Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Eastern Flowering Dogwood in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Eastern Flowering Dogwood
Cornus Florida

Species Information

Eastern flowering dogwood (Cornus florida) is a small tree of the forest understory or edge. It has branches in whorls from the main trunk, giving a tiered appearance. Leaves are simple, opposite and deciduous. Flowers are in terminal clusters with four conspicuous white floral bracts. Fruit occurs in tight clusters; scarlet, shiny, one-seeded, ovoid and fleshy. It is similar to Cornus alternifolia, but the latter has alternate leaves and branching, lacks the floral bracts and fruit are dark green to blue in an open cluster.

 

Distribution

It is a species of eastern North America, ranging in the north from southern Michigan, southern Ontario and southern Maine, south to eastern Texas to northern Florida; two disjunct populations occur in the mountains of eastern Mexico. Only a small percentage of its range is in Canada.

 

Habitat

Cornus florida typically occurs as an understory or edge tree of open dry to slightly moist deciduous or mixed forests, on sand to sandy loam or occasionally on clay loam soils, typically in mid-age to mature forests.

 

Biology

This species is a long-lived, slow growing woody perennial. Flowers are perfect (having both male and female parts) and occur in mid-spring as the leaves are beginning to open. Individuals are pollinated by insects; cross-pollination produces better seed set. The mature red fruits are dispersed by numerous birds and a few mammals. Germination and seedling establishment occur in forest shade but intermediate light levels promote growth.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Populations range from individual trees, to many that have one to a few dozen trees, to one with over 100. Since the arrival of dogwood anthracnose (a leaf disease causing mortality) in the mid-1990s many populations are in a steep decline, an average of 7-8% per year.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The greatest threat is the dogwood anthracnose disease that has decimated many populations and only a few seem to have so far avoided its impact. In addition to high mortality, the remaining individuals have reduced flowering and fruiting.

 

Special Significance of the Species

Cornus florida is a conspicuous understory tree in southern Ontario forests, providing nutrition for pollinating insects in the spring and frugivorous (fruit-eating) forest birds in late summer. It is also an important small, ornamental landscape tree. First Nations made use of Cornus florida for various medicinal treatments. This species, plus its western counterpart Cornus nuttallii, are threatened by dogwood anthracnose throughout their ranges. 

 

Existing Protection

Several jurisdictions are reviewing the status of this species due to its drastic decline after the arrival of dogwood anthracnose. Three states have it listed as S1 (critically imperiled); Ontario currently lists it as S2 (imperiled).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cornouiller fleuri au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Cornouiller fleuri
Cornus florida

Information sur l’espèce

Le cornouiller fleuri (Cornus florida) est un petit arbre du sous-étage ou de la lisière des forêts. Les branches du fût sont réparties en verticilles, nettement étagées. Les feuilles sont simples, opposées et caduques. Les fleurs sont réunies en inflorescences terminales entourées de quatre bractées florales blanches voyantes. Les fruits, écarlates, luisants, monospermes, ovoïdes et charnus sont regroupés en grappes terminales denses. Le cornouiller fleuri ressemble au cornouiller à feuilles alternes (Cornus alternifolia), mais chez ce dernier, les feuilles et les ramifications sont alternes, les bractées florales font défaut et les fruits sont vert foncé à bleus et réunis en grappes lâches.

 

Répartition

Le cornouiller fleuri se trouve dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, depuis le sud du Michigan, de l’Ontario et du Maine jusque dans l’est du Texas et le nord de la Floride. Deux populations isolées sont connues des montagnes de l’est du Mexique. Seul un faible pourcentage de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce se trouve au Canada.

 

Habitat

Le Cornus florida pousse généralement en sous-étage ou à la lisière des forêts décidues ou mixtes, légèrement humides, au sol sableux à loameux-sableux ou occasionnellement loameux-argileux, généralement d’âge intermédiaire à matures.

 

Biologie

Le cornouiller fleuri est une essence ligneuse vivace à croissance lente et à longue durée de vie. Les fleurs sont parfaites (renferment les structures mâles et femelles) et apparaissent au milieu du printemps, au moment où les feuilles commencent à peine à se développer. Elles sont pollinisées par les insectes. La production de graines est optimale en cas de pollinisation croisée. La dispersion des fruits mûrs, de couleur rouge, est assurée par de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux et quelques espèces de mammifères. La germination et l’établissement des semis s’effectuent à l’ombre du couvert forestier, mais l’exposition à une intensité lumineuse intermédiaire stimule la croissance.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Certaines populations ne comptent qu’un individu, mais de nombreuses populations en comptent de une à plusieurs douzaines, et une population en compte plus de cent. Depuis l’apparition de l’anthracnose du cornouiller (maladie foliaire causant une mortalité) au milieu des années 1990, de nombreuses populations ont subi un déclin prononcé, à un rythme moyen de 7 à 8 p. 100 par année.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La principale menace qui pèse sur le cornouiller fleuri est l’anthracnose du cornouiller. De nombreuses populations ont été décimées par la maladie, et quelques populations seulement semblent avoir été épargnées à ce jour. En plus de provoquer une forte mortalité, cette maladie compromet la floraison et la fructification des individus restants.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Le Cornus florida est une composante bien visible du sous-étage des forêts du sud de l’Ontario. Il constitue une source de nourriture pour les insectes pollinisateurs au printemps et pour les oiseaux forestiers frugivores (se nourrissant de fruits) à la fin de l’été. Il est également prisé en aménagement paysager comme arbre d’ornement de petite taille. Les Premières nations l’utilisaient à des fins médicinales. Le cornouiller fleuri, ainsi que son vicariant de la côte du Pacifique, le Cornus nuttallii, sont tous deux menacés par l’anthracnose du cornouiller à l’échelle de leur aire de répartition respective.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Le déclin subit des populations causé par l’apparition de l’anthracnose du cornouiller a incité plusieurs États et l’Ontario à réévaluer la situation de cette espèce. Dans trois États, le cornouiller fleuri est actuellement classé S1 (« gravement en péril » [critically imperiled]); en Ontario, il est classé S2 (« en péril » [imperiled]).