Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema Sintoxia)

Distribution

Global Range

The Round Pigtoe was once widely distributed from New York and Ontario west to South Dakota, Kansas and Oklahoma, and south to Arkansas and Alabama (Figure 3). It occurred in Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Ontario. The current distribution of the Round Pigtoe is similar to the historical range. Although large river populations have for the most part disappeared from the upper Midwest, many populations still survive in tributaries of the Mississippi and Ohio rivers. 


Figure 3: North American Distribution of Pleurobema sintoxia (based on information provided by jurisdictions)

Figure 3: North American distribution of Pleurobema sintoxia (based on information provided by jurisdictions).


Canadian Range

In Canada P. sintoxia is only known from southern Ontario. The National Water Research Institute’s Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database was used to identify occurrence records for P. sintoxia in Ontario. At the time of writing, the database consisted of approximately 7600 records for 40 species collected from nearly 2400 sites in the lower Great Lakes drainage basin since 1860 (see Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1998a for a detailed description of the database and its data sources). The Round Pigtoe was historically collected from the Niagara, Detroit, Grand, Thames, and Sydenham rivers, as well as Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair. The earliest record of the species in Canada is one fresh whole shell collected in 1885 from the Grand River at Caledonia by J. Townsend (specimen held by the Canadian Museum of Nature; cat. no. 002417). Figure 4 shows the historical distribution of the Round Pigtoe in Ontario, based on 84 records collected between 1885 and 1995. The current distribution of the species, based on 57 records (live animals and shells) collected between 1997 and 2002, is shown in Figure 5. Live specimens were most recently collected from the Sydenham River in the summer of 2002. 


Figure 4: Historical (1885-1995) Distribution of Pleurobema sintoxia in Ontario (based on records from the Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database)

Figure 4: Historical (1885-1995) Distribution of Pleurobema sintoxia in Ontario.


Figure 5: Current (1997-2002) Distribution of Pleurobema sintoxia in Ontario (based on records from the Lower Great Lakes Unionid Database)

Figure 5: Current (1997-2002) Distribution of Pleurobema sintoxia in Ontario.

Populations of P. sintoxia in the Niagara and Detroit rivers, Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair have been mostly lost due to impacts of the Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha). Small, isolated pockets of surviving animals may still be found in some nearshore areas that offer refuge from infestation by Zebra Mussels. For example, P. sintoxia was recently found alive in Metzger Marsh on the Pennsylvania shore of western Lake Erie (Nichols and Amberg 1999) and in the St. Clair delta area of Lake St. Clair (Zanatta et al. 2002). Results from a 2001 survey of the Niagara River showed that no live unionids of any species were found. The Long Point sites have not been re-surveyed in recent years, so we assume that the species still occurs there. A reproducing population still persists in the Sydenham River and small, possibly senescent, populations occur in the Middle Thames and Grand rivers (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1998b, 1999 and unpublished data). Overall, the Round Pigtoe has been lost from about 54% of its former range (in terms of extent of occurrence) in Canada; the historical extent of occurrence was 26 592 km2 and the current EO is 12 360 km2, with an estimated area of occupancy of about 15 km2.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia)

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

On trouvait autrefois le pleurobème écarlate depuis l’État de New York et l’Ontario à l’est jusque dans le Dakota du Sud, le Kansas et l’Oklahoma à l’ouest et dans l’Arkansas et l’Alabama au sud (figure 3). Il habitait l’Alabama, l’Arkansas, l’Illinois, l’Indiana, l’Iowa, le Kansas, le Kentucky, le Michigan, le Minnesota, le Missouri, le Nebraska, le New York, l’Ohio, l’Oklahoma, la Pennsylvanie, le Dakota du Sud, le Tennessee, la Virginie-Occidentale, le Wisconsin et l’Ontario. Aujourd’hui, l’aire de répartition du pleurobème écarlate est similaire. Même si les populations des grands cours d’eau ont à peu près disparu dans le Haut-Midwest, on retrouve toujours de nombreuses populations dans des affluents du Mississippi et de l’Ohio.


Figure 3 : Répartition nord-américaine du Pleurobema sintoxia (d’après les informations fournies par les gouvernements)

Figure 3 : Répartition nord-américaine du Pleurobema sintoxia (d’après les informations fournies par les gouvernements).


Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, le P. sintoxia n’a été observé que dans le sud de l’Ontario. Nous avons eu recours à la base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs de l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux pour recenser les mentions du P. sintoxia en Ontario. Au moment de la rédaction du présent rapport, la base de données comptait environ 7 600 mentions de 40 espèces recueillies depuis 1860 à près de 2 400 sites du bassin des Grands Lacs inférieurs (pour une description détaillée de la base de données et de ses sources, voir Metcalfe-Smith et al., 1998a). Le pleurobème écarlate a été observé dans les rivières Niagara, Detroit, Grand, Thames et Sydenham et dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire. La mention la plus ancienne de l’espèce au Canada concerne une coquille entière et fraîche recueillie en 1885 dans la rivière Grand, à Caledonia, par J. Townsend (spécimen conservé au Musée canadien de la nature, no de catalogue 002417). La figure 4 montre la répartition historique du pleurobème écarlate en Ontario, d’après 84 mentions faites entre 1885 et 1995. La répartition actuelle de l’espèce, établie d’après 57 mentions d’individus vivants et de coquilles faites entre 1997 et 2002, est donnée à la figure 5. Les observations les plus récentes de spécimens vivants ont été faites dans la rivière Sydenham pendant l’été 2002.


Figure 4 : Répartition historique (1885-1995) du Pleurobema sintoxia en Ontario (d’après les données de la base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs)

Figure 4 : Répartition historique (1885-1995) du Pleurobema sintoxia en Ontario.


Figure 5 : Répartition actuelle (1997-2002) du Pleurobema sintoxia en Ontario (d’après les données de la base de données sur les Unionidés des Grands Lacs inférieurs)

Figure 5 : Répartition actuelle (1997-2002) du Pleurobema sintoxia en Ontario.

La disparition de populations de P. sintoxia des rivières Niagara et Detroit et des lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire est surtout due aux impacts négatifs de la moule zébrée (Dreissena polymorpha). Toutefois, de petits groupes isolés peuvent toujours être observés dans quelques zones proches des rives et protégées de l’infestation des moules zébrées. Par exemple, on a récemment trouvé des P. sintoxia vivants dans le marais Metzger, sur la rive pennsylvanienne de l’ouest du lac Érié (Nichols et Amberg, 1999), et dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire (Zanatta et al., 2002). Un recensement de la rivière Niagara, en 2001, n’a relevé aucun Unionidé. Les sites de Long Point n’ont pas été recensés ces dernières années et nous supposons que l’espèce y vit toujours. Une population qui se reproduit existe toujours dans la rivière Sydenham et de petites populations, peut-être sénescentes, se retrouvent dans les rivières Middle Thames et Grand (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 1998b, 1999 et données inédites). Dans l’ensemble, le pleurobème écarlate a disparu d’environ 54 p. 100 de son ancienne zone d’occurrence au Canada; alors qu’elle était autrefois de 26 592 km2, la superficie de la zone d’occurrence n’est plus que de 12 360 km2, avec une zone d’occupation d’environ 15 km2.