Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Eastern Flowering Dogwood in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

Initially, all known information was brought together, including the records at Ontario’s Natural Heritage Information Centre, field notes from botanists working in the area (Mike Oldham, Jane Bowles, Allen Woodliffe, Gerry Waldron), current herbarium records where available and earlier records the author and associates compiled at the University of Guelph Arboretum. Norfolk County has several recent reports that record the presence of this species (Gartshore et al., 1987; Draper, 2002; Ambrose & Waldron, 2004). Knowledgeable individuals were also queried for specific regions; sometimes they also participated in the field survey.

Populations were sampled across the range of distribution in southern Ontario. An effort was made to visit all populations at the extremities of distribution and sample representative populations in the mid-regions. Where populations were small or in a limited area, an attempt was made to document each individual. In larger areas, such as Skunks’ Misery, St. Williams and Backus Woods, only enough of the site was sampled to get a sense of the impact of dogwood anthracnose on the population.

In the spring and summer of 2004, 17.5 person-days (approximately 140 person-hours) were spent inventorying populations, collecting samples and assessing dogwood anthracnose (DA); two days in the field were spent with Dr. Richard Wilson, provincial forest pathologist. Symptoms for DA were not visible until mid-summer. Samples of 25 populations were sent to Chuck Davis (Fungal Taxonomy and Ecology Technologist) at the Great Lakes Forestry Centre, Sault Ste. Marie, for determination of DA presence. In early May 2005, the two EMAN (Environment Canada’s Ecological Monitoring and Assessment Network) plots in Norfolk County were re-inventoried, with the help of about a dozen students taking a week-long monitoring workshop (8 person-days, approximately 64 person-hours). This early summer 2005 data set was used to give one more year of observational data for the charts on Figures 4 and 5. One more day was spent in the summer of 2005 to check additional sites. In total, 18.5 person days were spent in the field, in 2004 and 2005, not counting the class inventorying the two EMAN plots.


Abundance

Recent records (1975-2005) indicate the presence of 154 populations in southern Ontario within 12 counties and regions.

Two historical records for Brant County (Fox & Soper, 1952) had imprecise geographic coordinates and could not be found; nor were they known by a local authority who also searched for this species (Larry Lamb, pers. com.).

Of a total of 180 recorded sites (Table 1), 32 were visited and surveyed; 468 living individual trees were recorded at these sites. Another 15 sites with precise counts were recorded in the last five years by Allen Woodliffe and Jane Bowles, for an additional 134 trees. Ten sites were recorded in Norfolk County in 2003 (Ambrose & Waldron, 2004) but not with precise counts; estimating an average from memory of 6 trees per site gives an additional 60 trees. A few sites were visited where the trees were known in the past and they are now absent, due to development or loss. Several more were records with imprecise locations and were not found. In all, of the 180 sites, 57 were observed in the past five years with a total of about 662 trees.

Of the 88 records from 1975-1994 plus an additional 9 recorded from 1995-2001 but not included in the previous total, it is likely that many of these 97 sites are still extant, but how many one can only roughly speculate on. Of the 50 sites cited in Soper & Fox (1952), 76% are still extant (Table 1). If we use 75 as the percent of sites being extant of the above 97, then 73 likely remain. If we assume the same average number of trees per site (12, based on the 662 trees at 57 sites), then another 873 (12 X 73) trees likely exist in Ontario, for an estimated total of 1535 for all 154 sites known between 1975 to present.

 

Table 1: Summary of Ontario Recorded Sites of Cornus florida
County/regionup to 1952*1953-19741975-19941995-presentTotal
Brant2 (2)0002
Elgin5 (2)16110
Essex3111820
Haldimand10617
Halton20224
Hamilton4 (3)0014
Kent [Chatham-K]327918
Lambton21427
Middlesex30101121
Niagara16 (2)5361356
Norfolk9 (3)451830
Oxford00101
total(12)148866180

* Fox and Soper, 1952; number listed (numbers of sites not seen since); each subsequent time period lists new records only (but includes the extant Fox & Soper records). This is a summary of the confidential appendix.

All of the small populations and most of the large populations in small areas (e.g., Cedar Creek, Decew Falls, Fireman’s Park) were sampled thoroughly, but others where trees were scattered over large areas (e.g, St. Williams, Queenston) were sampled only in part. For this latter group, there very likely are additional uncounted trees, perhaps adding another 50 or 100, so that the total living Ontario population is estimated to have been in the realm of 1600 +/- 50 a few years ago.

With an annual mortality rate of 7-8% per year (Wilson Tract and Backus Tract combined mortality of 86.5% over 11 years of monitoring), these numbers could have been reduced by about 20% over three years, with perhaps a more realistic figure of about 1260-1300, and declining (considering that some of the records are 2-4 years old and the recent inventory included trees that were dying).

With reduced flowering and fruiting (Table 2) and only rare sightings of seedlings, recruitment appears to be in decline as well.

 

Table 2: Summary of Extant Populations of Cornus florida in Ontario, inventoried 2004-05
Co/Reg & site nameMatureLive/
dead
Individuals with flowers/fruitDogwood anthracnoseObserved mortality
Elgin: Springwater11/0+(–)0%
Essex: LaSalle11/0+0%
De Marco21/150%(–)50%
Canard River KCT Woods11/0100%(–)0%
Cedar Creek-Arner169140/2946%+17%
Cinnamon Fern Woods3526/932%(+)29%
Leamington Wh.Oak Wds63/30%(+)50%
Kopegaron Woods4631/1517%(+)33%
Halton: Sassafras Wds106/430%(+)40%
Bronte Creek1110/182%(+)9%
Hamilton: Princess Point11/0+(–)0%
Chatham-Kent: Wheatley Prov. Park2722/519%(+)19%
Wheatley Prov. Park East3224/828%(+)25%
Middlesex: Ausable Valley99/044%0%
Skunks’ Misery1110/127%+9
Niagara: Navy Island43/10%+25
Queenston, E of quarry11/0++0%
Firemen’s Park & N7552/2345%(+)30%
3km E of Thorold43/125%(+)25%
M.A. Sams11/0+(–)0%
Decew Falls to Short Hills3732/548%+14%
N of Fonthill33/0100%(–)0%
Nettle Creek44/075%(–)0%
Balls Falls55/0100%+0%
Norfolk: Wynia64/217%+33%
De Cloet Woods2417/721%+29%
Wilson Tract EMAN plot*84/40%(+)50%
Backus EMAN plot*1713/420%(+)24%
Backus, streambank33/033%(–?)0%
St. Williams, SW2925/459%(+?)14%
St. Williams1410/464%(+)29%
Pine Grove22/0100%(–)0%
Total599468/1310-100%
mean: 46%
(populations with more than 1 tree)
8 confirmed, 12 likely0-50%;
mean: 17% average: 17.9%

* for EMAN plots, figures between 2003-2005 used, to be comparable with one-time observations for other sites in 2004-5
+Inventoried by J.D. Ambrose and others
Dogwood anthracnose: + = confirmed, (+) = conspicuous symptoms present but not confirmed,
– = no symptoms, (–) = no symptoms but collected early in summer when symptoms are not typically present


Fluctuations and Trends

Since the arrival of dogwood anthracnose in Ontario, perhaps in the early 1990s, Cornus florida has been observed in decline, both through casual observation (Mary Gartshore, pers. comm.) and through monitoring of specific stands (Brian Craig, in NRC, 2004; pers. comm. and diagrams produced for Figures 4 & 5 below). The value of the EMAN plots is that they document the mortality of tagged and mapped trees over an eleven-year period. For the sites visited for this report, dead flowering dogwood trees were also recorded, but they can be determined with some certainty only up to about 2-3 years after death. Trees that died earlier may no longer be standing, or if they are, the diagnostic dogwood branching pattern and bark is likely missing. The percentage of identifiable dead trees in inventoried populations (Table 2) ranged from 0 to 50% (average about 18%; mean 17%); this agrees with the earlier calculated (based on the two EMAN plots) average of 7-8% decline per population per year.

Decline for the whole Ontario population is variable but dogwood anthracnose and tree mortality appear to occur in most areas. Its presence has been confirmed in the following counties/regions from submitted samples: Essex, Halton, Chatham-Kent, Middlesex, Niagara and Norfolk (Chuck Davis and Richard Wilson, pers. comm.). A few isolated areas so far seem to be free of dogwood anthracnose symptoms (e.g., Springwater, Elgin Co. and the Ausable Valley), but other isolated sites are infected, e.g., Bronte Creek and Navy Island.


Figure 4: Comparison of Proportion of Live and Dead Cornus florida in Backus Woods EMAN Plot 1995-2005

Figure 4: Comparison of proportion of live and dead Cornus floridain Backus Woods EMAN Plot 1995-2005.


Figure 5: Comparison of Proportion of Live and Dead Cornus florida in Wilson Tract EMAN Plot 1995-2005

Figure 5: Comparison of proportion of live and dead Cornus floridain Wilson Tract EMAN Plot 1995-2005

Diagrams by Brian Craig, based on his EMAN monitoring study.

For the two sites monitored between 1995 and 2005, mortality counts are cumulative, i.e., in Figure 4, the 38 dead trees for 2003 include the 9 counted in 1995, and the 42 in 2005 include the previous 38 dead trees. Because each tree was tagged and mapped, its condition was tracked during each inventory and compared with its previous condition. The percentage of mortality increased from 14 to 91% for Backus and 19 to 84% for the Wilson Tract. Together, an average 86.5% decline over 11 years was documented (when combining the number of trees vs. averaging the two mortality rates). While this at first seems more drastic than other populations, if dead trees can only be identified to species for 2-3 years after death, then the mean value of 17% dead trees of all inventoried sites agrees with the individual year inventory values for the EMAN plots of new deaths plus living trees.

The continuing loss of trees between 2003 and 2005 at the two EMAN plots does not show an optimistic levelling-off of mortality. Furthermore, among the few survivors in these two plots almost no flowering was observed. 

Only one population can be confirmed to be lost, due to residential development in the Windsor area. Other historical records with imprecise locations could not be relocated.


Rescue Effect

Because dogwood anthracnose-the single factor that seems to be the cause of significant decline in this species-is thought to have originated in the United States, bringing stock from there is not a viable option. Bordering populations as well as those further south are heavily impacted by this disease (NRC, 2004; Schwegman et al., 1998; Anderson et al., 1994). In addition, stock from the south would be less well adapted to conditions in Ontario.

Migratory forest birds likely carry seeds of Cornus florida on occasion, but in the autumn they are more likely going from Ontario to south than vice versa, so only in a very rare event, as in periods of extreme fluctuations in temperature, is recruitment from long distance dispersal likely. However, even though the Carolinian forest habitat is highly fragmented, there is still considerable habitat in which seeds arriving from a long- distance dispersal event could become established.

One could hope to find dogwood anthracnose resistant individuals as part of a strategy to assist recovery, but so far there is little apparent evidence of resistant individuals in stands of infected trees observed in Ontario.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cornouiller fleuri au Canada

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

Au départ, toute l’information disponible a été réunie. Ce matériel incluait les mentions répertoriées par le Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de l’Ontario, des observations de terrain recueillies par des botanistes œuvrant dans la région (Mike Oldham, Jane Bowles, Allen Woodliffe, Gerry Waldron), les mentions récentes colligées dans les herbiers (lorsque disponibles) et des mentions plus anciennes compilées par le rédacteur et ses associés à l’Arboretum de la University of Guelph. Plusieurs rapports récents font état de la présence du cornouiller fleuri dans le comté de Norfolk (Gartshore et al., 1987; Draper, 2002; Ambrose et Waldron, 2004). Des personnes connaissant bien la flore de régions ciblées ont été interrogées et ont parfois participé aux relevés sur le terrain.

Un inventaire des populations a été effectué à l’échelle de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce dans le sud de l’Ontario. On s’est efforcé, dans la mesure du possible, de visiter toutes les populations se trouvant à la limite de l’aire de l’espèce et d’échantillonner les populations représentatives situées plus au centre. Lorsque les populations étaient de petite taille ou couvraient une superficie limitée, on a cherché à dénombrer chacun des individus. Dans les secteurs plus vastes, comme les bois de Skunks’ Misery et de St. Williams et le bois Backus, l’échantillonnage n’a porté que sur une portion du site suffisante pour évaluer l’incidence de l’anthracnose du cornouiller sur la population.

Au cours du printemps et de l’été 2004, 17,5 journées-personnes (environ 140 heures-personnes) ont été affectées à l’inventaire des populations, à la collecte d’échantillons et à l’évaluation des incidences de l’anthracnose. Richard Wilson, pathologiste forestier provincial, a passé deux jours sur le terrain. Les symptômes de la maladie ne sont apparus qu’au milieu de l’été. Chuck Davis (technicien spécialiste de l’écologie et de la taxinomie des champignons), du Centre de foresterie des Grands Lacs, à Sault Ste. Marie, a analysé des échantillons provenant de 25 populations en vue d’y déceler la présence éventuelle de l’agent de l’anthracnose. Au début de mai 2005, un nouvel inventaire a été effectué dans deux parcelles du RESE (Réseau d’évaluation et de surveillance écologiques d’Environnement Canada), dans le comté de Norfolk, avec l’aide d’une douzaine d’étudiants participant à un atelier de surveillance d’une durée d’une semaine (8 journées-personnes, environ 64 heures-personnes). Cet ensemble de données de début d’été a fourni une autre année de données d’observation pour les graphiques des figures 4 et 5. Au cours de l’été 2005, une autre journée a été consacrée à la recherche de sites additionnels. Au total, 18,5 journées-personnes ont été affectées, en 2004 et en 2005, à la conduite des relevés sur le terrain (cette valeur ne tient pas compte de l’inventaire effectué par les étudiants dans les deux parcelles du RESE).


Abondance

Les mentions récentes (1975-2005) révèlent la présence de 154 populations de cornouillers fleuris dans le sud de l’Ontario au sein de 12 comptés et régions.

Deux mentions historiques provenant du comté de Brant (Fox et Soper, 1952) comportaient des coordonnées géographiques trop imprécises pour qu’on puisse en déterminer la provenance. Un spécialiste local ayant participé à la recherche de l’espèce s’est également dit incapable d’en situer l’emplacement exact (Larry Lamb, comm. pers.).

Trente-deux des quelque 180 sites connus (tableau 1) ont été visités et inventoriés; 468 cornouillers fleuris vivants y ont été dénombrés. Au cours des cinq dernières années, des inventaires précis effectués par Allen Woodliffe et Jane Bowles dans 15 autres sites ont mené à la découverte de 134 arbres. Dix sites ont été répertoriés dans le comté de Norfolk en 2003 (Ambrose et Waldron, 2004), mais le nombre précis de cornouillers fleuris n’y a pas été précisé. De mémoire, les auteurs de ces inventaires évaluent à 60 le nombre total de cornouillers fleuris présents dans ces sites (nombre moyen de 6 individus par site). Dans certains sites anciennement occupés, aucun arbre n’a été trouvé; la disparition de l’espèce a été imputée à divers projets de développement ou à la perte d’habitat. Plusieurs autres sites étaient identifiés par des coordonnées imprécises et n’ont pu être retrouvés. Au total, 57 des 180 sites connus ont été visités au cours des cinq dernières années; environ 662 cornouillers fleuris y ont été dénombrés.

Bon nombre des 88 sites répertoriés entre 1975 et 1994 et des 9 autres sites dénombrés entre 1995 et 2001 abritent encore probablement l’espèce aujourd’hui, mais on ignore leur nombre exact. Le cornouiller fleuri est encore présent dans 76 p. 100 des 50 sites mentionnés par Soper et Fox (1952) (tableau 1). Si l’on pose que 75 p. 100 des 97 sites susmentionnés sont encore occupés, alors le cornouiller fleuri est encore présent dans 73 sites. Si l’on applique à ces sites le même nombre moyen d’arbres par site (12, soit 662 arbres dénombrés dans 57 sites), on en déduit que ces sites abritent probablement actuellement 873 arbres (12 X 73), pour un nombre total estimé de 1 535 arbres dans les 154 sites dénombrés entre 1975 et aujourd’hui.

Toutes les petites populations et la plupart des grandes populations occupant de petites superficies (p. ex. Cedar Creek, Decew Falls, Fireman’s Park) ont fait l’objet d’un échantillonnage exhaustif. En revanche, les sites où les cornouillers étaient disséminés sur un vaste territoire (p. ex. St. Williams, Queenston) ont fait l’objet d’un échantillonnage partiel. Dans ces sites, il est probable qu’entre 50 et 100 arbres aient été omis. En conséquence, le nombre de cornouillers fleuris vivants en Ontario se trouvait probablement autour de 1600 ± 50 individus il y a quelques années.

En présence d’un taux de mortalité annuel de 7 à 8 p. 100 (un taux de mortalité combiné de 86,5 p. 100 a été observé au cours des 11 années de suivi dans les bois Wilson et Backus), le nombre total de cornouillers fleuris pourrait avoir diminué d’environ 20 p. 100 en trois ans. Selon une estimation probablement plus réaliste, le nombre de cornouillers fleuris vivants s’élèverait donc actuellement à entre 1 260 et 1 300 individus environ et serait en déclin (si l’on considère que certaines mentions datent de 2 à 4 ans et que des individus moribonds ont été dénombrés lors de l’inventaire effectué récemment).

La réduction de la floraison et de la production de fruits (tableau 2) et les rares observations de semis donnent également à croire que le recrutement est également compromis.

 

Tableau 1 : Résumé des sites occupés par le Cornus florida en Ontario
Comté/régionJusqu’en 1952*1953-19741975-19941995-aujourd’huiTotal
Brant2 (2)0002
Elgin5 (2)16110
Essex3111820
Haldimand10617
Halton20224
Hamilton4 (3)0014
Kent [Chatham-K]327918
Lambton21427
Middlesex30101121
Niagara16 (2)5361356
Norfolk9 (3)451830
Oxford00101
Total(12)148866180

* Fox et Soper, 1952; nombre de sites répertoriés (nombre de sites non répertoriés depuis); les nombres indiqués pour chaque période d’observation incluent uniquement les nouveaux sites (en plus des sites existants mentionnés par Fox et Soper). Ce tableau est un résumé des données confidentielles présentées en annexe.


Fluctuations et tendances

L’arrivée de l’anthracnose du cornouiller en Ontario, probablement au début des années 1990, a entraîné un déclin des populations du Cornus florida. Le phénomène est confirmé par des observations occasionnelles (Mary Gartshore, comm. pers.) et des observations effectuées dans le cadre du suivi de peuplements ciblés (Brian Craig, in RNC, 2004; comm. pers. et diagrammes préparés pour les figures 4 et 5 ci-après). Les parcelles du RESE ont été d’une grande utilité, car elles ont permis de suivre la mortalité d’arbres marqués et cartographiés sur une période de onze ans. Lors des inventaires menés en vue de la préparation du présent rapport, le nombre d’individus morts a également été noté, mais une identification fiable de l’espèce n’est possible que durant les 2 ou 3 années suivant la mort de l’arbre, soit parce que les arbres morts depuis plus longtemps sont tombés, soit parce les deux principaux caractères distinctifs (mode de ramification et écorce) ne sont plus apparents. Le pourcentage d’individus morts identifiables dans les populations inventoriées (tableau 2) variait entre 0 et 50 p. 100 (moyenne : environ 18 p. 100; moyenne : 17 p. 100). Ces pourcentages sont compatibles avec le taux de mortalité moyen calculé plus tôt (d’après la mortalité observée dans les deux parcelles du RESE), évalué à 7 à 8 p. 100 par population par année.


Figure 4 : Proportions de tiges de Cornus florida vivantes et mortes dans la parcelle du RESE, bois Backus, de 1995 à 2005

Figure 4: Proportions de tiges de Cornus florida vivantes et mortes dans la parcelle du RESE, bois Backus, de 1995 à 2005.


Figure 5 : Proportions de tiges de Cornus florida vivantes et mortes dans la parcelle du RESE, bois Wilson, de 1995 à 2005

Figure 5 : Proportions de tiges de Cornus florida vivantes et mortes dans la parcelle du RESE, bois Wilson, de 1995 à 2005

Diagrammes préparés par Brian Craig, d’après les données de suivi recueillies dans les parcelles du RESE.

L’ampleur du déclin varie d’une population à l’autre, mais l’anthracnose du cornouiller semble être présente et causer la mort d’arbres dans la plupart des régions visitées. L’analyse des échantillons soumis a confirmé la présence de la maladie dans les régions et les comtés suivants : Essex, Halton, Chatham-Kent, Middlesex, Niagara et Norfolk (Chuck Davis et Richard Wilson, comm. pers.). Quelques secteurs isolés semblent encore exempts de la maladie (p. ex. Springwater, comté d’Elgin et la vallée de la rivière Ausable), mais d’autres sites isolés sont infectés (p. ex. rivière Bronte et île Navy).

Pour les deux sites inventoriés entre 1995 et 2005, le nombre d’individus morts sont cumulatifs. En d’autres mots, dans la figure 4, les 38 arbres morts dénombrés en 2003 incluent les 9 arbres répertoriés en 1995, et les 42 arbres répertoriés en 2005 englobent les 38 arbres dénombrés antérieurement. Comme chaque arbre était marqué et cartographié, il a été possible d’évaluer son état de santé à chaque inventaire et de suivre son évolution d’un inventaire à l’autre. Le pourcentage de mortalité est passé de 14 à 91 p. 100 au bois Backus et de 19 à 84 p. 100 au bois Wilson. Globalement, un déclin moyen de 86,5 p. 100 a été documenté au cours de la période de suivi de 11 ans (en combinant le nombre d’arbres et en calculant la moyenne des deux taux de mortalité). Cette valeur peut sembler supérieure aux taux observés chez d’autres populations, mais il convient de rappeler que l’identification jusqu’à l’espèce des arbres morts n’est possible que durant les deux ou trois années suivant leur mort. Dès lors, la proportion moyenne d’arbres morts pour l’ensemble des sites inventoriés, évaluée à 17 p. 100, est compatible avec les nombres de nouveaux arbres morts et d’arbres vivants recensés annuellement dans les parcelles du RESE.

Le déclin soutenu des populations observé entre 2003 et 2005 dans les deux parcelles du RESE ne laisse présager aucune stabilisation des taux de mortalité. La situation paraît d’autant plus grave que les quelques individus encore vivants dans ces deux parcelles n’ont produit que quelques fleurs.

Une seule population est confirmée disparue. Sa disparition est liée à un projet de développement résidentiel dans la région de Windsor. D’autres mentions historiques n’ont pu être relocalisées, leurs coordonnées géographiques étant trop imprécises.

 

Tableau 2. Résumé des populations existantes de Cornus florida inventoriées en Ontario de 2004 à 2005. +
Comté ou région et nom du siteIndividus
matures
Individus
vivants/
morts
Pourcentage
des individus
portant des
fleurs ou des fruits
Anthracnose
du
cornouiller
Mortalité
observée
TOTAL599468/131De 0 à 100 %
moyenne : 46 %

(populations
comptant au
moins 2 individus)
Présence confirmée
dans 8 sites,
probable
dans 12 autres
De 0 à 50 %;
moyenne : 17 %
moyenne : 17,9 %
ELGIN : Springwater11/0+(--)0 %
ESSEX : LaSalle11/0+--0 %
De Marco21/150 %(--)50 %
Bois KCT, Rivière Canard11/0100 %(--)0 %
Ruisseau Cedar-Arner169140/2946 %+17 %
Cinnamon Fern Woods3526/932 %(+)29 %
Chênaie blanche de Leamington63/30 %(+)50 %
Bois Kopegaron4631/1517 %(+)33 %
HALTON : Bois Sassafras106/430 %(+)40 %
Rivière Bronte1110/182 %(+)9 %
HAMILTON : pointe Princess11/0+(--)0 %
CHATHAM-KENT:
Parc provincial Wheatley
2722/519 %(+)19 %
Parc provincial Wheatley Est3224/828 %(+)25 %
MIDDLESEX:
Vallée de la rivière Ausable
99/044 %--0 %
Skunks’ Misery1110/127%+9
NIAGARA : île Navy43/10 %+25
Queenston, à l’est de la carrière11/0++0 %
Firemen’s Park et secteur au nord7552/2345%(+)30 %
3 km à l’est de Thorold43/125%(+)25 %
M.A. Sams11/0+(--)0 %
Decew Falls aux collines Short3732/548%+14 %
Au nord de Fonthill33/0100%(--)0 %
Ruisseau Nettle44/075%(--)0 %
Chutes Balls55/0100%+0 %
NORFOLK : Wynia64/217%+33 %
Bois De Cloet2417/721%+29 %
Bois Wilson, parcelle RESE84/40%(+)50 %
Bois Backus, parcelle RESE1713/420%(+)24 %
Bois Backus, rive de cours d’eau33/033%(--?)0 %
Au sud-ouest de St. Williams2925/459%(+?)14 %
St. Williams1410/464%(+)29 %
Pine Grove22/0100%(--)0 %

* Pour les parcelles du RESE, on a utilisé les chiffres de 2003 à 2005 afin de permettre une comparaison avec des observations ponctuelles effectuées dans d’autres sites de 2004 à 2005.

+ Sites inventoriés par J.D. Ambrose et d’autres personnes

Anthracnose du cornouiller : + = présence confirmée; (+) = symptômes de la maladie évidents, mais présence de la maladie non confirmée; -- = aucun symptôme décelé; (--) = aucun symptôme décelé, mais échantillons prélevés tôt en été, avant l’apparition normale des symptômes.


Effet d'une immigration de source externe

Comme l’anthracnose du cornouiller, le facteur qui semble à lui seul entièrement responsable du déclin spectaculaire de l’espèce, semble issue des États-Unis, l’importation de matériel des États-Unis n’est pas une option envisageable. Les populations des régions limitrophes ainsi que les populations plus méridionales sont aussi lourdement touchées par la maladie (RNC, 2004; Schwegman et al., 1998; Anderson et al., 1994). En outre, ce matériel serait moins bien adapté aux conditions locales en Ontario.

Les oiseaux forestiers migrateurs transportent probablement des graines de Cornus florida à l’occasion, mais en automne, ces oiseaux se dirigent normalement vers le sud, et non dans la direction inverse. Dès lors, le recrutement résultant d’une dispersion sur une longue distance n’est possible qu’en présence de circonstances exceptionnelles, comme durant des périodes de fluctuations de températures extrêmes. Toutefois, même si l’habitat de forêt carolinienne est très fragmenté, il subsiste encore de vastes superficies d’habitat où des graines transportées sur de longues distances pourraient s’établir et germer.

Les chances d’assurer le rétablissement du cornouiller fleuri seraient nettement meilleures si l’on parvenait à découvrir des individus résistants à la maladie. Malheureusement, aucun signe probant de résistance n’a encore été décelé dans les peuplements infectés de l’Ontario.