Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema Sintoxia)

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Round Pigtoe
Pleurobema sintoxia
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:
Pleurobema sintoxia (Rafinesque, 1820)
English common name:
Round Pigtoe
French common name:
Pleurobème écarlate


The recognized authority for the classification of aquatic molluscs in the United States and Canada is Turgeon et al. (1998). The currently accepted classification of this species is as follows:

Phylum:
Mollusca
Class:
Bivalvia
Subclass:
Palaeoheterodonta
Order:
Unionoida
Superfamily:
Unionacea
Family:
Unionidae
Subfamily:
Ambleminae
Genus:
Pleurobema
Species:
Pleurobema sintoxia


Parmalee and Bogan (1998) provide a complete list of synonyms for this species. Pleurobema sintoxia had been known as P. coccineum until recently. Pleurobema sintoxia was reintroduced as the scientific name of the Round Pigtoe when it was discovered that the name sintoxia was first proposed for the species by Rafinesque in 1820. The reintroduction of sintoxia is in the interest of proper nomenclature (Oesch 1995). Ortmann (1919) recognized two subspecies of the Round Pigtoe – a river form (form coccineum) and a Great Lakes form (form pauperculum).

The taxonomy of the genus Pleurobema remains contentious. Strayer and Jirka (1997) consider P. sintoxia to be part of the P. cordatum (Ohio Pigtoe) species complex of closely related species or ecophenotypes – also including P. plenum (Rough Pigtoe) and P. rubrum (Pyramid Pigtoe) – that are found throughout the Ohio River drainage and in parts of the Mississippi and Great Lakes basins. Other taxonomists consider P. sintoxia to be a unique species. It is generally agreed that rigorous genetic, anatomic, and conchological studies are required to resolve the status of these taxa (A. Bogan pers. comm. Sept 2002).


Description

The Round Pigtoe (Figures figure1a and figure1b) is a medium to large sized freshwater mussel that is highly variable in morphology depending on habitat type. The river form is compressed, flattened, solid, and usually somewhat rectangular, but often oval or elongated. Pleurobema sintoxia was first described by Rafinesque in 1820. The type locality is the Mahoning River near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The following description of the species was adapted from Clarke (1981), Oesch (1995), Strayer and Jirka (1997), and Parmalee and Bogan (1998). The beaks are compressed, slightly elevated, turned forward, and slightly extending beyond the hinge line. Sculpture consists of a few coarse, irregular ridges curving upward along the beak. The anterior end is rounded; the posterior end is squarely truncated; and the posterior ridge is rounded, ending in a blunt point. There are two stout, rectangular, serrated pseudocardinal teeth in the left valve and one in the right valve – the latter having a low, roughened linear tooth anteriorly and dorsally. The lateral teeth – two in the left valve and one in the right – are straight, moderately high, and finely serrated. The interdentum is wide; the beak cavity is very shallow; and muscle scars are deep. The surface is roughened with concentric rest lines. The periostracum in juveniles is dull tan in colour with distinct green rays that fade as the surface darkens to a deep reddish brown or black with age. The nacre is white or various shades of pink.


Figure 1A: Line drawing of the external features of the shell of Pleurobema sintoxia

Figure 1A: Line drawing of the external features of the shell of Pleurobema sintoxia. Reproduced with permission from Burch (1975).

Reproduced with permission from Burch (1975).


Figure 1B: Photograph of live specimens collected from the SydenhamRiver near Dawn Mills, Ontario in 1999

Figure 1B: Photograph of live specimens collected from the SydenhamRiver near Dawn Mills, Ontario in 1999 (Photo credit: J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, NWRI).

Photo credit: J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, NWRI.

According to Parmalee and Bogan (1998), P. sintoxia reaches a maximum length of 110 - 120 mm in medium-sized rivers. Clarke (1981) reports a maximum length of 90 mm in Canada; however, the authors have regularly collected animals >100 mm in length from rivers in southwestern Ontario. The Great Lakes form of P. sintoxia is generally smaller, rarely exceeding 75 mm in length (Strayer and Jirka 1997). The lake form is also more inflated and the beaks are full, elevated, and project forward well beyond the hinge line.

In Canada the Round Pigtoe may be confused with the Wabash Pigtoe (Fusconaia flava) (Figure 2). The main features distinguishing F. flava from P. sintoxia are a lower and more centrally located beak, deeper lateral sulcus, and deeper beak cavity in F. flava (Clarke 1981, Oesch 1995, Strayer and Jirka 1997). The lake form of P. sintoxia is somewhat similar to Obovaria olivaria, but has flatter valves, a duller periostracum, and is less likely to have coloured rays (Strayer and Jirka 1997).


Figure 2: Pleurobema sintoxia (lower left) with Fusconaia flava (upper right) for Comparison

Figure 2: Pleurobema sintoxia with Fusconaia flava for comparison. Note the deeper sulcus on F. flava.

Note the deeper sulcus on F. flava. Both specimens collected from the Sydenham River near Croton, Ontario in 2002 (photo credit: D. Zanatta, NWRI).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia)

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
pleurobème écarlate
Pleurobema sintoxia
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Pleurobema sintoxia (Rafinesque, 1820)
Nom français :
pleurobème écarlate
Nom anglais :
Round Pigtoe


L’ouvrage de Turgeon et al. (1998) fait autorité en matière de classification des mollusques aquatiques des États-Unis et du Canada. La classification actuelle du pleurobème écarlate est la suivante :

embranchement :
Mollusques
classe :
Bivalves
sous-classe :
Paléohétérodontes
ordre :
Unionoïdés
superfamille :
Unionacés
famille :
Unionidés
sous-famille :
Ambléminés
genre :
Pleurobema
espèce :
Pleurobema sintoxia


Parmalee et Bogan (1998) fournissent la liste complète des synonymes de cette espèce. Jusqu’à tout récemment, le Pleurobema sintoxia était connu sous le nom de P. coccineum. Le nom de Pleurobema sintoxia a été réintroduit comme nom scientifique du pleurobème écarlate lorsqu’on a découvert que le nom de sintoxia avait été proposé comme désignation de l’espèce par Rafinesque en 1820. Cette réintroduction de sintoxia permet une nomenclature plus juste (Oesch, 1995). Ortmann (1919) identifie deux sous-espèces du pleurobème écarlate – une forme de rivière (coccineum) et une des Grands Lacs (pauperculum).

La taxinomie du genre Pleurobema fait l’objet de discussions. Pour Strayer et Jirka (1997), le P. sintoxia fait partie du complexe d’espèces P. cordatum, qui regroupe des espèces ou écophénotypes qui lui sont étroitement apparentés – comme le P. plenum et le P. rubrum – et qu’on retrouve dans tout le bassin hydrologique de la rivière Ohio et certaines parties des bassins du Mississippi et des Grands Lacs. D’autres taxinomistes considèrent que le P. sintoxia est une espèce unique. Les experts s’entendent par contre sur le fait qu’on ne pourra vraiment établir le statut de ces taxons qu’à la suite d’études génétiques, anatomiques et conchyliologiques rigoureuses (A. Bogan, comm. pers., septembre 2002).


Description

Le pleurobème écarlate (figures figure1a et figure1b) est une mulette de taille moyenne à grande dont la morphologie varie grandement selon le type d’habitat. La forme de rivière est comprimée, aplatie, ramassée et d’habitude plutôt rectangulaire, mais elle est aussi souvent ovale ou allongée. Le Pleurobema sintoxia a été décrit pour la première fois par Rafinesque, en 1820. Sa localité-type est la rivière Mahoning, près de Pittsburgh, en Pennsylvanie. La description suivante de l’espèce est fondée sur Clarke (1981), Oesch (1995), Strayer et Jirka (1997) et Parmalee et Bogan (1998). Les sommets (umbos) sont comprimés, légèrement élevés, projetés vers l’avant et ils dépassent légèrement la charnière. La sculpture des sommets consiste en quelques bourrelets grossiers et irréguliers qui font une courbe vers le haut le long du sommet. L’extrémité antérieure est arrondie, l’extrémité postérieure tronquée et la crête postérieure est arrondie et se termine en pointe émoussée. Il y a deux dents pseudo-cardinales fortes et rectangulaires aux bords dentelés dans la valve gauche et une dans la valve droite, qui est également munie, antérieurement et dorsalement, d’une dent linéaire basse et rugueuse. Les dents latérales – deux dans la valve gauche et une dans la droite – sont droites, modérément hautes et finement dentelées. L’interdentum est large, la cavité ombonale très peu profonde et les impressions musculaires profondes. Le périostracum est rugueux, avec des bourrelets de croissance concentriques. Chez les juvéniles, il est de couleur havane terne, avec des rayons verts distincts qui s’estompent à mesure que la surface fonce avec l’âge, pour devenir noire ou d’un roux foncé. La nacre est blanche ou de différentes teintes de rose.


Figure 1A : Dessin au trait des caractéristiques externes de la coquille du Pleurobema sintoxia

Figure 1A : Dessin au trait des caractéristiques externes de la coquille du Pleurobema sintoxia.

Reproduction autorisée tirée de Burch (1975).


Figure 1B : Spécimens vivants récoltés en 1999 dans la rivière Sydenham près de Dawn Mills, en Ontario.

Figure 1B: Spécimens vivants récoltés en 1999 dans la rivière Sydenham près de Dawn Mills, en Ontario

Photo de J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, INRE.

Selon Parmalee et Bogan (1998), le P. sintoxia atteint, dans des rivières de taille moyenne, une longueur maximale de 110 mm à 120 mm. Clarke (1981) mentionne une longueur maximale de 90 mm au Canada; toutefois, les rédacteurs du présent rapport ont régulièrement récolté des individus mesurant plus de 100 mm dans des rivières du sud‑ouest de l’Ontario. La forme des Grands Lacs du P. sintoxia est en règle générale plus petite, sa longueur dépassant rarement 75 mm (Strayer et Jirka, 1997). La forme de lac est aussi plus renflée et ses sommets sont pleins, élevés et projetés vers l’avant bien au-delà de la charnière.

Au Canada, il est possible de confondre le pleurobème écarlate avec le fusconaia jaune (Fusconaia flava) (figure 2). Le F. flava se distingue du P. sintoxia principalement par un sommet moins élevé et plus centré, un sillon latéral plus profond et une cavité ombonale plus profonde (Clarke, 1981; Oesch, 1995; Strayer et Jirka, 1997). La forme de lac du P. sintoxia est quelque peu similaire à l’Obovaria olivaria, mais ses valves sont plus plates, son periostracum plus terne et il est moins probable qu’elle possède des rayons colorés (Strayer et Jirka, 1997). On remarquera le sillon latéral plus profond du F. flava. Les deux spécimens ont été récoltés en 2002 dans la rivière Sydenham près de Croton, en Ontario (photo de D. Zanatta, INRE).

Figure 2 : Pleurobema sintoxia (en bas à gauche) et Fusconaia flava (en haut à droite)

Figure 2 : Pleurobema sintoxia et Fusconaia flava

Les deux spécimens ont été récoltés en 2002 dans la rivière Sydenham près de Croton, en Ontario (photo de D. Zanatta, INRE).