Skip booklet index and go to page content

Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema Sintoxia)

Population Sizes and Trends

United States

Ortmann (1919) gives an overview of the distribution and abundance of P. sintoxia across its range in the United States at the turn of the 20th century. The Round Pigtoe was widely distributed in Pennsylvania, being “especially abundant” in the upper Allegheny, but less so in the Monongahela drainage where some smaller creeks had become polluted. It was also found in a Lake Erie tributary in Pennsylvania. The species was said to be found “all over the state” of Ohio, mainly in smaller streams in both the Ohio River and Lake Erie drainages. It was abundant in the headwaters of the Monongahela River in West Virginia; it occurred in the Great Lakes drainage in southern Michigan; and it was common in Indiana in both the Ohio and Great Lakes drainages. In Kentucky, it occurred historically in the Ohio River and most of its major tributaries (lower Tennessee and Cumberland, Green, Salt, upper Cumberland, Kentucky and Licking rivers and Tygarts Creek; R. Cicerello, Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, pers. comm. October 2002). In Tennessee, the Round Pigtoe was historically found in the Cumberland, Duck, Holston, and Tennessee rivers (Parmalee and Bogan 1998). Ortmann (1919) also mentions records from the western part of P. sintoxia’s range in Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, and northern Arkansas – possibly extending into Oklahoma. This information indicates that P. sintoxia was widely distributed and common in many parts of its range in the past.

Recent information suggests that the current distribution and abundance of the Round Pigtoe in the U.S. is generally the same as it was historically, although declines seem evident in a number of areas. In Pennsylvania, it is still known from 12 locations in the Allegheny River basin, 14 locations in the French Creek basin, and two locations in the Lake Erie drainage (R. Evans, Pennsylvania Natural Diversity Inventory, pers. comm. September 2002). In New York, it remains widespread in the Allegheny River basin, but populations in the Niagara River basin are likely gone (D. Strayer, Institute of Ecosystem Studies, pers. comm. September 2002). There are several records throughout West Virginia (although nowhere in any abundance) in the Monongahela River and Little Kanawha River drainages, the Elk River, Kanawha River, Ohio River, and Middle Island Creek (J. Clayton, West Virginia Department of Natural Resources, pers. comm. September 2002). In Michigan, P. sintoxia is fairly widespread throughout the state in both the Great Lakes and Ohio River drainages, although it is seldom common where it occurs (P. Marangelo, The Nature Conservancy – Michigan Chapter, pers. comm. September 2002). Pleurobema sintoxia is not a common species in Indiana and Illinois, but it remains widespread throughout these states in the Mississippi and Ohio River drainages (K. Cummings, Illinois Natural History Survey, pers. comm. September 2002). In Kentucky, P. sintoxia still inhabits the Ohio River where it is neither widespread nor abundant, the upper Green River and its major tributaries, the Rolling Fork River (a Salt River tributary), the upper Cumberland River’s major tributaries, and the Big Sandy River. Most of these populations are isolated by impoundments or polluted river segments, and evidence of recent recruitment is lacking for some streams (R. Cicerello, Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, pers. comm. October 2002). In Tennessee, the Round Pigtoe is now apparently restricted to the Cumberland, Big South Fork Cumberland, and Stones rivers (Parmalee and Bogan 1998). The Round Pigtoe was found in the Tennessee River in the Muscle Shoals region (Tennessee and Alabama) in the early 20th century and up to the late 1970s, but not during surveys in the late 1990s (Garner and McGregor 2001). It was collected live again in this area in 2001 (J. Garner, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, pers. comm. September 2002). Pleurobema sintoxia is relatively common in Missouri, where it is found in 13 major drainages; however, there is no evidence of recruitment in many basins. The Missouri Department of Conservation has 359 records of P. sintoxia in its database of collections made from 1977-1999, 79% of which were for live or fresh dead specimens (S. Bruenderman, Missouri Department of Conservation, pers. comm. September 2002). A small population of the Round Rigtoe exists in the Red River drainage of Oklahoma (Vaughn et al. 1997). Pleurobema sintoxia has not been seen in recent extensive surveys of rivers in Iowa, although it was reported from the state historically (D. Woolnough, Iowa State University, pers. comm. October 2002).


Great Lakes and Connecting Channels

As mentioned earlier, Ortmann (1919) recognized both a river form and a Great Lakes form of P. sintoxia. He reported the lake form as being rare in Presque Isle Bay, Lake Erie. The Round Pigtoe has not been found alive in recent years in Presque Isle Bay or in Thompson Bay (the outer harbour of Presque Isle Bay) where other unionids have persisted despite the Zebra Mussel invasion (Schloesser and Masteller 1999, E. Masteller, Penn State University at Erie Pennsylvania, pers. comm. July 2002). Pleurobema sintoxia was found during surveys of Lake Erie between 1913 and 1960, and 40 live specimens were collected from Put-in-Bay, Ohio in 1970 (Kokai 1976). More recently, the Round Pigtoe was represented by only weathered and fresh dead shells at 4 of 33 sites surveyed along the southwest shore and around the Bass Islands in 1998 (Ecological Specialists 1999). Sixteen species of unionids were collected from the western basin of Lake Erie between 1930 and 1982 (Nalepa et al. 1991). Pleurobema sintoxia was present in 1951-52, but not in 1961, 1972, 1973, or 1982. By 1991, the entire unionid community had been virtually eliminated by the Zebra Mussel – only four specimens of two species were found alive (Schloesser and Nalepa 1994). Although the species was recorded historically from Rondeau Bay on the north shore of Lake Erie, only old weathered shells were found during a 2001 survey, along with evidence of heavy Zebra Mussel infestation (Zanatta and Woolnough unpublished data). The only location where P. sintoxia appears to be extant in Lake Erie is Metzger Marsh, near Toledo, Ohio. The Round Pigtoe was one of 20 species found alive in the marsh in 1996 (Nichols and Amberg 1999). Surveys of seven other marshes near Metzger Marsh in 2000 produced few live mussels, none of which were P. sintoxia (Ecological Specialists 2001).

Pleurobema sintoxia was recorded from the Detroit River in the early 20th century by La Rocque and Oughton (1937) and through museum specimens collected by Bryant Walker in 1934 that are currently housed at the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology. More recently, 14 live P. sintoxia were collected from three stations in the river in 1982-83 (Schloesser et al. 1998). Following the Zebra Mussel invasion, Schloesser et al. (1998) collected 11 live P. sintoxia from six stations in 1992 and two live specimens from just one station in 1994. Based on the results of surveys conducted in 1997-98, it is now believed that P. sintoxia has been extirpated from the Detroit River (Schloesser et al. unpublished data).

There are nine historical records for P. sintoxia from the Niagara River. Nothing is known about the historical abundance of this species in the river. A survey was conducted in the Niagara River in the summer of 2001 for the New York Power Authority. Many recently spent shells of P. sintoxia were found, but no living specimens. According to the consultant responsible for the survey, “There were Zebra Mussels everywhere” (K. Schneider, Stuyvesant Falls, NY, pers. comm. November 2002). No further details about the survey could be disclosed, but it seems likely that P. sintoxia has been extirpated from the Niagara River.

The Round Pigtoe still persists in Lake St. Clair. Zebra Mussels are believed to have invaded the lake in 1986 (Hebert et al. 1989). Twenty-nine sites in the offshore waters of Lake St. Clair were surveyed for unionids in 1986, 1990, 1992, and 1994 (Nalepa and Gauvin 1988). One live P. sintoxia was recorded in 1986 (0.36% of the unionid community); two specimens were found in 1990 (0.81% of the community); and none were found in either 1992 or 1994. However, 42 Round Pigtoes measuring 31‑95 mm in shell length (Figure 6) were found alive during recent surveys of nearshore areas around the lake. Zanatta et al. (2002) surveyed 95 nearshore sites and found live unionids at 33 sites, all but two of which were in shallow areas (< 1m) with sandy substrates within an 8 km2 area near the St. Clair delta. The Round Pigtoe represented only 1.8% of the overall community by abundance (42 of 2356 live unionids). It was found at only three sites off Squirrel Island where it was relatively abundant, representing 70% of 20 unionids (6 spp.) at one site, 48% of 29 unionids (7 spp.) at the second site, and 8% of 36 mussels (8 spp.) at the third site. Quantitative sampling in 2001 yielded density estimates of 0.005, 0.022 and 0.022 Round Pigtoes/m2 at these sites. Sampling was repeated in 2003 and densities were found to have declined at all three sites, i.e., 0, 0.009 and 0.017 mussels/m2, respectively (Metcalfe-Smith et al., unpublished data) The St. Clair delta has been identified as a possible refuge for unionids from impacts of the Zebra Mussel (Zanatta et al. 2002).


Canadian Rivers

Pleurobema sintoxia has been reported from the Grand, Thames, and Sydenham rivers in Ontario. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) surveyed 74 sites on the Grand, Thames, Sydenham, Ausable, and Maitland rivers in 1997, 1998 and 2002 to determine the conservation status of rare species of freshwater mussels in southwestern Ontario. They used the timed-search technique, which they have shown to be the most efficient method for detecting rare species (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000a), with an intensive sampling effort of 4.5 person-hours (p-h)/site. Sites that were known to support rare species (including P. sintoxia) in the past were targeted. Results of these and other recent surveys were compared with the historical data to determine population trends for the Round Pigtoe. This species was not found in the Ausable or Maitland rivers in the lower Lake Huron drainage, nor did it occur there historically. 

Pleurobema sintoxia was first collected from the Grand River in 1885 near Caledonia by J. Townsend and it was collected again in 1890 near Cayuga by J. Macoun; both specimens are held by the Canadian Museum of Nature in Aylmer, Quebec. The species has been encountered regularly in the lower reaches of the river (downstream of Brantford) since that time, e.g., by Oughton in 1934-35 (ROM collection), Stansbery and Stein in 1963 (Ohio State University Museum of Zoology collection), and Kidd (1973). Metcalfe-Smith et al. (2000b) surveyed 95 sites in the river between 1995 and 1998, and found only one live P. sintoxia at each of three sites. Fresh shells were collected from an additional three sites, all in the lower mainstem of the river below Brantford. The Round Pigtoe accounted for 0.18% of the 1688 unionids collected during 4.5 p-h timed search surveys at 24 of these 95 sites. A site near York where one live P. sintoxia was found in 1998 was resurveyed in 2002 using 4.0 p-h of search effort, and 10 more live specimens were found (Metcalfe-Smith and Zanatta, unpublished data). Shell lengths of live P. sintoxia collected from the Grand River during the most recent surveys range from 55-101 mm (Figure 6). The small number of specimens found, and especially the lack of small specimens, suggests that reproduction rates may be declining.

There are six records of the Round Pigtoe from the Thames River between 1934 and 1995. Specimens or shells (no information available for 4 of the records) were collected at widely separated sites from Woodstock in the upper reaches to Chatham near the mouth to the Middle Thames River near Thamesford. This information suggests that the species was once broadly distributed, although rare, in the Thames River. Only two live specimens of P. sintoxia were found during timed search surveys of 16 sites in the Thames River drainage in 1997-98. Both specimens were found at a site on the Middle Thames River upstream of Thamesford and both were very large (95 and 115 mm) by Clarke’s (1981) standards (max. shell length of 100 mm reported for Canadian waters). The Round Pigtoe accounted for 0.11% of the community by abundance (a total of 1890 mussels were collected). It is likely that these specimens are remnants of a dying population. Weathered shells were found at an additional eight sites on the river between Thamesford and Chatham (~ 150 km reach), lending further support to the premise that the population was larger and more widespread in this river historically.


Figure 6: Size Frequency Distribution for Live Specimens of Pleurobema sintoxia Found in Lake St. Clair, the Sydenham River, and the Grand River Between 1997 and 2002

Figure 6: Size frequency distribution for live specimens of Pleurobema sintoxia found in Lake St. Clair, the SydenhamRiver, and the Grand River between 1997 and 2002.

The Round Pigtoe appears to have always been a rare member of the unionid community of the Sydenham River. It was first collected from the river in 1929 by R. Cain at a site near Alvinston (specimen held by the ROM). Stein and associates (Ohio State University) collected 2 live specimens and 16 fresh whole shells from a site near Florence in 1965 and 4 live specimens and 4 fresh whole shells from a site below Alvinston in 1967. Clarke (1973) reported it alive at three of 11 sites he surveyed in 1971 but did not provide information on abundance. Clarke (1992) also surveyed 16 sites in the river in 1991 and found a total of 5 live P. sintoxia at two sites. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) conducted 4.5 p-h timed search surveys at 17 sites on the river in 1997-1998, and an 18th site was surveyed in 2002 (Metcalfe-Smith and Zanatta, unpublished data). Twenty-two Round Pigtoes were found alive at six of these sites, representing 0.93% of the 2359 unionids collected from the river. Only 1-2 specimens/site were observed in the East Sydenham River, but 14 live animals were collected from a site near Warwick on Bear Creek. Relative abundance in terms of catch-per-unit-effort (CPUE) was similar to that reported in the past, i.e., 0.22-0.44 specimens/p-h (except for 3.0/p-h at the site in Bear Creek) vs. 0.20-0.66 specimens/p‑h between 1965 and 1991. Quantitative (quadrat) surveys were also conducted at 10 sites on the Sydenham River between 1999 and 2002, and 23 P. sintoxia were found alive at six of these sites (Metcalfe-Smith and Zanatta 2003). Density estimates ranged from 0.01 to 0.13 per m2. Shell lengths of the 45 live Round Pigtoes observed at 7 different sites in a ~75 km reach of the East Sydenham River between Rokeby and Dawn Mills and one site in the north branch of the river ranged from 30 to 133 mm (Figure 6), suggesting that recruitment is occurring. However, quantitative sampling at an additional five sites in 2003 yielded only 3 more animals and a closer examination of the shell length data showed that the Round Pigtoe is successfully reproducing at only one or two sites on the river (Metcalfe-Smith and Zanatta, unpublished data).

Table 1 summarizes the available information on frequency of occurrence and relative abundance of P. sintoxia in various locations in Canada and the United States. The species was found at about 25% of sites surveyed (range 2-60%), representing 1.5% on average (range 0.1-5.1%) of the total number of mussels collected. The Round Pigtoe could be described as a broadly distributed but uncommon species that is seldom, if ever, abundant.

Table 1: Frequency of Occurrence and Relative Abundance of Pleurobema sintoxia in Various Locations in the United States and Ontario
River/LakeState/ ProvinceFrequency of occurrence, as % of sites surveyed
(# sites)
 Relative abundance, as % of communityYear of survey
Red River drainageOK-2.7%; 1.8%1997a
Green RiverKY-1.8%1990-91b
Barren RiverKY-0.6%1990-91b
St. Joseph RiverOH35% (40)-1938-75c
Muskingum RiverOH 0.1%; 0.2%1992d
Clinton RiverMI15.8% (76)5.1%1977-78e
Clinton, Huron, and Raisin RiversMI34.7% (75)-1980f
upper Blanchard RiverOH45.5% (11)2.2%1994-96g
Black and Pine RiversMI21.7% (23)-1982-83h
Lake St. ClairON, MI3.4% (29)0.4%1986i
Lake St. ClairON, MI9.1% (33)1.8%1999-2001j
Sydenham River (timed search  method)ON35.3% (18)0.9%1997-98, 2002k, l
Sydenham River (quadrat search method)ON60% (10)0.6%1999-2002l
Thames RiverON6.3% (16)0.1%1997-98k
Grand RiverON12.5% (24)0.2%1997-1998k
Lake Erie (Western Basin)OH, MI, ON-0.3%1951-52m
Lake Erie (Put-in-Bay)OH-5.2%1970n
Detroit RiverON, MI17.6% (17)1.1%1982-83o
Detroit RiverON, MI41.2% (17)0.7%1992o
Detroit RiverON, MI11.1% (9)3.4%1994o
a Vaughn et al. (1997)
f Strayer (1983)
k Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998, 1999)
b Cochran and Layzer (1993)
g Hoggarth et al. (2000)
l Metcalfe-Smith et al. (unpublished data)
c Clark (1977)
h Hoeh and Trdan (1985)
m Nalepa et al. (1991)
d Watters (1993-1994)
i Nalepa and Gauvin (1988)
n Kokai (1976)
e Strayer (1980)
j Zanatta et al. (2002)
o Schloesser et al. (1998)

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia)

Taille et tendances des populations

États-Unis

Ortmann (1919) fournit une vue d’ensemble de la répartition et de l’abondance du P. sintoxia aux États-Unis au début du 20e siècle. Le pleurobème écarlate était très répandu en Pennsylvanie, où il était particulièrement abondant dans la haute Allegheny, mais moins dans le bassin de la Monongahela, où même de petits ruisseaux étaient pollués. On le retrouvait aussi dans un affluent du lac Érié, en Pennsylvanie. On considérait que l’espèce était présente dans tout l’Ohio, surtout dans de petits cours d’eau des bassins de la rivière Ohio et du lac Érié. Le pleurobème écarlate était abondant dans le cours supérieur de la rivière Monongahela, en Virginie-Occidentale. On le trouvait aussi dans le sud du Michigan, dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, et il était commun en Indiana, dans le bassin de la rivière Ohio et dans celui des Grands Lacs. Au Kentucky, il vivait autrefois dans la rivière Ohio et dans la plupart de ses principaux affluents (bas Tennessee et basse Cumberland, haute Cumberland, rivières Green, Salt, Kentucky et Licking et ruisseau Tygarts; R. Cicerello, Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, comm. pers., octobre 2002). Au Tennessee, le pleurobème écarlate vivait autrefois dans les rivières Cumberland, Duck, Holston et Tennessee (Parmalee et Bogan, 1998). Ortmann (1919) mentionne aussi des observations réalisées dans la partie ouest de la zone de répartition du P. sintoxia, en Iowa, au Missouri, au Kansas et dans le nord de l’Arkansas – peut-être même jusqu’en Oklahoma. Le P. sintoxia était donc autrefois largement répandu et commun dans nombre de parties de son aire de répartition.

Des informations récentes laissent penser que la répartition et l’abondance du pleurobème écarlate aux États-Unis n’ont pas changé, même si un déclin semble évident dans un certain nombre de régions. En Pennsylvanie, on le trouve encore à 12 endroits dans le bassin de la rivière Allegheny, à 14 endroits dans celui du ruisseau French et à deux endroits dans le bassin du lac Érié (R. Evans, Pennsylvania Natural Diversity Inventory, comm. pers., septembre 2002). Dans l’État de New York, il reste répandu dans le bassin de la rivière Allegheny, mais les populations du bassin de la rivière Niagara sont probablement disparues (D. Strayer, Institute of Ecosystem Studies, comm. pers., septembre 2002). On l’a observé à de nombreux endroits en Virginie-Occidentale (mais jamais en abondance), dans les bassins des rivières Monongahela et Little Kanawha, dans les rivières Elk, Kanawha et Ohio et dans le ruisseau Middle Island (J. Clayton, West Virginia Department of Natural Resources, comm. pers., septembre 2002). Le P. sintoxia est assez répandu dans tout l’État du Michigan, à la fois dans le bassin des Grands Lacs et dans celui de la rivière Ohio, mais il est rarement commun aux endroits où il vit (P. Marangelo, The Nature Conservancy – chapitre du Michigan, comm. pers., septembre 2002). Le Pleurobema sintoxia n’est pas une espèce commune en Indiana et en Illinois, mais il reste répandu dans ces États dans les bassins du Mississippi et de la rivière Ohio (K. Cummings, Illinois Natural History Survey, comm. pers.. septembre 2002). Au Kentucky, le P. sintoxia habite encore la rivière Ohio, où il n’est ni répandu ni abondant, le cours supérieur de la rivière Green et ses principaux affluents, la rivière Rolling Fork (affluent de la rivière Salt), les affluents principaux du cours supérieur de la Cumberland et la rivière Big Sandy. La plupart de ces populations sont isolées par des bassins de retenue ou des tronçons pollués et certains de ces cours d’eau ne présentent aucun indice de recrutement récent (R. Cicerello, Kentucky State Nature Preserves Commission, comm. pers., octobre 2002). Au Tennessee, le pleurobème écarlate semble n’habiter maintenant que les rivières Cumberland, Big South Fork Cumberland et Stones (Parmalee et Bogan, 1998). Du début du 20e siècle jusqu’à la fin des années 1970, on trouvait le pleurobème écarlate dans la rivière Tennessee, dans la région des Muscle Shoals (au Tennessee et en Alabama), mais il était introuvable lors de recensements effectués à la fin des années 1990 (Garner et McGregor, 2001). Par contre, on l’a récolté vivant dans cette région en 2001 (J. Garner, Alabama Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, comm. pers., septembre 2002). Le Pleurobema sintoxia est relativement commun au Missouri, où on le retrouve dans 13 bassins importants; toutefois, il ne semble pas y avoir de recrutement dans nombre de ces bassins. La base de données du Missouri Department of Conservation contient 359 mentions du P. sintoxia entre 1977 et 1999, dont 79 p. 100 de spécimens vivants ou morts depuis peu (S. Bruenderman, Missouri Department of Conservation, comm. pers., septembre 2002). Une petite population de pleurobèmes écarlates habite le bassin de la rivière Red, en Oklahoma (Vaughn et al., 1997). Le Pleurobema sintoxia n’a pas été observé lors de vastes recensements récents effectués dans des rivières d’Iowa, alors qu’il se retrouvait autrefois dans cet État (D. Woolnough, Iowa State University, comm. pers., octobre 2002).


Grands Lacs et voies interlacustres

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, Ortmann (1919) identifie deux formes de P. sintoxia : une forme de rivière et une forme des Grands Lacs. Cet auteur mentionnait également que la forme de lac est rare dans la baie Presque Isle, au lac Érié. Ces dernières années, on n’a pas trouvé de spécimens vivants de pleurobème écarlate dans la baie Presque Isle ou dans la baie Thompson (au bout de la presqu’île), où d’autres Unionidés ont réussi à survivre malgré l’infestation par la moule zébrée (Schloesser et Masteller, 1999; E. Masteller, Penn State University at Erie, Pennsylvanie, comm. pers., juillet 2002). On a trouvé le Pleurobema sintoxia lors de recensements du lac Érié effectués entre 1913 et 1960, et 40 spécimens vivants ont été récoltés dans la baie Put-in, en Ohio, en 1970 (Kokai, 1976). Plus récemment, en 1998, on ne trouvait plus que des coquilles, fraîches ou vieilles, de pleurobème écarlate à 4 des 33 sites recensés le long de la côte sud-ouest du lac et autour des îles Bass (Ecological Specialists, 1999). Seize espèces d’Unionidés ont été récoltées dans le bassin occidental du lac Érié entre 1930 et 1982 (Nalepa et al., 1991). Le Pleurobema sintoxia y était présent en 1951-1952, mais pas en 1961, en 1972, en 1973, et en 1982. En 1991, toutes les populations d’Unionidés avaient été pour ainsi dire éliminées par la moule zébrée – on n’a pu trouver alors que quatre spécimens vivants de deux espèces (Schloesser et Nalepa, 1994). Bien qu’on mentionne la présence, autrefois, de l’espèce dans la baie Rondeau, sur la rive nord du lac Érié, un relevé effectué en 2001 n’a permis de trouver que de vieilles coquilles et de constater une infestation importante par la moule zébrée (Zanatta et Woolnough, données inédites). Le marais Metzger, près de Toledo, en Ohio, est le seul secteur du lac Érié où le P. sintoxia semble encore présent. Le pleurobème écarlate était une des 20 espèces vivant dans le marais en 1996 (Nichols et Amberg, 1999). Lors des recensements de sept autres marais situés près du marais Metzger, réalisés en 2000, peu de mulettes vivantes ont été trouvées, dont aucun P. sintoxia (Ecological Specialists, 2001).

La Rocque et Oughton (1937) mentionnent que le Pleurobema sintoxia vivait dans la rivière Detroit au début du 20e siècle, et des spécimens, actuellement conservés au musée de zoologie de l’université du Michigan, y ont été récoltés par Bryant Walker en 1934. Plus récemment, en 1982-1983, on a récolté 14 spécimens de P. sintoxia vivants à trois sites de la rivière (Schloesser et al., 1998). Après l’invasion de la moule zébrée, Schloesser et al. (1998) ont récolté 11 spécimens vivants de P. sintoxia à six sites en 1992 et deux spécimens vivants à un seul site en 1994. Les résultats de recensements effectués en 1997-1998 laissent penser que le P. sintoxia est disparu de la rivière Detroit (Schloesser et al., données inédites).

Il y a neuf mentions historiques du P. sintoxia dans la rivière Niagara. On ne sait rien de ce qu’y fut jadis l’abondance de l’espèce. Un recensement y a été effectué pendant l’été de 2001 pour le compte de la New York Power Authority. On a trouvé plusieurs coquilles récentes de P. sintoxia, mais aucun spécimen vivant. Selon le consultant responsable du recensement, il y avait des moules zébrées partout (K. Schneider, Stuyvesant Falls, New York, comm. pers., novembre 2002). Les autres détails de l’étude ne peuvent être divulgués, mais il semble probable que le P. sintoxia a disparu de la rivière Niagara.

Le pleurobème écarlate est toujours présent dans le lac Sainte-Claire. On croit que la moule zébrée a envahi le lac en 1986 (Hebert et al., 1989). En 1986, 1990, 1992 et 1994, on y a étudié la présence des Unionidés à 29 sites situés au large (Nalepa et Gauvin, 1988). On a trouvé un spécimen vivant de P. sintoxia en 1986 (ce qui représente 0,36 p. 100 de la communauté d’Unionidés), deux spécimens en 1990 (0,81 p. 100 de la communauté) et aucun individu en 1992 et en 1994. Toutefois, on a trouvé, lors de recensements récents de secteurs situés près des rives du lac, 42 pleurobèmes écarlates dont les coquilles mesuraient entre 31 mm et 95 mm (figure 6). Zanatta et al. (2002) ont recensé 95 sites situés près des rives et trouvé des Unionidés à 33 d’entre eux, tous, sauf deux, en eau peu profonde (< 1 m) sur fonds sablonneux, dans une zone de 8 km2 près du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire. Le pleurobème écarlate ne représentait que 1,8 p. 100 de la population totale (42 des 2356 Unionidés vivants). On l’a trouvé à seulement trois sites près de l’île Squirrel, mais il y était relativement abondant, puisqu’il représentait 70 p. 100 des 20 Unionidés (de 6 espèces) du premier site, 48 p. 100 des 29 Unionidés (de 7 espèces) du deuxième site et 8 p. 100 des 36 Unionidés (de 8 espèces) du troisième site. Les échantillonnages quantitatifs effectués en 2001 ont permis d’évaluer la densité de pleurobèmes écarlates dans ces sites à 0,005, 0,022 et 0,022 individu/m2. L’échantillonnage a été répété en 2003 et les densités avaient diminué aux trois sites, puisqu’on n’y trouvait plus que 0, 0,009 et 0,017 individu/m2 (Metcalfe-Smith et al., données inédites). Il semble que le delta de la Sainte-Claire puisse constituer un refuge où les Unionidés se trouveraient à l’abri des impacts de la moule zébrée (Zanatta et al., 2002).


Figure 6 : Distribution statistique des tailles de Pleurobema sintoxia vivants trouvés dans le lac Sainte-Claire et les rivières Sydenham et Grand entre 1997 et 2002

Figure 6 : Distribution statistique des tailles de Pleurobema sintoxia vivants trouvés dans le lac Sainte-Claire et les rivières Sydenham et Grand entre 1997 et 2002


Rivières canadiennes

En Ontario, on a trouvé le Pleurobema sintoxia dans les rivières Grand, Thames et Sydenham. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) ont recensé 74 sites dans les rivières Grand, Thames, Sydenham, Ausable et Maitland en 1997, 1998 et 2002 afin de déterminer la situation des espèces rares de mulettes dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Ils ont utilisé la technique d’échantillonnage minuté (timed-search Technique), dont ils ont prouvé qu’elle était la plus efficace pour déceler les espèces rares (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 2000a), avec un effort d’échantillonnage intensif de 4,5 heures-personnes (h-p)/site. Ils ont ciblé des sites dont ils savaient qu’ils abritaient des espèces rares (dont le P. sintoxia) dans le passé. Les résultats de ces inventaires ainsi que d’autres relevés récents ont été comparés aux données historiques afin de déterminer l’évolution des populations du pleurobème écarlate. L’espèce n’a pas été trouvée ni récemment ni dans le passé dans les rivières Ausable et Maitland, dans le bassin inférieur du lac Huron.

Le Pleurobema sintoxia a été récolté pour la première fois dans la rivière Grand en 1885, près de Caledonia, par J. Townsend, puis en 1890, près de Cayuga, par J. Macoun. Les deux spécimens sont conservés au Musée canadien de la nature à Aylmer, au Québec. La présence de l’espèce dans le cours inférieur de la rivière (en aval de Brantford) a depuis été mentionnée régulièrement, par exemple par Oughton en 1934-1935 (collection du Musée royal de l’Ontario), par Stansbery et Stein en 1963 (collection du musée de zoologie de l’Ohio State University) et par Kidd (1973). Metcalfe-Smith et al. (2000b), qui ont fouillé 95 sites dans cette rivière entre 1995 et 1998, n’ont trouvé que trois P. sintoxia vivants répartis en trois sites. Des coquilles fraîches ont été récoltées à trois sites additionnels, tous situés en aval de Brantford. Le pleurobème écarlate représentait 0,18 p. 100 des 1688 Unionidés récoltés à 24 de ces 95 sites pendant des fouilles minutées avec un effort d’échantillonnage de 4,5 h-p. Un site situé près de York, où on avait vu un P. sintoxia vivant en 1998, a été fouillé à nouveau en 2002 avec un effort d’échantillonnage de 4,0 h-p et 10 nouveaux spécimens vivants ont été trouvés (Metcalfe-Smith et Zanatta, données inédites). La taille des coquilles des P. sintoxia récoltés dans la rivière Grand lors des recensements les plus récents varie entre 55 mm et 101 mm (figure 6). Le petit nombre de spécimens et, surtout, l’absence de petits spécimens laissent croire à une baisse des taux de reproduction.

Il existe six mentions du pleurobème écarlate dans la rivière Thames entre 1934 et 1995. Des spécimens ou des coquilles (information non précisée pour quatre des mentions) ont été récoltés à des sites largement séparés les uns des autres et situés dans un tronçon allant de Woodstock, dans le cours supérieur de la rivière, à Chatham, près du confluent avec la rivière Middle Thames, non loin de Thamesford. Ces données indiquent que l’espèce était largement répartie, mais rare, dans la rivière Thames. Seulement deux spécimens vivants de P. sintoxia ont été trouvés lors de fouilles minutées à 16 sites du bassin de la rivière Thames en 1997-1998. Les deux spécimens ont été trouvés dans un site de la rivière Middle Thames, en amont de Thamesford, et tous deux étaient très gros (95 mm et 115 mm) selon les critères de Clarke (1981), qui mentionne une taille maximale observée au Canada de 100 mm. Le pleurobème écarlate représentait 0,11 p. 100 de la population d’Unionidés (1890 mulettes récoltées). Ces spécimens sont probablement des reliques d’une population en extinction. On a également trouvé de vieilles coquilles à huit autres sites entre Thamesford et Chatham (tronçon d’environ 150 km), ce qui semble appuyer l’hypothèse que la population était autrefois plus nombreuse et plus répandue qu’aujourd’hui.

Le pleurobème écarlate semble avoir toujours été un membre rare de la communauté d’Unionidés de la rivière Sydenham. Il a été récolté pour la première fois dans cette rivière en 1929 par R. Cain, près d’Alvinston (spécimen conservé au Musée royal de l’Ontario). Stein et ses collaborateurs (de l’Ohio State University) ont récolté 2 spécimens vivants et 16 coquilles fraîches complètes près de Florence en 1965, ainsi que 4 spécimens vivants et 4 coquilles fraîches complètes en aval d’Alvinston en 1967. Clarke (1973) a observé des individus vivants à 3 des 11 sites qu’il a fouillés en 1971, mais il ne fournit pas de données sur l’abondance. Clarke (1992) a également fouillé 16 sites dans la rivière en 1991 et trouvé un total de 5 P. sintoxia vivants à deux sites. Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998b, 1999) ont effectué des fouilles minutées avec un effort d’échantillonnage de 4,5 h-p à 17 sites en 1997-1998 et ont fouillé un 18e site en 2002 (Metcalfe-Smith et Zanatta, données inédites). Ils ont trouvé 22 pleurobèmes écarlates vivants à 6 de ces sites, individus qui représentent 0,93 p. 100 des 2359 Unionidés récoltés dans la rivière. On a observé seulement un ou deux spécimens par site dans la rivière Sydenham Est, mais 14 individus vivants ont été récoltés à un site près de Warwick, dans le ruisseau Bear. Le nombre de « captures » par unité d’effort était semblable à celui rapporté dans le passé, c’est-à-dire 0,22 à 0,44 spécimen/h-p (3,0 spécimens/h-p au site du ruisseau Bear) par rapport à 0,20 à 0,66 spécimen/h-p entre 1965 et 1991. Des échantillonnages quantitatifs par quadrats ont également été réalisés à 10 sites de la rivière Sydenham entre 1999 et 2002 et 23 P. sintoxia vivants ont été trouvés à six de ces sites (Metcalfe-Smith et Zanatta, 2003). Les densités estimées allaient de 0,01 à 0,13 individu/m2. Les coquilles des 45 pleurobèmes écarlates vivants observés à 7 sites différents dans un tronçon d’environ 75 km de la rivière Sydenham Est, entre Rokeby et Dawn Mills, et à un site de la branche nord de la rivière mesuraient entre 30 mm et 133 mm de longueur (figure 6), ce qui laisse croire à l’existence d’un recrutement. Toutefois, un échantillonnage quantitatif réalisé à cinq autres sites en 2003 n’a permis de trouver que 3 autres individus et un examen attentif des données sur la taille des coquilles montre que le pleurobème écarlate ne se reproduit avec succès qu’à un ou deux sites de la rivière (Metcalfe-Smith et Zanatta, données inédites).

Le tableau 1 fait la synthèse des données disponibles sur la fréquence d’occurrence et l’abondance relative du P. sintoxia à différents endroits au Canada et aux États-Unis. On a observé l’espèce à environ 25 p. 100 des sites fouillés (plage de 2 p. 100 à 60 p. 100), ses effectifs représentant en moyenne 1,5 p. 100 (plage de 0,1 p. 100 à 5,1 p. 100) du nombre total de mulettes récoltées. On peut donc dire que le pleurobème écarlate est une espèce largement répandue, mais rare et pour ainsi dire jamais abondante.


Tableau 1 : Fréquence d’occurrence et abondance relative du Pleurobema sintoxia à différents endroits aux États-Unis et en Ontario
Rivière/LacÉtat/ ProvinceFréquence d’occurrence en % des sites fouillés
(nombre de sites)
Abondance relative de mulettes en % de la populationAnnée(s) du recensement
Bassin de la rivière RedOK2,7 %; 1,8 %1997a
Rivière GreenKY1,8 %1990-1991b
Rivière BarrenKY0,6 %1990-1991b
Rivière St. JosephOH35 % (40)1938-1975c
Rivière MuskingumOH 0,1 %; 0,2 %1992d
Rivière ClintonMI15,8 % (76)5,1 %1977-1978e
Rivières Clinton, Huron et RaisinMI34,7 % (75)1980f
Rivière Blanchard (cours supérieur)OH45,5 % (11)2,2 %1994-1996g
Rivières Black et PineMI21,7 % (23)1982-1983h
Lac Sainte-ClaireON, MI3,4 % (29)0,4 %1986i
Lac Sainte-ClaireON, MI9,1 % (33)1,8 %1999-2001j
Rivière Sydenham (échantillonnage minuté)ON35,3 % (18)0,9 %1997-1998, 2002k, l
Rivière Sydenham (quadrats)ON60 % (10)0,6 %1999-2002l
Rivière ThamesON6,3 % (16)0,1 %1997-1998k
Rivière GrandON12,5 % (24)0,2 %1997-1998k
Lac Érié (bassin occidental)OH, MI, ON0,3 %1951-1952m
Lac Érié (baie Put-in)OH5,2 %1970n
Rivière DetroitON, MI17,6 % (17)1,1 %1982-1983o
Rivière DetroitON, MI41,2 % (17)0,7 %1992o
Rivière DetroitON, MI11,1 % (9)3,4 %1994o
a Vaughn et al. (1997)
f Strayer (1983)
k Metcalfe-Smith et al. (1998, 1999)
b Cochran et Layzer (1993)
g Hoggarth et al. (2000)
l Metcalfe-Smith et al. (données inédites)
c Clark (1977)
h Hoeh et Trdan (1985)
m Nalepa et al. (1991)
d Watters (1993-1994)
i Nalepa et Gauvin (1988)
n Kokai (1976)
e Strayer (1980)
j Zanatta et al. (2002)
o Schloesser et al. (1998)