Florence, AL.

Jacobs, C. Walpole Island Heritage Centre, Première Nation de l’île Walpole, Wallaceburg (Ontario).

Marangelo, P. Planning Ecologist, The Nature Conservancy, Michigan Chapter, East Lansing, MI.

Mason, P. Office de protection de la nature de la rivière Grand, Cambridge (Ontario).

Masteller, E.  Emeritus Professor of Biology, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, Erie, PA.

Nicks, C.  Spécialiste en qualité de l’eau – Espèces en péril, Office de protection de la nature du cours supérieur de la rivière Thames, London (Ontario).

Schneider, K. Stuyvesant Environmental Consulting, LLC, Stuyvesant Falls, NY.

Smith, W. Natural Heritage Inventory Program, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison, WI.

Strayer, D.L. Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, NY.

Sutherland, D. Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de l’Ontario, ministère des Richesses naturelles, Peterborough (Ontario).

Woolnough, D. Candidate au Ph.D. en écologie et biologie évolutionnaire, Iowa State University, Ames, IA.


Collections consultées

En 1996, toutes les données récentes et historiques disponibles sur les occurrences de mulettes dans le bassin versant des Grands Lacs inférieurs ont été compilées dans une base de données informatisée associée à un SIG, la Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database (base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs). Les sources de données comprenaient les publications scientifiques primaires, les musées d’histoire naturelle, les organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux (ainsi que certains organismes américains), les offices de protection de la nature, les plans d’assainissement pour les secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs, les thèses et mémoires universitaires et les cabinets d’experts-conseils dans le domaine de l’environnement. Les collections de mulettes de six musées d’histoire naturelle de la région des Grands Lacs (Musée canadien de la nature, Ohio State University Museum of Zoology, Musée royal de l’Ontario, University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, Rochester Museum and Science Center et Buffalo Museum of Science) ont été les principales sources d’information, ayant fourni plus des deux tiers des données. La base de données, régulièrement mise à jour, comporte aujourd’hui plus de 7000 mentions d’Unionidés provenant du bassin versant des Grands Lacs inférieurs. Un des rédacteurs du présent rapport (J.L. Metcalfe-Smith) a examiné sur place les collections du Musée royal de l’Ontario, du University of Michigan Museum of Zoology et du Buffalo Museum of Science, ainsi que les collections plus modestes du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario.