Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema Sintoxia)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The Round Pigtoe is typically found in medium-sized to large rivers (van der Schalie 1938; Strayer 1983; Parmalee and Bogan 1998), but also occurs in Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair (Clarke 1981; Strayer and Jirka 1997). Ortmann (1919) reported collecting the river form of this species “going up far into the headwaters” of the upper Allegheny system, and found the lake form “in a few feet of water upon pure sand” in Presque Isle Bay, Lake Erie. In smaller rivers, the Round Pigtoe may often be found deeply buried in mixtures of gravel, cobble, and boulder substrates, in or below riffles with moderate flows (Ortmann 1919; Gordon and Layzer 1989; Parmalee and Bogan 1998). In larger rivers, it is found in mud, sand and gravel substrates at depths greater than 3 m, but may occur in shallows on sand or gravel bars (Gordon and Layzer 1989). In southeastern Michigan, it was found to be especially abundant in medium to large streams away from the lake plain (Strayer 1983). In Lake St. Clair, P. sintoxia currently occupies shallow (<1 m) nearshore areas with firm, sandy substrates (Zanatta et al. 2002).

The habitat preferences of juvenile mussels are believed to be different from those of adults, but there have been few studies on this topic (Gordon and Layzer 1989). The juvenile life stage is certainly more vulnerable than the adult stage, because juveniles have no control over the habitat into which they are released by their host and may die quickly in unsuitable habitats. The glochidial (larval) stage is the most vulnerable and specialized life stage, because the glochidia must successfully attach to an appropriate host in order to complete their metamorphosis to the juvenile stage.


Trends

Habitats for P. sintoxia and other unionids in Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, and the Detroit and Niagara rivers have been largely destroyed by the Zebra Mussel. Native mussel communities were virtually extirpated from the offshore waters of western Lake Erie by 1990 (Schloesser and Nalepa 1994) and the offshore waters of Lake St. Clair and the Detroit River by 1994 (Nalepa et al. 1996; Schloesser et al. 1998). The mussel communities of Lake Erie were already in decline, probably due to a general decline in water quality over the past 40 years (Nalepa et al. 1991), but Lake St. Clair and the Detroit River still supported abundant and diverse mussel assemblages as recently as 1986 (Nalepa and Gauvin 1988) and 1992 (Schloesser et al. 1998), respectively. Unionids continue to survive in some nearshore areas with very shallow water, a high degree of connectivity to the lake (which ensures access to host fishes), and harsh conditions for Zebra Mussels (high water temperatures and considerable wave action in summer; ice scour in winter). However, such “refugia” are rare, and most of the unionid habitat in the Great Lakes has been permanently lost.

Agriculture is believed to be the main cause of the destruction of mussel habitat across North America (Strayer and Fetterman 1999). Since agricultural accounts for 75-85% of land use in the Grand, Thames and Sydenham River basins, it is likely that agricultural impacts (e.g., runoff of sediment, nutrients and pesticides, increased water temperatures due to loss of riparian vegetation, destruction of habitat by tractor crossings and cattle) have contributed to the deterioration of mussel habitat in these rivers. Municipal and industrial pollution may be responsible for the greater loss of mussel habitat in the heavily populated Grand and Thames River watersheds than in the primarily agricultural Sydenham River watershed (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2003).


Protection/Ownership

Land ownership along the reaches of the Sydenham, Grand, and Thames rivers where P. sintoxia occurs is mainly private. Most of the lands are in agricultural use, including cash crops, pastures and woodlots. There are only two publicly owned properties in the Sydenham River watershed that are somewhat protected from development, i.e., 50 acres of forest owned by Mosa Township and 17 acres owned by the St. Clair Region Conservation Authority. In the Thames River watershed, there are 21 natural areas (Conservation Areas, E.S.A.’s, Provincial Nature Reserves, etc.) covering over 6200 ha; however, little of the area along the reach where this species occurs is protected (Thames River Background Study Research Team 1998). Protected areas along the Grand River are too small to have any significance for the protection of this species (Peter Mason, Grand River Conservation Authority, pers. comm. October 2002).

The population of P. sintoxia in the Canadian waters of the St. Clair delta, is located entirely within the territory of the Walpole Island First Nation. The area is largely undisturbed and is likely to remain so in the future. The Walpole Island Heritage Centre is aware of the presence of P. sintoxia within their territory, and of the national significance of the population.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia)

Habitat

Besoins de l’espèce

On trouve le pleurobème écarlate dans les rivières moyennes à grandes (van der Schalie, 1938; Strayer, 1983; Parmalee et Bogan, 1998), mais aussi dans les lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire (Clarke, 1981; Strayer et Jirka, 1997). Ortmann (1919) raconte avoir trouvé la forme de rivière dans les eaux de tête de l’Allegheny et la forme de lac sur du sable pur sous quelques pieds d’eau dans la baie Presque Isle du lac Érié. Dans les petites rivières, le pleurobème écarlate est souvent enfoui sous un mélange de gravier, de galets et de grosses roches, dans des radiers au débit modéré ou en aval de ceux-ci (Ortmannn 1919; Gordon et Layzer, 1989; Parmalee et Bogan, 1998). Dans les grands cours d’eau, on le trouve dans la boue, le sable ou le gravier au-delà de 3 m de profondeur, mais aussi en eau peu profonde sur des barres de sables ou de gravier (Gordon et Layzer, 1989). Dans le sud-est du Michigan, il est particulièrement abondant dans les cours d’eau moyens à grands, loin de la plaine lacustre (Strayer, 1983). Dans le lac Sainte-Claire, le P. sintoxia occupe actuellement des fonds de sable durci peu profonds (< 1 m) et situés près des rives (Zanatta et al., 2002).

On croit généralement que les préférences des moules juvéniles quant à l’habitat diffèrent de celles des moules adultes, mais ce sujet n’a guère été étudié (Gordon et Layzer, 1989). Parce qu’ils ne choisissent pas l’endroit où ils quittent leur hôte et qu’ils risquent donc une mort rapide si l’habitat ne leur convient pas, les juvéniles sont certainement plus vulnérables que les individus adultes. Le stade glochidial (ou larvaire) est le plus vulnérable et le plus spécialisé : la glochidie doit réussir à se fixer à un hôte approprié afin de pouvoir compléter sa métamorphose et passer au stade juvénile.


Tendances de l’habitat

Les habitats du P. sintoxia et des autres Unionidés des lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire et des rivières Detroit et Niagara ont été largement détruits par la moule zébrée. Les communautés de moules indigènes étaient pratiquement disparues des eaux du large de l’ouest du lac Érié en 1990 (Schloesser et Nalepa, 1994) et de celles du lac Sainte-Claire et de la rivière Detroit en 1994 (Nalepa et al., 1996; Schloesser et al., 1998). Si les communautés de moules du lac Érié étaient en déclin depuis longtemps, probablement à cause de la diminution de la qualité de l’eau pendant les 40 dernières années (Nalepa et al., 1991), celles du lac Sainte-Claire et de la rivière Detroit étaient encore abondantes et diversifiées en 1986 (Nalepa et Gauvin, 1988) et en 1992 (Schloesser et al., 1998), respectivement. Des Unionidés sont encore présents dans des zones très peu profondes situées près des rives, bien reliées au lac (ce qui assure l’accès aux poissons hôtes), et où les moules zébrées peuvent difficilement survivre (températures élevées et fortes vagues l’été, érosion par la glace l’hiver). Toutefois, ces « refuges » sont rares et l’habitat des Unionidés des Grands Lacs est en majeure partie disparu pour toujours.

On pense que l’agriculture est la cause principale de la destruction des habitats de moules en Amérique du Nord (Strayer et Fetterman, 1999). Puisque l’agriculture représente entre 75 p. 100 et 85 p. 100 de l’utilisation du sol dans les bassins des rivières Grand, Thames et Sydenham, il est probable que les impacts agricoles (comme, par exemple, l’entraînement de sédiments, de nutriments et de pesticides par le ruissellement, la hausse des températures de l’eau causée par la disparition de la végétation des rives, la destruction de l’habitat par des traverses de tracteurs et les bovins) ont contribué à la détérioration des habitats de moules de ces rivières. La pollution d’origine municipale et industrielle a peut-être été responsable dans les bassins très populeux des rivières Grand et Thames de la perte d’habitats plus importante que dans le bassin principalement agricole de la rivière Sydenham (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 2003).


Protection et propriété des terrains

La plupart des terres qui longent les tronçons des rivières Sydenham, Grand et Thames habités par le P. sintoxia sont de propriété privée. La plupart sont des terres agricoles servant à la culture commerciale, des pâturages et des terres à bois. Seules deux petites terres du bassin de la rivière Sydenham, une forêt de 20 ha appartenant au canton de Mosa et une terre de 7 ha appartenant à l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Sainte-Claire, sont de propriété publique et jouissent d’une certaine protection. Le bassin de la rivière Thames compte 21 aires naturelles (zones de conservation, zones écosensibles, réserves naturelles provinciales, etc.) couvrant en tout plus de 6 200 ha; toutefois, peu de terres longeant les tronçons habités par l’espèce sont protégées (Thames River Background Study Research Team, 1998). Les zones protégées le long de la rivière Grand sont trop petites pour contribuer à la protection de l’espèce (Peter Mason, Office de protection de la nature de la rivière Grand, comm. pers., octobre 2002).

La population de P. sintoxia des eaux canadiennes du delta de la Sainte-Claire se trouve entièrement sur le territoire de la Première Nation de l’île Walpole. La zone est en grande partie intacte et le restera probablement à l’avenir. Le Walpole Island Heritage Centre est au courant de la présence du P. sintoxia sur son territoire et de l’importance nationale de cette population.