Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Eastern Flowering Dogwood in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Eastern Flowering Dogwood
Cornus florida
in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

Cornus florida L., commonly known as eastern flowering dogwood or flowering dogwood (French: Cornouiller fleuri), has only one synonym and it is not in current use: Cynoxylonfloridum (L.) Raf. ex B.D. Jackson. The genus is in the dogwood family (Cornaceae).


Morphological Description

A small tree of the forest understory or edge 3-10 m high; branches are in whorls from the main trunk, giving a tiered appearance. Bark on larger specimens is grey-brown and separates into quadrangular plates, forming an alligator skin pattern. Each branch is composed of a sequence of annual growth segments originating from a sub-terminal position, resulting in a conspicuous scalloped appearance. Leaves are simple, opposite and deciduous. Blades are ovate, elliptic to broadly oval, 5-15 cm long and 2.5-8 cm wide. Flowers are in terminal clusters with four conspicuous white floral bracts, appearing in mid-spring as the leaves are just beginning to develop (Figure 1). The floral buds are stalked, large and have a flattened dome shape. Fruits are scarlet, shiny, one-seeded, ovoid and fleshy and occur in tight clusters. The species is similar to alternate-leaved dogwood (Cornus alternifolia), but the latter has alternate leaves and branching and lacks the floral bracts; the fruits are dark green to blue in an open cluster.


Genetic Description

There are no conspicuous barriers to gene flow within populations; flowers are perfect and self incompatibility occurs with some but not all self-pollinations (Reed, 2004). Craddock et al. (1997) found that 3 of 7 cultivars of this species would not set fruit with self-pollination but did with most cross-pollinations. Sork et al. (2002) estimated 8-11 effective pollen donors for Cornus florida trees in Missouri forests. Fruit commonly is present on trees that have flowered. Habitat fragmentation has resulted in moderate geographic barriers between some populations. Little is known of population differences other than some observations on geographic differences, for example, fruit weights tend to decrease with decreasing latitude and increasing length of growing season (Winstead et al., 1977); however, the trend reverses in Mexico, where Cornus florida var. urbaniana, a variety found in the mountains of Nuevo León and Veracruz, differs from the typical species by its greyer twigs and larger fruit (Vimmerstedt, 1965).


Designatable Units

A single designatable unit is here recognized for this widespread eastern North American species.


Figure 1: Leafy Branchlet of Cornus florida with a Terminal Flower Cluster of Tiny Flowers Surrounded by Four, Large, White, Petal-like Bracts (centre) and a Longitudinal Section of a Single, Enlarged, Flower (left)

Figure 1: Leafy branchlet of Cornus florida with a terminal flower cluster of tiny flowers surrounded by four, large, white, petal-like bracts (centre) and a longitudinal section of a single, enlarged, flower (left)

Illustration from Britton and Brown (1913).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cornouiller fleuri au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
cornouiller fleuri
Cornus florida
au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Le Cornus florida L., ou cornouiller fleuri (en anglais, eastern flowering dogwood ou flowering dogwood), n’a qu’un synonyme, Cynoxylonfloridum (L.) Raf. ex B.D. Jackson, et ce dernier n’est pas en usage actuellement. Le genre Cornus appartient à la famille du cornouiller (Cornacées).


Description morphologique

Le cornouiller fleuri est un petit arbre de 3 à 10 m de hauteur qui pousse en sous‑étage ou à la lisière des forêts. Les branches du fût sont réparties en verticilles et nettement étagées. L’écorce des individus de plus grande taille est brun-gris, fragmentée en plaques rectangulaires rappelant les écailles d’une peau d’alligator. Chaque branche est composée d’une séquence de segments de croissance annuelle insérés en position subterminale qui lui confère un aspect festonné. Les feuilles sont simples, opposées et caduques. Le limbe de la feuille est ové, elliptique à largement ovale, et mesure de 5 à 15 cm de longueur et de 2,5 à 8 cm de largeur. Les fleurs sont réunies en inflorescences terminales entourées de quatre bractées florales blanches voyantes; elles apparaissent au moment où les feuilles commencent à peine à se développer (figure 1). Les bourgeons floraux sont pétiolés, de grande taille, en forme de dôme aplati. Les fruits, regroupés en grappes denses, sont écarlates, luisants, monospermes, ovoïdes et charnus. Le cornouiller fleuri ressemble au cornouiller à feuilles alternes (Cornus alternifolia), mais chez ce dernier, les feuilles et les ramifications sont alternes, les bractées florales font défaut, et les fruits sont vert foncé à bleus et regroupés en une grappe lâche.


Description génétique

Aucune barrière évidente n’entrave le flux génétique au sein des populations. Les fleurs sont parfaites, et un mécanisme d’auto-incompatibilité prévient en partie l’autofécondation (Reed, 2004). Craddock et al. (1997) ont noté que trois cultivars sur sept ne produisent pas de fruits en cas d’autofécondation, mais en produisent généralement en cas de pollinisation croisée. Sork et al. (2002) ont estimé de 8 à 11 le nombre de donneurs de pollen efficaces chez les cornouillers fleuris des forêts du Missouri. Les arbres qui fleurissent produisent généralement des fruits. La fragmentation de l’habitat a créé des barrières géographiques modérées entre certaines populations. On sait peu de choses sur les différences entre les populations, si ce n’est que certains paramètres varient d’une région à l’autre. Ainsi, de façon générale, le poids des fruits diminue du nord au sud et semble inversement proportionnel à la durée de la saison de croissance (Winstead et al., 1977). Cette tendance s’inverse au Mexique, où le Cornus florida var. urbaniana, variété présente dans les montagnes de Nuevo León et de Veracruz, se distingue de l’espèce typique par la coloration plus grise de ses rameaux et la taille plus grande de ses fruits (Vimmerstedt, 1965).


Unités désignables

Une seule unité désignable est reconnue dans le présent rapport pour cette espèce de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord très répandue.


Figure 1 : Rameau feuillu de Cornus florida portant une grappe terminale de fleurs minuscules entourées de quatre grandes bractées florales pétaloïdes blanches (au centre), et coupe longitudinale d’une fleur agrandie (à gauche)

Figure 1 : Rameau feuillu de Cornus florida (x 1) portant une grappe terminale de fleurs minuscules entourées de quatre grandes bractées florales pétaloïdes blanches (au centre), et coupe longitudinale d’une fleur agrandie (à gauche).

Illustration tirée de Britton et Brown (1913).